Fixed Income Market Structure Advisory Committee — Technology and Electronic Trading Subcommittee

Summary Minutes of February 22, 2018 Call

The Technology and Electronic Trading Subcommittee held a call on February 22, 2018, to consider and discuss topics for Subcommittee consideration.       

The call convened at approximately 10:00 a.m. via telephone.  The following Subcommittee members were on the call:    

Dan Allen
Matt Andresen
Brian Archer
John Bagley
Horace Carter
Larry Harris
Amar Kuchinad
Rick McVey
Larry Tabb
Tom Thees
Michael Heaney

The following staff from the Division of Trading and Markets joined the call:

David Shillman
David Dimitrious
Tom Eady
Molly Kim
Patrick Norton
Justin Pica
Tyler Raimo
Ben Bernstein

The follow staff from the Office of Municipal Securities joined the call:

Rebecca Olsen
Ahmed Abonamah

The following staff from the Division of Economic and Risk and Analysis also joined the call:

Seung Won Woo
Michael Schihl

Following a brief discussion of administrative matters, the Subcommittee discussed potential topics for consideration. Members suggested and discussed several potential topics including: the availability of retail-size pricing data (including from retail trading platforms) to investors, matters concerning the infrastructure and technology supporting electronic trading platforms, institutional best execution standards, and potential disclosures from electronic trading platforms regarding matters such as trading protocols and execution quality.

The Subcommittee decided to speak again in several weeks and potentially include other industry members, including representatives from retail trading platforms or retail broker-dealers, to inform Subcommittee discussions.

The call concluded at approximately 11:00 a.m.