Skip to main content

Current SEC Commissioners

The Securities and Exchange Commission has five Commissioners who are appointed by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate. Their terms last five years and are staggered so that one Commissioner's term ends on June 5 of each year. The Chairman and Commissioners may continue to serve approximately 18 months after terms expire if they are not replaced before then. To ensure that the Commission remains non-partisan, no more than three Commissioners may belong to the same political party. The President also designates one of the Commissioners as Chairman, the SEC's top executive.

Chairman Clayton - Full Resolution
Jay Clayton Chairman
since 2017
Term exp. 2021
Commissioner Hester M. Peirce
Hester M.
since 2018
Term exp. 2025
Photo of Elad L. Roisman
Elad L.
since 2018
Term exp. 2023
Photo of Allison H. Lee
Herren Lee
since 2019
Term exp. 2022
Commissioner Carolina Crenshaw photo
A. Crenshaw
since 2020
Term exp. 2024

*Commissioners may serve up to 18 months beyond the the expiration of their terms

 * Historical Summary: Past Chairmen and Commissioners
 * Speeches By Chairman, Commissioners, and Commission Staff
Return to Top