Investor Advisory Committee

May 23, 2024

Section 911 of the Dodd-Frank Act established the new Investor Advisory Committee to advise the Commission on regulatory priorities, the regulation of securities products, trading strategies, fee structures, the effectiveness of disclosure, and on initiatives to protect investor interests and to promote investor confidence and the integrity of the securities marketplace.

The Dodd-Frank Act authorizes the committee to submit findings and recommendations for review and consideration by the Commission. (Links to the Committee’s recommendations can be found below.) Members of the Committee are chosen from among knowledgeable representatives of both retail and institutional investors. (Links to the biographies of current Committee members can be found below.) If you think you might be interested in serving on the Investor Advisory Committee, please review the following for information on eligibility criteria, how to apply, and what to expect if you are chosen to serve.

The application period, announced by the Commission on March 26, 2024, for membership to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission’s Investor Advisory Committee is closed.

Committee Members




Brian L. Schorr, Chair
Partner and Chief Legal Officer, Trian Fund Management, L.P.
Colleen Honigsberg, Secretary
Professor of Law and Associate Dean of Curriculum, Stanford Law School
Brian A. Hellmer, Assistant Secretary
Chief Investment Officer, Mendota Financial Group




Jamila Abston Mayfield
Founder and CEO, The Jamila Mayfield Group, LLC
James Andrus
Vice President Public Policy, Franklin Templeton
Cambria Allen-Ratzlaff
Chief RI Ecosystems Officer, Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI)
Cristina Martin Firvida
Investor Advocate, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
Gina-Gail S. Fletcher
Professor of Law, Duke Law School
Christine M. Lazaro
Professor of Clinical Legal Education, St. John’s University School of Law of Counsel, Law Offices of Brent A. Burns, LLC
Nancy LeaMond
Executive Vice President, Chief Advocacy and Engagement Officer, Community, State and National Affairs, AARP
Andrew Park
Senior Policy Analyst—Hedge Funds and Private Equity, Americans for Financial Reform
Sandra J. Peters
Senior Head, Global Financial Reporting Policy, CFA Institute
Dr. David Rhoiney, D.O.
Staff General Surgeon, U.S. Navy
Paul F. Roye
Retired, Former Senior Vice President and Senior Counsel, Fund Business Management Group, Capital Research and Management Company
Paul Sommerstad
Partner, Cerity Partners
Alice Stinebaugh
Retired, Social Studies Chair

Retired Adjunct Instructor in Economics, University of Scranton, Parkland School District
Leslie Van Buskirk
Administrator, Division of Securities, State of Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
Joanne Yoo
Partner, Development Partners International

See also: Subcommittee Members

Recommendations of the Investor Advisory Committee

Other Actions



Schedule for 2024 and 2025

June 6, 2024

March 7, 2024

December 7, 2023

September 21, 2023

June 22, 2023

March 2, 2023

December 8, 2022

September 21, 2022

June 9, 2022

March 10, 2022

December 2, 2021

September 9, 2021

June 10, 2021

March 11, 2021

December 3, 2020

September 24, 2020

May 21, 2020

May 4, 2020

April 2, 2020

Feb. 27, 2020

Jan. 24, 2020

November 7, 2019

September 19, 2019

September 5, 2019

July 25, 2019

March 28, 2019

Meeting Archives

Last Reviewed or Updated: July 5, 2024