Skip to Main Content


Current SEC Commissioners

The Securities and Exchange Commission has five Commissioners who are appointed by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the Senate. Their terms last five years and are staggered so that one Commissioner's term ends on June 5 of each year. To ensure that the Commission remains non-partisan, no more than three Commissioners may belong to the same political party. The President also designates one of the Commissioners as Chairman, the SEC's top executive. There are currently two vacancies on the Commission.



Chairman Mary Jo White

Mary Jo White
since 2013
Term exp. 2019
Commissioner Kara M. Stein

Kara M.

since 2013
Term exp. 2017
Commissioner Michael S. Piwowar

Michael S.

since 2013
Term exp. 2018


 * Historical Summary: Past Chairmen and Commissioners
 * Speeches By Chairman, Commissioners, and Commission Staff



Print Facebook Twitter Email Share
Facebook Twitter Email
Modified: Sept. 17, 2013