Skip to main content

Statement on Receiving the Fordham-Stein Prize

Chair Mary Jo White

Nov. 18, 2014

 “I am very pleased to accept this high honor from the Fordham Law School’s Louis Stein Center for Law and Ethics and to be included in the company of such distinguished luminaries of the legal profession.  As the Fordham-Stein Prize recognizes, lawyers are critical contributors to society and our democracy.  All of us must always strive to uphold the rule of law and the highest ideals of our profession.”


The Fordham-Stein Prize, first awarded in 1976, is a national prize that is presented annually to a member of the legal profession whose work embodies the highest standards of the legal profession. The Fordham-Stein Prize honors individuals whose work exemplifies outstanding standards of professional conduct, promotes the advancement of justice, and brings credit to the profession by emphasizing in the public mind the contributions of lawyers to our society and to our democratic system of government. 

Previous prize recipients include Chief Justices of the United States, Associate Justices of the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Circuit and District Court Judges, U.S. Attorneys General and Secretaries of State.

Background on the Fordham-Stein Prize and a list of previous award recipients can be found here. 

Return to Top