U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
SEC Seal
Home | Previous Page
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

SEC Announces Agenda and Panelists for Inaugural Roundtable of Financial Reporting Series


Washington, D.C., Nov. 3, 2011 – The Securities and Exchange Commission today announced the agenda and panelists for next week’s inaugural public roundtable of the Financial Reporting Series.

The November 8 roundtable entitled “Measurement Uncertainty in Financial Reporting” – announced last month – will feature three panels discussing the extent to which financial reporting should include measurement uncertainties, and the information that investors find important to understanding and assessing those uncertainties. The SEC staff has previously prepared a briefing paper highlighting the issues to be considered at the roundtable discussion.

The roundtable will begin at 10 a.m. in the multi-purpose room at the SEC’s Washington D.C. headquarters with public seating on a first-come, first-served basis. The event also will be viewable by live webcast on the SEC website, and will be archived for later viewing.

Members of the public who wish to provide their views on the matters to be considered at the roundtable discussion may submit comments through one of the following methods:

Electronic Comments

Use the SEC’s Internet comment form or send an e-mail to rule-comments@sec.gov and include File Number 4-640 on the subject line.

Paper Comments

Send paper submissions in triplicate to Elizabeth M. Murphy, Secretary, Securities and Exchange Commission, 100 F Street, N.E., Washington, D.C. 20549-1090, and refer to File Number 4-640.

Any comments submitted will be made available to the public.

# # #


10-10:05 a.m.

Welcoming Remarks

  • SEC Chief Accountant, James Kroeker

10:05-10:15 a.m.

Remarks by the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) and the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)

  • James Doty, Chairman, PCAOB
  • Marc Siegel, Board Member, FASB

10:15 a.m.-5:15 p.m.

Panel Discussions


  • James Kroeker, Chief Accountant, Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Mike Starr, Deputy Chief Accountant, Securities and Exchange Commission


  • James Doty, Chairman, Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (Panels I and II)
  • Jay Hanson, Board Member, Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (Panel III)
  • Marc Siegel, Board Member, Financial Accounting Standards Board

10:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m.

Panel I Discussion

12:15-1:30 p.m.


1:30-3:30 p.m.

Panel II Discussion

3:30-3:45 p.m.


3:45-5:15 p.m.

Panel III Discussion



Modified: 11/07/2011