Skip to main content

Mark Uyeda Sworn in for Second Term as SEC Commissioner


Washington D.C., Jan. 3, 2024 —

Securities and Exchange Commission Commissioner Mark T. Uyeda was sworn in for his second term as a Commissioner at the Securities and Exchange Commission on Dec. 28, 2023. Commissioner Uyeda began his first term as an SEC Commissioner on June 30, 2022, after being nominated by President Joseph Biden and confirmed by the U.S. Senate for a term expiring in 2023. In June 2023, President Biden nominated Commissioner Uyeda for a term expiring in 2028, and the U.S. Senate confirmed Commissioner Uyeda on Dec. 20, 2023. 

“Commissioner Uyeda is a dedicated public servant who cares deeply about our capital markets,” said SEC Chair Gary Gensler. “I’m looking forward to our continued work together in furtherance of the SEC’s mission to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.”

Commissioner Uyeda said, “I am grateful to have the privilege of continuing to serve the American public alongside my fellow colleagues at the Commission.”

In addition to his service as a Commissioner, Commissioner Uyeda served on the SEC staff in several roles from 2006 to 2022, including as Senior Advisor to Chairman Jay Clayton, Senior Advisor to Acting Chairman Michael S. Piwowar, and Counsel to Commissioner Paul S. Atkins. He also served in various staff positions in the Division of Investment Management and on detail from the SEC to the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs as a securities counsel to the committee's minority staff.

Prior to joining the SEC, Commissioner Uyeda served as Chief Advisor to the California Corporations Commissioner, the state’s securities regulator. He also worked as an attorney at the law firms of K&L Gates (formerly known as Kirkpatrick & Lockhart LLP) in Washington, D.C. and O’Melveny & Myers LLP in Los Angeles.

Commissioner Uyeda earned his bachelor's degree in business administration at Georgetown University and his law degree with honors at the Duke University School of Law.


Return to Top