Panelists Set for SEC Hedge Fund Roundtable;May 14-15 Discussions to be Webcast in Real Time


Washington, D.C., May 7, 2003 -- A wide range of stakeholders in the hedge fund industry - including fund managers, service providers, attorneys, accountants, investor advocates and foreign and U.S. regulators - will participate in the Securities and Exchange Commission Roundtable Discussions regarding hedge funds on Wednesday, May 14, 2003, and Thursday, May 15, 2003. The Roundtable Discussions are part of the SEC's formal fact-finding investigation of the hedge fund industry, which was launched in the spring of 2002.

"Hedge funds are becoming increasingly prominent participants in today's markets and, in the aggregate, continue to grow in size," SEC Chairman William H. Donaldson said. "As a result, our fact gathering grows more important every day. I look forward to hearing from the outstanding group of panelists who will illuminate these products and assist the Commission in its ongoing review of hedge funds. I am looking forward to participating in these discussions."

The Roundtable Discussions - which will be webcast live and can be accessed at -- will cover a number of topics, including: (1) the structure and operation of hedge funds; (2) marketing issues; (3) investor protection issues; (4) trading strategies and market participation of hedge funds; and (5) an assessment of the current regulatory scheme relating to hedge funds. Panelists will include:

  • Mark Anson, CalPERS
  • Anthony Artabane, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
  • Alan Beller, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Armando Belly, Soros Fund Management LLC
  • Scott Berman, Brown Rudnick Berlack Israels LLP
  • Peter Bernard, RiskMetrics Group
  • Afsaneh Beschloss, Carlyle Asset Management Group
  • Peter Borish, OneChicago
  • Peter Brown, Renaissance Technologies Corporation
  • Michael Butowsky, Mayer Brown Rowe & Maw
  • James Chanos, Kynikos Associates, Ltd.
  • Leroy Cody, American Express Alternative Investments
  • Iain Cullen, Alternative Investment Management Association
  • Stephen M. Cutler, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Jean-Claude Delespaul, Commission des Operations de Bourse (COB), France
  • Michael Dieschbourg, Silver Creek, LLC
  • Thomas Fedorek, Citigate Global Intelligence & Security
  • Cynthia M. Fornelli, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • John G. Gaine, Managed Funds Association
  • Charles Gradante, Hennessee Hedge Fund Advisory Group
  • George Hall, Clinton Group
  • Lawrence E. Harris, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • James R. Hedges, LJH Global Investments
  • William Heyman, St. Paul Companies, Inc.
  • Clark Hooper, NASD
  • David A. Hsieh, Duke University
  • Jean Karoubi, The LongChamp Group, Inc.
  • Kristina L. Kneip, State of Washington, Department of Financial Institutions, Securities Division
  • William Keunen, Citco Fund Services (USA) Inc.
  • Frederick C. "Rick" Lake, Lake Partners, Inc.
  • Bing Liang, Case Western Reserve University
  • Richard Lindsey, Bear Stearns Securities Corporation
  • Andrew W. Lo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sandra Manzke, Tremont Advisers
  • John Markese, American Association of Individual Investors
  • Patrick J. McCarty, Commodity Futures Trading Commission
  • Annette L. Nazareth, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Michael Neus, Andor Capital Management LLC
  • Greg Newton, MAR/Hedge
  • Elizabeth G. Osterman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Pamela J. Parizek, Kroll Inc.
  • Lois Peltz, Infovest21
  • Richard Phillips, Kirkpatrick & Lockhart LLP
  • Robert E. Plaze, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Robert Pozen, Harvard Law School
  • Joel Press, Ernst & Young LLP
  • Judson P. Reis, Sire Management Corporation
  • Paul N. Roth, Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP
  • Paul F. Roye, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Craig Russell, DB Absolute Return Strategies
  • Douglas Scheidt, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Robert Schulman, Tremont Advisers
  • Larry Simon, Ivy Asset Management Corp.
  • Christina Sinclair, Financial Services Authority, United Kingdom
  • Robert Steel, Goldman Sachs Group
  • David Swensen, Yale Endowment
  • Michael G. Tannenbaum, Hedge Fund Association
  • Jane Kang Thorpe, Commodity Futures Trading Commission
  • Michael Tiedemann, Tiedemann Investment Group
  • David Vaughan, Dechert LLC
  • Stephen Vine, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
  • Mark Yusko, UNC Management Company Inc.
  • Robert Zack, OppenheimerFunds, Inc.

The Roundtable Discussions are scheduled to take place each day from 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. EDT in the William O. Douglas Room at SEC headquarters, 450 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, D.C., 20549.

The Roundtable Discussions will be open to the public with seating on a first come, first served basis. Doors will open at 8:00 a.m. EDT. The visitors' entrance to the SEC is located on Fifth Street, N.W. Visitors will be subject to security checks.

Real time and archived audio webcasts will be accessible at

Selected materials submitted to the staff in connection with the discussions are accessible at

For additional information, please contact Herb Perone or John Heine at 202-942-0020.

# # #

Last modified: 5/7/2003