Statement by SEC Chairman Harvey L. Pitt on Senate Confirmation of Nominees to the Commission


Washington, D.C., July 26, 2002 -- "I am very pleased that all four nominees to the Commission — Paul Atkins, Roel Campos, Cynthia Glassman and Harvey Goldschmid — were unanimously approved by the United States Senate.

"With the approval by the House and Senate of the Sarbanes-Oxley accounting reform act, the confirmation of a full Commission ensures that we will be able to implement this legislation quickly and begin the process of restoring investor confidence and integrity in our financial markets.

"I look forward to working with all of my colleagues as we begin this exciting new challenge."

Last modified: 7/26/2002