U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
SEC Seal
Home | Previous Page
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

SEC logo
Securities and Exchange Commission
100 F Street, NE
Washington, DC 20549
CFTC logo
Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Three Lafayette Centre
Washington, DC 20581

Joint Meeting on Harmonization of Regulation

CFTC Headquarters
September 2, 2009

9:00 a.m. Opening Statements by Commissioners
9:30 a.m. Panel One — Exchanges, Markets, Clearance and Settlement, and Margin Requirements
  • William Brodsky, Chicago Board Options Exchange
  • Jonathan Short, ICE Futures
  • Craig Donohue, CME Group
  • Anthony Leitner, AJ Leitner & Associates
  • Annette Nazareth, Davis Polk & Wardwell
  • Eric Baggesen, California Public Employees Retirement System (CalPERS)
11:00 a.m. Break
11:15 a.m. Panel Two — Exchanges, Markets, Clearance and Settlement, and Margin Requirements
  • Peter Reitz, Eurex
  • Wayne P. Luthringshausen, Option Clearing Corporation
  • Mark Young, Futures Industry Association
  • Lawrence Leibowitz, NYSE Euronext
  • Professor Lawrence Harris, University of Southern California
  • Mark Cooper, Consumer Federation of America
12:45 p.m. Lunch Break
2:00 p.m. Panel Three — Intermediaries
  • Edward Rosen, Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton
  • Yvonne Downs, NewEdge
  • Stephen Merkel, BGC Partners, Inc.
  • Brandon Becker, TIAA-CREF
  • Stephen Luparello, FINRA
  • Brian Nigito, GETCO
3:30 p.m. Break for the Day

Joint Meeting on Harmonization of Regulation

SEC Headquarters
September 3, 2009

9:00 a.m. Introduction
9:15 a.m. Panel One — Enforcement
  • Daniel Roth, National Futures Association
  • David Downey, OneChicago
  • Kenneth Raisler, Sullivan & Cromwell
  • William R. McLucas, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr
  • Damon Silvers, AFL-CIO
  • Richard Owens, Latham & Watkins
  • Professor John Coffee, Columbia Law School
10:45 a.m. Break
11:00 a.m. Panel Two — Investment Funds
  • Richard Baker, Managed Fund Association
  • Sharon Brown-Hruska, NERA Economic Consulting
  • Kathleen Moriarty, Katten Muchin Rosenman
  • Michael Butowsky, Mayer Brown
  • Michael Connelly, Association of Financial Professionals
12:30 p.m. Break for the Day



Modified: 09/02/2009