U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
SEC Seal
Home | Previous Page
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Commission and PCAOB Announce Panelists for May 10th Roundtable on Second-Year Experiences with Internal Control Reporting and Auditing Provisions


Discussions to be Webcast in Real Time

Washington, D.C., May 1, 2006 — The Securities and Exchange Commission and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board announced today the panelists for the upcoming roundtable on second-year experiences with the reporting and auditing requirements of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 related to companies’ internal control over financial reporting. The roundtable will feature a broad range of stakeholders involved with internal control reporting — including issuers, auditors, investors, and other interested parties.

The roundtable will address a number of topics, including (1) overview of the second year; (2) management’s evaluation and assessment; (3) the audit of internal control over financial reporting; (4) the effect on the market; and (5) next steps.

The roundtable is scheduled to take place on May 10, 2006, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., E.D.T., at Commission headquarters, 100 F Street N.E., Washington, D.C., and will be open to the public with seating on a first-come, first-served basis. Doors will open at 8:00 a.m., E.D.T. Visitors will be subject to security checks.

Real time and archived audio and video webcasts will be accessible at http://www.sec.gov/news/otherwebcasts.shtml.

Materials related to the roundtable - including the day's agenda, a briefing paper, and materials submitted in connection with the discussions — are accessible at http://www.sec.gov/spotlight/soxcomp.htm.

Panelists will include:

  • Philip D. Ameen, General Electric Company
  • The Honorable Charles A. Bowsher, Former Comptroller General of the United States
  • Frank H. Brod, Microsoft Corporation
  • William J. Brunner, First Indiana Corporation 
  • The Honorable Mary K. Bush, Bush International, Inc. 
  • H. Rodgin Cohen, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP 
  • J. Michael Cook, Audit committee chair/member, various companies 
  • Colleen Cunningham, Financial Executives International 
  • Nick S. Cyprus, Member of the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission
  • Alex Davern, National Instruments 
  • Robert W. Davis, CA, Inc.
  • Samuel A. DiPiazza, Jr., PricewaterhouseCoopers International Limited
  • Lisa A. Flavin, Emerson Electric Co. 
  • Timothy P. Flynn, KPMG LLP
  • The Honorable Barbara Hackman Franklin, Board member, various companies 
  • Kimberly Parker Gavaletz, Lockheed Martin Corporation 
  • Susan C. Gordon, CBS Corporation
  • The Honorable Joseph A. Grundfest, Stanford Law School  
  • Keith E. Holmberg, British Petroleum
  • Michele J. Hooper, The Directors' Council 
  • Jay Howell, BDO Seidman LLP
  • John J. Huber, Latham & Watkins LLP 
  • Dennis A. Johnson, California Public Employees' Retirement System
  • Gregory J. Jonas, Moody's Investors Service 
  • Leo L. Kessel, Deloitte & Touche LLP 
  • Robert J. Kueppers, Deloitte & Touche USA LLP   
  • Lee Level, Computer Sciences Corporation 
  • Peter D. Lyons, Shearman & Sterling LLP 
  • Michael J. McConnell, Shamrock Capital Advisors 
  • Peter F. Minan, KPMG LLP 
  • Edward E. Nusbaum, Grant Thornton LLP 
  • Robert C. Pozen, MFS Investment Management
  • Monte N. Redman, Astoria Financial Corporation and Astoria Federal Savings and Loan Association
  • Bruce A. Renihan, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
  • Kurt N. Schacht, Centre for Financial Market Integrity of CFA Institute
  • Stephen A. Sherwin, Cell Genesys, Inc.
  • Damon A. Silvers, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)
  • Garrett L. Stauffer, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
  • Shelley S. Stein, Grant Thornton LLP
  • Tom Szlosek, Honeywell International Inc.
  • Dr. Albert M. Teplin, Audit committee chair/member, various companies
  • John A. Thain, NYSE Group, Inc.
  • James S. Turley, Ernst & Young
  • Richard G. Ueltschy, Crowe Chizek & Company L.L.P.
  • The Honorable David M. Walker, Comptroller General of the United States
  • David P. Warren, The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc.
  • Karen Hastie Williams, Board member, various companies
  • Ann Yerger, Council of Institutional Investors

For additional information, please contact John Heine, SEC Office of Public Affairs, at 202-551-4123.



Modified: 07/13/2006