Open Meeting Agenda

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Item 1: Amendments to the Commission's Whistleblower Program Rules
Offices: Division of Enforcement, Office of General Counsel
Staff: Stephanie Avakian, Jane Norberg, Emily Pasquinelli, Jonathan Carr, Robert Stebbins, Michael Conley, Laura Jarsulic, Nicole Kelly, William (Brooks) Shirey, Stephen Yoder, Thomas Karr

The Commission will consider whether to adopt amendments to the Commission's rules implementing its whistleblower program that would enhance claim processing efficiency, and clarify and bring greater transparency to the framework used by the Commission in exercising its discretion in determining award amounts, as well as otherwise address specific issues that have developed during the whistleblower program's history. The amendments reflect the Commission's experience administering the program over the past decade. The Commission will also consider whether to adopt interpretive guidance concerning the term "independent analysis" in the Commission's rules implementing its whistleblower program.

For further information, please contact Emily Pasquinelli in the Division of Enforcement (Office of the Whistleblower) at 202-551-5973 and Nicole Kelly (Office of General Counsel) at (202) 551-4408.

Item 2: Procedural Requirements and Resubmission Thresholds under Exchange Act Rule 14a-8
Office: Division of Corporation Finance
Staff: William Hinman, David Fredrickson, Tamara Brightwell, Matt McNair

The Commission will consider whether to modernize and enhance the efficiency of the shareholder-proposal process for the benefit of all shareholders by adopting amendments to certain procedural requirements for the submission of shareholder proposals and the provision relating to resubmitted proposals under Rule 14a-8. The amendments being considered seek to modernize the system for the first time in over 35 years and reflect many years of engagement by Commission staff with investors, issuers and other market participants.

For further information, please contact Matt McNair in the Division of Corporation Finance at (202) 551-3500.