

Educate. Empower.

November 15, 2010

Securities and Exchange Commission Attention: Elizabeth M. Murphy, Secretary 100 F St., NE, Washington, DC 20549-1090

Re: File Number S7-27-10

Dear Chairwoman Mary Shapiro,

Our country took a great step forward when it passed the recent Wall Street reform legislation, HR4173. As this legislation moves through your commission, I encourage you to uphold its intent to foster openness and accountability, especially when it comes to the regulation of the derivatives market.

The bill required that derivatives exchanges be processed through clearinghouses. These clearinghouses would act as independent agencies, whose involvement in the process would increase transparency and hedge against the reckless direct trading between big banks that destabilized the stock market and crashed our economy. But to ensure that they perform the prescribed function, we need to the regulatory process to ensure that these clearinghouses are not manipulated by their ownership.

Currently you are considering two rules that would apply to the ownership of such clearinghouses: the 20/40 Rule and the 5% Rule. The 20/40 Rule follows the spirit of HR4173 by limiting the ownership of a clearinghouse by any number of big banks to 40% overall, which effectively prevents them from holding a controlling interest. The 5% Rule does not apply any such aggregate limits, meaning that 11 such banks could join forces to gain majority interest in a given clearinghouse.

If these banks owned 55% of a clearinghouse, they would essentially be watching themselves. We saw how well such an arrangement worked the last time, when their reckless activities dragged down our economy, drove up unemployment, and destabilized retirements for everyday Americans. If we are to avoid repeating the mistakes of the past, such a co-opting of the clearinghouses must be prevented: therefore, we urge you to uphold the 20/40 Rule, but remove the 5% Rule from consideration.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tim Paulson
Executive Director

Executive Director

President Mike Casey Unite Here 2

Secretary Treasurer Olga Miranda SEIU 87

VP for Political Activities Conny Ford OPEIU 3

VP for Affiliate Support Larry Mazzola, Sr. Plumbers 38

VP for Community Activities

Pride at Work

Executive Committee Alan Benjamin OPEIU 3

Rafael Cabrera TWU 250-A

Vince Courtney Laborers 261

F.X. Crowley IATSE 16

Gus Goldstein AFT 2121

Art Gonzalez IAM 1414

Michael Hardeman Sign & Display 510

Dennis Kelly United Educators of SF

Gunnar Lundeberg Sailors Union of the Pacific

Rosa Faye Marshall CLUW

Frank Martin del Campo LCLAA

Larry Mazzola, Jr. Plumbers 38

Robert Morales

Bob Muscat

Ken Oku Operating Engineers 3

John O'Rourke IBEW 6

Fred Pecker ILWU 6

Eileen Prendiville California Nurses Association

Michael Sharpe UFCW 648

Michael Theriault SF Building Trades Council

John Ulrich UFCW 101

James Wright SEIU 1877

Sergeant at Arms Hene Kelly United Educators of SF

Trustees Ron Lewis, IBEW 6 David Williams, SEIU 1021 Claire Zvanski, IFPTE 21

Secretary Treasurer Emeritus Walter L Johnson