Anat Admati

George G.C. Parker Professor of Finance and Economics Stanford Graduate School of Business

Luigi Zingales

Robert C. McCormack Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance University of Chicago Booth School of Business

January 15, 2020

Chairman Jay Clayton Securities and Exchange Commission 100 F Street N.E. Washington, D.C. 20549–1090

Commissioner Robert J. Jackson Jr. Securities and Exchange Commission 100 F Street N.E. Washington, D.C. 20549–1090

Commissioner Hester M. Peirce Securities and Exchange Commission 100 F Street N.E. Washington, D.C. 20549–1090

Commissioner Elad L. Roisman Securities and Exchange Commission 100 F Street N.E. Washington, D.C. 20549–1090

Commissioner Allison Herren Lee Securities and Exchange Commission 100 F Street N.E. Washington, D.C. 20549–1090

Re: File Number S7-22-19 Corporate Governance Scholars against the SEC Proxy Advisory Reform

Dear Chairman Clayton and Members of the Commission:

We share the Commission's concerns about concentration in the proxy advisory market. Yet, we disagree with the following proposed remedies: 1) forcing proxy advisors to share their opinions with managers ahead of time and 2) treating opinions on proxies as proxy solicitations. By increasing the cost of opining on proxy statements such proposals will only discourage new entry into the proxy advisory market and exacerbate the problem of market concentration in this sector. We ask the Commission to strike these proposed changes.

Viral Acharya C.V. Starr Professor of Economics Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University

Anat Admati George G.C. Parker Professor of Finance and Economics Stanford Graduate School of Business

Rui Albuquerque Associate Professor of Finance Boston College

Michal Barzuza Nicholas E. Chimicles Research Professor of Business Law and Regulation UVA Law

Lucian Bebchuk James Barr Ames Professor of Law, Economics, and Finance Harvard Law School

Marianne Bertrand

Chris P. Dialynas Distinguished Service Professor Of Economics The University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Bernard Black Nicholas J. Chabraja Professor Northwestern University Law School and Kellogg School of Management Law School

Margaret Blair Milton R. Underwood Chair in Free Enterprise Vanderbilt University Law School

Patrick Bolton Barbara and David Zalaznick Professor of Business Columbia Business School **Richard Booth** Martin G. McGuinn Chair in Business Law Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law

William Bratton

Nicholas F. Gallicchio Professor of Law and Co-Director, Institute for Law & Economics University of Pennsylvania Law School

Alon Brav

Peterjohn-Richards Professor of Finance Fuqua School of Business

Ryan Bubb

Professor of Law NYU School of Law

John Coffee Adolf A. Berle Professor of Law Columbia Law School

Robert Daines Pritzker Professor of Law and Business Stanford Law School

Mark DeFond A.N. Mosich Chair of Accounting, Associate Dean of Faculty University of Southern California

B. Espen Eckbo Tuck Centennial Professor of Finance Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth

Andrew Ellul Professor of Finance and Fred T. Greene Chair in Finance Kelley School of Business, Indiana University

Isil Erel David A. Rismiller Chair in Finance Ohio State University Mara Faccio Hanna Chair in Entrepreneurship & Associate Professor of Finance Purdue University - Krannert School of Management

Allen Ferrell Harvey Greenfield Professor of Securities Law Harvard Law School

Jill Fisch Perry Golkin Professor of Law, Co-Director, Institute for Law and Economics University of Pennsylvania Law School

Vyacheslav Fos Associate Professor of Finance and Hillenbrand Family Faculty Fellow Boston College

Paolo Fulghieri Professor of Finance University of North Carolina

Martin Gelter Professor of Law Fordham University School of Law

Ronald Gilson Charles J. Meyers Professor of Law and Business Stanford Law School

Eitan Goldman Associate Professor of Finance Kelley School of Business, Indiana University

Todd Gormley Associate Professor of Finance Washington University in St. Louis **Diane Guercio** Gerry and Marilyn Cameron Professor of Finance University of Oregon

Dirk Hackbarth Professor of Finance Boston University

Oliver Hart Andrew E. Furer Professor of Economics Department of Economics, Harvard University

Michael Jensen Jesse Isidor Straus Professor of Business Administration, Emeritus Graduate School of Business Administration, Harvard University

Wei Jiang Arthur F. Burns Professor of Free and Competitive Enterprise Columbia Business School

Kathryn Judge Professor Columbia Law School

Marcel Kahan George T. Lowy Professor of Law New York University School of Law

Reinier Kraakman Ezra Ripley Thayer Professor of Law Harvard Law School

Christian Leuz J. Sondheimer Professor of International Economics, Finance, and Accounting The University of Chicago - Booth School of Business Jonathan Macey Sam Harris Professor of Corporate Law, Securities Law and Corporate Finance Yale Law School

Nadya Malenko Associate Professor of Finance Boston College

Antonio Mello Aschenbrener Fellow and Associate Professor of Finance University of Wisconsin - Madison - School of Business

Andrew Metrick Professor of Finance Yale School of Management

Curtis Milhaupt Professor of Law Stanford Law School

Frank Partnoy George E. Barrett Professor of Law and Finance University of San Diego

Paul Pfleiderer The C.O.G. Miller Distinguished Professor of Finance Stanford Graduate School of Business

Katharina Pistor Michael I. Sovern Professor of Law Columbia Law School

Annette Poulsen Sterne Professor of Banking and Finance University of Georgia

Morgan Ricks Professor Vanderbilt University Law School Mark Roe David Burg Professor of Law Harvard Law School

Ailsa Roell Professor of International and Public Affairs Columbia University

Joshua Ronen Professor of Accounting Stern School of Business, NYU

Paola Sapienza Professor of Finance Kellogg School of Management

Frederik Schlingemann Professor of Finance Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business, University of Pittsburgh

Antoinette Schoar Michael Koerner '49 Professor of Entrepreneurial Finance MIT Sloan School of Management

Simone Sepe Professor of Law and Finance The University of Arizona; IAST - Toulouse School of Economics

Amit Seru The Steven and Roberta Denning Professor of Finance Stanford Graduate School of Business

David Skeel S. Samuel Arsht Professor of Corporate Law University of Pennsylvania - School of Law

Holger Spamann Professor of Law Harvard Law School Laura Starks Seay Regents Chair of Finance McCombs School of Business

Randall Thomas

John S. Beasley Professor of Law and Business Vanderbilt University Law School and Owen School of Management

Michael Weisbach

The Ralph W. Kurtz Chair in Finance The Ohio State University

David Yermack

Chairman, Finance Department, Stern School of Business New York University

Luigi Zingales

Robert C. McCormack Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Cc: Commissioner Robert J. Jackson Jr. Commissioner Hester M. Peirce Commissioner Elad L. Roisman Commissioner Allison Herren Lee