Exhibit 99.1

NEWS RELEASE

Transcat, Inc. 35 Vantage Point Drive • Rochester • NY • 14624 • Phone: (585) 352-7777

IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Transcat Files Universal Shelf Registration Statement on Form S-3

ROCHESTER, NY, December 20, 2017 – Transcat, Inc. (NASDAQ: TRNS), a leading provider of accredited calibration, repair, inspection and laboratory instrument services and value-added distributor of professional grade handheld test, measurement and control instrumentation, today announced that it has filed a universal shelf registration statement on Form S-3 with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”). Under the shelf registration statement, once declared effective by the SEC, Transcat may, from time to time in one or more future offerings, issue various types of securities, including common stock, warrants to purchase other securities, purchase contracts, and units up to an aggregate amount of $50 million. The Company has no current plans to issue securities under the registration statement.

Lee D. Rudow, President and Chief Executive Officer, commented, “We believe strong corporate governance and long-term planning requires the flexibility to act quickly and decisively in the event efficient access to the capital markets is desired, or needed, to support our objectives or capitalize on attractive growth opportunities. While we have no immediate plans to use this registration statement, we are being proactive in our efforts to support our growth strategy.”

The shelf registration statement relating to these securities has been filed with the SEC but has not yet become effective. These securities may not be sold nor may offers to buy be accepted prior to the time the registration statement becomes effective. This news release shall not constitute an offer to sell or a solicitation of an offer to buy, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any jurisdiction in which an offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of such jurisdiction. Any offering of the securities covered under the shelf registration statement will be made solely by means of a prospectus and an accompanying prospectus supplement relating to that offering. A copy of the prospectus included in the registration statement may be obtained on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov.

After the shelf registration statement becomes effective, Transcat may offer and sell securities covered by the registration statement through one or more methods of distribution, subject to market conditions and Transcat’s capital desires or needs. The terms of any offering under the shelf registration statement will be established at the time of such offering and will be described in a prospectus supplement filed with the SEC prior to completion of the offering.

ABOUT TRANSCAT
Transcat, Inc. is a leading provider of accredited calibration, repair, inspection and laboratory instrument services. The Company is focused on providing best-in-class services and products to highly regulated industries, including life science, aerospace and defense, pharmaceutical, medical device manufacturing and biotechnology. Transcat provides permanent and periodic on-site services, mobile calibration services and in-house services through 22 Calibration Service Centers strategically located across the United States, Puerto Rico and Canada. The breadth and depth of measurement parameters addressed by Transcat’s ISO/IEC 17025 scopes of accreditation are believed to be the best in the industry.

Transcat Files Universal Shelf Registration Statement on Form S-3
December 20, 2017

Transcat also operates as a leading value-added distributor that markets, sells and rents new and used national and proprietary brand instruments to customers primarily in North America. The Company’s combined Service and Distribution segment offerings, experience, technical expertise and integrity create a unique and compelling value proposition for its customers.

Transcat’s strategy is to leverage the complementary nature of its two operating segments, its comprehensive service capabilities, strong brand, enhanced e-commerce capabilities and leading distribution platform to drive organic sales growth. The Company will also look to expand its addressable calibration market through acquisitions and capability investments to further realize the inherent leverage of its business model.

More information about Transcat can be found at: Transcat.com.

Safe Harbor Statement
This news release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements are not statements of historical fact and thus are subject to risks, uncertainties and assumptions. Forward-looking statements are identified by words such as “expects,” “estimates,” “projects,” “anticipates,” “believes,” “could,” and other similar words. All statements addressing operating performance, events or developments that Transcat, Inc. expects or anticipates will occur in the future, including but not limited to statements relating to anticipated revenue, profit margins, sales operations, capital expenditures, cash flows, operating income, growth strategy, segment growth, potential acquisitions, integration of acquired businesses, market position, customer preferences, outlook and changes in market conditions in the industries in which Transcat operates are forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements should be evaluated in light of important risk factors and uncertainties. These risk factors and uncertainties are more fully described in Transcat’s Annual Report and Quarterly Reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including under the heading entitled “Risk Factors.” Should one or more of these risks or uncertainties materialize, or should any of the Company’s underlying assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially from those currently anticipated. In addition, undue reliance should not be placed on the Company’s forward-looking statements. Except as required by law, the Company disclaims any obligation to update, correct or publicly announce any revisions to any of the forward-looking statements contained in this news release.

For more information contact:

Michael J. Tschiderer, Chief Financial Officer	Deborah K. Pawlowski, Investor Relations
Phone: (585) 352-7777	Phone: (716) 843-3908
Email: mtschiderer@transcat.com	Email: dpawlowski@keiadvisors.com

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