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                                         EXHIBIT 99



The Bank of New York Company, Inc.       NEWS
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                                         One Wall Street, New York, NY 10286
                                         -----------------------------------

                                         Contact:
                                         PUBLIC AND INVESTOR RELATIONS
















IMMEDIATELY
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Media:                                                Investors:
-----                                                 ---------
R. Jeep Bryant, MD                                    John M. Roy, MD
(212) 635-1569                                        (212) 635-8005
                                                      Gregg A. Scheuing, VP
                                                      (212) 635-1578


 THE BANK OF NEW YORK COMPANY, INC. PROVIDES UPDATE ON PERSHING ACQUISITION
              FINANCIAL IMPACT IN-LINE WITH PREVIOUS GUIDANCE


NEW YORK, N.Y., June 18, 2003 - The Bank of New York Company, Inc. (NYSE: BK) expects the financial impact of the Pershing acquisition to be in-line with previously announced guidance.
     Since closing the transaction on May 1, 2003, the Company has reviewed the Pershing business and assessed expectations for market activity over the remainder of the year. In addition, it has updated its synergy projections and analyzed the impact of its final transaction financing arrangements. Based on these factors, the impact of the transaction on the Company's 2003 earnings per share is currently projected to be as follows:

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<TABLE>
                         2003 Fully Diluted EPS Impact From Pershing
                         ____________________________________________

                     2nd      3rd      4th     Total         Initial
                   Quarter  Quarter  Quarter   2003          Guidance (3)
                   ___________________________________   __________________

Operating EPS(1)   $(0.01)  $(0.01)  $  -      $(0.02)    $(0.02) to $(0.03)

Merger and
Integration
Charges(2)         $(0.02)  $(0.02)  $(0.03)   $(0.07)    $(0.06)
                   _______  _______  _______   _______    __________________

Reported EPS       $(0.03)  $(0.03)  $(0.03)   $(0.09)    $(0.08) to $(0.09)
                   =======  =======  =======   =======    ==================

  (1) Operating EPS reflects Pershing's earnings before the impact of merger and integration
      charges.  Financing costs of the transaction included in this estimate incorporate the
      issuance of 40 million shares of common stock and $1 billion in debt.
  (2) Merger and integration charges include severance, contract termination costs, asset
      write-offs and other expenses associated with the integration of BNY Clearing and BNY
      Global Clearing into the Pershing platform.
  (3) Initial guidance provided upon transaction announcement on January 8, 2003.

     The impact of Pershing on the Company's operating results is expected to
be in-line with guidance provided when the transaction was announced in
January 2003.  This is based on the assumption that market activity remains
at recent levels for the balance of the year.  The pre-tax synergy estimate
of $22 million for 2003 remains on target and will be derived primarily from
cost savings.
     The Company continues to estimate that the acquisition will be accretive
to earnings in 2004 by 2-3 cents per fully diluted share due to both a
projected firming market environment and expectations that previously
announced cost savings and incremental revenue-related opportunities will be
met or exceeded. Based on indications from clients, the Company anticipates

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that it will exceed its targeted 90% retention rate for BNY Clearing clients.
Conversions are underway and scheduled to be completed by October 1, 2003.
     With over 60 years of experience, Pershing is a leading global provider
of clearing services, outsourcing solutions, investment-related products and
services, and financial product distribution for broker-dealers, asset
managers and financial intermediaries.  It has a client base of over 850
broker-dealers and investment managers and supports approximately 100,000
investment professionals at these firms.  This client base represents more
than 5 million investor accounts.  Pershing holds approximately $475 billion
of total client assets, including over $175 billion of money market and
mutual fund assets.  Headquartered in Jersey City, New Jersey, Pershing has
approximately 4,000 employees worldwide at 18 locations in the U.S., Europe
and Asia.
     The Bank of New York Company, Inc. (NYSE: BK) is a global leader in
securities servicing for issuers, investors and financial intermediaries.
The Company plays an integral role in the infrastructure of the capital
markets, servicing securities in more than 100 markets worldwide.  The
Company provides quality solutions through leading technology for global
corporations, financial institutions, asset managers, governments, non-profit
organizations, and individuals.  Its principal subsidiary, The Bank of New
York, founded in 1784, is the oldest bank in the United States and has a
distinguished history of serving clients around the world through its five
primary businesses: Securities Servicing and Global Payment Services, Private
Client Services and Asset Management, Corporate Banking, Global Market
Services, and Retail Banking.  Additional information on the Company is
available at www.bankofny.com.