EXHIBIT 99.1


SYSCO                                                             [COMPANY LOGO]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SYSCO Corporation
1390 Enclave Parkway                             NEWS RELEASE
Houston, Texas 77077-2099
(281) 584-1390
                                                 FOR MORE INFORMATION
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
                                                 CONTACT: John M. Palizza
                                                          Assistant Treasurer
                                                          (281) 584-1308


                SYSCO REPORTS 8.7 PERCENT SALES GROWTH IN SECOND
                        QUARTER AND DILUTED EPS OF $0.33


HOUSTON,  JANUARY 30, 2006 -- SYSCO  Corporation  (NYSE:  SYY),  North America's
leading foodservice marketer and distributor, today announced sales and earnings
results for the 13-week  second  quarter of fiscal year 2006 that ended December
31, 2005.

SECOND  QUARTER  FISCAL  2006  HIGHLIGHTS:
o    Sales  increased  8.7% to $7.971 billion from $7.331 billion in last year's
     second quarter.
o    Net earnings were $204.2  million vs. $232.6  million in last year's second
     quarter.
o    Diluted  earnings  per share were $0.33  compared  to $0.36 in last  year's
     second quarter.
o    Gross profit margins  increased 21 basis points in the quarter  compared to
     the same period last year, or 19.27% compared to 19.06%.
o    Second  quarter EPS data  includes a net  expense of $0.04 for  incremental
     share-based  compensation,  principally stock option expense, which was not
     required to be expensed in fiscal 2005.

FIRST  HALF  FISCAL  2006  HIGHLIGHTS:
o    Sales  increased 7.5% to $15.982  billion from $14.863  billion in the same
     period last year.
o    Net earnings  after the  cumulative  effect of an  accounting  change taken
     during SYSCO's first fiscal quarter of 2006 were $412.7 million compared to
     $458.6 million in the first half of fiscal 2005.
o    Diluted  earnings  per share were $0.64  compared  to $0.70 in last  year's
     first 26 weeks.
o    Gross  profit  margins  increased  11 basis points in the first 26 weeks of
     fiscal 2006  compared to the same period last year,  or 19.18%  compared to
     19.07%.
o    EPS data for the first 26 weeks of fiscal  2006  includes a net  expense of
     $0.09 for incremental  share-based  compensation,  principally stock option
     expense, which was not required to be expensed in fiscal 2005.

     Richard J.  Schnieders,  SYSCO's  chairman,  chief  executive  officer  and
president, commented, "I am very pleased with this quarter's sales growth of 8.7
percent, which is a return to SYSCO's historical performance levels. The results
were  due to  sound  execution  of our  growth  strategies,  including  Business
Reviews, increased staffing in our key Customer Contact areas and the efforts of
our  marketing  associates.  Our  strategic  investments  in  these  areas  were
validated by the growth they  produced,  and we will continue to invest in these
areas for future growth. Our industry has endured a variety of challenges in the
past several quarters, especially in terms of fuel costs and the effects of food
cost inflation. By remaining focused on our long-term goals, we have executed on
the basic building  blocks of our business and  positioned  ourselves for future
success."

SALES:

     The quarter's 8.7 percent sales growth  includes sales from  non-comparable
acquisitions  (less than 12 months) of 1.3 percent.  Second quarter sales growth
also includes inflation,  as measured by the change in SYSCO's cost of goods, of
0.6 percent.

     SYSCO's  Business  Review  process  continued  to produce  strong  customer
relationships  during  the  quarter.  The  process,  which  tailors  value-added
products and services such as menu  reengineering and customer loyalty programs,
was  performed  with  more than  8,500  customers  during  the  second  quarter,
resulting  in sales  increases  in the  mid-teens  percentage  range  during the
quarter  for those  customers  reviewed.  The  company  has also  increased  its
Customer  Contact  personnel  by  approximately  3.0 percent  since the start of
fiscal year 2006 -  principally  marketing  associates  and business  review and
development professionals - to continue to build on its sales success.

GROSS  PROFIT  MARGINS:

     Gross profit margins  increased 21 basis points in the second quarter,  the
largest increase in the last 14 consecutive quarters. Customer mix led the gross
profit margin increase. Marketing associate-served sales - sales to SYSCO's core
business of independent  restaurants - were 53.3 percent of U.S. broadline sales
in the quarter versus 53.1 percent last year.


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<PAGE>

EXPENSES:

     Operating  expenses  as a percent to sales were  14.70  percent  during the
second  quarter  compared to 13.71 percent in the same quarter a year ago. Major
items of expense  incurred  in the  quarter  that were in excess of last  year's
second  quarter  expenses  include an additional  $13.0 million in fuel expense;
$5.9 million in added pension expense;  and a smaller gain in the cash surrender
value of  corporate  owned life  insurance  in the amount of $3.5  million  that
resulted in a negative  comparison  of $10.8  million.  Expense for  share-based
compensation  - an item that is included in second  quarter fiscal 2006 expenses
but is not  included in expenses for the same period last year--  totaled  $29.3
million.  In addition,  costs for the  National  Supply  Chain  project,  net of
benefits, were $14.0 million in the second quarter of fiscal 2006.

CAPITAL  SPENDING:

     Capital  expenditures  during the quarter were $138.6 million.  Through the
first 26 weeks of fiscal 2006, capital expenditures were $232.8 million. For the
entire fiscal year 2006, the company  continues to project capital  expenditures
to be in a range of $425 million to $450 million,  which is in line with SYSCO's
historical capital spending trends.

OTHER  RECENT  DEVELOPMENTS:

     Ramp-up of case volume at SYSCO's  Northeast  Redistribution  Center  (RDC)
will resume in  February.  The ramp-up  process  will  continue  throughout  the
remainder  of fiscal 2006,  with the  majority of  projected  weekly case volume
flowing through the facility by the end of the fourth fiscal quarter. Management
continues to expect the National  Supply  Chain  project to produce  competitive
advantages for SYSCO,  including  better  procurement  practices and warehousing
techniques and overall supply chain efficiencies.

     In January of 2006 SYSCO completed the purchase of land in Alachua, Florida
for the future site of its second Redistribution  Center (RDC).  Construction of
that facility is expected to be completed within the next 14 to 16 months.

     Construction  of SYSCO's  fold-out  operation  that will serve the Raleigh,
North Carolina market  progressed  according to plan during the quarter and that
facility is expected to begin  distributing  product by the end of fiscal  2006.
Sysco Food  Services - Gulf Coast,  Inc.,  the company's  broadline  fold-out in
Geneva, Alabama, opened in December 2005.

     SYSCO's FreshPoint  subsidiary completed the acquisition of A-One-A Produce
& Dairy  (Pompano  Beach,  FL; $90.8  million in sales for  calendar  year 2004)
during the second quarter of fiscal 2006. In addition,  broadliner Western Foods
(Little Rock, AR; approximately $62.3 million in sales for its fiscal year 2005)
merged into SYSCO's Little Rock operation during the quarter.

     Approximately  $177.8 million was invested to repurchase 5.6 million shares
during the second quarter. SYSCO has approximately 21.5 million shares remaining
on its current share repurchase authorizations.

CONFERENCE  CALL  &  WEBCAST:

     As  previously  announced,  SYSCO's  second  quarter  fiscal 2006  earnings
conference  call will be held at 10:00 a.m.  EDT on Monday,  January 30, 2006. A
live  webcast  of the call,  as well as a copy of this  press  release,  will be
available online at www.sysco.com under Investor Relations.

ABOUT  SYSCO:

     SYSCO is the global  leader in selling,  marketing  and  distributing  food
products  to  restaurants,   healthcare  and  educational  facilities,   lodging
establishments  and other customers who prepare meals away from home. Its family
of products  also  includes  equipment  and  supplies  for the  foodservice  and
hospitality  industries.  For the fiscal year 2005 that ended July 2, 2005,  the
company generated $30.3 billion in sales. For more information about SYSCO visit
the company's Internet home page at www.sysco.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

     Certain  statements made herein are  forward-looking  statements  under the
Private  Securities  Litigation  Reform  Act of 1995.  They  include  statements
regarding future capital expenditures; the potential for future success; and the
expected  timing and benefits of the national  supply chain project and regional
redistribution centers. These statements involve risks and uncertainties and are
based on management's  current  expectations  and estimates;  actual results may
differ  materially.  Those  risks and  uncertainties  that  could  impact  these
statements  include risks that pertain to SYSCO's business,  including the risks
relating  to the  foodservice  distribution  industry's  relatively  low  profit
margins and sensitivity to general  economic  conditions,  including the current
economic  environment  and  consumer  spending;  increased  fuel costs;  SYSCO's
leverage  and  debt  risks;  the  successful   completion  of  acquisitions  and
integration of acquired  companies;  the risk of interruption of supplies due to
lack of long-term  contracts,  severe  weather,  work  stoppages  or  otherwise;
construction  schedules;  management's  allocation  of capital and the timing of
capital  purchases such as fleet and equipment;  competitive  conditions;  labor
issues;  and internal factors such as the ability to control expenses.  Earnings
are also  impacted by option  expensing,  which is based on certain  assumptions
regarding the number and fair value of options  granted,  resulting tax benefits
and shares outstanding. Capital expenditures may vary from those projected based
on changes in business plans and others factors.  For a discussion of additional
factors  that could cause actual  results to differ from those  described in the
forward-looking statements, see the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the
fiscal  year  ended  July 2,  2005 as filed  with the  Securities  and  Exchange
Commission.

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<PAGE>


                                                  SYSCO CORPORATION
                                   CONSOLIDATED RESULTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)
                                        (In Thousands Except for Share Data)

                                                                              FOR THE 13-WEEKS ENDED
                                                                              ----------------------
                                                                  DECEMBER 31, 2005               JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                                  -----------------               ---------------
Sales                                                              $   7,971,061                   $   7,331,257
Costs and expenses
    Cost of sales                                                      6,434,753                       5,933,515
    Operating expenses                                                 1,171,469                       1,004,919
    Interest expense                                                      29,227                          17,766
    Other, net                                                            (2,220)                         (1,693)
                                                                  -----------------               ---------------
Total costs and expenses                                               7,633,229                       6,954,507
                                                                  -----------------               ---------------
Earnings before income taxes                                             337,832                         376,750
Income taxes                                                             133,650                         144,107
                                                                  -----------------               ---------------

Net earnings                                                       $     204,182                   $     232,643
                                                                  =================               ===============

Net Earnings:
Basic earnings per share                                           $        0.33                   $        0.36
                                                                  =================               ===============
Diluted earnings per share                                         $        0.33                   $        0.36
                                                                  =================               ===============
Average shares outstanding                                           620,137,592                     638,638,789
                                                                  =================               ===============
Diluted average shares outstanding                                   627,147,814                     652,993,142
                                                                  =================               ===============
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Comparative segment sales data.
(Unaudited)                                                                   FOR THE 13-WEEKS ENDED
                                                                              ----------------------
($000)                                                            DECEMBER 31, 2005               JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                                  -----------------               ---------------
SALES:
    Broadline                                                      $   6,288,335                   $   5,881,372
    SYGMA                                                              1,070,214                         941,421
    Other                                                                714,187                         593,028
    Intersegment                                                        (101,675)                        (84,564)
                                                                  -----------------               ---------------

Total                                                              $   7,971,061                   $   7,331,257
                                                                  =================               ===============
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</TABLE>


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<TABLE>
                                                  SYSCO CORPORATION
                                   CONSOLIDATED RESULTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)
                                        (In Thousands Except for Share Data)
                                                                              FOR THE 26-WEEKS ENDED
                                                                              ----------------------
                                                                 DECEMBER 31, 2005                 JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                                 -----------------                 ---------------
Sales                                                                $15,981,545                     $14,863,182
Costs and expenses
    Cost of sales                                                     12,915,546                      12,028,446
    Operating expenses                                                 2,348,125                       2,060,331
    Interest expense                                                      51,473                          35,465
    Other, net                                                            (5,335)                         (3,662)
                                                                 -----------------                 ---------------
Total costs and expenses                                              15,309,809                      14,120,580
                                                                 -----------------                 ---------------
Earnings before income taxes                                             671,736                         742,602
Income taxes                                                             268,344                         284,045
                                                                 -----------------                 ---------------

Earnings before cumulative effect
  of accounting change                                                   403,392                         458,557
Cumulative effect of accounting change                                     9,285                              --
                                                                 -----------------                 ---------------
Net earnings                                                      $      412,677                    $    458,557
                                                                 =================                 ===============

Earnings before cumulative effect of
  accounting change:
Basic earnings per share                                          $         0.65                    $       0.72
                                                                 =================                 ===============
Diluted earnings per share                                        $         0.64                    $       0.70
                                                                 =================                 ===============
Net Earnings:
Basic earnings per share                                          $         0.66                    $       0.72
                                                                 =================                 ===============
Diluted earnings per share                                        $         0.65                    $       0.70
                                                                 =================                 ===============
Average shares outstanding                                           623,470,638                     638,403,789
                                                                 =================                 ===============
Diluted average shares outstanding                                   631,396,186                     652,448,434
                                                                 =================                 ===============
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Comparative segment sales data.
(Unaudited)                                                                   FOR THE 26-WEEKS ENDED
                                                                              ----------------------
($000)                                                           DECEMBER 31, 2005                 JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                                 -----------------                 ---------------
SALES:
    Broadline                                                     $   12,671,189                    $ 12,009,666
    SYGMA                                                              2,129,995                       1,857,201
    Other                                                              1,368,529                       1,158,762
    Intersegment                                                        (188,168)                       (162,447)
                                                                 -----------------                 ---------------
Total                                                             $   15,981,545                    $ 14,863,182
                                                                 =================                 ===============
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



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<TABLE>
                                                 SYSCO CORPORATION
                                      CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (UNAUDITED)
                                                   (In Thousands)
                                                                        DECEMBER 31, 2005          JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------
ASSETS
Current assets
   Cash                                                                      $  253,938               $  152,926
   Receivables                                                                2,360,132                2,167,931
   Inventories                                                                1,672,908                1,546,007
   Prepaid expenses                                                              65,273                   64,714
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------
     Total current assets                                                     4,352,251                3,931,578

Plant and equipment at cost, less depreciation                                2,344,423                2,232,172

Other assets
   Goodwill and intangibles                                                   1,346,228                1,258,716
   Restricted cash                                                              102,723                  185,660
   Prepaid pension cost                                                         428,005                  289,464
   Other                                                                        236,557                  203,297
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------
      Total other assets                                                      2,113,513                1,937,137
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------
Total assets                                                             $    8,810,187             $  8,100,887
                                                                        =================          ===============


LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

CURRENT LIABILITIES
   Notes payable                                                         $       31,814             $     67,153
   Accounts payable                                                           1,813,247                1,684,567

   ACCRUED EXPENSES                                                             689,048                  626,651
   Accrued income taxes                                                         189,593                  239,984
   Deferred taxes                                                               208,224                  183,748
   Current maturities of long-term debt                                         209,247                  367,853
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------
     Total current liabilities                                                3,141,173                3,169,956

Other liabilities
   Long-term debt                                                             1,827,586                1,101,852
   Deferred taxes                                                               727,084                  716,977
   Other long-term liabilities                                                  403,087                  268,878
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------

     TOTAL OTHER LIABILITIES                                                  2,957,757                2,087,707

Contingencies
Shareholders' equity
   Preferred stock                                                                    -                        -
   Common stock, par $l per share                                               765,175                  765,175
   Paid-in capital                                                              470,274                  364,738
   Retained earnings                                                          4,766,135                4,239,352
   Other comprehensive income                                                    21,980                   52,813
   Treasury stock                                                            (3,312,307)              (2,578,854)
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------
   Total shareholders' equity                                                 2,711,257                2,843,224
                                                                        -----------------          ---------------
Total liabilities and shareholders' equity                               $    8,810,187             $  8,100,887
                                                                        =================          ===============


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<TABLE>
                                                       SYSCO CORPORATION
                                              CONSOLIDATED CASH FLOWS (UNAUDITED)
                                                        (In Thousands)
                                                                                             FOR THE 26-WEEKS ENDED
                                                                                             ----------------------
                                                                                  DECEMBER 31, 2005            JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
Cash flows from operating activities:

  NET EARNINGS                                                                     $      412,677               $    458,557
  Add non-cash items:
      Cumulative effect of accounting change                                               (9,285)                         -
      Share-based compensation expense                                                     74,168                     11,697
      Depreciation and amortization                                                       169,558                    150,294
      Deferred tax provision                                                              261,766                    265,289
      Provision for losses on receivables                                                  16,654                     15,019
  Additional investment in certain assets and liabilities,
      net of effect of businesses acquired:
      (Increase) decrease in receivables                                                  (57,632)                    32,612
      (Increase) in inventories                                                          (193,578)                  (123,510)
      (Increase) in prepaid expenses                                                       (4,716)                    (9,378)
      (Decrease) in accounts payable                                                       (8,753)                   (78,330)
      (Decrease) in accrued expenses                                                      (30,287)                  (119,306)
      (Decrease) in accrued income taxes                                                 (311,809)                  (224,079)
      (Increase) in other assets                                                          (18,001)                    (7,689)
      Increase (decrease) in other long-term liabilities and prepaid
        pension cost, net                                                                   9,534                     (9,453)
      Excess tax benefits from share-based
        compensation arrangements                                                          (3,080)                         -
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
    Net cash provided by operating activities                                             307,216                    361,723
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
Cash flows from investing activities:
  Additions to plant and equipment                                                       (232,790)                  (205,585)
  Proceeds from sales of plant and equipment                                               12,822                      7,331
  Acquisition of businesses, net of cash acquired                                         (54,776)                   (33,439)
  Increase in restricted cash balances                                                       (992)                   (16,334)
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------

    Net cash used for investing activities                                               (275,736)                  (248,027)
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
Cash flows from financing activities:
  Bank and commercial paper repayments                                                    (32,184)                    (6,881)
  Other debt borrowings                                                                   667,497                     68,973
  Cash paid for termination of interest rate swap                                         (21,196)                         -
  Common stock reissued from treasury                                                      76,215                    103,168
  Treasury stock purchases                                                               (473,181)                  (154,858)
  Dividends paid                                                                         (188,159)                  (166,234)
  Excess tax benefits from share-based compensation
      arrangements                                                                          3,080                          -
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
    Net cash provided by (used for) financing activities                                   32,072                   (155,832)
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash                                                    (1,292)                    (4,644)
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
Net increase (decrease) in cash                                                            62,260                    (46,780)
Cash at beginning of period                                                               191,678                    199,706
                                                                                  -----------------            ---------------
Cash at end of period                                                              $      253,938               $    152,926
                                                                                  =================            ===============
Cash paid during the period for:
  Interest                                                                         $       47,664               $     34,841
  Income taxes                                                                            313,493                    237,694


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<TABLE>
                 COMPARATIVE SUPPLEMENTAL STATISTICAL INFORMATION RELATED TO SALES (UNAUDITED)
        Comparative SYSCO Brand Sales and Marketing Associate-Served Sales data are summarized below.

                                                                          FOR THE 13-WEEKS ENDED
                                                                          ----------------------
                                                               DECEMBER 31, 2005             JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                               -----------------             ---------------
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of MA-Served Sales                           55.7%                       57.4%
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of Total
   Traditional Broadline Sales in the U.S.                            48.2%                       49.7%
MA-Served Sales as a % of Total Traditional
   Broadline Sales in the U.S.                                        53.3%                       53.1%
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                                          FOR THE 26-WEEKS ENDED
                                                                          ----------------------
                                                               DECEMBER 31, 2005             JANUARY 1, 2005
                                                               -----------------             ---------------
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of MA-Served Sales                          56.2%                        57.7%
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of Total
   Traditional Broadline Sales in the U.S.                           48.6%                        49.9%
MA-Served Sales as a % of Total Traditional
   Broadline Sales in the U.S.                                       54.2%                        53.9%
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


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