EXHIBIT 99.1

SYSCO                                                             [COMPANY LOGO]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SYSCO Corporation
1390 Enclave Parkway                                                NEWS RELEASE
Houston, Texas 77077-2099
(281)584-1390                                      FOR MORE INFORMATION
                                                   CONTACT: John M. Palizza
                                                            Assistant Treasurer
                                                            (281) 584-1308

              SYSCO ANNOUNCES FOURTH QUARTER DILUTED EPS OF $0.44 &
                        FISCAL 2005 DILUTED EPS OF $1.47

     HOUSTON,  AUGUST 15, 2005 -- SYSCO Corporation (NYSE: SYY), North America's
leading foodservice marketer and distributor, today announced sales and earnings
results for the 13-week  fourth  quarter and 52-week fiscal year that ended July
2, 2005 as compared to last year's  14-week  fourth  quarter and 53-week  fiscal
year ended July 3, 2004.


     FOURTH QUARTER HIGHLIGHTS:
     --------------------------
     o    Diluted  earnings per share were $0.44, or 2.3% above the $0.43 earned
          in last year's 14-week fourth quarter.
     o    Net earnings rose 1.5%, or $284.7  million vs. $280.6  million in last
          year's 14-week fourth quarter.
     o    Sales were $7.98  billion  compared  to $8.14  billion in last  year's
          14-week fourth quarter. On a comparable basis, fourth quarter sales of
          $7.98 billion  compare to last year's adjusted fourth quarter sales of
          $7.56 billion.(a)
     o    Non-comparable  acquisitions  represented  1.0% of sales and food cost
          inflation, as measured by SYSCO's change in cost of goods, was 1.6%.
     o    Operating  expenses  as a percent  to sales were  13.55%,  an 11 basis
          point reduction in comparison to 13.66% in the same period last year.

     FISCAL YEAR HIGHLIGHTS:
     -----------------------
     o    Diluted  earnings  per share were  $1.47,  a 7.3%  increase  over last
          year's $1.37.
     o    Net earnings  increased  6.0% to $961.5  million vs. $907.2 million in
          last year's 53-week fiscal year.
     o    Fiscal year sales of $30.3 billion represents a 3.2% increase compared
          to last year's $29.3 billion in sales. On a comparable  basis,  fiscal
          year 2005 sales of $30.3 billion were  approximately  5.3% higher than
          adjusted sales of $28.8 billion for last year.(a)
     o    Non-comparable  acquisitions  represented  0.8% of sales and food cost
          inflation, as measured by SYSCO's change in cost of goods, was 3.5%.
     o    Operating  expenses as a percent to sales  dropped 27 basis  points to
          13.85% compared to last year's 14.12%.

    (a)   Because the fourth  quarter of fiscal 2004  contained an extra week, a
          comparable  sales figure has been provided by excluding  1/14th of the
          sales made  during  the final  quarter  of fiscal  2004.  Refer to the
          reconciliation   that  appears  after  the  cash  flow  statement  for
          supplemental information on adjusted sales performance.

     Richard J.  Schnieders,  SYSCO's  chairman,  chief executive  officer,  and
president,  said,  "SYSCO's  dedicated  associates  generated sales and earnings
gains for the 29th consecutive  year, a truly remarkable  accomplishment.  After
adjusting for the extra week in last year's fourth quarter, nominal sales growth
has  remained  relatively  stable for the past  several  quarters.  In addition,
declining inflation has lessened the overall gross margin pressures  experienced
in recent quarters and has spurred underlying unit growth. This has added to the
growth coming from the success and maturation of our business review processes."

     SYSCO's business review efforts enhance customer relationships by tailoring
value-added  products  and  services  such as menu  reengineering  and  customer
loyalty programs.  On a year-over-year  basis, sales to those operators who have
participated in business reviews increased at an average  percentage rate in the
mid-teens.

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     "We are pleased with the results for the quarter that were generated by our
sales growth strategies," added Mr. Schnieders. "The continued expense reduction
measures and  distribution  efficiencies  at our companies  were above  internal
projections and the companies  overcame higher fuel costs in the quarter,  which
were 0.46  percent of sales  compared  to 0.33  percent of sales in last  year's
fourth quarter.  Fourth quarter operating expenses as a percent of sales dropped
11 basis points and bad debt  writeoffs  net of  recoveries  for the year were a
record low 0.07 percent of sales, a reflection of the strength of the restaurant
industry and higher quality sales by our operating companies."
     Mr.  Schnieders  added that SYSCO continued to invest for growth during the
fourth quarter,  with capital  expenditures of $85.8 million during the final 13
weeks of fiscal 2005, or a total of $390.2  million  during the fiscal year. The
company  projects  capital  spending  to be in a range of $425  million  to $450
million for fiscal year 2006.
     During the fourth quarter,  $16.9 million was expensed and $2.2 million was
capitalized  related to the National  Supply Chain  Project.  Through the end of
fiscal year 2005, the total amount expensed on the National Supply Chain Project
since  inception  was $113  million and the total  amount  capitalized  was $186
million.
     "The  National  Supply  Chain  project,  the largest  strategic  project in
SYSCO's history,  continues to exceed our  expectations,"  added Mr. Schnieders.
"The Northeast Redistribution Center (RDC) is currently shipping to 12 of the 14
broadline  operating  companies in that region, with the two remaining companies
scheduled to ramp up by October. Approximately 120,000 cases are currently being
shipped  each day from the  Northeast  RDC,  a figure  that will grow to 300,000
cases when it is fully  operational in January,  2006. We also have identified a
site in Florida as the  location  for the second RDC and expect to make a formal
announcement in the near future."
     The acquisition of two specialty meat distributors -- Facciola Meat Company
(Fremont, California) and Royalty Foods, Inc. (Orlando, Florida), were completed
during the fourth  quarter of fiscal 2005.  The  purchase of  specialty  produce
distributor Fowler & Huntting Company, Inc. (Hartford,  Connecticut),  which was
announced during the fourth quarter,  was completed July 29, 2005.  Construction
of two fold-out operations to service the Raleigh, North Carolina and Gulf Coast
Alabama markets continued to progress during the quarter, as did construction of
a replacement  facility in Lincoln,  Illinois.  A  replacement  facility for the
Denver broadline  company is currently under  construction and during the fourth
quarter facility  expansions were completed in Baltimore,  Maryland;  San Diego,
California;  and Harrisburg,  Virginia. A warehouse expansion was also performed
in Modesto,  California for Piranha Produce, SYSCO's recently acquired specialty
produce distributor.
     SYSCO's  income tax provision in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2005 includes
a tax benefit of $8.5  million  primarily  related to the  reversal of valuation
allowances previously recorded on certain deferred tax assets.
     In the first  quarter  of fiscal  2006 SYSCO  will  begin  expensing  stock
options as required under  accounting  guidelines.  The current  estimate of the
impact for  expensing  options  falls in a range of $0.11 to $0.13 per share for
the fiscal year 2006.
     SYSCO is the largest foodservice marketing and distribution organization in
North America, providing food and related products and services to approximately
390,000   restaurants,    healthcare   and   educational   facilities,   lodging
establishments and other foodservice  customers.  SYSCO's operations are located
throughout  the  United  States  and Canada  and  include  broadline  companies,
specialty   produce  and   custom-cut   meat   operations,   Asian   foodservice
distributors,   hotel  supply  operations  and  chain  restaurant   distribution
subsidiaries. For more information about SYSCO visit the company's Internet home
page at  www.sysco.com.  As previously  announced,  SYSCO's  fourth quarter 2005
earnings  conference  call will be held at 10:00 a.m. EDT on Monday,  August 15,
2005. A live webcast of the call, as well as a copy of this press release,  will
be available online at www.sysco.com under Investor  Relations.

Forward-Looking Statements
     Certain  statements made herein are  forward-looking  statements  under the
Private  Securities  Litigation  Reform  Act of 1995.  They  include  statements
regarding  capital  expenditures;  inflationary  trends;  the  impact  of option
expensing;  SYSCO's ability to increase sales,  improve operating  efficiencies,
control  expenses and execute  growth  strategies;  and the expected  timing and
benefits of  acquisitions,  fold-outs,  the national  supply  chain  project and
regional redistribution  centers,  including the Northeast RDC. These statements
involve  risks  and  uncertainties   and  are  based  on  management's   current
expectations and estimates;  actual results may differ  materially.  Those risks
and uncertainties  that could impact these statements include risks that pertain
to  SYSCO's   business,   including  the  risks  relating  to  the   foodservice
distribution industry's relatively low profit margins and sensitivity to general
economic  conditions,  including the current  economic  environment and consumer
spending;  SYSCO's  leverage  and  debt  risks;  the  successful  completion  of
acquisitions and integration of acquired companies;  the risk of interruption of
supplies due to lack of long-term contracts,  severe weather,  work stoppages or
otherwise;  construction  schedules;  management's allocation of capital and the
timing of capital purchases such as fleet and equipment; competitive conditions;
labor issues; and internal factors such as the ability to control expenses.  The
expected impact of option  expensing is based on certain  assumptions  regarding
the number and fair value of options granted,  resulting tax benefits and shares
outstanding.  The actual impact of option expensing could vary  significantly to
the extent actual results vary significantly from assumptions.  For a discussion
of  additional  factors  that could  cause  actual  results to differ from those
described in the forward-looking  statements, see the Company's Annual Report on
Form 10-K for the fiscal  year  ended July 3, 2004 as filed with the  Securities
and Exchange Commission.


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<PAGE>


                                SYSCO CORPORATION
                 CONSOLIDATED RESULTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)
                      (In Thousands Except for Share Data)

                                                     FOR THE 13-WEEK AND 14-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
                                                     -----------------------------------------
                                                       JULY 2, 2005             JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Sales                                                  $  7,981,279            $  8,139,017
Costs and expenses
    Cost of sales                                         6,437,589               6,554,156
    Operating expenses                                    1,081,376               1,111,548
    Interest expense                                         19,384                  19,136
    Other, net                                               (4,325)                 (2,080)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------

Total costs and expenses                                  7,534,024               7,682,760
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Earnings before income taxes                                447,255                 456,257
Income taxes                                                162,575                 175,659
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Net earnings                                           $    284,680            $    280,598
                                                     ================         ================
Basic earnings per share                               $       0.45            $       0.44
                                                     ================         ================
Diluted earnings per share                             $       0.44            $       0.43
                                                     ================         ================
Average shares outstanding                              631,756,582             638,405,202
                                                     ================         ================
Diluted average shares outstanding                      647,875,858             657,838,265
                                                     ================         ================

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comparative  segment sales data for the fourth  quarter of fiscal years 2005 and
2004 are summarized below.

(Unaudited)                                          FOR THE 13-WEEK AND 14-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
($000)                                               ------------------------------------------
                                                       JULY 2, 2005             JULY 3, 2004
SALES:                                               ----------------         ----------------
    Broadline                                          $  6,289,177            $  6,562,356
    SYGMA                                                 1,076,212                 987,247
    Other                                                   711,052                 675,958
    Intersegment                                            (95,162)                (86,544)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Total                                                  $  7,981,279            $  8,139,017
                                                     ================         ================

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</TABLE>



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                                SYSCO CORPORATION
                 CONSOLIDATED RESULTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)
                      (In Thousands Except for Share Data)

                                                      FOR THE 52-WEEK AND 53-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
                                                     ------------------------------------------
                                                        JULY 2, 2005           JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------

Sales                                                  $ 30,281,914            $ 29,335,403
Costs and expenses
    Cost of sales                                        24,498,200              23,661,514
    Operating expenses                                    4,194,184               4,141,230
    Interest expense                                         75,000                  69,880
    Other, net                                              (10,906)                (12,365)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Total costs and expenses                                 28,756,478              27,860,259
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Earnings before income taxes                              1,525,436               1,475,144
Income taxes                                                563,979                 567,930
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Net earnings                                           $    961,457            $    907,214
                                                     ================         ================
Basic earnings per share                               $       1.51            $       1.41
                                                     ================         ================
Diluted earnings per share                             $       1.47            $       1.37
                                                     ================         ================
Average shares outstanding                              636,068,266             642,688,614
                                                     ================         ================
Diluted average shares outstanding                      653,157,117             661,919,234
                                                     ================         ================


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comparative  segment  sales data for the  52-weeks  of fiscal  year 2005 and the
53-weeks of fiscal year 2004 are summarized below.

(Unaudited)                                          FOR THE 52-WEEK AND 53-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
($000)                                               ------------------------------------------
SALES:                                                 JULY 2, 2005          JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
    Broadline                                          $ 24,128,143            $ 23,718,955
    SYGMA                                                 3,916,255               3,548,693
    Other                                                 2,578,923               2,383,692
    Intersegment                                           (341,407)               (315,937)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Total                                                  $ 30,281,914            $ 29,335,403
                                                     ================         ================
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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<PAGE>



                                                 SYSCO CORPORATION
                                      CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (UNAUDITED)
                                                   (In Thousands)

                                                      JULY   2, 2005           JULY   3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
ASSETS
Current assets
   Cash                                                $    191,678            $    199,706
   Receivables                                            2,284,033               2,189,127
   Inventories                                            1,466,161               1,404,410
   Prepaid expenses                                          59,914                  54,903
   Prepaid income taxes                                           -                   3,265
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
     Total current assets                                 4,001,786               3,851,411


Plant and equipment at cost, less depreciation            2,268,301               2,166,809


Other assets
   Goodwill and intangibles                               1,284,459               1,218,700
   Restricted cash                                          101,731                 169,326
   Prepaid pension cost                                     389,766                 243,996
   Other                                                    221,859                 197,390
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
      Total other assets                                  1,997,815               1,829,412
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Total assets                                           $  8,267,902            $  7,847,632
                                                     ================         ================


LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities
   Notes payable                                       $     63,998            $     73,834
   Accounts payable                                       1,795,824               1,742,578

   Accrued expenses                                         742,282                 724,970
   Accrued income taxes                                      10,195                       -
   Deferred taxes                                           434,338                 422,419
   Current maturities of long-term debt                     410,933                 162,833
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
     Total current liabilities                            3,457,570               3,126,634

Other liabilities
   Long-term debt                                           956,177               1,231,493
   Deferred taxes                                           724,929                 686,705
   Other long-term liabilities                              370,387                 238,294
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
     Total other liabilities                              2,051,493               2,156,492

Contingencies
Shareholders' equity
   Preferred stock                                                -                       -
   Common stock, par $l per share                           765,175                 765,175
   Paid-in capital                                          389,053                 332,041
   Retained earnings                                      4,552,379               3,959,714
   Other comprehensive income                               (13,677)                 17,640
   Treasury stock                                        (2,934,091)             (2,510,064)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
   Total shareholders' equity                             2,758,839               2,564,506
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Total liabilities and shareholders' equity             $  8,267,902            $  7,847,632
                                                     ================         ================

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                                SYSCO CORPORATION
                       CONSOLIDATED CASH FLOWS (UNAUDITED)
                                 (In Thousands)

                                                     FOR THE 52-WEEK AND 53-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
                                                     -----------------------------------------
                                                      JULY 2, 2005              JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
  Net earnings                                         $    961,457            $    907,214
  Add non-cash items:
      Depreciation and amortization                         316,743                 283,595
      Deferred tax provision                                554,850                 608,152
      Provision for losses on receivables                    18,587                  27,377

  Additional  investment  in certain  assets
      and  liabilities,  net of effect of
      businesses acquired:
      (Increase) in receivables                             (72,829)               (177,058)
      (Increase) in inventories                             (35,014)               (162,502)
      (Increase) in prepaid expenses                         (4,058)                 (2,183)
      Increase in accounts payable                           28,080                  95,874
      (Decrease) increase in accrued expenses               (32,674)                 61,544
      (Decrease) in accrued income taxes                   (438,779)               (392,197)
      (Increase) in other assets                            (18,185)                (25,238)
      (Decrease) in other long-term
         liabilities and prepaid
         pension cost, net                                  (86,338)                (35,056)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
    Net cash provided by operating activities             1,191,840               1,189,522
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Cash flows from investing activities:
  Additions to plant and equipment                         (390,203)               (530,086)
  Proceeds from sales of plant and equipment                 25,482                  15,851
  Acquisition of businesses, net of cash acquired          (115,637)                (79,247)
  Decrease (increase) in restricted cash balances            66,918                 (90,329)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
    Net cash used for investing activities                 (413,440)               (683,811)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Cash flows from financing activities:
  Bank and commercial paper (repayments)                     (9,836)                (77,849)
  Other debt (repayments) borrowings                        (32,796)                185,087
  Cash from termination of interest rate swap                 5,316                   1,305
  Common stock reissued from treasury                       208,004                 167,652
  Treasury stock purchases                                 (597,660)               (608,506)
  Dividends paid                                           (357,298)               (309,540)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
    Net cash used for financing activities                 (784,270)               (641,851)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash                      (2,158)                 (1,601)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Net decrease in cash                                         (8,028)               (137,741)
Cash at beginning of period                                 199,706                 337,447
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Cash at end of period                                  $    191,678            $    199,706
                                                     ================         ================
Cash paid during the period for:
  Interest                                             $     73,939            $     68,481
  Income taxes                                              473,970                 344,414


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  COMPARATIVE SUPPLEMENTAL STATISTICAL INFORMATION RELATED TO SALES (UNAUDITED)
  -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comparative SYSCO Brand Sales and Marketing Associate-Served Sales data for the 13-weeks and 14-weeks of the fourth quarter of fiscal years 2005 and 2004 are summarized below.

                                                     FOR THE 13-WEEK AND 14-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
                                                     -----------------------------------------
                                                       JULY 2, 2005            JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of MA-Served Sales                 56.8%                  58.0%
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of Total
   Traditional Broadline Sales in the U.S.                  49.2%                  50.1%
MA-Served Sales as a % of Total Traditional
   Broadline Sales in the U.S.                              55.1%                  54.5%
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comparative SYSCO Brand Sales and Marketing  Associate-Served Sales data for the
52-weeks and 53-weeks of fiscal years 2005 and 2004 is summarized below.

                                                     FOR THE 52-WEEK AND 53-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
                                                     -----------------------------------------
                                                       JULY 3, 2005            JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of MA-Served Sales                 57.2%                  57.6%
SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of Total
   Traditional Broadline Sales in the U.S.                  49.4%                  49.5%
MA-Served Sales as a % of Total Traditional
   Broadline Sales in the U.S.                              53.8%                  53.5%
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because the fourth quarter of fiscal 2004 contained an additional week as compared to fiscal 2005, sales levels for fiscal 2005 are not directly comparable to the prior fiscal year. In order to provide a more comparable picture of sales during fiscal 2005 relative to fiscal 2004, management believes that it is appropriate to adjust the sales figures for fiscal 2004 by estimating the impact of the additional week. As a result, sales for the fiscal 2004 periods presented below are reduced by one-fourteenth of total sales for the fourth quarter. Failure to make these adjustments might cause investors to understate the amount of actual sales change due to the additional week of sales included in the 2004 periods. Set forth below is a reconciliation of the actual year-over-year sales increase (decrease) to adjusted year-over-year sales increase:

Comparative fourth quarter fiscal 2005 and 2004 sales for a 13-week vs. adjusted 13-week comparison.

(In thousands)                                       FOR THE 13-WEEK AND 13-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
                                                     -----------------------------------------
                                                        JULY 2, 2005            JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Sales                                                  $  7,981,279            $  8,139,017
   Less 1 week average sales                                    n/a                (581,358)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Comparable 13-week vs. 13-week sales                   $  7,981,279            $  7,557,659
                                                     ================         ================
Actual year-over-year percentage decrease                     (1.9%)
Adjusted year-over-year percentage increase                    5.6%



Comparative  fiscal  2005 and 2004  sales for a  52-week  vs.  adjusted  52-week
comparison.

(In thousands)                                       FOR THE 52-WEEK AND 52-WEEK PERIODS ENDED
                                                     -----------------------------------------
                                                        JULY 3, 2005            JULY 3, 2004
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Sales                                                  $ 30,281,914            $ 29,335,403
   Less 1 week average sales in fourth
     quarter fiscal 2004                                        n/a                (581,358)
                                                     ----------------         ----------------
Comparable 52-week vs. 52-week sales                   $ 30,281,914            $ 28,754,045
                                                     ================         ================
Actual year-over-year percentage increase                      3.2%
Adjusted year-over-year percentage increase                    5.3%



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