EXHIBIT 99.1

SYSCO                                                                 [LOGO]
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  SYSCO Corporation                                                NEWS RELEASE
  1390 Enclave Parkway
  Houston, Texas 77077-2099                         FOR MORE INFORMATION
  (281)584-1390                                     CONTACT: John M. Palizza
                                                             Assistant Treasurer
                                                             (281) 584-1308

               SYSCO'S THIRD QUARTER NET EARNINGS INCREASE 16.3%,
                             DILUTED EPS RISE 15.4%


     HOUSTON,  APRIL 26, 2004 -- SYSCO Corporation  (NYSE: SYY), North America's
leading  foodservice  marketer and distributor,  today announced results for the
third quarter of its fiscal year 2004 that ended March 27, 2004.

THIRD QUARTER HIGHLIGHTS:

  o  Net earnings  climbed 16.3% to $195.8  million vs.  $168.4  million in last
     year's third quarter
  o  Diluted  earnings  per share rose 15.4% to $0.30  compared  to $0.26 in the
     same period  last year
  o  Sales  increased 9.9% to $7.0 billion vs. $6.4 billion in the third quarter
     of fiscal 2003
  o  Operating  expenses as a percent to sales  declined 70 basis points,  or to
     14.35%  compared  to  15.05%  in the  same  period  last  year

     Richard J. Schnieders,  SYSCO's chairman and chief executive officer, said,
"I am  extremely  proud of the way our  associates  performed  during  the third
quarter.  They quite literally weathered the storm and in the process helped our
customers do the same. Our sales and earnings  performance  was exceptional in a
quarter which historically has been a soft period and which this year was marked
by eight weeks of severe  winter  weather in a number of markets.  The continued
implementation of business development and business relationship strategies, the
sharing of best  business  practices,  and our  expense  reduction  efforts  all
contributed to the strong third quarter results.

     "Another equally encouraging sign was that the sales momentum our companies
exhibited  in the final  weeks of the third  quarter  continued  as we began the
fourth quarter,"  continued Mr. Schnieders.  "In fact, the fourth quarter opened
with record sales of $583.4  million for the week ended April 3, 2004 and we are
very encouraged about our fourth quarter pportunities."

     "The  uncharacteristically  high food cost inflation we have experienced in
the last 12 months is slowly  declining,  although during the quarter  inflation
continued to impact many of our product categories,  including dairy, canned and
dry goods,  fresh and frozen meats,  poultry and produce." Mr.  Schnieders added
that  acquisitions  contributed  0.4 percent to the overall  sales growth of 9.9
percent  in the  quarter  while  food cost  inflation  for the  quarter  was 5.2
percent.  During the same period last year acquisitions  represented 7.3 percent
of sales growth and food cost inflation was 0.8 percent.

     "During the quarter we continued  appointing sales management  personnel to
the newly created positions of either business  development  manager or business
relationship  manager," concluded Mr. Schnieders.  "The individuals charged with
business  development  assist  marketing  associates in cultivating new customer
relationships,  while the business  relationship  managers  team with  marketing
associates  to  strengthen  the  partnerships  they already  have with  existing
customers.  We are  encouraged  by the early success of this program and believe
the additional  focus it provides will be very  beneficial to our  customers."

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     Thomas E. Lankford,  SYSCO's president and chief operating  officer,  said,
"Our  operating  companies  once  again did an  exceptional  job in  controlling
expenses,  which as a percent to sales  declined 70 basis points in the quarter.
Two key components contributed to this performance.  First, by increasing pieces
per stop and  pieces  per trip,  our  delivery  vehicles  were more  efficiently
utilized and our  delivery  costs were  reduced.  Secondly,  the activity  based
compensation (ABC) programs for delivery  associates  enhanced  productivity and
performance in the quarter. In doing so, the ABC program provided an opportunity
for our associates to earn more while minimizing overtime costs."

     Mr. Lankford also stated that the company's  Fargo,  North Dakota broadline
fold-out was completed and began distributing  products during the third quarter
and that fold-out  facilities in Post Falls, Idaho and Oxnard,  California,  are
progressing  according to plan.  SYSCO also announced the acquisition of Overton
Distributors, Inc., a produce distribution company with locations in Raleigh and
Charlotte,  North  Carolina  and  Nashville,  Tennessee.  That  acquisition  was
completed at the beginning of the fourth  quarter.

     "Capital  expenditures  have totaled $379 million for the three quarters of
the fiscal  year,  of which $131  million was spent in the third  quarter,"  Mr.
Lankford  continued.  "The National  Supply Chain project  continued to progress
according to plan during the quarter and to date $183 million has been  expended
on the project  since it began in fiscal  2002." Mr.  Lankford  added that third
quarter expenditures for the Northeast  Redistribution  Center were $28 million,
$25  million  of which  was  capitalized.  The  Company  expects  total  capital
expenditures for the year to be approximately $500 million.

     SYSCO is the largest foodservice marketing and distribution organization in
North America, providing food and related products and services to approximately
420,000   restaurants,    healthcare   and   educational   facilities,   lodging
establishments and other foodservice  customers.  The company generated sales of
$27.5 billion for calendar year 2003.  SYSCO's operations are located throughout
the United States and Canada and include broadline companies,  specialty produce
and custom-cut meat operations,  Asian  foodservice and hotel supply  operations
and SYGMA,  the company's chain  restaurant  distribution  subsidiary.  For more
information about SYSCO visit the company's Internet home page at www.sysco.com.
As previously  announced,  SYSCO's third quarter 2004 earnings  conference  call
will be held at 10:00  a.m.  eastern  time on  Monday,  April 26,  2004.  A live
webcast of the call, as well as a copy of this press release,  will be available
online at www.sysco.com under Investor Relations.

Forward-Looking Statements

     Certain  statements made herein are  forward-looking  statements  under the
Private  Securities  Litigation  Reform  Act of 1995.  They  include  statements
regarding SYSCO's fourth quarter  opportunities and the expected impact of sales
management  strategies  and the ABC  program,  as well as  statements  regarding
inflationary  trends,  capital  expenditures and the expected  timing,  cost and
benefits  of  fold-outs,   its  national  supply  chain  project  and  northeast
redistribution  center. These statements involve risks and uncertainties and are
based on management's  current  expectations  and estimates;  actual results may
differ  materially.  Those  risks and  uncertainties  that  could  impact  these
statements include the risks relating to the foodservice distribution industry's
relatively low profit margins and  sensitivity to general  economic  conditions,
including the current economic environment; SYSCO's leverage and debt risks; the
successful completion of acquisitions and integration of acquired companies; the
risk of  interruption  of supplies  due to lack of long-term  contracts,  severe
weather,  work  stoppages or  otherwise;  construction  schedules;  management's
allocation  of capital  and the timing of  capital  purchases  such as fleet and
equipment;  competitive  conditions;  labor issues; and internal factors such as
the ability to control  expenses.  For a discussion of  additional  factors that
could cause actual results to differ from those described in the forward-looking
statements,  see the  Company's  Annual  Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year
ended June 28, 2003 as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

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                                SYSCO CORPORATION
                 CONSOLIDATED RESULTS OF OPERATIONS (Unaudited)
                      (In Thousands Except for Share Data)

                                                                          FOR THE 13-WEEK PERIOD ENDED
                                                                  ---------------------------------------
                                                                  MARCH 27, 2004          MARCH 29, 2003
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Sales                                                               $  7,025,585            $  6,395,278

Costs and expenses
    Cost of sales                                                      5,684,192               5,144,473
    Operating expenses                                                 1,008,493                 962,459
    Interest expense                                                      15,737                  18,276
    Other, net                                                            (1,250)                 (2,661)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Total costs and expenses                                               6,707,172               6,122,547
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Earnings before income taxes                                             318,413                 272,731

Income taxes                                                             122,589                 104,320
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Net earnings                                                        $    195,824            $    168,411
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Basic earnings per share                                            $       0.31            $       0.26
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Diluted earnings per share                                          $       0.30            $       0.26
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Average shares outstanding                                           642,038,004             649,267,210
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Diluted average shares outstanding                                   663,097,806             657,994,124
                                                                  ===============         ===============
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Comparative segment sales data for the third quarter of fiscal years 2004 and
2003 are summarized below.

                                                                        FOR THE 13-WEEK PERIOD ENDED
(Unaudited)                                                      ----------------------------------------
($000)                                                            MARCH 27, 2004           MARCH 29, 2003
SALES                                                            ----------------          --------------
    Broadline                                                       $  5,648,123            $  5,247,872
    SYGMA                                                                873,344                 713,334
    Other                                                                574,401                 502,378
    Intersegment Sales                                                   (70,283)                (68,306)
                                                                 ----------------          --------------
Total Sales                                                         $  7,025,585             $ 6,395,278
                                                                 ================          ==============
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</TABLE>


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                                SYSCO CORPORATION
                 CONSOLIDATED RESULTS OF OPERATIONS (Unaudited)
                      (In Thousands Except for Share Data)


                                                                        FOR THE 39-WEEK PERIOD ENDED
                                                                  ---------------------------------------
                                                                  MARCH 27, 2004          MARCH 29, 2003
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Sales                                                               $ 21,196,386            $ 19,168,497

Costs and expenses
    Cost of sales                                                     17,107,358              15,396,893
    Operating expenses                                                 3,029,682               2,860,384
    Interest expense                                                      50,744                  52,607
    Other, net                                                           (10,285)                 (8,679)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Total costs and expenses                                              20,177,499              18,301,205
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Earnings before income taxes                                           1,018,887                 867,292

Income taxes                                                             392,271                 331,740
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Net earnings                                                        $    626,616            $    535,552
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Basic earnings per share                                            $       0.97            $       0.82
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Diluted earnings per share                                          $       0.95            $       0.81
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Average shares outstanding                                           644,219,976             652,148,645
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Diluted average shares outstanding                                   662,482,772             662,873,939
                                                                  ===============         ===============
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Comparative segment sales data for the first 39 weeks of fiscal years 2004 and 2003 are summarized below.

                                                                           FOR THE 39-WEEK PERIOD ENDED
(Unaudited)                                                        ---------------------------------------
($000)                                                              MARCH 27, 2004         MARCH 29, 2003
SALES                                                              ---------------         ---------------
    Broadline                                                       $ 17,156,599            $ 15,796,806
    SYGMA                                                              2,561,446               2,133,252
    Other                                                              1,707,734               1,429,382
    Intersegment Sales                                                  (229,393)               (190,943)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Total Sales                                                         $ 21,196,386            $ 19,168,497
                                                                  ===============         ===============
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</TABLE>



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<TABLE>
                                                 SYSCO CORPORATION
                                      CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (Unaudited)
                                                   (In Thousands)

                                                                   MARCH 27, 2004         MARCH 29, 2003
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------

ASSETS
Current assets
   Cash                                                             $    172,695            $    186,956
   Receivables                                                         2,087,476               1,946,819
   Inventories                                                         1,373,251               1,256,397
   Prepaid expenses                                                       57,128                  60,775
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
     Total current assets                                              3,690,550               3,450,947

Plant and equipment at cost, less depreciation                         2,088,314               1,829,021

Other assets
   Goodwill and intangibles                                            1,177,161               1,084,693
   Restricted cash                                                       169,220                  84,056
   Other                                                                 201,587                 207,168
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
      Total other assets                                               1,547,968               1,375,917
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Total assets                                                        $  7,326,832             $ 6,655,885
                                                                  ===============         ===============


LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

Current liabilities
   Notes payable                                                    $    105,922            $     81,492
   Accounts payable                                                    1,717,438               1,522,670
   Accrued expenses                                                      655,985                 617,373
   Accrued income taxes                                                   67,673                  15,242
   Deferred taxes                                                        296,567                 250,383
   Current maturities of long-term debt                                   10,296                  24,684
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
     Total current liabilities                                         2,853,881               2,511,844

Other liabilities
   Long-term debt                                                      1,420,139               1,279,657
   Deferred taxes                                                        561,666                 476,629
   Other long-term liabilities                                           222,098                 190,721
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
     Total other liabilities                                           2,203,903               1,947,007

Contingencies
Shareholders' equity
   Preferred stock                                                             -                       -
   Common stock, par $l per share                                        765,175                 765,175
   Paid-in capital                                                       317,003                 246,756
   Retained earnings                                                   3,762,183               3,202,358
   Other comprehensive loss                                             (144,862)                (65,435)
   Treasury stock                                                     (2,430,451)             (1,951,820)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
   Total shareholders' equity                                          2,269,048               2,197,034
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------

Total liabilities and shareholders' equity                          $  7,326,832            $  6,655,885
                                                                  ===============         ===============
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</TABLE>


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                                                   SYSCO CORPORATION
                                          CONSOLIDATED CASH FLOWS (Unaudited)
                                                    (In Thousands)

                                                                         FOR THE 39-WEEK PERIOD ENDED
                                                                  ---------------------------------------
                                                                  MARCH 27, 2004          MARCH 29, 2003
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
  Net earnings                                                      $    626,616            $    535,552
  Add non-cash items:
      Depreciation and amortization                                      209,054                 204,155
      Deferred tax provision                                             408,139                 320,469
      Provision for losses on receivables                                 23,613                  24,444
  Additional investment in certain assets and
   liabilities, net of effect of businesses acquired:
      (Increase) in receivables                                          (85,195)               (175,262)
      (Increase) in inventories                                         (134,750)               (116,560)
      (Increase) in prepaid expenses                                      (4,701)                (18,740)
       Increase in accounts payable                                       77,154                 152,606
      (Decrease) in accrued expenses and other
         long-term liabilities                                           (60,333)                 (2,328)
      (Decrease) in accrued income taxes                                (283,980)                (20,158)
      (Increase) in other assets                                         (18,983)                (19,683)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
    Net cash provided by operating activities                            756,634                 884,495
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Cash flows from investing activities:
  Additions to plant and equipment                                      (379,390)               (310,392)
  Proceeds from sales of plant and equipment                              13,354                   9,528
  Acquisition of businesses, net of cash acquired                        (34,091)               (169,492)
  Increase in restricted cash balances                                   (90,223)                (52,056)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
    Net cash used for investing activities                              (490,350)               (522,412)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Cash flows from financing activities:
  Bank and commercial paper (repayments) / borrowings                    (15,779)                115,039
  Other debt borrowings / (repayments)                                   184,966                  (7,432)
  Cash from termination of interest rate swap                              1,305                       -
  Common stock reissued from treasury                                    135,816                  81,971
  Treasury stock purchases                                              (508,963)               (372,808)
  Dividends paid                                                        (226,271)               (190,336)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
    Net cash used for financing activities                              (428,926)               (373,566)
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash                                   (2,111)                      -
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Net decrease in cash                                                    (164,753)                (11,483)
Cash at beginning of period                                              337,448                 198,439
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
Cash at end of period                                               $    172,695                $186,956
                                                                  ===============         ===============
Cash paid during the period for:
  Interest                                                          $     46,875            $     44,451
  Income taxes                                                      $    257,102            $     36,734


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<TABLE>

        COMPARATIVE SUPPLEMENTAL STATISTICAL INFORMATION RELATED TO SALES

Comparative SYSCO Brand Sales and Marketing Associate-Served Sales data for the
third quarter of fiscal years 2004 and 2003 is summarized below.

                                                                        FOR THE 13-WEEK PERIOD ENDED
                                                                  --------------------------------------
                                                                  MARCH 27, 2004          MARCH 29, 2003
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
 SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of MA-Served Sales                               57.4%                  56.5%

 SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of Total
    Traditional Broadline Sales in the U.S.                                48.7%                  48.4%

 MA-Served Sales as a % of Total Traditional
    Broadline Sales in the U.S.                                            52.8%                  53.3%
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Comparative SYSCO Brand Sales and Marketing Associate-Served Sales data for the
first 39 weeks of fiscal years 2004 and 2003 is summarized below.

                                                                        FOR THE 39-WEEK PERIOD ENDED
                                                                  ---------------------------------------
                                                                  MARCH 27, 2004          MARCH 29, 2003
                                                                  ---------------         ---------------
 SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of MA-Served Sales                               57.3%                  56.7%

 SYSCO Brand Sales as a % of Total
    Traditional Broadline Sales in the U.S.                                48.9%                  48.8%

 MA-Served Sales as a % of Total Traditional
    Broadline Sales in the U.S.                                            54.1%                  54.5%
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