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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

               Statement Under Oath of Principal Executive Officer Regarding Facts and Circumstances Relating to Exchange Act Filings

I, John G. Drosdick, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President of Sunoco, Inc., state and attest that:

     (1) To the best of my knowledge, based upon a review of the covered reports of Sunoco, Inc., and, except as corrected or supplemented in a subsequent covered report:

          .    no covered report contained an untrue statement of a material
               fact as of the end of the period covered by such report (or in
               the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials,
               as of the date on which it was filed); and

          .    no covered report omitted to state a material fact necessary to
               make the statements in the covered report, in light of the
               circumstances under which they were made, not misleading as of
               the end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a
               report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date
               on which it was filed).

     (2) I have reviewed the contents of this statement with the Company's Audit Committee.

     (3) In this statement under oath, each of the following, if filed on or before the date of this statement, is a "covered report":

          .    the 2001 Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended
               December 31, 2001 of Sunoco, Inc.;

          .    all reports on Form 10-Q, all reports on Form 8-K and all
               definitive proxy materials of Sunoco, Inc. filed with the
               Commission subsequent to the filing of the Form 10-K identified
               above; and

          .    any amendments to any of the foregoing.


/s/ John G. Drosdick
--------------------
John G. Drosdick                           Subscribed and sworn to
Chairman, Chief Executive                  before me this 7th day of
Officer and President                      August, 2002.

August 7, 2002                             /s/ Anita V. Andre
                                           ------------------
                                           Notary Public
                                           My Commission Expires: April 8, 2006
                                           (Notary Seal)