ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST (CIK 948975)
Form 10-Q
period 1997-09-30
filed 1997-11-07

                                    FORM 10-Q
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

/X/   QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
      EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended September 30, 1997

                                       OR

/ /   TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
      EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

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

Yes  X       No_____

Number of shares of beneficial interest ($.01 par value) of the Registrant outstanding as of October 31, 1997: 3,561,553.

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST             FORM 10-Q                  SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


                                    I N D E X

This Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q contains historical information and forward-looking statements. Statements looking forward in time are included in this Form 10-Q pursuant to the "safe harbor" provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. They involve known and unknown risks and uncertainties that may cause the Trust's actual results in future periods to be materially different from any future performance suggested herein. In the context of forward-looking information provided in this Form 10-Q and in other reports, please refer to the discussion of risk factors detailed in, as well as the other information contained in, the Trust's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Part I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION                                                                 PAGE NO.
                                                                                               --------


Item 1. Financial Statements

      Consolidated Statements of Net Assets in Liquidation
      September 30, 1997 and December 31,1996 ................................................    3

      Consolidated Statements of Changes in Net Assets in Liquidation Periods
      July 1, 1997 through September 30, 1997, and January 1, 1997 through
      September 30,1997 ......................................................................    4

      Notes to Financial Statements ..........................................................    5

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Liquidation Activities    8

Part II.  OTHER INFORMATION

Item 6. Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K .....................................................    9


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


ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST               FORM 10-Q                 SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


                      ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST AND SUBSIDIARY
              CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF NET ASSETS IN LIQUIDATION
                        (LIQUIDATION BASIS OF ACCOUNTING)

                                            September 30, 1997     December 31, 1996
                                            ------------------     -----------------
                  ASSETS
Investments in Real Estate ........            $39,700,000            $36,995,500
Mortgage Loans and Related Interest                     --              7,132,434
Cash and Short Term Investments ...             15,512,565              7,047,098
                                               -----------            -----------
      Total Assets ................            $55,212,565            $51,175,032
                                               ===========            ===========


                  LIABILITIES

Estimated Costs of Liquidation ....              1,525,625              2,170,262
Distribution Payable ..............                     --              1,389,006
                                               -----------            -----------
      Total Liabilities ...........            $ 1,525,625            $ 3,559,268
                                               -----------            -----------
Net Assets in Liquidation .........            $53,686,940            $47,615,764
                                               ===========            ===========


                 SEE NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST               FORM 10-Q                 SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


                      ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST AND SUBSIDIARY
         CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN NET ASSETS IN LIQUIDATION
                        (LIQUIDATION BASIS OF ACCOUNTING)

                                                 For the Period         For the Period
                                                7/1/97 to 9/30/97      1/1/97 to 9/30/97
                                                -----------------      -----------------
Net Assets in Liquidation
  Beginning of Period .................            $50,643,234            $47,615,764
Adjustments to Reflect
  Liquidation Basis of Accounting .....              3,043,706              6,071,176
                                                   -----------            -----------
Net Assets in Liquidation End of Period            $53,686,940            $53,686,940
                                                   ===========            ===========


                 SEE NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST               FORM 10-Q                 SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


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

      Pursuant to the terms of the Trust's Amended and Restated Declaration of Trust, the Trust was to continue for a period of 18 months from the date of the Spin-Off Transaction (November 10, 1997), subject to, among certain other things, satisfactory resolution of the RPS Tax Issues. Because the RPS Tax Issues have not yet been satisfactorily resolved, the Trust will continue its business past that date. The Trust cannot currently estimate the timing of the future satisfactory resolution of the RPS Tax Issues. Accordingly, the Trust will continue until there is a final determination of these issues. Consolidation

      The consolidated financial statements include the accounts of the Trust and its subsidiary. All significant intercompany accounts and transactions have been eliminated in consolidation.

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST                FORM 10-Q                SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


                      ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST AND SUBSIDIARY
                  NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS -- (CONTINUED)

2.    MORTGAGE LOANS AND RELATED INTEREST

(a) On June 9, 1997 the Trust received proceeds of approximately $2,422,000 from the repayment of the Rector mortgage loan. Previously in 1997, the Trust received $225,000 as a good faith deposit.

(b) On June 18, 1997 the Trust received approximately $2,862,000 from the sale of the Copps Hill Plaza mortgage loan.

(c) On August 29, 1997 the Trust received proceeds of approximately $1,889,500 from the repayment of the Mt. Morris Commons mortgage loan. Previously in 1997 the Trust received $125,000 as a good faith deposit.

3.    INVESTMENTS IN REAL ESTATE

                                                               ESTIMATED NET
                                                              REALIZABLE VALUE
PROPERTY                           LOCATION                      9/30/97(a)
--------                           --------                      ----------
Hylan Shopping Center .            Staten Island, NY            $35,850,000
Norgate Shopping Center            Indianapolis, IN               3,850,000
                                                                -----------
                                                                $39,700,000
                                                                ===========

-------------
(a) Includes estimated cash flows using a disposition period of 4 months. Realized values may differ depending on actual disposition results and time period.

(b) On July 1, 1997 the Trust received proceeds of approximately $1,045,000 from the sale of the 9 North Wabash Avenue Building.

4.    SHARES OUTSTANDING

      The weighted average number of common shares outstanding for the period ending September 30, 1997 was 3,561,553.

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST                FORM 10-Q                SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY

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

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST                FORM 10-Q                SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


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

      The Trust's primary objective has been to liquidate its assets in an 18-month period from the date of the Spin-Off Transaction while realizing the maximum values for such assets. Although the Trust considers its assumptions and estimates as to the values and timing of such liquidations to be reasonable, the period of time to liquidate the assets and distribute the proceeds of such assets is subject to significant business, economic and competitive uncertainties and contingencies, many of which are beyond the Trust's control. There can be no assurance that the net values ultimately realized for such assets and costs actually incurred to liquidate such assets will not materially differ from the Trust's estimate.

      The Trust believes that cash and cash equivalents on hand, proceeds generated from the mortgage loans and real estate properties that continue to operate and from the eventual sale of such assets will be sufficient to support the Trust and meet its obligations. At September 30, 1997 the Trust had approximately $15,512,000 in cash and short term investments, which amount reflects a distribution of $1,389,006 to shareholders in January 1997.

      During the third quarter of 1997 the Trust received proceeds, in the aggregate of approximately $2,934,500 in connection with the disposition of the 9 North Wabash Building ($1,045,000) and the Mt. Morris Commons mortgage loan ($1,889,500).

      During the second quarter of 1997 the Trust received proceeds of approximately $5,284,000 in connection with the disposition of the Rector mortgage loan ($2,422,000) and the Copps Hill Plaza mortgage loan ($2,862,000). At September 30, 1997 the Trust owned two retail properties (Hylan Plaza Shopping Center and Norgate Shopping Center). The Trust intends to reduce to cash equivalents the real property portfolio in an orderly manner as soon as practicable and make a liquidating distribution or distributions to its shareholders, or merge or combine operations with another real estate entity.

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST                FORM 10-Q                SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION


ITEM 4 - SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS

      There were no submission of matters to a vote of security holders during the three month period ended September 30, 1997.

ITEM 5 - OTHER INFORMATION

      Pursuant to the terms of the Trust's Amended and Restated Declaration of Trust, the Trust was to continue for a period of 18 months from the date of the Spin-Off Transaction (November 10, 1997), subject to, among certain other things, satisfactory resolution of the RPS Tax Issues. Because the RPS Tax Issues have not yet been satisfactorily resolved, the Trust will continue its business past that date. The Trust cannot currently estimate the timing of the future satisfactory resolution of the RPS Tax Issues. Accordingly, the Trust will continue until there is a final determination of these issues.

ITEM 6 - EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

A.    EXHIBITS

       3.1 Amended and Restated Declaration of Trust (filed as Exhibit 3.1 to Registration Statement on Form 10A/1, filed with the Commission
           on March 10, 1996, and incorporated herein by reference).

      27.1 Financial Data Schedule

B. The registrant has not filed any reports on Form 8-K for the three month period ended September 30, 1997.

ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST                FORM 10-Q                SEPTEMBER 30, 1997
AND SUBSIDIARY


                                   SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.



                                          ATLANTIC REALTY TRUST



Date: November 7, 1997                    /s/ Joel M. Pashcow
                                          -------------------
                                          Joel M. Pashcow
                                          Chairman and President
                                          (Principal Executive Officer)



Date: November 7, 1997                    /s/ Edwin R. Frankel
                                          --------------------
                                          Edwin R. Frankel
                                          Executive Vice President,
                                          Chief Financial Officer
                                          and Secretary
                                          (Principal Financial and
                                          Accounting Officer)

                                     INDEX



Exhibit Number                    Description
--------------                    -----------

    3.1             Amended and Restated Declaration of Trust
                    (filed as Exhibit 3.1 to Registration
                    Statement on Form 10A/1, filed with the
                    Commission on March 10, 1996, and
                    incorporated herein by reference).


   27.1             Financial Data Schedule.