EXHIBIT 99.1

             Contact:  Mr. T.S. Rittenhouse - 215-629-6776

   PRESS RELEASE
   from
   STRAWBRIDGE & CLOTHIER - For Immediate Release - October 30,
   1996

        Strawbridge & Clothier announced today that its Board of

   Directors has declared a cash dividend of $0.275 per share on

   Series A Common Stock and $0.25 per share on Series B Common

   Stock, payable on November 26, 1996 to shareholders of record on

   November 12, 1996.  The company also announced that it had

   decided to postpone a partial distribution of shares of The May

   Department Stores Company ("May") which were received in the

   sale of its department store assets in July.  It had previously

   been stated that the Company intended to make an initial partial

   distribution promptly after agreement had been reached with May

   on certain post-closing purchase price adjustments and that this

   was anticipated to occur by November 22, 1996.

        Francis R. Strawbridge, Chairman, said, "We have decided to

   postpone the initial partial distribution of May shares in order

   to provide more time to line up substitute tenants or make other

   arrangements for certain of the Clover stores which were not

   transferred to Kimco Realty Corporation or Kohl's Department

   Stores.  However, we declared the cash dividend so that

   shareholders will not be without a return during this period.

   We are hopeful that a partial distribution of May shares will be

   made early in 1997."  The company has been continuing to operate




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   three Clover stores at Mercerville, Penrose Plaza and Shore

   Mall.

        The Company also stated that its present estimate of the

   total number of May shares to be received for each outstanding

   Strawbridge & Clothier share is in the range of 0.37 to 0.41.

   It noted that this is a forward looking statement within the

   meaning of Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

   and that there are a number of important factors that could

   cause actual results to differ from the estimate including the

   final agreement with May on the adjustment to the number of

   shares, the periods during which the Clover stores will continue

   to be operated, the ability to obtain substitute tenants, the

   amount of other liabilities to be paid in the liquidation and

   the amount to be received for assets which have not yet been

   sold.  Accordingly, there can be no assurance that the estimated

   range will actually reflect the amount of May shares which the

   shareholders will be entitled to receive.  The Company had

   estimated in the proxy statement which was sent to shareholders

   in June a range of 0.41 to 0.45 of a May share to be received

   for each outstanding Strawbridge & Clothier share.















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