1
Cytomegalovirus in the Transplant Setting and Beyond:
Cytomegalovirus in the Transplant Setting and Beyond:
Disease Today; Prevention Tomorrow
Disease Today; Prevention Tomorrow
Wednesday, October 25, 2006
Wednesday, October 25, 2006
Hotel Intercontinental (The Barclay), New York City
Hotel Intercontinental (The Barclay), New York City
Exhibit 99.1

2 Dynamics of the CMV Transplant Market Vincent Milano ViroPharma Incorporated C C N N O OH HO HO HN CH 3 H 3 C

3
This presentation contains certain forward-looking
statements that involve risks and uncertainties.  Actual
results and events may differ significantly from results
and events discussed in forward-looking statements.
Factors that might cause or contribute to such
differences include, but are not limited to, those
discussed in “Risk Factors” in our Form 10-Q for the
periods ended March 31, 2006 and June 30, 2006 filed
with the Securities and Exchange Commission

Maribavir
• $400 to $500M WW peak year product potential
• Worldwide rights, excluding Japan
• Expect to file NDA in 2009
• ‘Composition of Matter’ patent expires 2015
– Opportunity for Hatch-Waxman patent term extension
• Highly concentrated market of ‘target physicians’
• Evident medical need with potential for changing paradigm:
– More usage above current methodologies
– Additional usage in transplant past 100-days post-transplant

$0
$50,000,000
$100,000,000
$150,000,000
$200,000,000
$250,000,000
$300,000,000
$350,000,000
Strong Market Performance by Current
CMV Therapeutics
Val/Ganciclovir sales in CMV are >$300M per year, despite ‘Black Box’ toxicities

Number of U.S. Transplants
Increases by Over 3 Percent Per Year
Why? Trends in transplantation impact CMV treatment paradigms:
ESTIMATED USA
TRANSPLANTS
(2005)
ESTIMATED USA
TRANSPLANTS
(2004)
GROWTH
SCT/BMT 17,700 17,500 1.1%
SOT LIVER 6,445 6,129 5.2%
SOT KIDNEY
16,477 16,002 3.0%
SOT HEART
2,127 2,016 5.5%
SOT OTHER
3,223 2,848 13.2%
• More aggressive immunosuppressant regimens: alemtuzumab, tacrolimus
• BMT studied for diseases not traditionally treated with transplant: Solid tumors,
autoimmune disorder.
• Diabetes (most common cause of ESRD*), expected to surpass all other causes
(combined) of ESRD incidence in 2006, and prevalence in 2018
• Demand for liver transplants (HCV)
• Increased education = Increased organ supply
• More elderly donors = lesser organ quality = Increased CMV prophylaxis
Source: IBMTR, OPTN estimates
*End Stage Renal Disease

Transplant Represents a Highly
Concentrated Market
• 255 transplant centers in the US operate one or more organ
transplant programs:
• The top 100 centers cover 75 percent of the procedures
• 119 centers (most overlapping SOT centers) provide SCT
• The number of centers operating in Europe is similar with a high
concentration of programs (620 total) in the top hospitals
0
50
100
150
200
250
300
Heart-
Lungs
Intestine Liver Pancreas Heart Kidney Lung Pancreas
Islet Cell
US Transplant Programs
Unos March 05

Transplant: An “Innovator” Market
Rapid Uptake
Immunosupressants – IMS Sales 1992 to 2004
$0
$5,000,000
$10,000,000
$15,000,000
$20,000,000
$25,000,000
$30,000,000
$35,000,000
$40,000,000
$45,000,000
$0
$100,000,000
$200,000,000
$300,000,000
$400,000,000
$500,000,000
$600,000,000
$700,000,000
CYCLOSPORINE-EON
CYCLOSPORINE-PLI
CYCLOSPORINE-ATX
CYCLOSPORINE-RKG
ORTHOCLONE OKT-3 -OBD
SIMULECT-NVR
ZENAPAX-ROC
PROGRAF -FUW
RAPAMUNE-WYE
Rapid
Market Uptake
for
Branded
On
secondary
axis
(RIGHT)

Fast Adoption Patterns in the
Transplant World
CMV Agents – IMS Sales
$0
$2,000,000
$4,000,000
$6,000,000
$8,000,000
$10,000,000
$12,000,000
$14,000,000
$16,000,000
$18,000,000
$0
$20,000,000
$40,000,000
$60,000,000
$80,000,000
$100,000,000
$120,000,000
$140,000,000
$160,000,000
FOSCAVIR
GANCICLOVIR
CYTOVENE
VALCYTEC
Foscavir
Generic - oral
Branded - oral
Valganciclovir
On
primary
axis
(LEFT)
On
secondary
axis
(RIGHT)

• Allogeneic SCT is of highest risk for CMV disease
• <25 percent of SCT centers practice prophylaxis, 75 percent pre-emptive
• Market research suggests that most physicians would switch from pre-
emptive to prophylaxis with proven, equally effective, less toxic agent
• Most of the centers that continued pre-emptive protocols would switch to
equally effective, less toxic agent
• Most physicians indicate interest in longer treatment duration with maribavir
than with current standard of care (i.e. >100 days), both in pre-emptive and
in prophylaxis to avoid late recurrence of CMV
Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplant

• Current CMV antivirals: oral / IV ganciclovir, oral valganciclovir, IV
foscarnet, and IV cidofovir.
• Most US centers use prophylaxis (75 percent) over pre-emptive for
SOT patients
• The main concern with ganciclovir prophylaxis is that CMV infection
may only be delayed or GCV resistance may develop in patients
• Market research indicates that:
– Most physicians would switch to a safer drug in prophylaxis
– In pre-emptive, 40 percent would switch
– 25 percent would add maribavir to treatment as maintenance therapy
post pre-emptive
– Note: comments made by SOT physicians after seeing data only on SCT
and no data on pre-emptive)
Solid Organ Transplant
Razonable 2005; Hebart 2004; Seehofer 2005; Varon 2004

Therapeutic Strategies for the
Management of CMV
Universal
Prophylaxis
Same prophylaxis
regimen
administered to
all patients
regardless of risk
Targeted
Prophylaxis
Administered to
high-risk patients
for a defined
period of time
Pre-emptive
Treatment
Administered to
patients with
evidence of CMV
replication or
recipients with
anticipated CMV
disease due to ALA*
therapy
Deferred
Treatment
Treatment
initiated after
presentation
of CMV
symptoms
Prophylaxis Definitive Treatment
*ALA: Antilymphocyte antibodies

A meta-analysis to assess the efficacy of universal prophylaxis and pre-
emptive approaches in prevention of CMV disease and other
complications in SOT recipients
0
0.1
0.2
0.3
0.4
0.5
0.6
0.7
0.8
0.9
1
CMV Organ
Disease
Allograft
Rejection
Rate
Death
Universal
Prophylaxis
Pre-emptive
Therapy
Universal Prophylaxis vs.
Pre-emptive Therapy
ViroPharma Incorporated, ICAAC 2006
Kalil AC, Levitsky J, Lyden
E, et al. Ann Intern Med. 2005;143:870-880.
• Compared with placebo or
no treatment, both strategies
reduced CMV organ disease
• Both strategies reduced the
rate of allograft rejection
• However, only universal
prophylaxis significantly
reduced the rate of death

• CMV retinitis in HIV patients:
– Approx 85,000 at-risk patients with CD4 counts below 50 cells/mm
3
– Up to 30,000 HIV/AIDS patients develop CMV retinitis each year
• CMV disease in neonates:
– ~6,000 symptomatic at birth
– Children born with high viral load
• Oncology:
– ~3,000 patients at increased risk of CMV disease due to chemo treatment
– Patients on post-treatment maintenance against CMV
Other Populations at High Risk of
CMV Disease

15 Maribavir Colin Broom, MD ViroPharma Incorporated C C N N O OH HO HO HN CH3 H3C

16 Maribavir for Prophylaxis Against Cytomegalovirus in Recipients of Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplants Preliminary Results of a Phase 2 study C C N N O OH HO HO HN CH3 H3C

Maribavir
Preclinical Data
• Chemical class: Benzimidazole
• Orally bioavailable
• Mechanism:
Inhibit UL97 viral protein kinase
– Inhibit viral encapsidation
– Inhibit nuclear egress of viral particles
• Unlike other anti-CMV agents, maribavir does not affect the UL54 CMV
DNA polymerase
• Maribavir has in vitro activity against strains of CMV resistant to other
anti-CMV agents
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Phase 2 Study Design
• Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose-ranging study
• Adult CMV-seropositive recipients of allogeneic SCT
• After transplant engraftment, subjects randomized to receive oral
placebo or maribavir at doses of:
– 100 mg BID;  400 mg QD;  400 mg BID
• Duration of dosing: up to 12 weeks
• CMV surveillance weekly:
– CMV pp65 antigenemia; and
– Plasma CMV DNA PCR

Phase 2 Study Design
Engraftment
(14-30 days)
Screening
(No CMV detected)
CMV +
Study Drug Administration
(Maximum 12 weeks)
Study Drug
Study Drug
Follow-Up
Wk
1
Wk
4
Wk
8
Pre-emptive Rx*
* Management of CMV infection or
disease as per standard practice
at the transplant center.
SCT
Randomization
to Maribavir or
Placebo

Baseline Characteristics
Intent-to-treat (ITT) Population
SCT Type:
30% 39% 21% 29% Non-myeloablative
70% 61% 79% 71% Myeloablative
61%
46
28
100 mg BID
64%
48
28
400 mg QD
37%
51
27
400 mg BID
54% Gender (% male)
43 Age (y) Median
28
N
Placebo

Phase 2 CMV Infection or Disease
Within 100 Days Post-transplant, ITT
15% 19%
15%*
39% pp65 Ag
15%*
30%
15%*
57%
Initiation of anti-CMV
treatment
**includes follow up period
0 0 0 11% CMV Disease**
26 27 27 28
Evaluable
†
CMV infection as assessed by:
7%*
28
100 mg BID
11%*
28
400 mg QD
19%*
27
400 mg BID
46% DNA PCR
28
N
Placebo
†
Evaluable population excludes subjects who received <7 days of study drug because
of withdrawal from study or death and had no virology results after start of study drug.
* P-value 0.05 versus placebo

Phase 2 Tolerability
The tolerability profile of maribavir was very favorable in this
complex patient population:
• Most AEs occurred at similar rates in maribavir and placebo groups
• Consistent with prior clinical studies, the most notable adverse events
were taste disturbance and nausea (generally mild to moderate)
• In contrast to a prior Phase 1 study in HIV-infected subjects, skin rash
did not appear to be associated with maribavir administration
• No adverse impact on ECG or laboratory findings; in particular, no
adverse impact on neutrophil count or other hematologic parameters

Maribavir: Phase 2 Study
Conclusions
• Including the follow up period, there were no cases of CMV
disease in any maribavir group, compared to 11 percent of
patients in the placebo (preemptive therapy only) group;
• Maribavir prophylaxis reduced the rate of CMV infection
compared to the placebo (preemptive therapy only) group;
• Tolerability profile very favorable in this complex patient
population;
• Strong results at lowest (100mg BID) dose

• Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter pivotal Phase 3
study in 500 allogeneic SCT patients
• 2:1 randomization ratio.
– Patients will receive maribavir 100 mg BID or placebo for up to 12 weeks.
• Enrolled subjects will undergo testing for CMV infection at least weekly.
– Weekly testing: pp65 antigenemia and PCR
– If CMV infection detected, patient will be switched to current standard of care
• Primary efficacy endpoint: incidence of CMV disease w/in 180 days of SCT
– Predicted to be approximately 10 percent in the placebo arm
• Key secondary endpoints include incidence of initiation of preemptive anti-
CMV therapy, incidence of GvHD, mortality, CMV disease-free survival.
– These will play an important part in assessing the clinical benefit of maribavir.
Maribavir
Phase 3 Study in SCT

Maribavir
2007
• Phase 3 in SCT (initiated 3Q ‘06)
• Phase 3 in SOT (liver)
• Phase 2(s) in further SOT populations
• Phase 2 pre-emptive treatment in SCT
• Phase 1 studies to supplement clin pharm package
– Including co-administration of tacrolimus,
omeprazole, rifampin
What studies are expected to be ongoing during 2007?

26 Other Populations at Increased Risk of CMV Disease C C N N O OH HO HO HN CH 3 H 3 C

• HIV patients in the world: 36.3 million adults and 2.3 million children
– Approximately 30% have AIDS
• Number of U.S. patients with AIDS: 415,000 (CDC), growing at 4
percent/year
• At risk of CMV disease if CD4 count <50 cells/mm3 (17-20 percent of
patients)
• 19-25 percent of people with CMV retinitis in the HAART era still relapsed
• Incidence of CMV retinitis among AIDS patients in U.S. ranges from 0.07
percent  to over 20 percent*
• Percent HIV patients with CMV retinitis 1 percent (in pts have CD4 count
<100, CMV retinitis cases = 10 percent)
CMV Retinitis in HIV Patients
*Casado, 1999; Doan, 1999; Jalali, 2000; Kempen, 2003; Kupperman,1993; Mahadevia, 2004; Moorman, 1999

• The average duration of a CMV retinitis episode/treatment: 6 months
• IV ganciclovir, foscarnet, and cidofovir all shown to improve CMV retinitis
– Ganciclovir and foscarnet can also be given as intravitreal implants
• ~25 to 35 percent of patients on ganciclovir have resistant CMV strains by 9
mo. of therapy; similar rates reported for foscarnet and cidofovir
• Market is already primed for prophylaxis against CMV retinitis:
– Most physicians do not use indiscriminately (drug toxicity, cost, pill burden)
– Secondary prophylaxis is routinely indicated despite toxicities (unless there are
medical contraindications) because risk of new CMV disease is much greater
once retinitis has occurred
• High risk CMV patients have CD4 count <50 cells/mm
3
; also AIDS patients at
risk of developing CMV retinitis
CMV Retinitis in HIV Patients
Today’s Treatment Paradigm
Moorman, 1999; Jabs, 2005; Doan, 1999; Skiest, 2001
Mahadevia, 2004; Dunn, 2003

The Neonatal CMV Market
10% to 30% have hearing loss
and other disabilities
85% to 90% have disabilities
90% of babies have no signs or
symptoms (“silently infected’)
10% of babies have signs and
symptoms of CMV disease at birth
1% infants have symptoms or
signs at birth or have long term
disabilities
experience a primary infection
experience a recurrent maternal
infection that produces a
congenitally infected newborn
1% to 10%
0.1% to 1%
seronegative
seropositive
are CMV
are CMV
15% to 45%
55% to 85%
Pregnant Women in the US (4,000,000)
• Congenital CMV is a common cause of serious disabilities: Down syndrome, mental
retardation, microcephaly, seizure disorders, deafness, neural tube defects, etc.
• Cost = $1.9B to the US healthcare system
40% of these produce a congenitally infected newborn
References:  Baylor College of Medicine, National CMV Disease Registry
http://www.bcm.edu/pediatrics/index.cfm?Realm=99991126&This_Template=q_unbornbabywithcmv< b>;
Porath, 1990

The Neonatal CMV Market
Today’s Treatment Paradigm
• Congenital CMV is now high priority at the CDC with the CMV
Congenital Prevention Workgroup
• Current treatment is with ganciclovir IV for 42 days
• Because of marrow and kidney toxicities, GCV is reserved to
the most severe of symptomatic patients
• Highest risk of disease represents a pre-emptive market
– Symptomatic at or within 3 weeks of birth
– Perhaps patients with high viral load at birth

• Reported incidence of infection and disease in overall cancer population is
0.2-2 percent.
• Both incidence and prevalence during chemotherapy depend on the type of
cancer and type of treatment
– Lymphomas: 9 to 22 percent CMV infections, 3 percent get CMV disease
– A significant number of alemtuzumab (Campath) patients reactivate
• Reactivation of CMV during chemotherapy occurs, and generally ranges
from  0.02 percent to 10 percent in clinical trials in Europe and U.S.
– Some studies show reactivation rates as high as 67 percent
CMV in Oncology
Sung, 2002; Yoda, 2006; Souglakos, 2002; Laurenti, 2004

• Most oncology patients who develop a CMV infection or CMV
disease have blood cancers
(93,000 per year –
includes some
overlap with transplant patients
• Current treatment: 30 to 90 days Valganciclovir (treatment with
CAMPATH may lead to longer anti-CMV maintenance)
• Patients currently treated for CMV disease could be prescribed
post-treatment maintenance with a non-toxic CMV agent for the
duration of the chemotherapy
• Preliminary oncologist data indicates that future paradigm could
include prophylaxis for patients on chemo that induces high rate of
CMV infection
CMV in Oncology
Today’s Treatment Paradigm
)

Conclusion
• Significant risk of CMV reactivation and disease in growing transplant
population
• Unmet medical need for new, innovative, better tolerated anti-CMV agents
for transplant patients
• Market responsive to innovative products
• Current therapies exceed $300M in WW sales despite ‘black
box’ warnings
• Other immunosuppressed populations could benefit from new, well
tolerated products
• Maribavir to date displays the tolerability and anti-CMV activity suggestive
of an important weapon in the arsenal against CMV infection and disease
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34 Thank You C C N N O OH HO HO HN CH 3 H 3 C