                                                                    Exhibit 99.2

Event ID:   1326515
Event Name: Vion June 2006 Conference Call
Event Date: 2006-05-31T12:45:00 UTC

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Notes:
Converted From Text Transcript
1326515
Vion June 2006 Conference Call
May 31, 2006
C: Alan Kessman; Vion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; CEO
C: Ann Cahill; Vion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; VP of Clinical Development
C: Meghan Fitzgerald; Vion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; Chief Business Officer
P: Ren Benjamin; Rodman and Renshaw; Analyst
P: David Garrett; Fortis Bank; Analyst
P: Vinny Jindal; Think Equity; Analyst

+++ presentation
Operator: Good day and welcome ladies and gentlemen to the Vion's June 2006
conference call. My name is Audrey and I will be the conference coordinator on
today's call.

[OPERATOR INSTRUCTIONS]

As a reminder, ladies and gentlemen, this conference is being recorded for
replay purposes.

The Company has asked me to read the following.

This conference call will contain forward-looking statements. Such statements
are subject to certain risk factors which may cause Vion's plans to differ or
results to vary from those expected, including Vion's ability to secure external
sources of funding to continue its operations, the inability to access capital
and funding on favorable terms, continued operating losses and the inability to
continue operations as a result, its dependence on regulatory approval for its
products, delayed or unfavorable results of drug trials, the possibility that
favorable results of earlier clinical trials are not predictive of safety and
efficacy results in later clinical trials, the need for additional research and
testing, and a variety of other risks set forth from time to time in Vion's
filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including but not limited
to the risks discussed in Vion's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended
December 31, 2005. Except in special circumstances in which a duty to update
arises under law when prior disclosure becomes materially misleading in light of
subsequent events, Vion does not intend to update any of these forward-looking
statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof or to
reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events.

And now I would like to turn the call over to Mr. Alan Kessman, Chief Executive
Officer of Vion Pharmaceuticals. Sir, you may proceed.

Alan Kessman: Thank you, operator and good morning everyone.

Thank you for listening to Vion Pharmaceuticals conference call today.

The purpose of this call is to provide you with an update on our clinical and
pre-clinical programs and the initial commercialization efforts for our lead
anticancer agent, Cloretazine.

With me today on the phone are Howard Johnson, our President and CFO, Ann
Cahill, our VP of Clinical Development, and Meghan Fitzgerald, our Chief
Business Officer.

Before I turn you over to Ann to discuss our clinical programs and then Meghan,
to discuss our preliminary Cloretazine commercialization efforts, I'd like to
make a few comments.

First of all, let me provide you with an overview of our business today.

We have 2 anticancer agents, Cloretazine and Triapine, in 11 ongoing clinical
trials with additional trials of Triapine sponsored by the NCI expected to be
initiated.

We expect to start the first clinical trial of our third anticancer agent,
VNP40541, by the end of this year.

For a Company of our resources and size, remember we have 40 employees, we are
very proud to have such a strong clinical program underway for the treatment of
this devastating disease.

We're also proud to have a significant clinical program ongoing for our lead
agent Cloretazine with a goal of registering it for use in acute myelogenous
leukemia, or AML. The standard of care for AML has changed little over the last
30 years. And the life expectancy of patients who are diagnosed with this
disease has changed very little as well over this time period.

Furthermore, there are some patients with AML that have very few commercially
available treatment options. We'll be talking about one of those groups today:
elderly poor-risk AML patients, because we recently initiated a trial for them
with Cloretazine.

The opportunity to add to the treatment paradigm for AML is an opportunity to
address an unmet medical need. We believe that if approved, Cloretazine has an
excellent chance to become a widely used AML drug because of its activity and
toxicity profile in this disease.

Ann will be telling you about the 2 pivotal trials we now have underway in AML
and will also update you on our other Cloretazine trials.

She will also tell you what's going on with our Triapine program at the NCI. And
will inform you about our planned first trial for VNP40541, which is scheduled
to commence in the second half of this year.

We would like to remind everyone that Vion continues to own 100% of the
commercial rights for all of our compounds. And except for our Triapine
partnership in China, this is true worldwide.

Of course, we will owe Yale University royalties on Cloretazine and Triapine if
we are successful.

The fact that we still control almost all of the commercialization rights to a
late stage cancer compound positions us to generate significant shareholder
value, either in partnership with another pharmaceutical company or on our own
if our trials can be completed successfully.

We are now continuously analyzing our various commercialization options. And
also taking the important early steps necessary to ensure the best possible
product launch in the United States if Cloretazine is approved.

Meghan Fitzgerald, our Chief Business Officer, has accomplished a great deal in
her first 4 months on the job at Vion. And she will be telling you about what
she's working on shortly.

Finally, I'd like to address our cash position. At the end of the first quarter
we had $46.6 million in cash. The amount is sufficient to take us, based on our
current operating plan, more than halfway through next year.

We are always looking for ways to conserve cash and extend our runway and are
always going to be opportunistic about raising additional capital.

Today you will hear about us closing one of our Cloretazine trials in chronic
lymphocytic leukemia in order to focus on other trials. Making the decision to
close that trial and focus on the AML registration pathway and the small-cell
lung cancer trial for Cloretazine is expected to conserve cash and personnel
resources.

We will continue to assess our cash position and we'll take the necessary steps
to control or eliminate non-essential spending. We are committed to keeping our
financial position as strong as possible.

Now I will ask Ann Cahill, our Vice President of Clinical Development, to update
you on our progress in our clinical programs. Ann?

Ann Cahill: Thank you, Alan, and good morning everyone.

All of us in clinical affairs have been very busy. I'm pleased to be able to
tell you today about what we've been up to.

It should be of no doubt to anyone that we have made a significant commitment to
establish Cloretazine's utility in acute myelogenous leukemia or AML.

Although our most recent news revolved around the initiation of our pivotal
Phase II trial, I'm going to start by updating everyone on our Phase III program
in relapsed AML.

Many of you know that Vion's randomized, placebo-controlled Phase III trial,
which we call CLI-037, of Cloretazine, is being conducted in relapsed AML in
patients of any age with initial remissions of at least 3 months and not more
than 24 months.

The trial randomizes patients in a 2 to 1 randomization ratio experimental arm
to control arm. Patients are stratified according to age greater than or less 60
years of age and the length of first remission, greater than or less than 1
year.

Patients receive either 1.5 grams of AraC as a continuous infusion over 3 days
and 600 milligrams per meter squared of Cloretazine in a 30 to 60 minute
infusion or 1.5 grams or AraC as a continuous infusion over 3 days and placebo.

Patients may receive a second course of induction therapy if their disease is
improving but they have not yet achieved a complete remission.

If they achieve remission, patients may also go on to receive consolidation
therapy.

The primary endpoint for this study is the complete remission rate including CRp
(a complete remission with incomplete recovery of platelet count). And the
secondary endpoints are time to progression, duration of response, overall
survival, and toxicity.

The study is designed to demonstrate with sufficient power a 15% higher complete
remission rate in the experimental arm over the control arm. That is, a 45%
remission rate in the experimental arm versus 30% in the control arm.

We now have over 140 patients enrolled on this Phase III study at approximately
65 sites in North America and Europe. An interim analysis is planned when 210
patients are available for response.

This accrual milestone is expected to be reached late in the second half of
2006. The data will then be made available to the data safety and monitoring
board as soon as possible thereafter.

The trial is designed to accrue 420 patients in total, which we expect to
complete in 2007.

Now on to our latest commitment to AML, our recently initiated Phase II pivotal
trial. Last week, we enrolled our first patients to a pivotal Phase II trial,
which we call CLI-043, in elderly patients with de novo poor-risk AML.

This trial will be conducted in approximately 20 sites in North America and
Europe. Full accrual of the targeted 85 patients is expected to take up to 1
year.

De novo AML is AML that has not resulted from a prior documented myelodysplastic
syndrome, nor from previous exposure to chemotherapy or radiotherapy.

Elderly poor-risk AML is that associated with certain risk factors in older
patients that make it unlikely that the patient will respond to or tolerate
standard induction therapy.

In CLI-043, patients are required to be of at least age 60 with previously
untreated de novo AML and at least 1 additional risk factor from the following
list - ECOG performance status of 2 or greater, unfavorable cytogenetics, and or
significant cardiac, pulmonary, or hepatic dysfunction such that patients could
not receive standard induction therapy.

Alternatively, patients must be of 70 years of age or older with previously
untreated de novo AML and without favorable cytogenetics.

We have designed CLI-043 to confirm the data from our previous Phase II trial,
CLI-033, in a prospectively defined elderly poor-risk AML patient population.

We're confident that the patient inclusion criteria for this new trial defines
the unmet medical need patient population in AML.

As an aside, I remind you that data on de novo patients from our previous Phase
II trial will be presented in a poster discussion session as ASCO this coming
Sunday, June 4.

Patients enrolled to CLI-043, the pivotal trial, will receive 600 milligrams per
meter squared of Cloretazine in a 30 to 60 minute infusion. And may receive a
second course of induction therapy if their disease is improving but they have
not yet achieved a remission.

Patients who respond will receive consolidation with AraC.

The primary endpoint for this trial is the complete remission rate including CRp
and secondary endpoints are durability of response, progression free survival,
and overall survival.

The trial is designed in 2 stages. If 8 complete remissions are documented among
the first 42 patients enrolled, the study will proceed to the second stage.

In conjunction with this trial, Vion will conduct additional correlative studies
and collect health resource utilization data. The correlative studies include
molecular analysis of AML cells; levels of the enzymes felt to be responsible
for drug resistance, and pharmacokinetic data of Cloretazine.

Now let me talk about Cloretazine trials in other indications.

We have been conducting a Phase II trial of single agent Cloretazine in
small-cell lung cancer and a Phase I/II trial in chronic lymphocytic leukemia.

In addition, we have underway a Phase I trial of Cloretazine in combination with
temozolomide in advanced hematologic malignancies.

Based on pre-clinical data and Cloretazine's ability to cross the blood brain
barrier, there are also a Phase II investigator-sponsored trial in adult brain
tumors, and a Phase I trial in pediatric brain tumors in progress.

We are pleased to report today that there has been some anti-tumor activity on
our Phase II trial in both relapsed and resistant small-cell lung cancer.
Although initial responses are not predictive of future results, we are
encouraged that Cloretazine is showing activity in this setting.

Although no significant non-hematologic toxicity has been reported, based on the
data to date and the advice of the clinicians working with us on the trial, we
have decided to amend the protocol for this trial to reduce the dose of
Cloretazine so that patients may be able to receive multiple cycles without
significant hematologic toxicity.

We are looking to have preliminary data from a small-cell lung cancer trial to
report by the end of the year.

We've announced today that we'll be closing our trial in chronic lymphocytic
leukemia. We are doing this in order to focus our efforts on our registration in
AML and follow up on the activity we see in the small-cell lung setting.

Finally, with respect to Cloretazine, I can say that given the history of
activity of alkylators in brain tumors and our pre-clinical and clinical data to
date, we will continue to work with brain tumor specialists to decide on future
trials of Cloretazine in these indications.

Now on to Triapine. Our second clinical anticancer compound is a potent
inhibitor of ribonucleotide reductase, an enzyme necessary for DNA synthesis and
repair.

Triapine is being evaluated in several clinical trials sponsored by the National
Cancer Institute. Since commencement of the NCI Triapine program, 13 clinical
trials have been conducted including 5 studies that are ongoing.

In addition, up to 5 new studies are currently planned to commence in the coming
months, including a study of an oral formulation and the use of Triapine as a
radiosensitizer.

The Company has decided not to conduct its own study of oral Triapine at this
time to conserve resources and focus its efforts on the registration and
lifecycle extension trials for Cloretazine.

Data from the first set of NCI trials are expected to be presented in several
different forums this year. We expect some new trials to be started shortly
including a trial of oral Triapine, a Phase II trial of Triapine in combination
with fludarabine in hematologic malignancies, and trials of Triapine in
combination with radiation.

We continue to search for a registration pathway for Triapine and are pleased to
be working with the NCI in this regard.

We will add to our clinical portfolio with the start of a Phase I trial of our
third clinical agent, VNP40541, in the second half of this year.

Thank you everyone. Alan?

Alan Kessman: Thanks, Ann.

And now we'll hear from our Chief Business Officer, Meghan Fitzgerald, and her
initial efforts to prepare for commercialization of Cloretazine if and when our
trials are successfully completed and regulatory approval is obtained. Meghan?

Meghan Fitzgerald: Thank you, Alan, and hello everyone.

I think I've had the chance to already meet many of you on the phone today. But
I'm always available to meet face-to-face with anyone that is new to the Company
or that I haven't met.

In the 4 months since I've been at Vion, I've really tried to take a deep dive
into the opportunity we have with Cloretazine initially in AML but also in
potential product line extensions for the future.

It's my responsibility to make sure that we're prepared in whatever
commercialization scenario becomes the most advantageous to the creation of
shareholder value to launch our lead product as aggressively and successfully as
possible if and when regulatory approval is obtained.

I believe, as I said before, that Vion, by focusing on the market opportunity
for Cloretazine and addressing it early in the pre-launch phase, is taking care
of its primary asset in the best possible way. This should be reflected down the
road in value to our shareholders.

In the past few months specifically while our trials continue, we have initiated
or completed the preliminary work related to market analysis and a
fully-developed launch plan, which includes initial targeting, pricing, and
competitive positioning of Cloretazine in AML, our initial registration pathway.

We have held preliminary discussions with several top tier contract sales
organizations to get an idea on the requirements for a sales force and product
distribution in the United States.

One example of our efforts to reach out to key opinion leaders is taking place
this June in Amsterdam at the European Hematology Association. We are holding an
advisory board meeting, which is expected to include several leading European
leukemia physicians, in order to have an interactive forum to discuss our lead
compound.

We have announced today our plans to meet with the European Medicines Agency,
the EMEA, in 2006 to discuss the requirements for registration of Cloretazine in
the European Union. We

believe that this could be an important step in the establishment of a
commercialization partnership in the European Union.

Our efforts to find a partner in the rest of the world are actively ongoing and
are expected to accelerate as we establish and meet the requirements for foreign
registration.

Even though we are still in clinical trials and do not expect a commercial
product launch prior to 2008, everyone on the phone should be comfortable that
as our trials advance and we approach our application for regulatory approval,
we are constantly evaluating all of our commercialization options for
Cloretazine in the United States and the rest of the world. And we'll continue
to do so as our pivotal trials get closer to completion.

Whether we commercialize Cloretazine in the United States or choose a partner,
we are doing the necessary work to ensure a successful product launch.

Thank you. Alan?

Alan Kessman: Thank you, Meghan.

The final information we'll leave you with prior to opening the dialogue up for
questions is about the progress we're making on the non-clinical sections of a
new drug application.

With respect to validation of the manufacturing process for Cloretazine, we have
completed the manufacturing of 3 consecutive lots of active pharmaceutical
ingredient and are working with our contract manufacturer to finalize the
related documentation.

Manufacturing lots for validation of the finished product are planned for this
summer.

We also have completed several additional pre-clinical studies necessary for
registration. And more studies are underway or scheduled.

Our plan is to take advantage of the opportunity available from our fast track
designations to file sections of our registration package for Cloretazine as
they are completed.

Thank you all for listening today we're now ready to take your questions.

+++ q-and-a
Operator: Thank you, sir.

[OPERATOR INSTRUCTIONS]

Our first question will come from the line of Ren Benjamin with Rodman and
Renshaw. Please proceed.

Ren Benjamin: Hi, good morning everyone and thanks for taking the questions.

The first question I have is in the ongoing Phase III trial, and maybe I've just
gotten this, the, you have AraC in combination with Cloretazine compared to AraC
alone. How come it's not AraC plus an anthracycline like daunorubicin?

Ann Cahill: Hi. It's Ann Cahill.

This is in first relapse AML. So patients would have seen an anthracycline in
combination with cytarabine in first line therapy. But in second line therapy
you generally don't repeat the anthracycline.

High dose AraC is a known and common first relapse AML therapeutic.

Ren Benjamin: Okay. So that's pretty standard. I thought I had read differently
that you always try again with what you did the first time. Okay, that's fine.

Regarding the Phase II recently started trial; you said that you're going to
look for 8 complete responses after the first 42 patients are enrolled. When do
you think that will happen? I mean you said in the press release that it'll take
up to a year for the entire 85 patients to enroll. But when do you think you
might see the first stage results?

Alan Kessman: We would expect that we would be able to have, again, just - this
is Alan, Ren. But the, it's when we get the first 8. So it's not just - but it
has to be within the first 42. So if it was 8 out of 16 or 8 out of 24 we'll let
you know as soon as that occurs.

We would expect that, based on normal accrual, we would be able to accrue it at
42 patients, which is absolutely critical to at least find the first 8 by the
end of this year, first part of next year.

Ren Benjamin: Okay, okay. And then finally you guys decided to close the CLL
trial. But can you talk to us a little about what happened in the trial?

So for example, how many patients were enrolled, if any? And did you see any
activity?

Alan Kessman: I think what we can tell you is that, and you can assume from
this, that it was a very slow accruing trial and there weren't many patients on
the trial. And we just really didn't see that this was aiding in our
registration path. And the time and money that was allocated to it just didn't
make sense based on the potential return.

Ren Benjamin: Sounds great. Thank you very much for answering the questions.

Operator: Our next question will come from the line of David Garrett with
Fortis. Please proceed.

David Garrett: Hi. Good morning everyone.

Alan Kessman: Hi, David.

David Garrett: What type of efficacy will you need to see in the small-cell lung
cancer trial in order to proceed to perhaps the registration trial?

And then secondly, are there any specific tumor types you intend to look at in
the VNP40541 Phase I or is it just an amorous with refractory disease trial?
Thanks.

Ann Cahill: Okay, this is Ann Cahill.

In the small-cell lung cancer trial, you could, this is in a disease that is
either chemo sensitive or resistant. So there's very few therapeutic options in
second line.

To date I believe only Topotecan is approved in this indication. And that is in
on the basis of symptom relief I think with something like a 17% response rate.

So it's a patient population that again I think demonstrates a need for a new
agent.

As far as the numbers, we will be looking for activity. It's a 2-stage design.
And we'll be looking for activity in the first subsets of both chemo sensitive
and resistant patients to move on in that Phase II setting.

With regard to your second question on VNP40541, the Phase I trial is solid
tumor basic Phase I approach. But I think there's certain characteristics of 541
that make it intriguing to think about in most tumors that have hypoxic areas.
Tumors like glioblastoma multiforme and pancreatic cancer come to mind.

And we'll be especially focusing on those tumors that have large areas of
hypoxic on cells.

David Garrett: Thank you.

Operator: [OPERATOR INSTRUCTIONS]

Our next question will come from the line of Vinny from Think Equity. Please
proceed.

Vinny Jindal: Hey, guys. Thanks for taking my question.

Just to get back to the first phase of the Phase II trial. If you do see 8
complete responses in the first 42 patients, it sounds like you'll have them
enrolled by the end of this year. But what's the timing between when you get a
patient in and you get an assessment of response? Is it about 2 months? Or how
long does that normally take?

Ann Cahill: This is Ann Cahill.

                                       10

So for patients treated in induction with AML, they get induction 1. And you
generally look in the bone marrow for efficacy about 5 or 6 weeks later.

You can answer that some patients that will need 2 inductions to go in complete
remission. And often you do bone marrow a month later to confirm the complete
remission.

So it can be anywhere from 45 days to 60 to 90 days.

Vinny Jindal: Okay. And patients who have the opportunity to get that second
induction with Cloretazine on this trial, is that right?

Ann Cahill: Yes, they will. You can have induction 2 if you are showing signs of
benefit but have not yet achieved a complete remission.

Vinny Jindal: Okay.

And then what happens if you don't get 8 CR in those first 42 patients?

Ann Cahill: They close the trial. I mean the trial's in a Simon 2-stage design
looking for efficacy in a Phase II setting. It's specifically written to predict
how likely you are to see that benefit in 2 stages.

Vinny Jindal: Got you. Okay. And then I had another quick question on the Phase
III ongoing trial in relapsed refractory.

I think before that 120-patient analysis was I think I had considered at least a
futility analysis. Is this actually an interim efficacy analysis where we kind
of get to see data in terms of relative response rates, safety, et cetera?

Ann Cahill: So let me discuss a little bit about the interim analysis for this
Phase III study.

First of all, just to clarify, it's in first relapse AML patients. So it doesn't
include resistant or refractory disease.

The interim analysis will be done with 210 patients are evaluable. It includes
both an upper boundary and a lower boundary, i.e. efficacy and futility or
toxicity. But that information goes to the DSMB. We don't publish that. We may
not see much of that information. It will be blinded to us and sent to the DSMB.

The DSMB will then make a recommendation to us to continue the study to change
the study or close the study.

Vinny Jindal: Got you. So what we'll get, we'll look at it as an audience as
just a binary signal of continue or don't continue.

Alan Kessman: Correct.

                                       11

Vinny Jindal: Okay. Great.

Operator: And at this time there are no further questions inside the queue.

Alan Kessman: Okay well then operator I'd like to thank everybody for attending
our session this morning. We hope it's been informative for you. I hope you
realize how proud we are of what we've accomplished to date. And how we believe
that Cloretazine is on its way and moving towards a registration path.

Thank you again and talk to you soon. Bye everyone.

Operator: Ladies and gentlemen, thank you for participating in today's
conference. At this time, you all may disconnect and enjoy your day.

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