                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1

                                         [LOGO]

             COMPANY CONTACT:         VION PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
                                      Alan Kessman, Chief Executive Officer
                                      Howard B. Johnson, President
                                      (203) 498-4210 phone

                   VION ANNOUNCES COMPLETION OF ACCRUAL TO ITS
             PHASE II CLINICAL TRIAL OF CLORETAZINE(TM) (VNP40101M)
                            IN AML AND HIGH-RISK MDS

NEW HAVEN, CT, APRIL 19, 2005 - VION PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. (NASDAQ SMALLCAP:
VION) announced today that the Phase II single agent trial of its anticancer
agent CLORETAZINE(TM) (VNP40101M) in acute myeloid leukemia (AML) and high-risk
myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS) has been closed to new patient accrual.

The trial is designed to determine the response rate of CLORETAZINE(TM)
(VNP40101M) as a single agent in two distinct patient groups: Group A consisting
of patients with AML and high- risk MDS who are at least 60 years old and have
not received prior chemotherapy; and Group B consisting of patients of any age
with AML who have relapsed after a complete remission (CR) of less than twelve
months. Initial data from this trial was recently presented at the 6th
International Symposium and Workshop on Leukemia and Lymphoma in Amsterdam, The
Netherlands.

The trial will close to new accrual with over 100 patients on Group A and 54
patients on Group B. The Company recently initiated a randomized,
placebo-controlled Phase III clinical trial of CLORETAZINE(TM) (VNP40101M) in
combination with Ara-C in patients with AML who have relapsed after a CR of more
than three months but less than twenty-four months. In order to facilitate rapid
accrual to this Phase III trial in a similar patient population, the Company
decided to discontinue accrual to Group B of the Phase II single agent trial.

Ann Cahill, Vice President, Clinical Development, said "We are extremely pleased
with the patient accrual to this Phase II study, having reached the target
accrual for Group A in approximately one year. As the Phase II single agent data
matures over the next few months, we will analyze the results for additional
CLORETAZINE(TM) (VNP40101M) opportunities. At the same time, we will maintain
our focus on rapid accrual to the Phase III trial in relapsed AML."

Vion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is developing novel agents for the treatment of
cancer. Vion has two agents in clinical trials: CLORETAZINE(TM) (VNP40101M), a
unique sulfonylhydrazine alkylating agent is being evaluated in four clinical
trials, including a Phase III trial in combination with Ara-C in relapsed acute
myeloid leukemia, and Triapine(R), a potent inhibitor of a key step in DNA
synthesis, is being evaluated in combination with gemcitabine in a Phase II
trial in pancreatic cancer and additional Phase I and II trials sponsored by the
National Cancer Institute. In preclinical studies, Vion is evaluating KS119 and
KS119W, hypoxia-selective compounds from the sulfonylhydrazine class, and
heterocyclic hydrazones. The Company is also seeking development partners for
TAPET(R), its modified Salmonella vector used to deliver anticancer agents
directly to tumors. For additional information on Vion and its product
development programs, visit the Company's Internet web site at
www.vionpharm.com.

This news release contains forward-looking statements. Such statements are
subject to certain risk factors which may cause Vion's plans to differ or
results to vary from those expected, including Vion's ability to secure external
sources of funding to continue its operations, the inability to access capital
and funding on favorable terms, continued operating losses and the inability to
continue operations as a result, its dependence on regulatory approval for its
products, delayed or unfavorable results of drug trials, the possibility that
favorable results of earlier clinical trials are not predictive of safety and
efficacy results in later clinical trials, the need for additional research and
testing, and a variety of other risks set forth from time to time in Vion's
filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including but not limited
to the risks discussed in Vion's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended
December 31, 2004. Except in special circumstances in which a duty to update
arises under law when prior disclosure becomes materially misleading in light of
subsequent events, Vion does not intend to update any of these forward-looking
statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof or to
reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events.