                     [VION PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. LOGO]
                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

                                                                                                                           EXHIBIT 99.1

                              COMPANY CONTACT:      VION PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
                                                    Howard B. Johnson, President
                                                    (203) 498-4210

                Vion Announces Addition to Senior Management Team

           Promotes Ann Cahill to Vice President, Clinical Development

NEW HAVEN, CT, OCTOBER 15, 2004 - VION PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. (NASDAQ SMALLCAP:
VION) today announced that Ann Cahill, formerly Senior Director of Clinical
Affairs, had been promoted to Vice President, Clinical Development, and would
become a corporate officer of the Company. In her new capacity, she will be
responsible for the execution and oversight of all of the Company's clinical
trials.

Alan Kessman, Chief Executive Officer, remarked, "Ann has done an outstanding
job in building and leading our clinical affairs group. They have been directly
responsible for our success in evaluating Triapine(R) and CLORETAZINE(TM)
(VNP40101M) rapidly in clinical triaLs. This promotion to Vice President,
Clinical Development and a corporate officer is in recognition of her
outstanding contributions and leadership and the increasing importance of her
responsibilities to Vion."

Ann Cahill joined Vion in January 2002 as Director, Clinical Affairs. In October
2003 she was promoted to Senior Director, Clinical Affairs. Prior to joining the
Company, she was a member of the project management group of Schering-Plough
Corporation for five years, including leadership roles in clinical affairs for
hepatitis and medical oncology. From 1985-1997, Ms. Cahill was a physician
associate in a medical oncology practice. Ms. Cahill received her B.S. degree
from Duke University and her Physician Associate degree from Yale University

Vion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is developing novel agents for the treatment of
cancer. Vion has two agents in Phase II clinical trials: CLORETAZINE(TM)
(VNP40101M), a unique sulfonylhydrazine alkylating agent, and Triapine(R), a
potent inhibitor of a key step in DNA synthesis. In preclinical studies, Vion is
also developing KS119, a hypoxia-selective compound from the sulfonylhydrazine
class, and heterocyclic hydrazones. The Company is also known for developing
TAPET(R), a modified Salmonella vector used to deliver anticancer agents
directly to tumors. For additional information on Vion and its product
development programs, visit the Company's Internet web site at
www.vionpharm.com.

This news release contains forward-looking statements. Such statements are
subject to certain risk factors which may cause Vion's plans to differ or
results to vary from those expected, including Vion's ability to secure external
sources of funding to continue its operations, the inability to access capital
and funding on favorable terms, continued operating losses and the inability to
continue operations as a result, its dependence on regulatory approval for its
products, delayed or unfavorable results of drug trials, the possibility that
favorable results of earlier clinical trials are not predictive of safety and
efficacy results in later clinical trials, the need for additional research and
testing, and a variety of other risks set forth from time to time in Vion's
filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including but not limited
to

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the risks discussed in Vion's Annual Report on Form 10-K/A for the year ended
December 31, 2003. Except in special circumstances in which a duty to update
arises under law when prior disclosure becomes materially misleading in light of
subsequent events, Vion does not intend to update any of these forward-looking
statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof or to
reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events.

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