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CONFERENCE CALL TRANSCRIPT

VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE

EVENT DATE/TIME: SEP. 23. 2004 / 4:45PM ET

EVENT DURATION: N/A

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CORPORATE PARTICIPANTS

ALAN KESSMAN
Vion Pharmaceuticals - CEO

MARIO SZNOL
Vion Pharmaceuticals - VP of Clinical Affairs

HOWARD JOHNSON
Vion Pharmaceuticals - President & CFO

CONFERENCE CALL PARTICIPANTS

RENI BENJAMIN
Rodman Renshaw - Analyst

DR. FRANK GILES
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center - Chief of Developmental Therapeutics

RON ELLIS
Leerink Swann - Analyst

CURTIS HAWES
Summer Street Research - Analyst

DAVID WILLIAMS
Westport Capital Market - Analyst

WILLIAM SAWYER
Investor

ROBIN KERNASKIS
Sterling Financial - Analyst

JARED CINDER
Exis - Analyst

DAN HELLER
Prospective Life Sciences - Analyst

PRESENTATION

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OPERATOR

Welcome to the Vion Pharmaceuticals corporate update conference call. My name is
Bill and I will be your coordinator for today. (OPERATOR INSTRUCTIONS) As a
reminder, this conference is being recorded for replay purposes.

I would now like to read the Safe Harbor statement for your call.

The statements made on this conference call are forward-looking statements made
pursuant to the Safe Harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation
Reform Act of 1995. The forward-looking statements regarding the Company's
future business prospects, plans, objectives, expectations, and intentions are
subject to certain risks, including Vion's ability to secure external sources of
funding to continue its operations; the inability to access capital and funding
on favorable terms; continued operating losses and the inability to continue
operations as a result if dependent on regulatory approval for its products;
delayed or unfavorable results of drug trials; the possibility that favorable
results of earlier clinical trials are not predictive of safety and efficiency
results in later clinical trials; the need for additional research and testing;
and a variety of other risks contained in the Company's statements filed with
the Securities and Exchange Commission on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.

I would now like to turn the presentation over to your host for today's call,
Mr. Alan Kessman, CEO of Vion Pharmaceuticals. Please proceed, sir.

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ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Thank you, operator. Good afternoon everyone and thank you for joining us on
today's conference call. We're having this call today because there have been a
number of recent developments, and the Company thought it was best to present
them in a forum where investors have an opportunity to ask questions of
management.

Before we start, let me introduce the other members of Vion's management team
who are with me on the call today -- Howard Johnson, President and Chief
Financial Officer; Mario Sznol, Vice President of Clinical Affairs; Ivan King,
Vice President, Research; and Ann Cahill, Senior Director of Clinical Affairs.
We're also pleased to be joined on the call today by Dr. Frank Giles, Chief,
Section of Developmental Therapeutics and Department of Leukemia at the
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Today we will be providing you with an update on each of Vion's research
programs, as well as highlighting additional developments underway at Vion. I
will outline the issues covered in our press

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release issued this afternoon, and then we will conduct a question and answer
session to address any questions you might have. If you do not have a copy of
the press release, you may obtain one from our website, www.vionpharm.com, or
you may call our offices to request a copy at 203-498-4210. Now let's get
started.

I'd like to highlight some developments into the CLORETAZINE program.
CLORETAZINE which is also known as VNP40101M is our unique sulfonyl hydrazine
alkylating agent. Up to this time we have completed single agent Phase I trials
in solid tumors and advanced leukemias and a Phase I combination trial in
advanced leukemias. Results have been presented publicly before, but I can
summarize the major points, which are the drug has a good safety profile, has
shown promising activity in acute myeloid leukemia, and is ready for testing
against other solid tumors and other types of leukemias. It is currently being
evaluated in two Phase II trials as a single agent. One is in acute myeloid
leukemia and is designed to extend our information on this activity in that
disease, and the other is in adult leonma (ph) or brain cancer. We're also in
the planning stages of a Phase II trial in another solid tumor.

The most important development of CLORETAZINE is the substantial progress we're
making in advancing CLORETAZINE towards the initiation of a pivotal Phase III
trial in AML. We decided to move forward into a Phase III trial based on both
the single agent activity of CLORETAZINE in acute myeloid leukemia and the
promising activity in the same disease that we recorded with the combination of
CLORETAZINE and Ara-C in a Phase I trial. The Phase III will be a comparison of
CLORETAZINE in combination with Ara-C versus Ara-C in patients with acute
myeloid leukemia and first relapse.

Although we cannot go into extensive detail on the trial design in this call, we
expect to accrue 200 to 300 patients in multiple centers around the world over a
period of 18 to 24 months. We also expect that the data will be suitable for
registration of the drug if the trial is positive. We recently signed a letter
of intent with a global contract research organization and are in the process of
finalizing the clinical protocol and protocol operating procedures with the CRO
and the FDA. As we have advised everyone in the past, we expect that this Phase
III trial will commence no later than the first calendar quarter of 2005.
However, our whole Company is focused right now on meeting and beating this
goal.

Let me turn our attention briefly to the ongoing Phase II trial in acute
leukemia. I should explain that we were already confident from the Phase I
single agent data and the Phase I combination trial with Ara-C that CLORETAZINE
should move forward into a Phase III trial in combination with Ara-C. That
decision was made based on the activity and safety profile observed in both of
those Phase I trials. However, we felt it was important to obtain additional
Phase II single agent data in AML patients who are not as heavily pre-treated as
the patients that were accrued for the Phase I trials.

We began the Phase II study in late March of this year, focused on two groups of
patients. The first includes those older than 60 with AML, or high risk myeloid
dysplasia, and no prior aggressive chemotherapy, and the second includes AML
patients of any age in first relapse. The accrual to the trial has been brisk,
and already over 50 patients have been entered. We cannot discuss detailed
results or give accurate response rates because most of the patients have been
followed on the trial for a short period of time and are not yet at the point
where we can determine their response. Nevertheless, consistent with our Phase I
data, some patients have already achieved a complete response. Although these
results are encouraging, we would remind everyone that initial response data are
not always predictive of final response results.

We also have underway an investigative sponsored Phase II trial of CLORETAZINE
in patients with gliomas. We expect to have more information on this trial
conducted at the Brain Tumor Center of the Duke University Comprehensive Cancer
Center in 2005.

Now let's move on to Triapine. Triapine is Vion's ribonucleotide reductase
inhibitor. We chose as a main effort for Vion to directly fund Phase II
commendation trials with gemcitabine in pancreatic cancer and non small cell
lung cancer. These trials are part of a larger Triapine clinical effort, which
includes more than ten different types of Phase I or Phase II trials sponsored
by the National Cancer Institute. We also expect our Chinese partners, Beijing
Pason Pharmaceuticals, to be in clinical trials with Triapine in China in 2005.

The results of our two gemcitabine studies, while still preliminary, are as
follows.

In our lung cancer trial we accrued 45 patients, and 38 of these patients are
currently evaluable for response. Patients in the lung cancer trial have
received a minimum of one, but not more than two prior regimens of cytotoxic
chemotherapy. The response rate in the evaluable group of patients is 5.3
percent. As of September 1, 2004, with a medium follow-up for survival for all
45 patients of four months, median progression-free survival is 2.1 months and
median survival is 6.8 months.

In our pancreatic cancer trial, we treated 60 patients. Patients in the
pancreatic cancer trial had no prior chemotherapy for metastatic or unrecetable
(ph) disease. The data analysis included all patients receiving at least a
single dose of treatment on the study. As of September 1, 2004, with a median
follow-up for survival of 6.6 months, the objective response rate is 3.3
percent, median progression-free survival is 3.9 months, and median survival is
8.75 months.

The progression-free survival and response data on both trials are not
sufficiently different from what you might expect to achieve with gemcitabine
alone. However, the median survival data on the pancreatic cancer trial are
encouraging, and we think that it bears watching.

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Of course, over the coming months, we will continue to update the data for all
the patients on both trials, and will continue to report to you on what the data
show. We should remind everyone that follow-up for survival is short, and the
preliminary survival data we reported today is not firm and can change in either
direction as we continue to follow patients.

Based on the results to date and pre-clinical work demonstrating that longer
exposures to Triapine could make a measurable difference in results, we have
decided to initiate an extension of our pancreatic study in which 25 to 35
patients will be treated with a 24 hour infusion of Triapine before receiving
gemcitabine. We expect patient accrual to be initiated soon.

We will also continue to monitor the pancreatic and non small cell cancer
survival data in the ongoing trials to see if the data gives a strong enough
signal to trigger a Phase III trial of a Triapine-gemcitabine commendation. Our
current assessment is that the results from the pancreatic cancer trial, due to
its more homogeneous patient population, are easier to interpret than the
results from the lung cancer trial.

In addition to our ongoing trials, the NCI is sponsoring trials of
Triapine-gemcitabine in pancreatic, non small cell lung, and gallbladder cancers
that will add to our data set and help us reach a decision. The additional
Triapine trials currently underway at the NCI, and the additional trials
expected in China in 2005, may provide Vion with additional registration
pathways.

We also have decided to advance a new oral formulation for Triapine, which we
believe can be used in different dosing schedules and could provide greater
activity by increasing the duration of exposure of tumor cells to Triapine.

In our pre-clinical program area we have two notable developments. Our lead
pre-clinical program is now KS119, which many of you know produces the same
active molecule as CLORETAZINE. This compound was created by the scientific
founder of Vion, Dr. Alan Sartorelli. The data that Alan generated, together
with work done by our own scientists, has given us good reasons to be excited by
the prospects for this agent.

KS119 is a hypoxia-selective compound which means it is activated only in areas
of very low oxygen concentrations. We know that tumors contain many areas of low
oxygen which are not present in normal tissues. Therefore, we believe that KS119
has the potential to be activated specifically and destroy the low oxygen
regions of tumors. We also believe that once KS119 is activated in the low
oxygen regions, it can travels short distances to kill tumor cells in the
oxygenated portion of tumors. We believe that all this can be accomplished with
very little toxicity in the rest of the body because normal tissues have higher
oxygen concentrations and cannot activate the drug.

If our ongoing pre-clinical studies confirm the early results generated so far,
KS119 will be a very promising product candidates. Progress has already been
made on KS119 formulation, and we have evidence of anti-tumor activity in animal
models. Our goal is to file an IND on this unique compound in the fall of 2005.

As many of you know, Vion has also been working on TAPET Salmonella vector since
its inception. Our vision that TAPET would represent a revolutionary approach to
cancer treatment remains, but the initial clinical trials could not reproduce
the very promising results from the mouse studies.

Because of its substantial promise we continue to work in this area, and most
recently advanced development of a second generation TAPET vector into dog
studies. Upon review of the data from these dogs studies, we have decided that
the time and cost of continued internal development of TAPET will be more than
Vion could support in the near term. In order for us to focus our resources and
energies on compounds such as CLORETAZINE, Triapine and KS119 that have the
greatest product potential and because we still believe TAPET has potential, our
plan now is to find a corporate partner for future development at work.

I want to comment now on Mario Sznol's decision to return to academia and
patient care at this time.

As of October 15, Mario will step down as Vion's VP of Clinical Affairs to join
the faculty of Yale Medical School. At Yale he will be involved in the
development of new treatments for melanoma and other cancers, and will lead
their scientific review committee for clinical research protocols in cancer.
Although he will be pursuing his major interest in early drug development and in
biological agents at Yale, because of his belief in the Company and the agents
in our portfolio, Mario has asked to remain significantly involved with the
clinical affairs of this company.

Those of you who have met Mario know that he is a phenomenal human being who has
dedicated his life to pursuing early stage creative solutions for treating
cancer patients. Mario's personal work desire has always been to focus on early
stage development. The opportunity afforded him at Yale at this time, combined
with his ongoing relationship with Vion, will allow him to pursue all of his
personal and professional goals and objectives.

We believe Mario can continue to make valuable contributions to the Company, so
we have asked Mario to become a member of our Board of Directors and he has
accepted. In addition, we have asked him to become our consultant with the title
of Special Adviser to the CEO, and to join our scientific advisory board. Mario
has been a great member of our team and he will continue to assist us in
numerous ways. We thank him for his past efforts and look forward to his future
contributions.

In view of Mario's departure and the changing needs of the Company based on the
progress that has been made with our lead

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compound, we're actively recruiting for a VP of Clinical Affairs who has late
stage development and commercialization experience. We're doing this with a
retained executive search firm. The day-to-day needs of clinical affairs will
continue to be managed by Ann Cahill, Senior Director of Clinical Affairs. Ann
has played a major role in all aspects of clinical trial execution and
management, and is an outstanding and capable leader.

We work closely with many oncologists, and for CLORETAZINE in particular Dr.
Frank Giles of M.D. Anderson has been critical in helping us develop the
registration strategy. Frank has been a very important figure in the development
them of CLORETAZINE, and we will be relying on him even more in the coming
months as we enter into the Phase III trial. We're pleased to have him on the
call today to help us answer your questions.

With that, we're now ready to take questions, operator.

QUESTION AND ANSWER

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OPERATOR

(OPERATOR INSTRUCTIONS) Reni Benjamin, Rodman Renshaw.

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

Congratulations on your progress. Can you tell us a little bit more about the
Phase III trial and this new enrollment protocol? Can you describe it for us and
then also may be comment on how early doing a protocol like this might give you
results?

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ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

When you say the protocol are you talking about the randomization approach?

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

Right.

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ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Mario, want to handle that?

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MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

You're asking about the adaptive randomization for the Phase III trial, I just
want to clarify?

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

That's correct.

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MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

The adaptive randomization approach came from M.D. Anderson from Don Berry
(ph), the statistician there. It's a unique design; unique in drug clinical
trials, but not in other studies or in device trials.

The basic concept is that the first set number of patients are randomized
1-to-1, and subsequently patients -- the randomization ratio between the
treatment and control arms is adjusted based on ongoing accrual of data to the
trial. So, for example, if arm A is doing better than arm B, the randomization
in the computer will adjust the randomization instead of 1-to-1, for example it
could be

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1.2-to-1 or 2-to-1, the better arm versus the other arm, the arm that is doing
worse.

This approach has various advantages. One advantage is that it allows as the
trial goes on for patients to enter the better arm of the trial, so it gives
them a better chance of getting onto the more active arm. The second advantage
is that you get your answers sooner most of the time. So it is possible to come
to a conclusion of the trial much earlier that you would have otherwise with the
standard clinical trial design.

Does that address your question?

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

It does. Now, in the scenarios that you have I'm sure modeled, when do you
think if everything worked out fairly well from the response rates that we've
seen so far in AML, when do you think might be the earliest that data can come
out?

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MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

I don't believe I can answer that question. The simulations are complex. I
think the stance that we're taking now is that the average number of patients
that would be accrued for a positive trial would be in the range of 200 to 300.

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

Fair enough. Will you be seeking an FPA (ph)?

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ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Our position has been that we don't disclose publicly or have discussions or
how discussion about any conversations we're having of the degree, the status,
until any discussions are concluded with any of the various government
organizations or when we get asked questions about partnerships. What I can tell
you is that, and we've said this on many occasions, as you know we have
fast-track status and we have open and many conversations with the FDA.

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

So another question for Mario. The Triapine results -- can you help us
understand a little better the Triapine results in pancreatic cancer? It seems
that although the response rate is low and may be lower than gemcitabine alone,
the overall survival rate is much better. Can you lend some more light as to why
you're enrolling more patients with a different dosing protocol as opposed to
moving forward with this based on these survival results?

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MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

First of all, the response rates aren't less than what you would expect with
gemcitabine. If you look through the literature, response rates to gemcitabine
go from 0 to 10 percent. In fact, in the initial pivotal trial no objective
responses were actually confirmed by the FDA, as I understand it. So in some
studies, large studies, the response rates are 0. So the 3.3 percent is well
within the confidence intervals of what you'd expect for gem alone. There are
other examples, the most recent one being tarciva, of agents that don't affect
response rate, only minimally affect progression-free survival, and can improve
overall survival. Perhaps this is one of those cases.

However, the median follow-up for survival on this trial is short. So that 8.75
months is very encouraging, but it's not a number that at this moment we can use
to go right into a Phase III trial. That number could go up and down as more
patients are followed on the trial. Clearly if this is a number that we had as
the median follow-up progresses, I think we would have to think very hard about
going into a Phase III study.

In the meantime, the pre-clinical data -- and we've reviewed it several times --
indicates that a longer infusion of Triapine is substantially more effective at
much modulating gemcitabine than the four hour fusion at we were using in the
clinic. The data are consistent across every cell line that we've looked at.

We were never able to do a 24-hour infusion before because of logistical
problems and issues, primarily the difficulty in getting a 24-hour fusion done
in the clinic. We can get a small pilot program done. It will give us extra
data. And as you know, we have an oral formulation that will soon be in clinical
trials. And it in fact the 24-hour infusion looks better, we can proceed to a
Phase III study using the oral formulation instead of the IV formulation, if the
results look a lot better than what we're seeing with the 4-hour IV infusion.

So I hope that answers -- that addresses your questions.

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ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Let me answer that a little bit. Looking at the information, as Mario said, it
was interesting. And then we get to the business decision, and we felt that
while we want to continue to allow that information and that data to mature, it
certainly would behoove us to do the extension of the infusion trial and gather
the additional information that would help solidify our decision as we get
closer to making that final decision.

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

Okay. What's the side effect profile look like in these patients?

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MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

We have not completed the toxicity analysis for either trial, but to the best
that we can determine by looking at the list of serious adverse events that were
submitted, this is no different than what you would have seen with gemcitabine
alone.

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

Terrific. One last question, and it is for Frank Giles. Dr. Giles, what makes
you so excited about CLORETAZINE? And then also, we know that you have done some
work with Triapine and AML, what do you think of Triapine?

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DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

Well, I'm excited about CLORETAZINE in AML because I see responses in patients
with very advanced disease. I am excited about it because the toxicity
associated with getting those responses is pretty much confined so far to the
bone marrow, and with very little signal that we're going to run into non-bone
marrow serious toxicities in large numbers of patients.

If you have an agent that can actually get responses as a single agent, and
you're not seeing a lot of toxicity outside the marrow, then it's obviously
allows you the opportunity to potentially add second and third active agents
without additive or synergistic toxicities. That part of belief let us into
combining CLORETAZINE with Ara-C very quickly on the basis that Ara-C remains
the single most active anti-AML agent. And as the Phase I studies of -- that
Phase I study of that combination has matured, it is perfectly clear that one
can indeed combine very aggressive doses of Ara-C with very decent aggressive
doses of CLORETAZINE for fulfilling the promise that there is an unusual
opportunity here to give aggressive doses of an investigational agent with
standard high dose therapy.

And so, it's the responses and the very favorable toxicity profile that are
mainly responsible for our enthusiasm and our desire to move ahead quickly with
the Phase III study.

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

Terrific. Anything on Triapine?

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DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

Well, actually if CLORETAZINE was not on the program, so to speak, and all I
had to look at was the single agent Triapine data that we've published and the
Triapine Ara-C Phase I that we have completed, in point of fact that
Triapine-Ara-C is quite a healthy active combination by itself. And I think
probably and naturally the CLORETAZINE activity has been such that with the
resources available most of the resources have moved very quickly into leukemia
to keep that line of research moving forward quickly. If it were not a question
of internal competition between two drugs from the same source, we would
probably be investing more patients and more effort into Triapine-Ara-C, because
in point of fact I think that that combination merits further exploration in its
own right in refractory AML.

And it's worth pointing out that the basis for the combinations with
gemcitabine, CLORETAZINE and Ara-C is quite convincing in vitro data that these
are synergistic combinations. Now, you might not feel very strongly about such
data generated on one combination, but if you see combination data with three
nucleoside analogs with Triapine synergistic in every case, then I think each
bit of data lends strength to the others. So I remain interested and excited
about the potential for Triapine in leukemia, not just in AML, but obviously if
you are talking about CLORETAZINE it opens up CLL and other areas where we have
not gone. And if the Company are successful in getting the additional resources
that they need, then those are other areas we would like to explore as quickly
as possible.

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RENI BENJAMIN - RODMAN RENSHAW - ANALYST

Thank you all very much for taking the questions.

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OPERATOR

Ron Ellis, Leerink Swann.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

Thanks for taking the question. Just a couple of points. If we don't have the
data now, do we have any thoughts on when the more complete Phase II data may be
presented for Triapine, and then also when we may see the CLORETAZINE data?

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MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

You're talking about the Phase II Triapine-gemcitabine data, when you'll see
the complete data? We obviously need several more months of follow-up at least
for the pancreatic cancer trial, and maybe a little bit longer for the lung
cancer trial. But our current plan is to provide a subsequent update probably
near the end of January of 2005.

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ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

I would qualify that to say in Q1 of '05. I don't know --

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RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

So data update for both Triapine and CLORETAZINE in the first quarter of next
year?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Not CLORETAZINE.

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RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

Just for Triapine?

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ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Just for Triapine, yes. The issue we're going to have with the Phase II data
for CLORETAZINE -- and believe me, we understand the sensitivity of information
flow and how important it is for our shareholders, and we struggle with that on
a daily basis. And I think I know where you're leading to on the question. One
of the difficulties we have with the Phase II information on the CLORETAZINE
single agent is balancing the needs of information flow from a public
standpoint, from a shareholder standpoint, but also balancing the needs of the
trial and also the potential of publication.

So it is our intention to have an investigative meeting probably at ASH this
December where we'll discuss the results. But it's questionable as to whether we
will do any release of that information depending on what our thoughts are about
the possibility of a publication in the springtime of '05 at one of the major
conferences. We don't want to risk not being able to get the publication.

So the best I can tell you right now is we understand the sensitivity, we know
that we will try to get as much information out as we can, but we think we have
also got to balance that against being able to continue to support and move the
product forward as quickly as possible from a medical and regulatory standpoint.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

The other aspect of the CLORETAZINE data, which is the CLORETAZINE-Ara-C study,
the Phase I, all that has been publicly released on that so far was an abstract.
But Mario and I and the others are working to -- that study is now closed. The
final response rates were at least equivalent to what we had in the abstract.
And we do anticipate submitting that publication in the very near future.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Thank you Frank.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

And Dr. Giles, that's on the responses that we're seeing in CLORETAZINE right
now?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

That's on the responses on the CLORETAZINE-Ara-C Phase I, which is obviously I
think important for you all to see because it will I think give you the
specifics of why we're enthusiastic about the Phase III study.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

Any thoughts on where CLORETAZINE is right now? Particularly for the Phase II
trial, I want to understand better are we amending the trial to remove the
portion of patients -- since the Phase III is going to be enrolling the first
relapse, and we have first relapse as part of the Phase II, so it appears that
if we're going to have these two trials underway we're competing for the same
patients, and we're going amend the two so that two trials don't compete, or how
do you view that going forward?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Let me address that. Even though they're both for first relapse patients, the
Phase II trial is only for the poorest prognosis of the first relapse patients.
So it's not a complete overlap. And I think that we would make a decision on
amending that trial not right at this point in time, but after we've had a
chance to look at more data. It is important for us to establish the single
agent response rate in that group. We think we can do it fairly quickly based on
the accrual that we have now, but I don't think we want to make a decision on
that until we're a little bit further along in the study.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

So there is the potential to amend the trial once we have more data from the
CLORETAZINE Phase II now?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Yes, but please understand again that the first relapse populations are not
completely overlapping. The Phase II trial is for patients

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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
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who have the first CR duration of less than 12 months, which is the poorest
prognosis subset of all the first relapse patients.

Frank, if you'd like to add to that?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

We obviously need to get a chance to see what the mature response rate really
is in the Phase II, because not to be quite coy this, if that is exceptionally
good, then we wish to retain the option to use that data as best befits the
patients and the company.

And the important thing about the Phase II is that the responses are being seen
outside my center, which is always reassuring. The rate of accrual is extremely
high and accelerating. And thus in a very competitive atmosphere we're obviously
making people aware of the drug's activity. And both centers will be primed to
participate in the Phase III when it is open. So right now I regard the Phase II
and Phase III is mutually complementary. And if it comes down to a competitive
issue, if one or other appears to be cannibalizing, we will deal with it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

Dr. Giles, some of the comments that you appear that the response rates may be
robust enough or significant enough that the Phase II trial could stand on its
own. Could you remind us how many we're targeting for enrollment, and then any
comment on whether the Phase II would potentially be applicable or eligible for
filing for accelerated approval?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

I don't think we can speculate on the ability to file the Phase II data for
accelerated approval. As you know, accelerated approval has a high threshold,
and generally one only gets a read on whether it's reasonable to file or not
after the study is done. But we did design the trial to accrue 100 in one arm
and 130 in the other. So if we go to full accrual in this study, we will have a
very sizable database in order to establish the response rate very firmly with
narrow confidence intervals.

I hope that addressed your question.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

It does. Maybe this is a question for Howard. Any comments on changes to the
financial expectations? Is their charge for the cost of the CRO; any
discontinuing basically or slowing down the lung versus increasing the
pancreatic? Is there any change at the R&D line?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HOWARD JOHNSON - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - PRESIDENT & CFO

I think the guidance that we've been giving everybody still sticks, which is
that everybody should expect to see our spending increase in the third and
fourth quarter of this year, and also going into 2005 as we ramp up the
CLORETAZINE Phase III effort. Clearly that's already started with the signing of
a letter of intent with the CRO. Those types of letters typically request
deposits to be made by the sponsor company. So the process of increased spending
to get CLORETAZINE closer to market has begun.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

There's not going to be any major charge. There's nothing we have to worry
about as far as a write-off or any special charge from anything we announced
today. And overall from a cash standpoint, it's just what we've been reporting
because we have enough cash to handle all the trials that we're currently
talking about and to get us into 2006.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

Good. Thank you for taking the questions.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OPERATOR

Curtis Hawes (ph), Summer Street Research.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CURTIS HAWES - SUMMER STREET RESEARCH - ANALYST

Thanks for taking my questions. First I wanted to ask about CLORETAZINE, just
to confirm the primary end point in the study. Is it going to be response rate?
And if so, at what time points will it be measured?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Which study are you referring to?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CURTIS HAWES - SUMMER STREET RESEARCH - ANALYST

CLORETAZINE, the Phase III.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

I don't think we -- until we've finished our discussions, as Alan said, with
the relevant agencies, I don't want to give any misleading information about the
study specifics.

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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CURTIS HAWES - SUMMER STREET RESEARCH - ANALYST

Then on Triapine, the 4-hour dosing versus the 24-hour infusion, will the
patients be getting the same amount of drug over those different intervals, or
are you giving more drug during the 24-hour infusion?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

We're giving more drug over the 24-hour infusion; approximately twice as much
drug. And obviously that will also give us an opportunity to see a better
response rate. Because we're giving it over a 24-hour infusion, we believe
patients will tolerate more of the drug. Actually we have data to that effect
based on some solid tumor Phase I trials that we conducted with 96-hour
continuous infusion. So it will be about double the amount of the drug that we
gave with the 4-hour infusion.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CURTIS HAWES - SUMMER STREET RESEARCH - ANALYST

Can you give us the numbers for the response rate, progression-free survival
and survival that you would have expected with gemcitabine alone based on the
published literature?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

In which -- should we focus on the pancreatic cancer trial? (multiple speakers)
In the literature response rates for gemcitabine generally go from 0 to 10
percent. As I mentioned earlier, in some trials the response rates, even though
they are listed as 3 to 5 percent, when you go back and do an independent
confirmation, they're 0. But in many studies, they generally hover around the 5
percent range, especially the large Phase III clinical trials.

In terms of a progression-free interval, generally in the literature the numbers
are anywhere from about 2.2 to 3.5 months, but that depends somewhat on the mix
of patients in the trial. Patients who have locally advanced disease or
undersectable (ph) locally advanced do better than those that have metastatic
disease. So you have to look carefully at what the mix of patients are within
your study.

And in terms of survival, in the literature I would say that the median
survivals range from about 5.5 to 7 months with gemcitabine alone. Obviously
there are trials that are outliers that have higher and lower, but that's about
the range that you would expect.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CURTIS HAWES - SUMMER STREET RESEARCH - ANALYST

And then -- I'm sorry, did I interrupt you?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

No.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CURTIS HAWES - SUMMER STREET RESEARCH - ANALYST

Is there any chance that the Phase II Triapine data in pancreatic cancer will
be presented at the GI Symposium that ASCO is putting on in January?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

As a matter of fact, yes there is a possibility that we will present the data
there.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CURTIS HAWES - SUMMER STREET RESEARCH - ANALYST

Great. I think that's all I have. Thank you very much.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OPERATOR

David Williams, Westport Capital Market.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAVID WILLIAMS - WESTPORT CAPITAL MARKET - ANALYST

Good afternoon everyone. Very, very nice results. The first question I had was
for Mario. Do we know the CRO that you're going to be using for the Phase III
CLORETAZINE?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

I can answer that. Yes, we can answer that. It is i3, which is a sub of
Ingenix, which is a sub of United Health.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAVID WILLIAMS - WESTPORT CAPITAL MARKET - ANALYST

Are you going to get an update on the Phase II CLORETAZINE Ara-C or -- Phase II
CLORETAZINE monotherapy at ASH?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

What I said was we understand the importance of it, the sensitivity of it.
We're not committing to it at this point because we do intend to have an
investigator conference. But depending on what the results are, and depending on
whether we think the results will be better off to be published at one of the
spring conferences, we will have to balance maybe getting out some summary
information versus -- clearly we probably wouldn't provide the detailed
information, but I can't give you at definitive answer right now.

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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That's one of those things that we have to balance all the sensitivities at that
time. But we do understand how important it is to have information flow.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAVID WILLIAMS - WESTPORT CAPITAL MARKET - ANALYST

We could see a late breaker abstract hit or something possibly? Okay, and then
also you mentioned the mix of patients in comparing the Triapine-Gemzar to the
Gemzar historical studies. Your medium survival was 8.75 months versus the
registration trial for gemsar of 5.7 months looks pretty strong.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Let's just caution that again ours is a Phase II trial. It's not a control
randomized trial. Our data is not audited. The patient populations may not be
similar. What we said was the data looks interesting, and clearly from our
standpoint we have to continue to monitor it. But as potentially interesting as
it is, we can't reach and you shouldn't reach final conclusions based on the
data to date.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAVID WILLIAMS - WESTPORT CAPITAL MARKET - ANALYST

Okay. And then also you had mentioned there were some CRs in Phase II
CLORETAZINE trial. I was wondering, do we know what the duration of those
responses were?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

It's too early to comments on that. First of all, we don't want to discuss the
details at this point. Second of all, the trial just opened in late March. So
even if we could, we would not have a lot of information at this point in time.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAVID WILLIAMS - WESTPORT CAPITAL MARKET - ANALYST

Okay. Lastly, in the randomized -- or in the adaptive randomization for the
Phase III CLORETAZINE trial, now that does allow for crossover, correct?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

No. There is no crossover in that trial. And it's also the current plan is a
double-blind placebo-controlled study.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAVID WILLIAMS - WESTPORT CAPITAL MARKET - ANALYST

Good. Thank you very much.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OPERATOR

(OPERATOR INSTRUCTIONS) William Sawyer (ph).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WILLIAM SAWYER INVESTOR

I'm calling as a non-medical investor who is interested in the lay explanation
of the significance of the 8.75 months the patients were encouraging and
expanding the Phase II. Is that a sensible question?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Of course it's a sensible question, and the answer is that it's hard to -- we
can't give you a definitive one-way or the other than to say that as we have
said before the data is interesting to us, and you can't reach a final
conclusion on it because it's a Phase II trial. It not a control randomized
trial; it's something that's deserving of further investigation. It's something
that is deserving for us to keep the trial going to further evaluate the
patients. And from our standpoint it's justification for us to move forward on
the expanded infusion trial. That's probably the most you can take out of it at
this time.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

I just want to again caution as we mentioned the press release, that the median
follow-up of the patients is short. So although it's encouraging at this time,
that number could change; it could change for the better and it could change for
the worse. So the best thing we can do at this time is simply follow the
information along and not come to any firm conclusion.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WILLIAM SAWYER INVESTOR

What I think I hear you saying is that the difference of call three months is
very interesting.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Correct.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Yes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WILLIAM SAWYER INVESTOR

Is there an implication for longer-term survival or is it too soon to say?

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                                                                FINAL TRANSCRIPT
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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

It's too soon to say. I think that's the right answer -- it's too soon to say.
We need to follow the information out. If with further follow us this is the
same number that we get four or five months from now, I think our conclusions
can be a little firmer at that time. And yes, we would consider it very
interesting at that point. But at this point in time we just need to be cautious
and follow the information.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WILLIAM SAWYER INVESTOR

I see. So if it follows about in several months consistently would that be a
basis for considering a Phase III?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

It could be. I think we will look at the data from that trial and make a
decision at that point. Or we could choose to obtain some confirmatory data from
trials being conducted by the National Cancer Institute. We might have some
information at that point from the longer infusion. If the longer infusion, even
in the early patients, looks very, very promising, that could affect our
decision about how to go forward.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WILLIAM SAWYER INVESTOR

Might that include an application for fast-track?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Too early to comments on that.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WILLIAM SAWYER INVESTOR

How soon will the oral version be available for trial, do you think?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

We're going to do the initial Phase I trial in collaboration with the National
Cancer Institute, and our best estimates is that that trial would start within
the next six to nine months.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WILLIAM SAWYER INVESTOR

That says it. Thank you very much.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OPERATOR

Robin Kernaskis (ph), Sterling Financial.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ROBIN KERNASKIS - STERLING FINANCIAL - ANALYST

My question is what is your timeline for pursuing other indications for
CLORETAZINE, perhaps with larger patient populations than AML?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Could you just repeat that question?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ROBIN KERNASKIS - STERLING FINANCIAL - ANALYST

What is your timeline for pursuing other indications beside AML for
CLORETAZINE?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

We do have a Phase II trial in glioma that we talked about. And we are
considering an additional Phase II trial in another solid tumor, which we're not
ready to disclose at this point and we have not made a final decision. And quite
honestly, at this point with the Company focused on the Phase III trial, I can
assure you that with a small company like ours we've got all our hands to the
wall to get that Phase III trial going the way we want to get going and to do it
right. So there isn't a lot opportunity to do a lot more at this time.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ROBIN KERNASKIS - STERLING FINANCIAL - ANALYST

If you find CLORETAZINE is approved, do you think it will be used as off-label
use for perhaps first line AML or other indications?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

I don't think we can comment on that at this time.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ROBIN KERNASKIS - STERLING FINANCIAL - ANALYST

Okay. That's it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OPERATOR

Jared Cinder (ph), Exis (ph).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
JARED CINDER - EXIS - ANALYST

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                                                                FINAL TRANSCRIPT
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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks guys and congratulations. I'm looking at the Avastin Phase II pancreatic
data that was at ASCO this year, and they had the median overall survival that
was very similar to what you showed in the study and they had I think 42
patients. I know it's difficult to compare different trials, but can you just
talk about the similarities or differences between these two studies? For
instance, what was the median duration of follow-up in Avastin study?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

They had much more mature data at the time that they generated those results.
So I believe whereas we're very cautious about interpreting our data, they could
feel much more confident about their median survival data. So the other problem
in comparing the two trials is that although I know the investigator well, we
have not yet discussed similarities and differences in the patient demographics
that went onto the different trials. So other than to say that the Avastin data
is quite interesting, I can't say anything more about that at this point.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
JARED CINDER - EXIS - ANALYST

Thank you.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

I will say this. If in fact Avastin -- and there will be a Phase II trial with
a Avastin. If Avastin and gemcitabine are better than gemcitabine, that does not
create a road block for Triapine, because if Avastin improves gemcitabine, and
Triapine improves gemcitabine effect, there's no reason why the triple
combination couldn't even be better than either doublet.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
JARED CINDER - EXIS - ANALYST

Sounds great. Thank you.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OPERATOR

Dan Heller (ph), Prospective Life Sciences.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

Thank you for the call. Could you just comment in terms of the duration of the
response in the pancreatic Triapine patients?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

The duration of response. You mean in --?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

There are probably two patients that responded -- just in terms of do you have
what the duration of those responses were?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Yes, they were quite long. But I don't have the information directly in front
of me. We treat patients for up to a year. I believe one of those responders was
treated for almost a year.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

One of the responses was treated for a year?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

I believe so, yes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

Were these responses, are these resist criteria responses and were these
partial or complete responses?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

We have not audited the responses, nor done an independent confirmation at this
point in time. These are self-reported partial responses from the investigators.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

Using WHO criteria?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Resist criteria according to the protocol.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

But they have not been independently confirmed?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Not independently confirmed, no. Not at this point. We plan on doing that, but
have not done so at this point.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Then in terms of the AML study and the Phase II, for either Dr. Sznol or Dr.
Giles, is there any sort of complete response or CRP rate that would be so
overwhelmingly compelling where the FDA would view that as obviously having a
clinical survival benefit in these patients?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

Well I guess 100 percent would impress everybody. I mean of course there's a
theoretical limit. Now, practically speaking, as Alan has repeatedly said, we
want a chance to look at those responses, because -- in great detail and let in
mature, because to some extent when you have a nontoxic drug like this patients
are treated with a nontoxic agent would not have been offered standard therapy.
Therefore, you take some time to reach agreement with the agencies involved
about what is a reasonable expectation in patients in whom generating such a
reasonable expectation is quite difficult.

So there are minimum thresholds of response that you would reject outright and
say we're not going to pursue that. There are in between response rates that you
would, A, want to have the discussion with the agency; and of course, C, what
response rates perhaps other agents were targeting in the same niche. And then
at the better end of the spectrum, if you got a response rate that was clearly
overwhelming, frankly in any population who was either disadvantaged
biologically going on or who has already failed therapy, as a working hypothesis
if we see anything over 20 percent we're very, very interested. But there are
many, many nuances that have be gone into.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

The 20 percent though, that gets you pretty excited, Dr. Giles?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

In relapse patients, absolutely. Or in people upfront who I know were either
previously untreated or died pretty quickly because they cannot tolerate
standard chemotherapy, because if you reach the 20 percent response rate you are
rescuing enough patients in whom consolidation maneuvers, including many
transplant, are now feasible. And they may in the long-term represent the real
long-term survivors. So yes, you need in and around the bedrock of that nature.

But having said that, there are individual subsets of patients with terrible
performance scores or various other bad disease characteristics in whom even a
lower or inferior response rate to that might be quite exciting. So we need a
chance to see what the responses are, and then to see, looking at the individual
patient details, are we in the realm where we can demonstrate to a third party
that these people were so sick the response rate we're seeing is exciting. And
that's a complex business, and we are having -- we have had very good
discussions with the people who make such decisions, and those discussions are
ongoing.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

Just one more question, Dr. Giles. Just in terms of the Ara-C, when that drug
was approved -- I don't remember if it was approved in front-line or in relapse
patients -- do you recall in what indication Ara-C was approved, and then what
was the market? Was it complete response rate or was (multiple speakers)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR. FRANK GILES - M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER - CHIEF OF DEVELOPMENTAL
THERAPEUTICS

First of all, to get Robin's earlier question, if non-label use was prohibited
in this disease I would have a lot more free time. Ara-C has never been
subjected to anything akin to the sort of rigor we've been discussing on this
call in terms of clinical trials. And I have no idea if it was ever formally
approved in leukemia. And it is known to be the most single active agent, and
perhaps even that claim could be challenged by drugs like CLORETAZINE right now.
But certainly as regards the agency, Ara-C is a reasonable standard which has
been accepted in the past, and we have good reason to believe we will accept in
the future, as a control arm.

Also, just to elaborate on that answer, and again to Robin's question, I would
like to remind people that CLORETAZINE is in essence an alkylator, albeit with a
nice toxicity profile etc., which leads CLL lymphoma, myeloma and many other
hemalignancies (ph) and very important areas for us to explore further when we
can.

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DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

Great. Thank you, Dr. Giles. Just one last question regarding Triapine. Could
you just comment on -- there were 60 patients evaluable here, what the dropout
rate was or what were some of the toxicities?
Were there any grade three toxicities?

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MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Could you repeat the question please?

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DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

For Triapine, in terms of was there -- how many patients discontinued therapy;
at what point in time; and then what were

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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
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some of the grade three, grade four efforts events, if there were any maybe on
top of what you would get off gemcitabine?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MARIO SZNOL - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - VP OF CLINICAL AFFAIRS

As I said earlier, we have not completed a full toxicity analysis on this
trial, on the Triapine-gemcitabine trial.

The dropouts that occurred generally occurred early and they occurred because of
rapid disease progression, as you will see in some patients with pancreatic
cancer. There were a small number of those patients. I don't have the
information in front of me. I don't believe that we had any significant rate of
dropouts for toxicity.

I cannot tell you at the moment what the rate of grade three or grade four
toxicities were because we have not completed the have not completed the
toxicity analysis. I have assessed every serious adverse event on this trial
myself, and after looking at all of them again, my personal opinion -- and it's
an opinion -- that the serious adverse events are no different than what you
would expect with gem alone, rate or severity.

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DAN HELLER - PROSPECTIVE LIFE SCIENCES - ANALYST

Thank you very much for the call again.

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OPERATOR

Ron Ellis.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

Alan, you had commented that there's enough money to take this through 2006 or
for these trials. Could you comment on any possible partnerships that you would
consider for Triapine and/or for CLORETAZINE, and when you would like to do
those?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

Again, I'm not trying to be evasive, but the same answer I've made to that
question over the last couple years, which is we're always willing to talk to
people. Clearly our situation has changed now with an adequate cash position
from those discussions. It's not our policy to disclose of any interim
conversations. The beauty of any potential conversations is that from a
negotiating standpoint, as anyone would know, we now have enough money to do it
ourselves, so are not desperate for any potential arrangements. So we continue
to pursue these. We continue to look at them. I think we've proved ourselves to
be an opportunistic management team. And we will continue to operate that way.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RON ELLIS - LEERINK SWANN - ANALYST

Thank you.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OPERATOR

Ladies and gentlemen, at this time we have no further questions.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALAN KESSMAN - VION PHARMACEUTICALS - CEO

I'd like to just make a concluding comment.

First of all, I would like to thank all of you for being on this call.

Vion continues to make steady progress, as you can see, with its multiple
product development efforts. We're excited to have CLORETAZINE entering Phase
III in the near future, and await further information on the promise of
Triapine. KS119 is generating exciting data in our pipeline, and we urge you to
stay tuned on it.

As we have always done, we will continue to take a conservative data-based
approach to managing our Company's priorities. Our goal now remains to
efficiently and prudently deploy our resources where we believe we have the
highest likelihood of success, success that produces the most value to our
shareholders.

I would personally like to thank Dr. Giles for participating and helping us with
this call today. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact
Howard Johnson or myself.

Thanks again. Have a good evening.

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OPERATOR

Thank you, ladies and gentlemen, for your participation in today's conference
call. This concludes the presentation. You may now disconnect. Have a good day.

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VION - VION PHARMACEUTICALS CONFERENCE CALL ON CORPORATE UPDATE
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