BALTEK CORP (CIK 9442)
Form 10-Q
period 1996-09-30
filed 1996-11-05

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549



                            -----------------------


                                   FORM 10-Q

                   QUARTERLY REPORT UNDER SECTION 13 OR 15(d)
                     OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934


For Quarter Ended                                 Commission file number 2-44764
September 30, 1996


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

The number of shares outstanding as of October 31, 1996 the last practicable date, was 2,523,261, Common Stock, $1.00 par value.

                                     BALTEK CORPORATION
                                 CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                                               UNAUDITED          AUDITED
                                                                9/30/96           12/31/95
                                                             -----------        -----------
ASSETS
 Current Assets
  Cash ..............................................        $   807,584        $   841,056
  Accounts receivable-net ...........................          5,196,059          5,350,211
  Inventories .......................................         12,379,765         12,875,203
  Income tax receivable .............................            199,646                  0
  Prepaid expenses other current assets .............          1,826,083          1,662,498
                                                             -----------        -----------
      TOTAL CURRENT ASSETS ..........................         20,409,137         20,728,968
                                                             -----------        -----------

 Property, plant and equipment-net ..................         10,993,495         11,079,132
 Timber and timberlands .............................          6,633,956          6,338,152
 Other assets .......................................            663,019            670,244
                                                             -----------        -----------
      TOTAL .........................................        $38,699,607        $38,816,496
                                                             ===========        ===========

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
 Current Liabilities
  Notes payable .....................................        $ 3,860,167        $ 4,424,783
  Accounts payable ..................................          2,351,668          1,910,642
  Income tax payable ................................                  0              9,952
  Accrued expenses and other liabilities ............          1,274,713          1,736,574
  Current portion of long term debt .................             80,000             17,558
  Current portion of obligation under
   capital lease ....................................            188,065            188,065
                                                             -----------        -----------
      TOTAL CURRENT LIABILITIES .....................          7,754,613          8,287,574
                                                             -----------        -----------

 Obligation under capital lease .....................          1,833,720          1,974,768
 Long term debt .....................................            273,333             17,910
 Union employee termination benefits ................            363,458            305,195
                                                             -----------        -----------
      TOTAL LIABILITIES .............................         10,225,124         10,585,447
                                                             -----------        -----------
 Stockholders' Equity:
  Preferred stock $100 par; 5,000,000 shares
   authorized and unissued
  Common stock $1.00 par; 10,000,000 shares
   authorized, 2,523,261 shares issued and
   outstanding ......................................          2,523,261          2,523,261
  Additional paid-in-capital ........................          2,157,492          2,157,492
  Retained earnings .................................         23,793,730         23,550,296
                                                              ----------        -----------
      TOTAL STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY ....................         28,474,483         28,231,049
                                                              ----------        -----------
      TOTAL .........................................        $38,699,607        $38,816,496
                                                             ===========        ===========

                                     BALTEK CORPORATION
                                 CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                                               UNAUDITED          AUDITED
                                                                9/30/96           12/31/95
                                                             -----------        -----------
Note A: Classification of inventories are as follows:
         Raw Materials ..............................        $ 3,642,428        $ 3,913,332
         Work-in-process ............................          3,838,673          4,075,895
         Finished goods .............................          4,898,664          4,885,976
                                                             -----------        -----------
          TOTAL .....................................        $12,379,765        $12,875,203
                                                             ===========        ===========

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<TABLE>
                                              BALTEK CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                          UNAUDITED STATEMENT OF CONSOLIDATED INCOME
                                                     AND RETAINED EARNINGS

                                                        FOR THE THREE MONTH                        FOR THE NINE MONTH
                                                             PERIOD ENDED                             PERIOD ENDED
                                                             SEPTEMBER 30,                            SEPTEMBER 30,
                                                  ---------------------------------         ---------------------------------
                                                       1996                 1995                 1996                 1995
Net Sales ................................        $ 12,146,294         $ 11,042,217         $ 35,771,063         $ 33,682,682

Costs and expenses .......................          11,609,863           10,430,040           34,682,890           31,079,209
                                                  ------------         ------------         ------------         ------------

Income  from operations ..................             536,431              612,177            1,088,173            2,603,473
                                                  ------------         ------------         ------------         ------------
Other Income (Expense)
 Interest expense ........................            (125,924)            (165,704)            (464,678)            (376,883)
 Foreign exchange gain (loss) ............             (52,333)             (47,409)            (318,073)            (166,756)
 Other ...................................                 626               19,126                6,432               40,072
                                                  ------------         ------------         ------------         ------------
Total Other Income (Expense) .............            (177,631)            (193,987)            (776,319)            (503,567)
                                                  ------------         ------------         ------------         ------------
Income  before income taxes ..............             358,800              418,190              311,854            2,099,906

Income taxes .............................              78,891              160,594               68,419              817,456
                                                  ------------         ------------         ------------         ------------
NET INCOME ...............................             279,909              257,596              243,435            1,282,450

Retained earnings, beginning of the period          23,513,821           22,612,897           23,550,295           21,588,043
                                                  ------------         ------------         ------------         ------------
Retained earnings, end of the period .....        $ 23,793,730         $ 22,870,493         $ 23,793,730         $ 22,870,493
                                                  ============         ============         ============         ============
Average shares outstanding ...............           2,523,261            2,523,261            2,523,261            2,523,261
                                                  ============         ============         ============         ============
Net income per common share ..............        $       0.11         $       0.10         $       0.10         $       0.51
                                                  ============         ============         ============         ============

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<TABLE>
                                                BALTEK CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                               CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS

                                                                 FOR THE THREE MONTH                    FOR THE SIX MONTH
                                                                    PERIOD ENDED                           PERIOD ENDED
                                                                    SEPTEMBER 30,                          SEPTEMBER 30,
                                                          -------------------------------         -------------------------------
                                                               1996                1995                1996               1995
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
Net Income .......................................        $   279,909         $   257,596         $   243,435         $ 1,282,450
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net
  cash provided by operating activities:
  Depreciation and amortization ..................            623,870             706,707           1,620,863           1,494,302
  Foreign exchange loss (gain) ...................             52,333              47,409             318,073             166,756
  Decrease (increase) in accounts receivable .....           (829,761)            966,154             161,935             712,055
  Decrease (increase) in inventories .............            (33,572)         (1,508,737)            495,438          (3,285,136)
  Decrease (increase) in prepaid expenses
    and other current assets .....................            (66,535)            (98,348)           (257,135)           (646,645)
  Decrease (increase) in other assets ............             14,644              15,440              24,707              22,885
  Decrease (increase) in income taxes ............             65,867               8,969            (121,020)           (644,270)
  Increase (decrease) in accounts payable
    and accrued expenses .........................            363,568             437,657             (23,546)            638,464
  Increase (decrease) in deferred taxes ..........             (5,763)             (7,026)            (17,288)            (21,078)
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
Net cash provided by operating activities ........            464,560             825,821           2,445,462            (280,217)
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
Property additions-net (including timber and
  timberlands) ...................................           (627,655)           (822,788)         (1,831,064)         (1,994,025)
Other ............................................              3,018              58,229              61,537              98,482
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
Net cash used in investing activities ............           (624,637)           (764,559)         (1,769,527)         (1,895,543)
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
  Increase (decrease) in notes payable ...........           (127,735)            797,833            (600,158)          1,993,354
  Increase (decrease) in long term debt ..........            (20,000)               (195)            353,333             (25,493)
  Principal payments under capital leases ........            (47,016)            (43,629)           (141,048)           (130,887)
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
Net cash from (used in) financing activities .....           (194,751)            754,009            (387,873)          1,836,974
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash ..........            (44,917)            (50,475)           (321,534)           (137,292)
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
Net increase (decrease) in cash ..................           (399,745)            764,796             (33,472)           (476,078)

CASH AT BEGINNING OF THE PERIOD ..................          1,207,329             455,341             841,056           1,696,215
                                                          -----------         -----------         -----------         -----------
CASH AT THE END OF THE PERIOD ....................        $   807,584         $ 1,220,137         $   807,584         $ 1,220,137
                                                          ===========         ===========         ===========         ===========
Supplemental disclosures of cash flow information:
Cash paid during the period for:
 Interest ........................................        $   118,535         $   168,846         $   341,221         $   294,685
 Income taxes paid ...............................        $    21,334         $    34,093         $   210,401         $ 1,323,441


                           MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
                       FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS


LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

         The  Company's  working  capital ratio of 2.63:1 at September 30, 1996,
increased slightly from the ratio of 2.50:1 at December 31, 1995, due to changes
in current assets and current  liabilities.  Unused lines of bank credit and the
Company's  working  capital are  considered by  management,  to be sufficient to
support operations and fixed asset acquisitions for the immediate future.


RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

         Sales  increased  10% and 6% during  the three and nine  month  periods
ended September 30, 1996, as compared to the same periods in 1995.  Sales of all
the Company's products  increased during the period.  Sales of the Company's new
foam product are exceeding the market share goals  estimated at the beginning of
1996. The Company is unable to forecast  future sales trends due to the changing
commodity pricing of its shrimp product and the effect of economic  pressures on
the pleasure boating industry,  the largest user of the Company's balsa and foam
products.

         Costs and expenses as a percentage of sales increased for the three and
nine month period ended  September 30, 1996, as compared with the same period in
1995. The increases were due to inflationary pressures on costs at the Company's
production facility in Ecuador and expenses relating to the new foam product.

         Income from operations  declined during the three and nine months ended
September  30, 1996,  as compared to the same  periods in 1995.  The decline was
principally  due to reduced  shrimp  selling  prices,  start up  expenses of the
Company's  new foam product line and price  reduction  pressure on the Company's
balsa products.  Shrimp selling prices declined by approximately  20% during the
current period.

         Foreign  exchange losses  increased in the three and nine month periods
of 1996, and are caused by the  relationship  of the U. S. Dollar to the foreign
currencies  in the  countries  where the  company has  operations.  The gains or
losses arise when translating foreign currency balance sheets into U. S. Dollars
for the purpose of presenting  consolidated financial statements.  Management is
unable to forecast the impact of  translation  gains or losses on future periods
due to the unpredictability of foreign exchange rates.

         For the reasons  discussed  above, the Company realized a net income of
$279,909 ($0.11 per share) and $243,435 ($0.10 per share) for the three and nine
month periods ended  September 30, 1996, as compared to a net income of $257,596
($.10 per share)  during the third  quarter  of 1995 and  $1,282,450  ($0.51 per
share) for the nine months ended September 30, 1995.

                       BALTEK CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES










NOTE REGARDING UNAUDITED STATEMENT OF CONSOLIDATED INCOME AND RETAINED EARNINGS


Information  furnished  in our Form  10-Q for the  quarter  September  30,  1996
reflects all adjustments which are, in the opinion of management, necessary to a
fair statement of the results for the interim periods. The adjustments that were
made consisted of only normal recurring accruals.

                        ********************************

              No Form 8-K was filed in the third quarter of 1996.

                                   SIGNATURES








Pursuant  to the  requirements  of the  Securities  exchange  Act of  1934,  the
registrant  has duly  caused  this  report  to be  signed  on its  behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized.


                                                     BALTEK CORPORATION
                                                        (Registrant)





                                                     /s/Jacques Kohn
                                                     ---------------
Date:   October 31, 1996                                Jacques Kohn





                                                     /s/Benson J. Zeikowitz
                                                     ----------------------
Date:   October 31, 1996                                Benson J. Zeikowitz