Exhibit 99.1
News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

    Attention Business Editors:
    Algoma calls special meeting of shareholders

    TSX Symbol: AGA

    SAULT STE. MARIE, ON, Nov. 21 /CNW/ - Algoma Steel Inc. announced today
that its Board of Directors has called a special meeting of shareholders to be
held in Toronto on Wednesday, March 22, 2006.
    The special meeting has been requisitioned by Paulson & Co. Inc. of New
York, the holder of 19% of Algoma's common shares, to have Algoma shareholders
vote on:
        -  a resolution that would replace a majority of Algoma's current
           directors with nominees of Paulson; and
        -  a resolution directing the Board of Directors of Algoma to
           consider a corporate reorganization that would result in the
           distribution of a minimum of $400 million to shareholders
           comprising the proceeds of a new debt financing and most of
           Algoma's cash on hand.

    Paulson's proposal would entail:

        -  Algoma raising $200 million of new debt; and
        -  a corporate reorganization that would offer to exchange a
           combination of cash (a minimum of $400 million) and shares for all
           outstanding Algoma shares.

    A preliminary analysis of the proposal is available at the Company's
website www.algoma.com, under News & Media.
    The Board also made the following observations:

        -  the actions proposed by Paulson are novel and untested from a tax
           standpoint and, therefore, the resulting tax impact for the
           Company and its shareholders is uncertain;
        -  the Board has received professional advice that, in a transaction
           of this nature, it would be appropriate to seek an advance tax
           ruling from the Canada Revenue Agency to provide adequate
           clarification;
        -  the Paulson proposal is designed to distribute cash to
           shareholders without withholding taxes being applicable. Should
           the proposal be implemented without a tax ruling and be later
           reassessed by the Canada Revenue Agency, Algoma would be liable
           for withholding taxes which were not withheld, together with
           penalties and interest; and
        -  the Paulson proposal, if implemented, will constitute a change of
           control that may trigger provisions in various contracts between
           Algoma and third parties and will trigger a year end for tax
           purposes.

    "The Board believes the rush to an immediate distribution, without the
benefit of further insight into the direction of prices for key raw material
inputs and end market steel products, is ill-timed," said Ben Duster, Chairman
of Algoma's Board of Directors. "Algoma should maintain significant cash
resources as the steel industry enters a period of substantial uncertainty. As
the market outlook becomes clearer, the Company will be better positioned to
consider both the form and amount of any distribution in the context of
Algoma's cash needs."
    "In addition, the tax consequences of Paulson's proposal are currently
unclear and the Board believes shareholders should be fully informed before
being asked to vote on such a fundamental change. We have set the meeting date
to provide time for Algoma to seek an advance tax ruling to clarify these
potentially significant tax issues. This will also provide time for Algoma to
investigate change of control and related issues with respect to the proposal.
If these issues can be clarified sooner than we expect, the Board will
consider moving the meeting to an earlier date. In any case, shareholders will
receive formal notice of the meeting and an information circular with answers
to the questions raised by the proposal in sufficient time to consider their
decision."

    Algoma Steel Inc. is an integrated steel producer based in Sault Ste.
Marie, Ontario. Revenues are derived primarily from the manufacture and sale
of rolled steel products including hot and cold rolled steel and plate.

    %SEDAR: 00001257E          %CIK: 0000943945

    /For further information: Company Contact: Brenda Stenta, Manager
Corporate Communications, Phone: (705) 945-2209, Email: bstenta(at)algoma.com;
Media Contact: John Lute, Lute & Company, Phone: (416) 929-5883, Email:
jlute(at)luteco.com/
    (AGA.)

CO:  Algoma Steel Inc.

CNW 18:00e 21-NOV-05