                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.2


WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                    15-Oct-98                               15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date          15-Sep-98                                11:32 AM
Prepared by             Linda Lauderdale

A.  MONTHLY RECEIVABLES ACTIVITY

                                                                  HOME FASHIONS             ALAMAC         TOTAL
                                                                 ---------------           ---------  ---------------
1.       BEGINNING MONTHLY RECEIVABLES BALANCE                                                         240,895,453.42

2.       Plus:  Invoices                                          142,583,775.75                0.00   142,583,775.75

3.       Less:  Cash Collections                                                                      (134,322,889.10)

4a.      Less:  Cash Discounts                                       (239,774.86)               0.00      (239,774.86)
4b.      Less:  Returns & Allowances                               (1,714,635.49)               0.00    (1,714,635.49)
4c.      Less:  Other Credits                                        (301,348.07)               0.00      (301,348.07)
                -------------------------------                  ---------------           ---------  ---------------
4d.             Total Dilution                                     (2,255,758.42)               0.00    (2,255,758.42)

5.       Less:  Advertising Credits                                (1,739,246.15)               0.00    (1,739,246.15)

6.       Less:  Net Write-Offs                                         18,438.14                0.00        18,438.14

7.       Less:  Miscellaneous                                                                             (287,484.43)
                                                                                                      ---------------
8.       ENDING MONTHLY RECEIVABLES BALANCE                                                            244,892,289.21
                                                                                                      ===============

B.  TURNOVER DAYS

1.       Turnover Days  =   ( a  +  b )  /  2   x   ( 30  /  c )
                                                                                    HOME FASHIONS             ALAMAC
                                                                                    --------------          ----------
  (a).   Aggregate Receivables Balance as of beginning of immediately preceding     240,956,281.00          (60,827.58)
         Calculation Period

  (b).   Aggregate Receivables Balance as of most recent Cut-Off Date               244,953,154.54          (60,865.33)
  (c).   Aggregate Receivables generated during preceding Calculation Period        142,583,775.75                0.00
         (see A.2)

2.       TURNOVER DAYS (TD)                                                                  51.10              N/A

3.       COMBINED TURNOVER DAYS                                                                                  51.10


C.  INVESTOR CERTIFICATES AND PURCHASED INTERESTS

1.       INVESTOR INVESTED AMOUNT (AS OF MOST RECENT CUT-OFF DATE):      3.  INVESTOR INVESTED AMOUNT ON THE DATE OF
                                                                             ISSUANCE (SERIES 1994-1 CERTIFICATES):

         Investor Revolving Certificates                     0.00
         Class A Fixed Principal Certificates      115,000,000.00            Class A Fixed Principal Certificates   115,000,000.00
         Class B Fixed Principal Certificates       18,000,000.00            Class B Fixed Principal Certificates    18,000,000.00
         Purchased Interests                                 0.00
         -------------------                       --------------                                                   --------------
         Investor Invested Amount                  133,000,000.00            Investor Invested Amount               133,000,000.00
                                                   ==============                                                   ==============

2.       INTEREST RATES (AS OF MOST RECENT CUT-OFF DATE):                4.  AMOUNT ON DEPOSIT IN PRINCIPLE FUNDING ACCOUNT
                                                                             (AS OF MOST RECENT CUT-OFF DATE):
         Investor Revolv. Cert.                              0.00%
         Class A Fixed Principal Certificates                5.96%           Principle Funding Account Balance                0.00
         Class B Fixed Principal Certificates                6.26%                                                  ==============
         Purchased Interests                                 0.00%       5.  WPS REVOLVING CERTIFICATE AMOUNT
         -------------------                                 ----            (AS OF MOST RECENT CUT-OFF DATE):
         Weighted Avg. Interest Rate                         6.00%
                                                             ====            WPS Revolving Certificate Amount                 0.00
                                                                                                                    ==============




WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                    15-Oct-98                               15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date          15-Sep-98                                11:32 AM
Prepared by             Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 2
================================================================================

D.  LOSS RESERVE RATIOS

I.  CLASS B

          LOSS RESERVE RATIO = 2.0    x     a     x    ( b  /  c )    x     d
          where:
          (a)     highest 3-mon. average over the past 12 months of the "Aged
                  Receivables Ratio" ending on most recent Cut-Off Date   (see Schedule A)                                     0.52%
          (b)     sum of total Receivables generated over past 4 months  (see Schedule A)                            581,594,121.79
          (c)     Balance of Eligible Receivables at most recent Cut-Off Date
                  (see Daily Report for most recent Cut-Off Date)                                                    196,231,895.31
          (d)     "Payment Term Variable"   (see below)                                                                       1.000

                  Payment Term Variable, calculated with respect to each
                  division, shall equal (a) 1.0, if the weighted average payment
                  terms for the Receivables (calculated as of the most recent
                  Cut-Off Date) are less than or equal to 39 days, (b) 1.08, if
                  such weighted average payment terms are 40 to 44 days, (c)
                  1.125, if such weighted average payment terms are 45 to 49
                  days, (d) 1.25, if such weighted average payment terms are 50
                  to 59 days, and (e) 1.375 if the weighted average payment
                  terms are 60 to 69 days. (also see Definitions.)

1.        LOSS RESERVE RATIO   (CLASS B ONLY)                                                                                  3.08%



II.  CLASS A

          LOSS RESERVE RATIO  =  2.5    x     a     x    ( b  /  c )    x     d
          where: (a), (b), (c) and (d) are defined and provided above.

2.        LOSS RESERVE RATIO (CLASS A ONLY)                                                                                    3.85%



E.  DILUTION RESERVE RATIOS

I.  CLASS B

          DILUTION RESERVE RATIO = [   (   2.0   x    a  )    +    ((  b   -   a  )   x  (  b   /  a  ))]  x  ( c  /  d )

          (a)     average of "Dilution Ratios" over the past 12 months  (see Schedule B)                                      2.53%
          (b)     highest 2-month  "Dilution Ratio" over the past 12 months  (see Schedule B)                                 3.24%
          (c)     total sales over the past 2 months  (see Schedule B)                                              282,155,822.48
          (d)     Balance of  Eligible Receivables at most recent Cut-Off Date (see D.1(c))                         196,231,895.31


1.        DILUTION RESERVE RATIO  (CLASS B ONLY)                                                                              8.59%


II.  CLASS A

          DILUTION RESERVE RATIO = [   (   2.5   x    a  )     +     ((   b   -   a   )    x   (  b   /   a  ) )  ]  x   ( c  /  d )
          where: (a), (b), (c) and (d) are defined and provided above.


2.        DILUTION RESERVE RATIO  (CLASS A ONLY)                                                                             10.41%

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                    15-Oct-98                               15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date          15-Sep-98                                11:32 AM
Prepared by             Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 3
================================================================================

F. APPLICABLE RESERVE RATIO


1.        Minimum Required Reserve Ratio                                                                             14.00%(1)
2.        Sum of Required Reserve Ratios (for Class B):
                     Loss Reserve Ratio  (see D.1)                                                                    3.08%
                     Dilution Reserve Ratio  (see E.1)                                                                8.59%

                                                                                                                     11.67%(2)

3.         10% plus the product of (i) and (ii) where:                                                               10.00%
           (i) average of "Dilution Ratios" over last 12 mos.    (see E.1(a))                                         2.53%
           multiplied by:

           (ii)                  Invoices generated over latest 2 months                =   282,155,822.48  =
                     ----------------------------------------------------------------       --------------
                                      Unpaid Balance of Receivables                         244,892,289.21            1.15
                                                                                                                     -----
                                                                                                                     12.91%(3)


4.         APPLICABLE RESERVE RATIO   *                                                                              14.00%

*  The Applicable Reserve Ratio shall equal the greater of (1) the Minimum
   Required Reserve Ratio, (2) the sum of the Required Reserve Ratios and (3)
   the factor calculated in F.3.





G.  DISCOUNT RATE RESERVE

           ***  THE DISCOUNT RATE RESERVE IS CALCULATED IN EACH DAILY REPORT; HOWEVER, THE FOLLOWING
                INFORMATION IS USED IN THAT CALCULATION. ***

1.         Carrying Costs estimated to accrue over the next  Calculation Period                                  1,185,000.00
           (excluding interest on the WPS Finco Note)





H.  GENERAL INFORMATION

1.         Servicer's Fee for the most recent Calculation Period                                                   364,210.59
                                                                                                             ================



2.         Trustee's Fee for the most recent Calculation Period                                                      1,416.67
                                                                                                             ================



3.         Accumulated amount paid to the Sellers for reinvestment in new Receivables
           during the revolving period for Series 1994-1 Certificates (inception to liquidation)             7,553,787,229.11
                                                                                                             ================

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                    15-Oct-98                               15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date          15-Sep-98                                11:32 AM
Prepared by             Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 4
================================================================================

I.  LOSS TO LIQUIDATION RATIO

1.    Receivables (net of recoveries) that were written off as uncollectible (excluding
      write-offs of interest on past due Receivables) or converted into promissory notes:
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                                                        HOME FASHIONS    ALAMAC          TOTAL
                                                                                       --------------  ----------   --------------
                Preceding Calculation Period (see A.6)                                     (18,438.14)       0.00       (18,438.14)
                2nd Preceding Calculation Period                                           (26,780.09)       0.00       (26,780.09)
                3rd Preceding Calculation Period                                             4,576.03        0.00         4,576.03

2.    Total Cash Collections
      ----------------------
                Preceding Calculation Period (see A.3)                                 134,322,778.76      110.34   134,322,889.10
                2nd Preceding Calculation Period                                       115,245,964.40      122.21   115,246,086.61
                3rd Preceding Calculation Period                                       151,343,200.37  (12,092.22)  151,331,108.15


4.    Loss to Liquidation Ratio = [3 months total of (1)] / [3 months total of (2)]

      LOSS TO LIQUIDATION RATIO  =                                                              -0.01%       0.00%           -0.01%


J.  LIQUIDATION EVENTS AND PAYOUT EVENTS

                                                                                      Number of
1.       Portfolio-Based Liquidation Events (see 9.01 of PSA):                       Business Days              Triggered?
                                                                                     -------------              ----------

    A.   The calculated amount of (i) the difference of (a) sum of the                     5.00                     NO
         Certificate Calculation Amount plus PI Calculation Amount, and
         (b) the amount of funds then on deposit in the Equalization Account
         exceeds (ii) the Base Amount

2.       Portfolio-Based Payout Events (see Series Supplements):                             Trigger Percentage
                                                                                             ------------------
    A.      (Class A Reserves - funds in Special Reserve Acct)  > Trigger Percentage  40%, if WestPoint Receivables make up
         -----------------------------------------------------                        90% or more of Net Elig. Receivables
                            Net Eligible Receivables                                  35%, on any other day

                                                                                                                    NO

    B.   For the last Business Day of any three consecutive Calculation Periods:

            (Amt of funds in Equalization Acct and Set Aside Acct)                   > 35%      ---                 NO
         ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
         Eligible Receivables + (Amt of funds in Equalization Acct & Set-Aside Acct)


3.       Other Liquidation Events:

                     Triggered ?                     NO


                     If yes, explain below.

4.       Servicer Defaults (see Section 10.01 of the Pooling and Servicing Agreement)

                     Triggered ?                     NO


                     If yes, explain below.

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                    15-Oct-98                               15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date          15-Sep-98                                11:32 AM
Prepared by             Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 5
================================================================================

K.  DISCOUNT RATE

1.         Discount Rate  =        12    x    a    /    b

(a)        Carrying Costs accrued during the most recent Calculation Period                        1,238,000.00
           (including WPS Finco Note interest)

(b)        Aggregate Unpaid Balance of all Receivables as of the most recent                      244,892,289.21
           Cut-off Date  (see A.8)

2.         DISCOUNT RATE                                                                                    6.07%





L.  PURCHASE PRICE PERCENTAGE               (See Section 2.2 of RPA)
                                                                                           HOME FASHIONS             ALAMAC
                                                                                           -------------             ------
1.         Turnover Days (TD)   (see B.2)                                                      51.10                    N/A
           ------------------------------
2.         Profit Discount                                                                      0.20%                   N/A

3.         Purchase Discount Reserve Ratio  (PDRR)

           PDRR =       ( TD / 360  x  Discount Rate )  +  Profit Discount   =                  1.06%                   N/A

4.         Loss to Liquidation Ratio  (LLR)     (see I.4)                                      -0.01%                   N/A

5.         Purchase Price Percentage  (PPP)

           PPP =     100% - (Purch. Disc. Res. Ratio + Loss to Liquid. Ratio)  =               98.95%                   N/A

6.         PURCHASE PRICE PERCENTAGE                                                           98.95%                   N/A


M.  DISTRIBUTION TO CERTIFICATEHOLDERS IN PRECEDING CALCULATION PERIOD

1.         Total amount distributed in the preceding Calculation Period                       $ AMOUNT       INTEREST RATE
                                                                                              ----------     -------------

                     (A)   Class A Certificateholders                                         589,957.99          N/A
                     (B)   Class B Certificateholders                                          96,991.25          N/A
                     (C)   Investor Revolving Certificateholders (non-use fees not incl)            0.00          N/A

2.         Total amount allocable to Interest and Interest Rate

                     (A)   Class A Certificateholders                                         589,957.99       5.9575%
                     (B)   Class B Certificateholders                                          96,991.25       6.2575%
                     (C)   Investor Revolving Certificateholders (non-use fees not incl)            0.00

3.         Total amount allocable to Principle

                     (A)   Class A Certificateholders                                               0.00          N/A
                     (B)   Class B Certificateholders                                               0.00          N/A
                     (C)   Investor Revolving Certificateholders                                    0.00          N/A

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                           15-Oct-98                        15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date                 15-Sep-98                         11:32 AM
Prepared by                    Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 6
================================================================================

N.  DELINQUENT BALANCES INCLUDING % OF TOTAL RECEIVABLES AT END OF PRECEDING
    CALCULATION PERIOD

                                                                                            Dollar Amount      % Ending Rec Bal
                                                                                           ---------------    ------------------

1.         Delinquent   1 -  30 days                                                         18,799,216.37                 7.68%
           Delinquent  31 -  60 days                                                          2,792,084.38                 1.14%
           Delinquent  61 -  90 days                                                          3,050,733.08                 1.25%
           Delinquent  91 - 120 days                                                            311,432.99                 0.13%
           Delinquent  over  120 days                                                         1,715,227.17                 0.70%
                                                                                           ---------------        --------------

           Total Delinquent Balance                                                          26,668,693.99                10.89%

2.         Ending Monthly Receivables Balance  (see A.8)            244,892,289.21


AGED RECEIVABLES RATIO                                                                                                   SCHEDULE A

                                           91 TO
                                          120 DAYS
                                          PAST DUE                       SALES
                                          ---------                      -----
PRECEDING CUT-OFF DATE                   311,432.99                 142,583,775.75
2ND PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                   514,185.64                 139,572,046.73
3RD PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                   350,982.59                 161,724,527.06
4TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 1,150,164.40                 137,713,772.25
5TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                   186,621.05                 115,705,318.49


AGED RECEIVABLES RATIO    =               Rec. 91 to 120 days past due as of Prec Calc Pd
                                         plus write-offs per Aged Receiv. Ratio definition*               =          311,432.99
                                   --------------------------------------------------------------                --------------
                                                   Sales in month 4 mos. prior                                   115,705,318.49


                          =                       0.27%


*  see "Definitions" for further explanation

AGED RECEIVABLES RATIO:
-----------------------

Preceding Calculation Period (from above)                                                                                   0.27%
2nd Preceding Calculation Period (from preceding Settlement Statement)                                                      0.31%
3rd Preceding Calculation Period (from 2nd preceding Settlement Statement)                                                  0.28%

PRECEDING MONTH'S 3-MONTH AVERAGE OF AGED RECEIVABLES RATIO                                                                 0.29%
 2nd preceding month's 3-month average of Aged Receivables Ratio                                                            0.52%
 3rd                               "                                                                                        0.46%
 4th                               "                                                                                        0.46%
 5th                               "                                                                                        0.29%
 6th                               "                                                                                        0.40%
 7th                               "                                                                                        0.40%
 8th                               "                                                                                        0.40%
 9th                               "                                                                                        0.35%
 10th                              "                                                                                        0.32%
 11th                              "                                                                                        0.25%
 12th                              "                                                                                        0.24%


HIGHEST 3-MONTH AVERAGE OVER PAST 12 MONTHS                                                                                 0.52%

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                           15-Oct-98                        15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date                 15-Sep-98                         11:32 AM
Prepared by                    Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 7
================================================================================

DILUTION RATIO                                                                                                      SCHEDULE B

           Dilution Ratio   =                       TOTAL DILUTION IN CALCULATION PERIOD
                                   ------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                Sales in month two Calculation Periods prior
                                                                                                                       2-MON. AVG
                                                                                                                         OF THE
                                        DILUTION                     SALES             DILUTION RATIO                DILUTION RATIO
                                        --------                     -----             --------------                --------------

PRECEDING CUT-OFF DATE                 2,255,758.42            142,583,775.75                     1.39%                   1.60%
2ND PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 2,533,976.03            139,572,046.73                     1.84%                   2.38%
3RD PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 3,487,121.66            161,724,527.06                     3.01%                   2.36%
4TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 3,136,070.80            137,713,772.25                     1.90%                   1.95%
5TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 2,504,674.63            115,705,318.49                     2.03%                   2.91%
6TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 4,536,331.14            165,286,968.33                     3.84%                   3.14%
7TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 3,527,809.23            123,274,935.77                     2.54%                   3.15%
8TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 4,822,371.45            118,287,353.24                     3.81%                   3.24%
9TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                 3,600,526.87            138,846,904.78                     2.70%                   2.55%
10TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                3,896,691.59            126,444,698.69                     2.43%                   2.10%
11TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                2,654,391.99            133,178,386.31                     1.76%                   2.41%
12TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                4,593,206.29            160,258,207.12                     3.06%                   2.33%
13TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                2,898,180.37            150,967,875.54
14TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                3,267,532.30            150,145,930.54
15TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                4,206,910.71            170,918,590.57
16TH PREC. CUT-OFF DATE                3,555,794.19            149,862,468.90

AVERAGE OVER PAST 12 MONTHS                                                                        2.53%

HIGHEST 3-MONTH AVERAGE OVER PAST 12 MONTHS                                                                               3.24%

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                           15-Oct-98                        15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date                 15-Sep-98                         11:32 AM
Prepared by                    Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 8
================================================================================

AVAILABLE SUBORDINATION AMOUNT     (CALCULATE DURING LIQUIDATION PERIOD)                                             SCHEDULE C

A.  On Liquidation Commencement Date

1.       Unpaid Balance of Receivables held by the Trust at opening of next preceding Business Day                0.00
2.       Less:  Certificate Calculation Amount as of next preceding Business Day                                  0.00
3.       Less:  PI Calculation Amount as of next preceding Business Day                                           0.00
4.       Plus:  Balance of deposit in Equalization Account at end of next preceding Business Day                  0.00
5.       Less:  Discount Rate Reserve as of next preceding Business Day                                           0.00
                                                                                                    ------------------
6.       AVAILABLE SUBORDINATION AMOUNT                                                                           0.00


B.  On each Settlement Date after the Liquidation Commencement Date

1.       Available Subordination Amount as calculated on next preceding Settlement Date                           0.00
2.       Less:  Charge-off Amount (if positive) for most recently ended Calculation Period                        0.00
3.       Plus:  Net Recoveries (if positive) for most recently ended Calculation Period                           0.00
                                                                                                    ------------------
4.       AVAILABLE SUBORDINATION AMOUNT                                                                           0.00


ALLOCABLE CHARGED-OFF AMOUNT    (CALCULATE DURING LIQUIDATION PERIOD)                                                SCHEDULE D


A.       If Available Subordination Amount is greater than zero, the Allocable
         Charged-off Amount equals 0.

B.       On the first Settlement Date on which the Available Subordination
         Amount is reduced to 0, Allocable Charged-off Amount equals (1) minus
         (2), if positive:

         1.     Charged-off Amount for most recently ended Calculation Period                                     0.00
         2.     Available Subordination Amount as of next preceding Settlement Date                               0.00
                                                                                                    ------------------
                          Allocable Charged-off Amount                                                            0.00

C.         On each subsequent Settlement Date, the Allocable Charged-off Amount
           equals the Charged-off Amount (if positive) for the most recently
           ended Calculation Period.


Allocation of Charged-off Amounts to Certificates and Purchased Interests, if
such Allocable Charged-off Amounts are greater than zero:

First, to WPSF Revolving Certificate:
         1. WPSF Allocation Percentage                       0.00
         2. Allocable Charged-off Amount                     0.00
                                                 ----------------
         3. WPSF allocation (1) x (2)                              -------  >>                                                  0.00

Second, to the Investor Certificates and Purchased Interests:

         (i)  to the Subordinated Classes and Subordinated Purchased Interests,                                                 0.00
              in accordance to their respective Class Allocation Percentages,
              until their respective Class Invested Amounts and PI Invested
              Amounts have been reduced to 0

         (ii) to the Senior Classes and Senior Purchased Interests, in                                                          0.00
              accordance to their respective Class Allocation Percentages,
              until their respective Class Invested Amounts have been reduced to 0.                                         --------
                                                                                                                                0.00

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                           15-Oct-98                        15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date                 15-Sep-98                         11:32 AM
Prepared by                    Linda Lauderdale
                                                                          page 9
================================================================================

NET RECOVERIES    (CALCULATE DURING LIQUIDATION PERIOD)                                                              SCHEDULE E

A.         If Available Subordination Amount is greater than zero, the allocable Net
           Recoveries equals 0.

B.         Allocation of Net Recoveries (if positive) shall be allocated among
           the various outstanding Classes of Investor Certificates outstanding
           Purchased Interests and the WPSF Revolving Certificate as follows:

First, to WPSF Revolving Certificate:
         1. WPSF Allocation Percentage                       0.00
         2. Total Net Recoveries                             0.00
                                                 ----------------
         3. WPSF allocation (1) x (2)                              -------  >>                                                  0.00

Second, to the Investor Certificates and Purchased Interests:

         (i)  to the Senior Classes and Senior Purchased Interests, in accordance                                               0.00
              to their respective Class Allocation Percentages, until all
              previous reductions to their respective Class Invested Amounts and
              PI Invested Amounts on account of Allocable Charged-Off Amounts have
              been reinstated

         (ii) to the Subordinated Classes and Subordinated Purchased Interests,                                                 0.00
              in accordance to their respective Class Allocation Percentages,
              until all previous reductions to their respective Class Invested
              Amounts and PI Invested Amounts on account of Allocable Charged-Off
              Amounts have been reinstated
                                                                                                                            --------
                                                                                                                                0.00

WESTPOINT STEVENS RECEIVABLES MASTER TRUST                  SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Report Date                           15-Oct-98                        15-Oct-98
Preceding Report Date                 15-Sep-98                         11:32 AM
Prepared by                    Linda Lauderdale


                      INFORMATION FOR SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

                                  OCTOBER 1998


G(1).  ESTIMATED CARRYING COSTS TO ACCRUE:              9/27-10/31
                                                      --------------

INTEREST:  /360  # DAYS   INT RATE     CERT. AMOUNT                     CALC. INTEREST
                                                                        --------------

            360     22     5.9575%    115,000,000.00      9/27-10/18      418,679.86
            360     22     6.2575%     18,000,000.00      9/27-10/18       68,832.50
            360     13     5.9575%    115,000,000.00     10/19-10/31      247,401.74
            360     13     6.2575%     18,000,000.00     10/19-10/31       40,673.75
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
                                                                         -----------
                                                                          775,587.85

NON-USE: /360    # DAYS   INT RATE      UNUSED AMT.                       CALC. FEE
                                                                        --------------

            360     35     0.3000%     27,000,000.00   9/27-10/31           7,875.00
                                                     ---------------
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
            360                                                                 0.00
                                                                         -----------
                                                                            7,875.00


CURRENT MONTH SERVICE FEE: (2% TIMES ENDING A/R BALANCE ON 1ST DAY OF PRECEDING CALC PERIOD
   DIVIDED BY 12)
                                        ENDING A/R                        CALC. FEE
                                     ----------------                  ---------------

           2.00%    12                240,823,038.99 (8/31/98)            401,371.73



TOTAL CARRYING COSTS TO ACCRUE: (INTEREST PLUS NON-USE FEE
   (ROUNDED TO 000)                 PLUS SERVICE FEE)                   1,185,000.00

                      INFORMATION FOR SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

                                  OCTOBER 1998

I(2). CALCULATION OF THE SEPARATION OF CASH COLLECTIONS INTO HOME FASHIONS
      AND ALAMAC

                              H. FASHIONS           ALAMAC               TOTAL
                            ----------------  -------------------  -------------------

BEGINNING A/R                 240,956,281.00           (60,827.58)      240,895,453.42
SALES                         142,583,775.75                 0.00       142,583,775.75
COLLECTIONS**               [(134,322,778.76)             (110.34)]    (134,322,889.10)
DILUTION                       (2,255,758.42)                0.00        (2,255,758.42)
ADVERTISING                    (1,739,246.15)                0.00        (1,739,246.15)
WRITE-OFFS                         18,438.14                 0.00            18,438.14
MISC.*                           (287,557.02)               72.59          (287,484.43)
-----------------           ----------------  -------------------  -------------------
ENDING A/R                    244,953,154.54           (60,865.33)      244,892,289.21

                                          OK                   OK                   OK

*   SPLIT BETWEEN  H. FASHIONS AND ALAMAC BASED ON BEGINNING A/R.

**  FORCE


K(1)(A).  CARRYING COSTS ACCRUED DURING CALCULATION PERIOD JUST ENDED:
          (SEE BACK-UP IN CLOSE WORKPAPERS & VICKIE'S FINCO INTEREST SCHEDULE)

                 INTEREST                                                   620,470.28
                 NON-USE FEE                                                  6,300.00
                 SERVICE FEE                                                364,210.59
                 FINCO NOTE INTEREST                                        247,383.50
                 -------------------                               -------------------

                 TOTAL (ROUNDED TO 000)                                  [1,238,000.00]

                            A/R BALANCE BY TERMS TYPE                [@ 9/29/98]

                                                               A/R AMOUNT
                                    ----------------------------------------------------------------
   DIVISION                              30 DAYS         60 DAYS         OTHER           TOTAL
----------------                    ----------------------------------------------------------------

ALAMAC                                        0.00            0.00      (60,865.33)       (60,865.33)

% TO TOTAL                                    0.00%           0.00%         100.00%


HOME FASHIONS                       192,306,190.71   40,924,280.79   11,722,683.04    244,953,154.54

% TO TOTAL                                   78.51%          16.71%           4.79%


TOTAL                               192,306,190.71   40,924,280.79   11,661,817.71    244,892,289.21

% TO TOTAL                                   78.53%          16.71%           4.76%


                WEIGHTED AVERAGE PAYMENT TERMS FOR THE RECEIVABLES

30 DAYS         % TO TOTAL FOR 30 DAYS PLUS OTHER TIMES 30                                    24.99
60 DAYS         % TO TOTAL FOR 60 DAYS TIMES 60                                               10.03
                                                                                   ----------------

TOTAL WEIGHTED AVERAGE PAYMENT TERMS                                                          35.01
                                                                                   ================


                                   PAYMENT TERM VARIABLE

IF TOTAL WEIGHTED AVERAGE PAYMENT TERMS IS < 40, USE 1.00                                     [1.00]
IF TOTAL WEIGHTED AVERAGE PAYMENT TERMS IS >=40 AND <45, USE 1.08
IF TOTAL WEIGHTED AVERAGE PAYMENT TERMS IS >=45 AND <50, USE 1.125
IF TOTAL WEIGHTED AVERAGE PAYMENT TERMS IS >=50 AND <60, USE 1.25
IF TOTAL WEIGHTED AVERAGE PAYMENT TERMS IS >=60 AND <70, USE 1.375



            ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE SUMMARY TRIAL BALANCE - AGED OVERDUE


                                                                            OVERDUE POSITION
                      TOTAL          ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    DIVISION       RECEIVABLE             TOTAL        TO 30 DAYS      31 - 60 DAYS   61 - 90 DAYS    91 - 120 DAYS  OVER 120 DAYS
                                     ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HOME FASH.           239,103,274.03   26,471,602.53   18,702,245.52    2,759,492.14   3,038,893.01      291,960.81    1,679,011.05
ALAMAC                   (60,865.33)      (6,180.20)           0.00            0.00           0.00       (6,180.20)           0.00
CORPORATE              1,254,975.87      203,271.66       96,970.85       32,592.24      11,840.07       25,652.38       36,216.12
                   ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                   ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL                240,297,384.57   26,668,693.99   18,799,216.37    2,792,084.38   3,050,733.08      311,432.99    1,715,227.17
                   ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                         (WESTPOINT STEVENS LETTERHEAD)

Craig J. Berlin
Corporate Credit Director
Senior Credit Officer                                          October 15, 1998


TO:  Chemical Bank
     The First National Bank of Chicago
     WPS Receivables Corporation
     Standard & Poor's Ratings Group
     Moody's Investor Services

     WESTPOINT STEVENS INC. (the "Servicer") hereby certifies that:

     1. This Certificate is being delivered pursuant to Section 3.06 of the Pooling and Servicing Agreement, dated as of December 10, 1993, and amended and restated as of May 27, 1994 (as the same may be amended, supplemented, amended and restated or otherwise modified from time to time, (the "Agreement"), among WPS Receivables Corporation, as Transferor, the Servicer, and Chemical Bank, as the Trustee.

     2. As of the date of this Certificate, the Authorized Officer (as defined in the Agreement) that is executing this Certificate is not aware of the occurrence and continuance of any Liquidation Event, Unmatured Liquidation Event or Pay-Out Event (each as defined in the Agreement).

     IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Servicer has caused this Certificate to be executed by its duly authorized officer this 15th day of October, 1998.

                                        WESTPOINT STEVENS INC.


                                        By: /s/ Craig J. Berlin
                                            -------------------------------
                                            Craig J. Berlin
                                            Corporate Credit Director
                                            Senior Credit Officer

CJB/zkp