WITTER DEAN DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND LP (CIK 941912)
Form 10-Q
period 2000-03-31
filed 2000-05-15

UNITED STATES
               SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                     Washington, D.C. 20549

                           FORM 10-Q



[X]  Quarterly report pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934
For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2000 or

[ ] Transition report pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934
For the transition period from               to

Commission File No. 0-23577

     DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND LIMITED
PARTNERSHIP
     (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)


          Delaware                                13-3461507
State or other jurisdiction of                    (I.R.S.
Employer
incorporation or organization)                    Identification
No.)

c/o Demeter Management Corporation
Two World Trade Center, 62 Fl., New York, NY        10048
(Address of principal executive offices)               (Zip Code)

Registrant's telephone number, including area code (212) 392-5454

                                                                .
(Former name, former address, and former fiscal year, if changed
since last report)


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

                       March 31, 2000


PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION
Item 1. Financial Statements

     Statements of Financial Condition March 31, 2000
     (Unaudited) and December 31, 1999.....................2

     Statements of Operations for the Quarters Ended
     March 31, 2000 and 1999 (Unaudited)...................3

     Statements of Changes in Partners' Capital for the
        Quarters Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999
     (Unaudited)...........................................4

     Statements of Cash Flows for the Quarters Ended
     March 31, 2000 and 1999 (Unaudited).................. 5

        Notes to Financial Statements (Unaudited)..........6-11

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of

Financial Condition and Results of Operations..12-18

Item 3. Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about
        Market Risk ...................................19-31

Part II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1. Legal Proceedings................................ 32

Item 5. Other Information.................................32

Item 6. Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K..................32






                 PART I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.  Financial Statements

    DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
               STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION


                                     March 31,     December 31,
                                       2000         1999
                                         $              $
                                    (Unaudited)
ASSETS
Equity in futures interests trading accounts:
 Cash                             83,825,423       92,093,924
  Net  unrealized gain on open contracts     5,997,335        1,6
01,939

      Total Trading Equity        89,822,758       93,695,863

Interest receivable (DWR)            317,281          312,680

      Total Assets                90,140,039       94,008,543


LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Liabilities

 Redemptions payable               2,239,802        2,015,683
 Accrued management fee (DWFCM)      215,824          229,326
 Administrative expenses payable      137,824         114,311

      Total Liabilities            2,593,450        2,359,320


Partners' Capital

 Limited Partners (85,771.287 and
  92,865.334 Units, respectively)   85,280,350   89,453,674
 General Partner (2,279.285 Units)     2,266,239     2,195,549

 Total Partners' Capital            87,546,589   91,649,223

  Total  Liabilities and Partners' Capital    90,140,039    94,00
8,543


NET ASSET VALUE PER UNIT               994.28          963.26



          The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

    DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
                    STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                           (Unaudited)



                                For the Quarters Ended March 31,

                                                             2000
1999
                                         $             $
REVENUES
 Trading profit (loss):
    Realized                        (233,470)    (6,915,701)
      Net change in unrealized    4,395,396             (17,951)
      Total Trading Results       4,161,926      (6,933,652)
 Interest Income (DWR)              927,356          1,067,425
      Total Revenues              5,089,282         (5,866,227)

EXPENSES

 Brokerage commissions (DWR)      1,511,907      1,840,522
   Management   fee   (DWFCM)              666,285        918,066
Transaction   fees   and  costs            115,604        145,990
Administrative expenses              37,000              35,000
      Total Expenses              2,330,796          2,939,578

NET INCOME (LOSS)                 2,758,486         (8,805,805)

NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATION

   Limited  Partners                    2,687,796     (8,633,447)
General Partner                        70,690    (172,358)

NET INCOME (LOSS) PER UNIT

                         Limited                         Partners
31.02                         (75.62)
                          General                         Partner
31.02                         (75.62)





          The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

<age>

    DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
           STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS' CAPITAL
         For the Quarters Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999
                          (Unaudited)




                          Units of
                        Partnership Limited   General
                          Interest   Partners Partner    Total


Partners' Capital,
                  December                31,                1998
117,935.784           $125,375,751$2,470,826   $127,846,577

Net  Loss                    -          (8,633,447)     (172,358)
(8,805,805)

Redemptions
(5,594.705)                     (5,754,219)                     -
(5,754,219)

Partners' Capital,
                   March                 31,                 1999
112,341.079           $110,988,085$2,298,468  $113,286,553



Partners' Capital,
                  December                31,                1999
95,144.619             $89,453,674$2,195,549   $91,649,223

Net Income                 -         2,687,796     70,690       2
,758,486

Redemptions
(7,094.047)                      (6,861,120)                    -
(6,861,120)

Partners' Capital,
                   March                 31,                 2000
88,050.572             $85,280,350$2,266,239 $  87,546,589














           The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.


    DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
                    STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                           (Unaudited)





                                 For the Quarters Ended March 31,

                                                             2000
1999
                                         $               $
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net income (loss)                 2,758,486      (8,805,805)
Noncash item included in net income (loss):
        Net     change     in     unrealized          (4,395,396)
17,951
(Increase) decrease in operating assets:
    Interest receivable (DWR)         (4,601)       46,076
      Due from DWR                    -            (179,122)
Increase (decrease) in operating liabilities:
    Accrued management fee (DWFCM)   (13,502)       (10,965)
    Administrative expenses payable        23,513                        (42)

Net cash used for operating activities   (1,631,500)         (8,931,907)

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES

Increase in redemptions payable     224,119        659,464
Redemptions of Units              (6,861,120)      (5,754,219)

Net cash used for financing activities    (6,637,001)         (5,094,755)

Net decrease in cash              (8,268,501)    (14,026,662)

Balance at beginning of period   92,093,924      127,547,473

Balance at end of period         83,825,423      113,520,811









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

conjunction  with  the  Partnership's December  31,  1999  Annual

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




In  June  1998, the Financial Accounting Standards Board ("FASB")

issued  Statement of Financial Accounting Standard  ("SFAS")  No.

133,   "Accounting   for  Derivative  Instruments   and   Hedging

Activities" effective for fiscal years beginning after  June  15,

1999.   In  June 1999, the FASB issued SFAS No. 137,  "Accounting

for  Derivative Instruments and Hedging Activities - Deferral  of

the  Effective Date of SFAS No. 133", which defers  the  required

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

the  statements of financial condition and totaled $5,997,335 and

$1,601,939 at March 31, 2000 and December 31, 1999, respectively.

    DEAN WITTER DIVERSIFIED FUTURES FUND LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
            NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)




Of  the $5,997,335 net unrealized gain on open contracts at March

31, 2000, $5,042,373 related to exchange-traded futures contracts

and  $954,962  related  to off-exchange-traded  forward  currency

contracts.



Of  the  $1,601,939  net unrealized gain  on  open  contracts  at

December 31, 1999, $1,280,887 related to exchange-traded  futures

contracts  and  $321,052  related to off-exchange-traded  forward

currency contracts.



Exchange-traded  futures contracts held  by  the  Partnership  at

March 31, 2000 and December 31, 1999 mature through June 2000 and

September   2000,   respectively.   Off-exchange-traded   forward

currency contracts held by the Partnership at March 31, 2000  and

December  31,  1999  mature through July  2000  and  March  2000,

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

funds,  in the aggregate, totaled $88,867,796 and $93,374,811  at

March 31, 2000 and December 31, 1999, respectively.  With respect

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

Partnership  has a netting agreement with Carr.  This  agreement,

which  seeks to reduce both the Partnership's and Carr's exposure

on   off-exchange-traded  forward  currency   contracts,   should

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

securities  and instruments permitted by the CFTC for  investment

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

trading.  These market conditions could
prevent  the  Partnership from promptly liquidating  its  futures

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

limited  partnership  interest ("Unit(s)")  in  the  future  will

affect  the amount of funds available for investments in  futures

interests in subsequent periods.  It is not possible to  estimate

the  amount  and  therefore, the impact of future redemptions  of

Units.



Results of Operations

General.  The Partnership's results depend on its Trading Manager

and the ability of the Trading Manager's trading programs to take

advantage of price movements or other profit opportunities in the
futures  and forwards markets.  The following presents a  summary

of  the Partnership's operations for the three months ended March

31,  2000 and 1999, respectively and a general discussion of  its

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



For the Quarter Ended March 31, 2000

For  the  quarter ended March 31, 2000, the Partnership  recorded

total  trading  revenues including interest income of  $5,089,282

and  posted  an increase in Net Asset Value per Unit.   The  most

significant  gains  of approximately 5.3% were  recorded  in  the

energy  markets primarily during February from long positions  in

crude  oil futures as prices rose to nine-year highs.  This price

increase  was  due  to a combination of cold  weather,  declining

inventories  and  increasing demand, as well  as  concerns  about

future output levels from the world's leading producer countries.

Despite  a  dramatic move lower in the price of crude oil  during

March,  the  Partnership profited from long positions  liquidated

early in  the  month.   In   the  currency   markets,  gains   of
approximately  2.3% were recorded primarily during  January  from

short  positions  in the Swedish krona, the euro  and  the  Swiss

franc as the value of these European currencies weakened relative

to  the  U.S. dollar, hurt by skepticism about Europe's  economic

outlook  and  lack  of support from European  officials.   During

March,   gains  were  recorded  from  short  euro  positions   as

expectations for continued interest rate hikes from the  European

Central  Bank diminished.  These gains were partially  offset  by

losses  of  approximately 1.6% recorded throughout a majority  of

the  quarter in the global stock index futures markets from  long

positions  in  S&P  500  Index futures as domestic  stock  prices

declined  due  to  volatility in the  technology  sector  and  as

economic  data  raised  fears that the Federal  Reserve  will  be

forced  to  take aggressive action to slow the economy.   In  the

metals  markets,  losses of approximately 1.5%  were  experienced

primarily  from  long  positions in base  metal  futures  as  the

previous  upward  price  trend  reversed  sharply  lower   during

February  in  response to interest rate hikes across  the  globe.

Additional losses were recorded from short gold futures positions

as  prices  spiked sharply higher early in February following  an

announcement  by  a  major producer that it was  suspending  gold

hedging   activities.   Newly  established  long   gold   futures

positions resulted in additional losses as gold prices fell later

in February from weakness in the Australian dollar and gold sales

by  the  Dutch central bank.  In the global interest rate futures

markets, losses  of  approximately  1.4% were  incurred primarily
during  February from long positions in Japanese government  bond

futures as prices decreased in response to the yen's weakness,  a

higher Nikkei average and the perception in Japan that, despite a

zero  interest rate policy, 10-year interest rates are  too  low.

In  soft  commodities, losses of approximately 0.6% were recorded

primarily during March from long cocoa futures positions as cocoa

prices  dropped  against  the backdrop of  world  overproduction.

Total  expenses for the three months ended March  31,  2000  were

$2,330,796 resulting in net income of $2,758,486.  The value of a

Unit  increased from $963.26 at December 31, 1999 to  $994.28  at

March 31, 2000.



For the Quarter Ended March 31, 1999

For  the  quarter ended March 31, 1999, the Partnership  recorded

total  trading  losses net of interest income, of $5,866,227  and

posted  a  decrease  in  Net  Asset  Value  per  Unit.  The  most

significant losses of approximately 4.5% were experienced in  the

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

currency  markets,  losses of approximately  4.1%  were  recorded

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

the metals markets, losses of approximately 0.9% were experienced

during  March  from  long  silver  futures  positions  as  prices

retreated  after  Berkshire Hathaway's annual  report  failed  to

provide  any  new information on the company's silver  positions.

In  soft  commodities, losses of approximately 0.6% were recorded

during March from short positions in coffee futures as prices  in

this  market  surged late in the month as options-related  buying

triggered  waves  of buy-stops at several key resistance  levels,

attracting  fund  short-covering.   In  the  global  stock  index

futures  markets,  losses of approximately 0.2% were  experienced

during  February  from  long S&P 500 Index futures  positions  as

domestic  equity prices moved lower on concerns that the  Federal

Reserve  may  raise  interest  rates  in  an  effort  to  control

inflation.   These  losses  were partially  offset  by  gains  of

approximately 2.4%  recorded in  the  energy markets during March
from  long  positions in crude and heating oil futures as  prices

moved  significantly higher which was largely attributed  to  the

news  that  both  OPEC  and  non-OPEC countries  had  reached  an

agreement  to  cut  total  output by  approximately  two  million

barrels  a  day  beginning April 1, 1999.   In  the  agricultural

markets, gains of approximately 0.7% were recorded mainly  during

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

speculative trading.  The Partnerships's speculative trading  may

cause future losses and volatility (i.e. "risk of ruin") that far

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

sensitive.   The  historical observation period of  the  Partner-

ship's  VaR  is  approximately  four  years.   The  one-day   99%

confidence  level  of the Partnership's VaR  corresponds  to  the

negative change in portfolio value that, based on observed market

risk factors, would have been exceeded once in 100 trading days.

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

The  following  tables  indicate  the  VaR  associated  with  the

Partnership's open positions as a percentage of total Net  Assets

by primary market risk category as of March 31, 2000 and 1999. As

of   March   31,   2000   and  1999,  the   Partnership's   total

capitalization was approximately $88 million and $113 million,

respectively.


     Primary Market             March 31, 2000     March 31, 1999
     Risk Category              Value at Risk      Value at Risk

     Currency                      (1.67)%             (1.91)%

     Interest Rate                 (1.56)              (0.89)

     Commodity                     (2.07)              (0.98)

     Equity                        (1.30)              (0.77)

     Aggregate Value at Risk       (3.40)%             (2.26)%



Aggregate Value at Risk represents the aggregate VaR of  all  the

Partnership's open positions and not the sum of the VaR of the
individual Market Categories listed above.  Aggregate VaR will be

lower  as  it  takes  into  account correlation  among  different

positions and categories.



The  table  above  represents the VaR of the  Partnership's  open

positions  at March 31, 2000 and 1999 only and is not necessarily

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

Net Assets for the four quarterly reporting periods from April 1,

1999 through March 31, 2000.



Primary Market Risk Category      High        Low        Average

Currency                         (1.95)%     (1.67)%     (1.81)%

Interest Rate                    (2.01)      (0.89)      (1.36)

Commodity                        (2.07)      (0.93)      (1.35)

Equity                           (1.30)      (0.19)      (0.69)

Aggregate Value at Risk          (3.40)%     (2.26)%     (2.82)%


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

aggregate basis at March 31, 2000 and 1999 and for the end of the

four quarterly reporting periods from April 1, 1999 through March

31,  2000.  Since VaR is based on historical data, VaR should not

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

78%) of its available assets in cash at DWR.  A decline in short-
term interest rates will result in a decline in the Partnership's

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

Partnership as of March 31, 2000, by market sector.  It may be

anticipated  however,  that  these  market  exposures  will  vary

materially over time.



Currency.   The most significant exposure in the Partnership  was

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

2000, the Partnership's foreign currency exposure was in the euro

currency  crosses  and outright U.S. dollar  positions  (outright

positions  consist of the U.S. dollar vs. other currencies).  The

currency  trading  VaR  figure includes  foreign  margin  amounts

converted into U.S. dollars with an incremental adjustment to
reflect  the  exchange  rate risk inherent  to  the  dollar-based

Partnership in expressing VaR in a functional currency other than

dollars.



Interest  Rates.   At March 31, 2000, there was also  significant

exposure in the interest rate sector. Exposure was spread  across

the U.S., Swiss, Australian, and Euro-zone interest rate sectors.

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

rate exposure is generally to interest rate fluctuations in the G-

7  countries  and Australia.  Demeter anticipates  that  G-7  and

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

medium to long-term rates to remain steady.



Commodity.

Metals.   The Partnership's metals market exposure in  the  first

quarter of 2000 was to fluctuations in the prices of base metals,
as  well as exposure in the gold market.  A significant amount of

exposure  was evident in the base metals as the Partnership  held

sizeable  positions in aluminum and copper as determined  by  the

parameters of the proprietary system.



The  Partnership  aims to equally weight market exposure  in  the

metals  as much as possible, however base metals, during  periods

of volatility, will affect performance more dramatically than the

precious  metals markets.  Demeter anticipates that  base  metals

will   remain   the  primary  metals  market  exposure   of   the

Partnership.



Energy.  On March 31, 2000, the Partnership's energy exposure was

in  natural gas futures contracts.  Price movement in this market

results  from  supply/demand data, weather  patterns,  and  other

economic fundamentals. A position in natural gas will impact  the

portfolio as it is a significant portion of the portfolio.



Soft   Commodities  and  Agriculturals.    The  Partnership   had

moderate  exposure  in the markets that comprise  these  sectors.

Most  of the exposure was in the corn and coffee markets.  Supply

and  demand  inequalities, severe weather disruptions and  market

expectations affect price movements in these markets.



Equity.  The Partnership's equity exposure on March 31, 2000  was

primarily to price risk in the S&P 500 futures index.  The stock
index  futures  traded by the Partnership are by law  limited  to

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

Partnership as of March 31, 2000:



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

approaches, and monitoring the performance of the Trading Manager

daily. In
addition,   the   Trading  Manager  establishes   diversification

guidelines,  often  set  in terms of the  maximum  margin  to  be

committed  to  positions  in any one  market  sector  or  market-

sensitive instrument.



Demeter monitors and controls the risk of the Partnership's  non-

trading   instrument,  cash.   Cash  is  the   only   Partnership

investment directed by Demeter, rather than the Trading Manager.

                  PART II.   OTHER INFORMATION
Item 1.  LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

On  March 3, 2000, the plaintiffs in the New York action filed an

appeal  of  the  order  dismissing  the  consolidated  complaint.

(Please  refer to Legal Proceedings previously disclosed  in  the

Partnership's Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 1999  for

a more detailed discussion.)


Item 5.   OTHER INFORMATION

Effective  January 31, 2000, Mark J. Hawley resigned as  Chairman

of  the  Board and a Director of Demeter and DWFCM and Robert  E.

Murray  replaced  him  as Chairman of the Board  of  Demeter  and

DWFCM.



Demeter  has determined, commencing in May 2000, to transfer  the

Partnership's  futures and options clearing from Carr  to  Morgan

Stanley & Co. Incorporated ("MS & Co."), an affiliate of Demeter,

while  trades  on the London Metal Exchange will  be  cleared  by

Morgan  Stanley  &  Co. International Limited ("MSIL"),  also  an

affiliate  of  Demeter.  In addition, MS & Co. and  MSIL,  rather

than   Carr,  will  act  as  the  counterparty  on  all  of   the

Partnership's  foreign  currency  forward  trades.   Dean  Witter

Reynolds  Inc. will continue to act as the non-clearing commodity

broker for the Partnership.


Item 6.   EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

     (A)  Exhibits - None.

     (B)  Reports on Form 8-K. - None.

                           SIGNATURE



Pursuant  to the requirements of the Securities Exchange  Act  of
1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed  on
its behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.




                              Dean Witter Diversified Futures
                              Fund Limited Partnership
                              Registrant)

                              By:  Demeter Management Corporation
                                   (General Partner)

May 12, 2000                  By:  /s/ Lewis A. Raibley, III
                                   Lewis A. Raibley, III
                                   Director and Chief Financial
                                   Officer



The General Partner which signed the above is the only party authorized to act for the Registrant. The Registrant has no principal executive officer, principal financial officer, controller, or principal accounting officer and has no Board of Directors.