EXHIBIT 99.1
Press Release
www.shire.com

Block Listing Six Monthly Return

May 23, 2014 - Shire plc (LSE: SHP, NASDAQ: SHPG)

Name of applicant:		Shire plc
Name of scheme:		2000 Executive Share Option Scheme
Period of return:	From:	November 23, 2013	To:	May 22, 2014
Balance of unallotted securities under scheme(s) from previous return:		3,427,479
Plus: The amount by which the block scheme(s) has been increased since the date of the last return (if any increase has been applied for):		Nil
Less: Number of securities issued/allotted under scheme(s) during period (see LR3.5.7G):		20,856
Equals: Balance under scheme(s) not yet issued/allotted at end of period:		3,406,623

Name of applicant:		Shire plc
Name of scheme:		Shire Sharesave Scheme
Period of return:	From:	November 23, 2013	To:	May 22, 2014
Balance of unallotted securities under scheme(s) from previous return:		210,392
Plus: The amount by which the block scheme(s) has been increased since the date of the last return (if any increase has been applied for):		Nil
Less: Number of securities issued/allotted under scheme(s) during period (see LR3.5.7G):		Nil
Equals: Balance under scheme(s) not yet issued/allotted at end of period:		210,392

Registered in Jersey, No. 99854, 22 Grenville Street, St Helier, Jersey JE4 8PX

Name of applicant:		Shire plc
Name of scheme:		Portfolio Share Plan
Period of return:	From:	November 23, 2013	To:	May 22, 2014
Balance of unallotted securities under scheme(s) from previous return:		2,232,177
Plus: The amount by which the block scheme(s) has been increased since the date of the last return (if any increase has been applied for):		Nil
Less: Number of securities issued/allotted under scheme(s) during period (see LR3.5.7G):		637,918
Equals: Balance under scheme(s) not yet issued/allotted at end of period:		1,594,259

Name of applicant:		Shire plc
Name of scheme:		Employee Stock Purchase Plan
Period of return:	From:	November 23, 2013	To:	May 22, 2014
Balance of unallotted securities under scheme(s) from previous return:		422,301
Plus: The amount by which the block scheme(s) has been increased since the date of the last return (if any increase has been applied for):		Nil
Less: Number of securities issued/allotted under scheme(s) during period (see LR3.5.7G):		Nil
Equals: Balance under scheme(s) not yet issued/allotted at end of period:		422,301

Name of contact:	Tony Guthrie, Deputy Company Secretary
Address of contact:	Hampshire International Business Park Basingstoke, Hampshire, RG24 8EP
Telephone number of contact:	01256 894746

For further information please contact:

Investor Relations
Jeff Poulton	jpoulton@shire.com	+1 781 482 0945
Sarah Elton-Farr	seltonfarr@shire.com	+44 1256 894157
Media
Jessica Mann	jmann@shire.com	+44 1256 894 280
Gwen Fisher	gfisher@shire.com	+1 484 595 9836

NOTES TO EDITORS

Shire enables people with life-altering conditions to lead better lives.

Our strategy is to focus on developing and marketing innovative specialty medicines to meet significant unmet patient needs.

We provide treatments in Neuroscience, Rare Diseases, Gastrointestinal, Ophthalmology and Internal Medicine and we are developing treatments for symptomatic conditions treated by specialist physicians in other targeted therapeutic areas.

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