                                  $400,000,000

                          U.S. OFFICE PRODUCTS COMPANY

                    9 3/4% Senior Subordinated Notes due 2008



                               PLACEMENT AGREEMENT






                                  June 5, 1998

                                                                    June 5, 1998


Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated
BT Alex. Brown Incorporated
Chase Securities Inc.
c/o Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated
      1585 Broadway
      New York, New York 10036

Dear Sirs and Mesdames:

                  U.S. Office Products Company, a Delaware corporation (the "Company"), proposes to issue and sell to the several purchasers named in
Schedule I hereto (the "Placement Agents") $400,000,000 aggregate principal amount of its 9 3/4% Senior Subordinated Notes due 2008 (the "Notes") to be issued pursuant to the provisions of an Indenture dated as of June 10, 1998 (the "Indenture") between the Company and State Street Bank and Trust Company, as Trustee (the "Trustee"). The obligations of the Company under the Notes and the Indenture will be guaranteed (the "Guarantees") by (i) the Company's existing Domestic Subsidiaries (as defined in the Indenture) that upon issuance of the Notes guarantee the Company's borrowings under the Credit Facility (as defined below) (the "Guarantors") and (ii) any Future Material Domestic Subsidiaries (as defined in the Indenture) that guarantee such borrowings on a senior subordinated basis pursuant to the terms of the Indenture.

                  The offering and sale of the Notes is a part of the financing for the Strategic Restructuring Plan (as defined in the Final Memorandum (as defined below)) approved by the Company's Board of Directors. The Strategic Restructuring Plan contemplates, among other things, that (i) the Company will purchase 37,037,037 shares of its Common Stock, par value $.001 per share (the "Common Stock"), including shares issuable upon exercise of options (vested and unvested) to purchase Common Stock, at $27.00 per share (or, in the case of shares underlying stock options, $27.00 minus the exercise price per share of such options) (the "Equity Tender Offer"), (ii) the Company will distribute to its stockholders the shares of Aztec Technology Partners, Inc., Workflow Management, Inc., School Speciality, Inc. and Navigant International, Inc. (the "Distributions"), (iii) an affiliate of Clayton, Dubilier & Rice will acquire Common Stock and warrants to purchase Common Stock for $270.0 million (the "Equity Investment") and (iv) the Company will enter into a senior secured bank credit facility with terms as described in the Final Memorandum (the "Credit Facility"). The completion of the Equity Tender Offer, the Distributions, the Equity Investment and the availability of funds under the Credit Facility are all conditions to the closing of the sale of the Notes.

                  The Notes will be offered without being registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities Act"), to qualified institutional buyers in compliance with the
exemption from registration provided by Rule 144A under the Securities Act, in offshore transactions in reliance on Regulation S under the Securities Act ("Regulation S") and to institutional accredited investors (as defined in Rule 501(a)(1), (2), (3) or (7) under the Securities Act) that deliver a letter in the form annexed to the Final Memorandum.

                  The Placement Agents and their direct and indirect transferees will be entitled to the benefits of a Registration Rights Agreement dated the date hereof between the Company and the Placement Agents (the "Registration Rights Agreement").

                  In connection with the sale of the Notes, the Company has prepared a preliminary offering memorandum (the "Preliminary Memorandum") and will prepare a final offering memorandum dated the date hereof (the "Final Memorandum" and, with the Preliminary Memorandum, each a "Memorandum") including or incorporating by reference a description of the terms of the Notes, the terms of the offering and a description of the Company. As used herein, the term "Memorandum" shall include in each case portions of the documents incorporated by reference therein.

                  1. Representations and Warranties. The Company represents and warrants to, and agrees with, you that:

                  (a) (i) Each document, if any, filed or to be filed pursuant to the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act"), and incorporated by reference in either Memorandum complied or will comply when so filed in all material respects with the Exchange Act and the applicable rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Commission") thereunder and (ii) the Preliminary Memorandum does not contain and the Final Memorandum, in the form used by the Placement Agents to confirm sales and on the Closing Date (as defined in Section 4), will not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading, except that the representations and warranties set forth in this paragraph do not apply to statements or omissions in either Memorandum based upon information relating to any Placement Agent furnished to the Company in writing by such Placement Agent through you expressly for use therein.

                  (b) The Company has been duly incorporated, is validly existing as a corporation in good standing under the laws of the State of Delaware, has the corporate power and authority to own its property and to conduct its business as described in each Memorandum and is duly qualified to transact business and is in good standing in each jurisdiction in which the conduct of its business or its ownership or leasing of property requires such qualification, except to the extent that the failure to be so qualified or be in
         good standing would not have a material adverse effect on the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole.

                  (c) Each subsidiary of the Company has been duly incorporated, is validly existing as a corporation in good standing under the laws of the jurisdiction of its incorporation, has the corporate power and authority to own its property and to conduct its business as described in each Memorandum or as currently conducted, as the case may be, and is duly qualified to transact business and is in good standing in each jurisdiction in which the conduct of its business or its ownership or leasing of property requires such qualification, except to the extent that the failure to be so qualified or be in good standing would not have a material adverse effect on the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole; except as set forth in the Final Memorandum, all of the issued shares of capital stock of each subsidiary of the Company have been duly and validly authorized and issued, are fully paid and non-assessable and are owned directly by the Company, free and clear of all liens, encumbrances, equities or claims.

                  (d) This Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company.

                  (e) The Notes have been duly authorized by the Company and, when executed and authenticated in accordance with the provisions of the Indenture and delivered to and paid for by the Placement Agents in accordance with the terms of this Agreement, will be valid and binding obligations of the Company, enforceable in accordance with their terms, subject to applicable bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws affecting creditors' rights generally and general principles of equity, and will be entitled to the benefits of the Indenture and the Registration Rights Agreement.

                  (f) The Guarantees have been duly authorized by the Guarantors and, upon execution and delivery of the Indenture and when the Notes are duly executed and authenticated in accordance with the provisions of the Indenture and delivered to and paid for by the Placement Agents in accordance with this Agreement, will be valid and binding obligations of the Guarantors, enforceable against the Guarantors in accordance with their terms, subject to applicable bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws affecting creditors' rights generally and general principles of equity.

                  (g) The Indenture has been duly authorized by the Company and the Guarantors and, when executed and delivered by the Company and the Guarantors, will be a valid and binding agreement of the Company and each Guarantor, enforceable in accordance with its terms, subject to applicable bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent
         transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws affecting creditors' rights generally and general principles of equity.

                  (h) The Registration Rights Agreement has been duly authorized by the Company, executed and delivered by the Company, and is a valid and binding agreement of the Company, enforceable in accordance with its terms, subject to applicable bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws affecting creditors' rights generally and general principles of equity and except as rights to indemnification and contribution under the Registration Rights Agreement may be limited under applicable law.

                  (i) The execution and delivery by the Company of, and the performance by the Company of its obligations under, this Agreement, the Indenture, the Registration Rights Agreement and the Notes will not contravene any provision of applicable law or the certificate of incorporation or by-laws of the Company or any agreement or other instrument binding upon the Company or any of its subsidiaries that is material to the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, or any judgment, order or decree of any governmental body, agency or court having jurisdiction over the Company or any subsidiary, except for such violations of judgments, orders or decrees as would not have a material adverse effect on the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, and no consent, approval, authorization or order of, or qualification with, any governmental body or agency is required for the performance by the Company of its obligations under this Agreement, the Indenture, the Registration Rights Agreement or the Notes, except such as may be required by the securities or Blue Sky laws of the various states in connection with the offer and sale of the Notes and by Federal and state securities laws with respect to the Company's obligations under the Registration Rights Agreement, such consents, approvals, authorizations, orders or filings as have been made or obtained, such as disclosed in the Preliminary Memorandum or the Final Memorandum and such as related to the listing of the Notes in Luxembourg.

                  (j) There has not occurred any material adverse change, or any development involving a prospective material adverse change, in the condition, financial or otherwise, or in the earnings, business or operations of the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, from that set forth in the Final Memorandum.

                  (k) There are no legal or governmental proceedings pending or, to the Company's knowledge, threatened to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or to which any of the properties of the Company or any of its subsidiaries is subject other than proceedings accurately described in all material respects in each Memorandum and proceedings that would not have a material adverse effect on the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, or on the power or ability of the

         Company to perform its obligations under this Agreement, the Indenture, the Registration Rights Agreement or the Notes or to consummate the transactions contemplated by the Final Memorandum.

                  (l) The Company and its subsidiaries (i) are in compliance in all material respects with any and all applicable foreign, federal, state and local laws and regulations relating to the protection of human health and safety, the environment or hazardous or toxic substances or wastes, pollutants or contaminants ("Environmental Laws"), (ii) have received all material permits, licenses or other approvals required of them under applicable Environmental Laws to conduct their respective businesses and (iii) are in compliance with all terms and conditions of any such permit, license or approval, except where such noncompliance with Environmental Laws, failure to receive required permits, licenses or other approvals or failure to comply with the terms and conditions of such permits, licenses or approvals would not, singly or in the aggregate, have a material adverse effect on the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole.

                  (m) Except as set forth in the Final Memorandum, there are no costs or liabilities associated with Environmental Laws (including, without limitation, any capital or operating expenditures required for clean-up, closure of properties or compliance with Environmental Laws or any permit, license or approval, any related constraints on operating activities and any potential liabilities to third parties) which would, singly or in the aggregate, have a material adverse effect on the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole.

                  (n) The Company is not, and after giving effect to the offering and sale of the Notes and the application of the proceeds thereof as described in the Final Memorandum, will not be an "investment company" as such term is defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended.

                  (o) Neither the Company nor any affiliate (as defined in Rule 501(b) of Regulation D under the Securities Act, an "Affiliate") of the Company has directly, or through any agent, (i) sold, offered for sale, solicited offers to buy or otherwise negotiated in respect of, any security (as defined in the Securities Act) which is or will be integrated with the sale of the Notes in a manner that would require the registration under the Securities Act of the Securities or (ii) engaged in any form of general solicitation or general advertising in connection with the offering of the Notes (as those terms are used in Regulation D under the Securities Act), or in any manner involving a public offering within the meaning of Section 4(2) of the Securities Act.

                  (p) None of the Company, its Affiliates or any person acting on its or their behalf (other than the Placement Agents, as to which no representation is made) has
         engaged or will engage in any directed selling efforts (within the meaning of Regulation S) with respect to the Notes and the Company and its Affiliates and any person acting on its or their behalf (other than the Placement Agents, as to which no representation is made) have complied and will comply with the offering restrictions requirement of Regulation S.

                  (q) Assuming the accuracy of the representations of the Placement Agents contained in Section 7 of this Agreement, and the compliance of the Placement Agents with the agreements set forth therein, it is not necessary in connection with the offer, sale and delivery of the Notes to the Placement Agents in the manner contemplated by this Agreement to register the Notes under the Securities Act or to qualify the Indenture under the Trust Indenture Act of 1939, as amended.

                  (r) The Notes satisfy the requirements set forth in Rule 144A(d)(3) under the Securities Act.

                  (s) The Notes conform in all material respects to the description thereof contained in the Final Memorandum under the heading "Description of the Notes".

                  (t) Subsequent to the respective dates as of which information is given in the Final Memorandum, (i) the Company and its subsidiaries have not incurred any material liability or obligation, direct or contingent, nor entered into any material transaction not in the ordinary course of business; (ii) the Company has not purchased any of its outstanding capital stock, nor declared, paid or otherwise made any dividend or distribution of any kind on its capital stock other than ordinary and customary dividends; and (iii) there has not been any material change in the capital stock, short-term debt or long-term debt of the Company and its subsidiaries, except in each case as described in the Final Memorandum.

                  (u) No material labor dispute with the employees of the Company or any of its subsidiaries exists, except as described in the Final Memorandum, or, to the knowledge of the Company, is imminent.

                  2. Agreements to Sell and Purchase. The Company hereby agrees to sell to the several Placement Agents, and each Placement Agent, upon the basis of the representations and warranties herein contained, but subject to the conditions hereinafter stated, agrees, severally and not jointly, to purchase from the Company the respective principal amount of Notes set forth in Schedule I hereto opposite its name at a purchase price of 96.788% of the principal amount thereof (the "Purchase Price") plus accrued interest, if any, to the Closing Date.

                  The Company hereby agrees that, without the prior written consent of Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated on behalf of the Placement Agents, it will not, during the period beginning on the date hereof and continuing to and including the Closing Date, offer, sell, contract to sell or otherwise dispose of any debt of the Company or warrants to purchase debt of the Company substantially similar to the Notes (other than the sale of the Notes under this Agreement).

                  3. Terms of Offering. You have advised the Company that the Placement Agents will make an offering of the Notes purchased by the Placement Agents hereunder on the terms to be set forth in the Final Memorandum and in this Agreement, as soon as practicable after this Agreement is entered into as in your judgment is advisable.

                  4. Payment and Delivery. Payment for the Notes shall be made to the Company in Federal or other funds immediately available in New York City against delivery of such Notes for the respective accounts of the several Placement Agents at 10:00 a.m., New York City time, on June 10, 1998, or at such other time on the same or such other date, not later than June 17, 1998, as shall be designated in writing by you. The time and date of such payment are hereinafter referred to as the "Closing Date".

                  Certificates for the Notes shall be in definitive form or global form, as specified by you, and registered in such names and in such denominations as you shall request in writing not later than one full business day prior to the Closing Date. The certificates evidencing the Notes shall be delivered to you on the Closing Date for the respective accounts of the several Placement Agents, with any transfer taxes payable in connection with the transfer of the Notes to the Placement Agents duly paid, against payment of the Purchase Price therefor plus accrued interest, if any, to the date of payment and delivery.

                  5. Conditions to the Placement Agents' Obligations. The several obligations of the Placement Agents to purchase and pay for the Notes on the Closing Date are subject to the following conditions:

                     (a) Subsequent to the execution and delivery of this
              Agreement and prior to the Closing Date:

                           (i) there shall not have occurred any downgrading,
                  nor shall any notice have been given of any intended or potential downgrading or of any review for a possible change that does not indicate the direction of the possible change, in the rating accorded any of the Company's securities by any "nationally recognized statistical rating organization," as such term is defined for purposes of Rule 436(g)(2) under the Securities Act; and

                           (ii) there shall not have occurred any change, or any
                  development involving a prospective change, in the condition, financial or otherwise, or in the earnings, business or operations of the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, from that set forth in the Final Memorandum (exclusive of any amendments or supplements thereto subsequent to the date of this Agreement) that, in your judgment, is material and adverse and that makes it, in your judgment, impracticable to market the Notes on the terms and in the manner contemplated in the Final Memorandum.

                  (b) The Placement Agents shall have received on the Closing Date a certificate, dated the Closing Date and signed by an executive officer of the Company, to the effect set forth in Section 5(a)(i) and to the effect that the representations and warranties of the Company contained in this Agreement are true and correct as of the Closing Date and the Company has complied with all of the agreements and satisfied all of the conditions on its part to be performed or satisfied hereunder on or before the Closing Date.

                  The officer signing and delivering such certificate may rely upon the best of his or her knowledge as to proceedings threatened.

                  (c) The Placement Agents shall have received on the Closing Date an opinion of Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering, special counsel for the Company, dated the Closing Date, to the effect set forth in Exhibit A. Such opinion shall be rendered to the Placement Agents at the request of the Company and shall so state therein.

                  (d) The Placement Agents shall have received on the Closing Date an opinion of Shearman & Sterling, counsel for the Placement Agents, dated the Closing Date, in form and substance satisfactory to you.

                  (e) The Placement Agents shall have received on the date hereof a letter, dated the date hereof in form and substance satisfactory to the Placement Agents, from Price Waterhouse LLP, independent public accountants, containing statements and information of the type ordinarily included in accountants' "comfort letters" to underwriters with respect to the financial statements and certain financial information contained in or incorporated by reference into the Final Memorandum.

                  (f) The Placement Agents shall have received on the date hereof a letter, dated the date hereof, in form and substance satisfactory to the Placement Agents, from each of KPMG Peat Marwick LLP (Norfolk, VA), Deloitte & Touche LLP (Seattle, WA), Ernst & Young LLP (Milwaukee, WI), Herz, Herson & Company LLP (New York, NY), Rubin, Koehmstedt and Nadler, PLC (Minneapolis, MN) and BDO Seidman (Atlanta,
         GA), independent public accountants, containing statements and information of the type
         ordinarily included in accountants' "comfort letters" to underwriters with respect to the financial statements and certain financial information contained in or incorporated by reference into the Final Memorandum.

                  (g) The Indenture and the Registration Rights Agreement shall have been executed by the parties thereto and shall be in full force and effect on the Closing Date.

                  (h) The Credit Facility shall be in full force and effect on the Closing Date.

                  (i) The closing of each of the Equity Tender Offer, the Distributions and the Equity Investment and the initial borrowings under the Credit Facility shall have occurred or shall occur concurrently with the closing of the sale of the Notes hereunder.

                  (j) The Placement Agents shall have received such other documents and certificates as are reasonably requested by you or your counsel.

                  6. Covenants of the Company. In further consideration of the agreements of the Placement Agents contained in this Agreement, the Company covenants with each Placement Agent as follows:

                  (a) To furnish to you in New York City, without charge, prior to 3:00 p.m. New York City time on the business day next succeeding the date of this Agreement and during the period mentioned in Section 6(c), as many copies of the Final Memorandum, any documents incorporated by reference therein and any supplements and amendments thereto as you may reasonably request.

                  (b) Before amending or supplementing either Memorandum, to furnish to you a copy of each such proposed amendment or supplement and not to use any such proposed amendment or supplement to which you reasonably object.

                  (c) If, during such period after the date hereof and prior to the date on which all of the Notes shall have been sold by the Placement Agents, any event shall occur or condition exist as a result of which it is necessary to amend or supplement the Final Memorandum in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances when the Final Memorandum is delivered to a purchaser, not misleading, or if, in the reasonable opinion of counsel for the Placement Agents, it is necessary to amend or supplement the Final Memorandum to comply with applicable law, forthwith to prepare and furnish, at its own expense, to the Placement Agents, either amendments or supplements to the Final Memorandum so that the statements in the Final Memorandum as so amended or supplemented will not, in the light of the circumstances when the Final

         Memorandum is delivered to a purchaser, be misleading or so that the Final Memorandum, as amended or supplemented, will comply with applicable law.

                  (d) To use its reasonable best efforts to qualify the Notes for offer and sale under the securities or Blue Sky laws of such jurisdictions as you shall reasonably request; provided that the Company shall not be obligated to file any general consent to service of process or to qualify as a foreign corporation or as a dealer in securities in any jurisdiction in which it is not so qualified or to subject itself to taxation in respect of doing business in any jurisdiction in which it is not otherwise so subject.

                  (e) Whether or not the transactions contemplated in this Agreement are consummated or this Agreement is terminated, to pay or cause to be paid all expenses incident to the performance of its obligations under this Agreement, including: (i) the fees, disbursements and expenses of the Company's counsel and the Company's accountants in connection with the issuance and sale of the Notes and all other fees or expenses in connection with the preparation of each Memorandum and all amendments and supplements thereto, including all printing costs associated therewith, and the delivering of copies thereof to the Placement Agents, in the quantities herein above specified, (ii) all costs and expenses related to the transfer and delivery of the Notes to the Placement Agents, including any transfer or other taxes payable thereon, (iii) the reasonable cost of printing or producing any Blue Sky or legal investment memorandum in connection with the offer and sale of the Notes under state securities laws and all expenses in connection with the qualification of the Notes for offer and sale under state securities laws as provided in Section 6(d) hereof, including filing fees and the reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel for the Placement Agents in connection with such qualification and in connection with the Blue Sky or legal investment memorandum, (iv) any fees charged by rating agencies for the rating of the Notes, (v) all document production charges and expenses of counsel to the Placement Agents (but not including their fees for professional services) in connection with the preparation of this Agreement, (vi) the fees and expenses, if any, incurred in connection with the admission of the Notes for trading in PORTAL and for listing on the Luxembourg Stock Exchange, (vii) the costs and charges of the Trustee and any transfer agent, registrar or depositary, (viii) the cost of the preparation, issuance and delivery of the Notes, (ix) the costs and expenses of the Company relating to investor presentations on any "road show" undertaken in connection with the marketing of the offering of the Notes, including, without limitation, expenses associated with the production of road show slides and graphics, fees and expenses of any consultants engaged in connection with the road show presentations with the prior approval of the Company, travel and lodging expenses of the representatives and officers of the Company and any such consultants, and the cost of any aircraft chartered in connection with the road show, and (x) all other costs and expenses incident to the performance of the obligations of the Company hereunder for which provision is not otherwise made in this Section. It is understood, however, that except as provided in this Section, Section 8, and the last paragraph of
         Section 10, the Placement Agents will pay all of their costs and expenses, including fees and disbursements of their counsel, transfer taxes payable on resale of any of the Notes by them and any advertising expenses connected with any offers they may make.

                  (f) Neither the Company nor any Affiliate will sell, offer for sale or solicit offers to buy or otherwise negotiate in respect of any security (as defined in the Securities Act) which could be integrated with the sale of the Notes in a manner which would require the registration under the Securities Act of the Notes.

                  (g) Not to solicit any offer to buy or offer to sell the Notes by means of any form of general solicitation or general advertising (as those terms are used in Regulation D under the Securities Act) or in any manner involving a public offering within the meaning of Section 4(2) of the Securities Act.

                  (h) While any of the Notes remain "restricted securities" within the meaning of the Securities Act, to make available, upon request, to any seller of the Notes the information specified in Rule 144A(d)(4) under the Securities Act, unless the Company is then subject to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act.

                  (i) If requested by you, to use its reasonable best efforts to permit the Notes to be designated PORTAL securities in accordance with the rules and regulations adopted by the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. relating to trading in the PORTAL Market.

                  (j) None of the Company, its Affiliates or any person acting on its or their behalf (other than the Placement Agents) will engage in any directed selling efforts (as that term is defined in Regulation S) with respect to the Notes, and the Company and its Affiliates and each person acting on its or their behalf (other than the Placement Agents) will comply with the offering restrictions requirement of Regulation S.

                  (k) During the period of two years after the Closing Date, the Company will not, will not permit any of its subsidiaries to, and will use its reasonable best efforts to cause its affiliates (as defined in Rule 144 under the Securities Act) to not, resell any of the Notes which constitute "restricted securities" under Rule 144 that have been reacquired by any of them.

                  (l) To use its reasonable best efforts to obtain as soon as practicable after the Closing Date and maintain the listing of the Notes on the Luxembourg Stock Exchange for as long as any of the Notes are outstanding, and to supply all documents, information
         and undertakings and publish all advertisements or other material as may be necessary or advisable for such purpose.

                  7. Offering of Securities; Restrictions on Transfer. (a) Each Placement Agent, severally and not jointly, represents and warrants that such Placement Agent is a qualified institutional buyer as defined in Rule 144A under the Securities Act (a "QIB"). Each Placement Agent, severally and not jointly, agrees with the Company that (i) it will not solicit offers for, or offer or sell, such Notes by any form of general solicitation or general advertising (as those terms are used in Regulation D under the Securities Act) or in any manner involving a public offering within the meaning of Section 4(2) of the Securities Act and (ii) it will solicit offers for such Notes only from, and will offer such Notes only to, persons that it reasonably believes to be (A) in the case of offers inside the United States, (1) QIBs or (2) other institutional accredited investors (as defined in Rule 501(a)(1), (2), (3) or (7) under the Securities Act ("institutional accredited investors") that, prior to their purchase of the Securities, deliver to such Placement Agent a letter containing the representations and agreements set forth in Appendix A to the Memorandum and (B) in the case of offers outside the United States, to persons other than U.S. persons ("foreign purchasers", which term shall include dealers or other professional fiduciaries in the United States acting on a discretionary basis for foreign beneficial owners (other than an estate or trust)) in reliance upon Regulation S under the Securities Act that, in each case, in purchasing such Notes are deemed to have represented and agreed as provided in the Final Memorandum under the caption "Transfer Restrictions".

                  (b) Each Placement Agent, severally and not jointly, represents, warrants, and agrees with respect to offers and sales outside the United States that:

                  (i) such Placement Agent understands that no action has been or will be taken in any jurisdiction by the Company that would permit a public offering of the Notes, or possession or distribution of either Memorandum or any other offering or publicity material relating to the Notes, in any country or jurisdiction where action for that purpose is required;

                  (ii) such Placement Agent will comply with all applicable laws and regulations in each jurisdiction in which it acquires, offers, sells or delivers Notes or has in its possession or distributes either Memorandum or any such other material, in all cases at its own expense;

                  (iii) the Notes have not been registered under the Securities Act and may not be offered or sold within the United States or to, or for the account or benefit of, U.S. persons except in accordance with Rule 144A or Regulation S under the Securities Act or pursuant to another exemption from the registration requirements of the Securities Act;

                  (iv) such Placement Agent has offered the Notes and will offer and sell the Notes (A) as part of its distribution at any time and (B) otherwise until 40 days after the later of the commencement of the offering and the Closing Date, only in accordance with Rule 903 of Regulation S or as otherwise permitted in Section 7(a); accordingly, neither such Placement Agent, its Affiliates nor any persons acting on its or their behalf have engaged or will engage in any directed selling efforts (within the meaning of Regulation S) with respect to the Securities, and any such Placement Agent, its Affiliates and any such persons have complied and will comply with the offering restrictions requirement of Regulation S;

                 (v) such Placement Agent has (A) not offered or sold and, prior to the date six months after the Closing Date, will not offer or sell any Notes to persons in the United Kingdom except to persons whose ordinary activities involve them in acquiring, holding, managing or disposing of investments (as principal or agent) for the purposes of their businesses or otherwise in circumstances which have not resulted and will not result in an offer to the public in the United Kingdom within the meaning of the Public Offers of Securities Regulations
         1995; (B) complied and will comply with all applicable provisions of the Financial Services Act 1986 with respect to anything done by it in relation to the Notes in, from or otherwise involving the United Kingdom, and (C) only issued or passed on and will only issue or pass on in the United Kingdom any document received by it in connection
         with the issue of the Notes to a person who is of a kind described in
         Article 11(3) of the Financial Services Act 1986 (Investment Advertisements) (Exemptions) Order 1996 (as amended) or is a person to whom such document may otherwise lawfully be issued or passed on;

                  (vi) such Placement Agent understands that the Notes have not been and will not be registered under the Securities and Exchange Law of Japan, and represents that it has not offered or sold, and agrees not to offer or sell, directly or indirectly, any Notes in Japan or for the account of any resident thereof except pursuant to any exemption from the registration requirements of the Securities and Exchange Law of Japan and otherwise in compliance with applicable provisions of Japanese law; and

                  (vii) such Placement Agent agrees that, at or prior to confirmation of sales of the Notes, it will have sent to each distributor, dealer or person receiving a selling concession, fee or other remuneration that purchases Notes from it during the restricted period a confirmation or notice to substantially the following effect:

                  "The Notes covered hereby have not been registered under the U.S. Securities Act of 1933 (the "Securities Act") and may not be offered and sold within the United States or to, or for the account or benefit of, U.S. persons (i) as part of their distribution at any time or (ii) otherwise until 40 days after the later of the commencement of the offering
         and the closing date, except in either case in accordance with Regulation S (or Rule 144A if available) under the Securities Act. Terms used above have the meaning given to them by Regulation S."

                  Terms used in this Section 7(b) have the meanings given to them by Regulation S.

                  8. Indemnity and Contribution. (a) The Company agrees to indemnify and hold harmless each Placement Agent and each person, if any, who controls any Placement Agent within the meaning of either Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act from and against any and all losses, claims, damages and liabilities (including, without limitation, any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred in connection with defending or investigating any such action or claim) caused by any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in either Memorandum (as amended or supplemented if the Company shall have furnished any amendments or supplements thereto), or caused by any omission or alleged omission to state therein a material fact necessary to make the statements therein in the light of the circumstances under which they were made not misleading, except insofar as such losses, claims, damages or liabilities are caused by any such untrue statement or omission or alleged untrue statement or omission based upon information relating to any Placement Agent furnished to the Company in writing by such Placement Agent through you expressly for use therein; provided, however, that the foregoing indemnity agreement with respect to any Preliminary Memorandum shall not inure to the benefit of any Placement Agent from whom the person asserting any such losses, claims, damages or liabilities purchased Notes, or any person controlling such Placement Agent, if it is established that a copy of the Memorandum (as then amended or supplemented if the Company shall have furnished any amendments or supplements thereto) was not sent or given by or on behalf of such Placement Agent to such person at or prior to the written confirmation of the sale of the Notes to such person, and if the Memorandum (as so amended or supplemented) would have cured the defect giving rise to such losses, claims, damages or liabilities, unless such failure is the result of noncompliance by the Company with Section 6(a) hereof.

                  (b) Each Placement Agent agrees, severally and not jointly, to indemnify and hold harmless the Company, its directors, its officers and each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of either Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act to the same extent as the foregoing indemnity from the Company to such Placement Agent, but only with reference to information relating to such Placement Agent furnished to the Company in writing by such Placement Agent through you expressly for use in either Memorandum or any amendments or supplements thereto.

                  (c) In case any proceeding (including any governmental investigation) shall be instituted involving any person in respect of which indemnity may be sought pursuant to Section 8(a) or 8(b), such person (the "indemnified party") shall promptly notify the person
against whom such indemnity may be sought (the "indemnifying party") in writing and the indemnifying party, upon request of the indemnified party, shall retain counsel reasonably satisfactory to the indemnified party to represent the indemnified party and any others the indemnifying party may designate in such proceeding and shall pay the reasonable fees and disbursements of such counsel related to such proceeding. In any such proceeding, any indemnified party shall have the right to retain its own counsel, but the fees and expenses of such counsel shall be at the expense of such indemnified party unless (i) the indemnifying party and the indemnified party shall have mutually agreed to the retention of such counsel or (ii) the named parties to any such proceeding (including any impleaded parties) include both the indemnifying party and the indemnified party and representation of both parties by the same counsel would be inappropriate due to actual or potential differing interests between them. It is understood that the indemnifying party shall not, in respect of the legal expenses of any indemnified party in connection with any proceeding or related proceedings in the same jurisdiction, be liable for the fees and expenses of more than one separate firm (in addition to any local counsel) for all such indemnified parties and that all such fees and expenses shall be reimbursed as they are incurred. Such firm shall be designated in writing by Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated, in the case of parties indemnified pursuant to Section 8(a), and by the Company, in the case of parties indemnified pursuant to Section 8(b). The indemnifying party shall not be liable for any settlement of any proceeding effected without its written consent, but if settled with such consent or if there be a final judgment for the plaintiff, the indemnifying party agrees to indemnify the indemnified party from and against any loss or liability by reason of such settlement or judgment. Notwithstanding the foregoing sentence, if at any time an indemnified party shall have requested an indemnifying party to reimburse the indemnified party for fees and expenses of counsel as contemplated by the second and third sentences of this paragraph, the indemnifying party agrees that it shall be liable for any settlement of any proceeding effected without its written consent if (i) such settlement is entered into more than 60 days after receipt by such indemnifying party of the aforesaid request, (ii) such indemnifying party shall have received notice of the terms of such settlement at least 30 days prior to such settlement being enter into and (iii) such indemnifying party shall not have reimbursed the indemnified party in accordance with such request prior to the date of such settlement. Notwithstanding the immediately preceding sentence, if at any time an indemnified party shall have requested an indemnifying party to reimburse the indemnified party for fees and expenses of counsel, an indemnifying party shall not be liable for any settlement effected without its consent if such indemnifying party (i) reimburses such indemnified party in accordance with such request to the extent it considers such request to be reasonable and (ii) provides written notice to the indemnified party substantiating the unpaid balance as unreasonable, in each case prior to the date of such settlement. No indemnifying party shall, without the prior written consent of the indemnified party, effect any settlement of any pending or threatened proceeding in respect of which any indemnified party is or could have been a party and indemnity could have been sought hereunder by such indemnified party, unless such settlement includes an unconditional release of such indemnified party from all liability on claims that are the subject matter of such proceeding.

                  (d) To the extent the indemnification provided for in Section 8(a) or 8(b) is unavailable to an indemnified party or insufficient in respect of any losses, claims, damages or liabilities referred to therein, then each indemnifying party under such paragraph, in lieu of indemnifying such indemnified party thereunder, shall contribute to the amount paid or payable by such indemnified party as a result of such losses, claims, damages or liabilities (i) in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Placement Agents on the other hand from the offering of the Notes or (ii) if the allocation provided by clause 8(d)(i) above is not permitted by applicable law, in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect not only the relative benefits referred to in clause 8(d)(i) above but also the relative fault of the Company on the one hand and of the Placement Agents on the other hand in connection with the statements or omissions that resulted in such losses, claims, damages or liabilities, as well as any other relevant equitable considerations. The relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Placement Agents on the other hand in connection with the offering of the Notes shall be deemed to be in the same respective proportions as the net proceeds from the offering of the Notes (before deducting expenses) received by the Company and the total discounts and commissions received by the Placement Agents in respect thereof, bear to the aggregate offering price of the Notes. The relative fault of the Company on the one hand and of the Placement Agents on the other hand shall be determined by reference to, among other things, whether the untrue or alleged untrue statement of a material fact or the omission or alleged omission to state a material fact relates to information supplied by the Company or by the Placement Agents and the parties' relative intent, knowledge, access to information and opportunity to correct or prevent such statement or omission. The Placement Agents' respective obligations to contribute pursuant to this Section 8 are several in proportion to the respective principal amount of Notes they have purchased hereunder, and not joint.

                  (e) The Company and the Placement Agents agree that it would not be just or equitable if contribution pursuant to this Section 8 were determined by pro rata allocation (even if the Placement Agents were treated as one entity for such purpose) or by any other method of allocation that does not take account of the equitable considerations referred to in Section 8(d). The amount paid or payable by an indemnified party as a result of the losses, claims, damages and liabilities referred to in Section 8(d) shall be deemed to include, subject to the limitations set forth above, any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such indemnified party in connection with investigating or defending any such action or claim. Notwithstanding the provisions of this
Section 8, no Placement Agent shall be required to contribute any amount in excess of the amount by which the total price at which the Notes resold by it in the initial placement of such Notes were offered to investors exceeds the amount of any damages that such Placement Agent has otherwise been required to pay by reason of such untrue or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission. No person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the Securities Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. The remedies provided for
in this Section 8 are not exclusive and shall not limit any rights or remedies which may otherwise be available to any indemnified party at law or in equity.

                  (f) The indemnity and contribution provisions contained in this Section 8 and the representations, warranties and other statements of the Company contained in this Agreement shall remain operative and in full force and effect regardless of (i) any termination of this Agreement, (ii) any investigation made by or on behalf of any Placement Agent or any person controlling any Placement Agent or by or on behalf of the Company, its officers or directors or any person controlling the Company and (iii) acceptance of and payment for any of the Securities.

                  9. Termination. This Agreement shall be subject to termination by notice given by you to the Company, if (a) after the execution and delivery of this Agreement and prior to the Closing Date (i) trading generally shall have been suspended or materially limited on or by, as the case may be, any of the New York Stock Exchange, the American Stock Exchange, the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc., the Chicago Board of Options Exchange, the Chicago Mercantile Exchange or the Chicago Board of Trade, (ii) trading of any securities of the Company shall have been suspended on any exchange or in any over-the-counter market, (iii) a general moratorium on commercial banking activities in New York shall have been declared by either Federal or New York State authorities or (iv) there shall have occurred any outbreak or escalation of hostilities or any change in financial markets or any calamity or crisis that, in your judgment, is material and adverse and (b) in the case of any of the events specified in clauses 9(a)(i) through 9(a)(iv), such event, singly or together with any other such event, makes it, in your judgment, impracticable to market the Notes on the terms and in the manner contemplated in the Final Memorandum.

                  10. Effectiveness; Defaulting Placement Agents. This Agreement shall become effective upon the execution and delivery hereof by the parties hereto.

                  If, on the Closing Date, any one or more of the Placement Agents shall fail or refuse to purchase Notes that it or they have agreed to purchase hereunder on such date, and the aggregate principal amount of Notes which such defaulting Placement Agent or Placement Agents agreed but failed or refused to purchase is not more than one-tenth of the aggregate principal amount of Notes to be purchased on such date, the other Placement Agents shall be obligated severally in the proportions that the principal amount of Notes set forth opposite their respective names in Schedule I bears to the aggregate principal amount of Notes set forth opposite the names of all such non-defaulting Placement Agents, or in such other proportions as you may specify, to purchase the Notes which such defaulting Placement Agent or Placement Agents agreed but failed or refused to purchase on such date; provided that in no event shall the principal amount of Notes that any Placement Agent has agreed to purchase pursuant to this Agreement be increased pursuant to this
Section 10 by an amount in excess of one-ninth of such
principal amount of Notes without the written consent of such Placement Agent. If, on the Closing Date any Placement Agent or Placement Agents shall fail or refuse to purchase Notes which it or they have agreed to purchase hereunder on such date and the aggregate principal amount of Notes with respect to which such default occurs is more than one-tenth of the aggregate principal amount of Notes to be purchased on such date, and arrangements satisfactory to you and the Company for the purchase of such Notes are not made within 36 hours after such default, this Agreement shall terminate without liability on the part of any non-defaulting Placement Agent or of the Company. In any such case either you or the Company shall have the right to postpone the Closing Date, but in no event for longer than seven days, in order that the required changes, if any, in the Final Memorandum or in any other documents or arrangements may be effected. Any action taken under this paragraph shall not relieve any defaulting Placement Agent from liability in respect of any default of such Placement Agent under this Agreement.

                  If this Agreement shall be terminated by the Placement Agents, or any of them, because of any failure or refusal on the part of the Company to comply with the terms or to fulfill any of the conditions of this Agreement, or if for any reason the Company shall be unable to perform its obligations under this Agreement, the Company will reimburse the Placement Agents or such Placement Agents as have so terminated this Agreement with respect to themselves, severally, for all out-of-pocket expenses (including the reasonable fees and disbursements of their counsel) reasonably incurred by such Placement Agents in connection with this Agreement or the offering contemplated hereunder.

                  11. Notices. All notices and other communications under this Agreement shall be in writing and mailed, delivered or sent by facsimile transmission to: if sent to the Placement Agents, Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated, 1585 Broadway, New York, New York 10036, attention: High Yield New Issues Group, facsimile number (212) 761-0587 and if sent to the Company, to 1025 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 600 East, Washington, D.C. 20007,
Attention: Mark Director, facsimile number (202) 339-6733.

                  12. Counterparts. This Agreement may be signed in any number of counterparts, each of which shall be an original, with the same effect as if the signatures thereto and hereto were upon the same instrument.

                  13. Applicable Law. This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of New York.

                  14. Headings. The headings of the sections of this Agreement have been inserted for convenience of reference only and shall not be deemed a part of this Agreement.

                                        Very truly yours,

                                        U.S. OFFICE PRODUCTS COMPANY

                                        By:
                                           -----------------------------------
                                              Name:
                                              Title:

Accepted as of the date hereof

MORGAN STANLEY & CO. INCORPORATED
MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH INCORPORATED
BT ALEX. BROWN INCORPORATED
CHASE SECURITIES INC.

By:  Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated

By:
   -----------------------------------
      Name:
      Title:

                                                                      SCHEDULE I




                                                    Principal Amount of Notes
                  Placement Agent                        to be Purchased
                  ---------------                   -------------------------


Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated                              $140,000,000

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith
Incorporated                                                   $140,000,000

BT Alex. Brown Incorporated                                    $ 60,000,000

Chase Securities Inc.                                          $ 60,000,000
                                                               ------------

Total:.........................................                $400,000,000
                                                               ------------
                                                               ------------

                                       A-1
                                                                       EXHIBIT A



                       OPINION OF COUNSEL FOR THE COMPANY