                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Company Contact:                                 Contact:
Hal Worsham                                      Gene Marbach or Alan Katz
Senior Vice President                            Investor Relations
Everlast Worldwide Inc.                          Makovsky & Company Inc.
212-239-0990                                     212-508-9600

     EVERLAST WORLDWIDE INC. ANNOUNCES THE SIGNING OF THE LARGEST LICENSING
                     AGREEMENT IN COMPANY'S 94 YEAR HISTORY

       COMPANY LICENSES US WOMEN'S APPAREL CATEGORY TO JACQUES MORET, INC.

   5 YEAR LICENSE AGREEMENT PROVIDES FOR MINIMUM ROYALTY GUARANTEE PAYMENTS OF
  $12.5 MILLION WITH A LONG TERM OPTION IN 2009 FOR AN ADDITIONAL $30 MILLION

     NEW YORK, New York, December 17, 2004 -- Everlast(R) Worldwide Inc.
(Nasdaq: EVST), manufacturer, marketer and licensor of sporting goods and
apparel under the Everlast brand name, today announced the signing of its
largest license agreement to date with Jacques Moret, Inc. of New York City. As
of January 1, 2005, this new agreement grants Moret, a major supplier to the US
women's apparel market, a license for Everlast women's apparel in the United
States.

     Under the terms of the five-year agreement, Jacques Moret, Inc. will pay
approximately $12.5 million in minimum guarantees to Everlast, noting that
strong potential royalty earnings in excess of this amount are possible. At the
end of this initial five-year term, Moret has the option to sign a ninety-nine
year license for women's apparel rights for approximately $30 million.
Additionally, Moret will assume and pay for all women's apparel inventory
purchased by Everlast, future advertisements previously placed by the company
and other transitional costs associated with the women's business.

     George Horowitz, chairman, CEO, and president of Everlast said, "Everlast
has achieved tremendous success from operating its own women's apparel business.
We came to the conclusion that the brand would greatly benefit from licensing
the women's apparel category to Jacques Moret, Inc., one of the industry's
leading suppliers. As a result of this agreement, the women's line will benefit
from Moret's abilities for sourcing due to economies of scale. In addition, this
agreement with Moret will result in expanded distribution opportunities that are

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available to large apparel companies such as Moret. We are quite familiar with
the management of Moret and their strengths, as we granted our Canadian women's
apparel license to them earlier this year. This helped to make the decision to
grant this license for US women's apparel an easy one."

     Horowitz continued, "Distribution levels of Everlast women's apparel will
remain unchanged and will continue to be focused on department and specialty
stores, mid-tier stores as well as sporting goods retailers. Further, this new
US women's apparel license complements our licensing agreement with FuDa for US
women's outerwear and wind wear. Also, our license with the famous Parisian
designer and apparel retailer, agnes b, will continue to have its US stores
supplied with our goods from Europe."

     In order to facilitate a smooth transition and continued Everlast growth,
Jacques Moret, Inc. has agreed to hire key sales, merchandising, and operating
personnel previously employed by Everlast's women's apparel division. Orders
already placed with Everlast for spring and summer women's apparel will be fully
shipped in joint efforts between Everlast and Jacques Moret, Inc. during the
transition period. Customer satisfaction and avoidance of disruptions will be a
top priority for both companies.

     Joey Harary, president of Jacques Moret, Inc. stated," We are extremely
excited with our relationship with Everlast. We have every belief that we will
be able to put the resources behind Everlast women's apparel that will result in
a significant expansion of shelf-space and an increase in Everlast's brand
equity."

     He continued, "Over the past four years, the management of Everlast
Worldwide has taken the brand to new heights of consumer awareness through
innovative marketing and merchandising programs. Their ability to execute one
major brand exposure campaign after the other, through product placement in the
critically-acclaimed movie Million Dollar Baby to the anticipated unscripted
drama, The Contender, produced by Mark Burnett Productions and DreamWorks, has
quite frankly amazed us."

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     George Horowitz concluded by stating, "Licensing women's apparel to Jacques
Moret will allow Everlast management to focus its talents and efforts on our US
men's apparel, professional and retail boxing equipment and worldwide licensing
businesses, which have achieved double digit growth rates during 2004. In
addition, by streamlining our apparel businesses, we believe we will be able to
identify and execute even more cost containment initiatives that will start to
benefit Everlast's operating results, commencing in 2005."

ABOUT EVERLAST WORLDWIDE INC.

     Everlast Worldwide Inc. manufactures markets and licenses sporting goods
and apparel products under the Everlast brand name. Since 1910, Everlast has
been the preeminent brand in the world of boxing and is among the most dominant
brands in the overall sporting goods and apparel industries. Over the past 90
years, Everlast products have become the "Choice of Champions(TM)", having been
used for training and professional fights by many of the biggest names in the
sport. Everlast is the market leader in nearly all of its product categories,
responsible for leading eight of the top ten boxing equipment products in sales.
Through its apparel division, Everlast men's and women's active wear products
are sold to over 20,000 retail locations throughout the United States and
Canada, including a variety of department stores, specialty stores, catalog
operations and better mass merchandisers. In addition to producing and marketing
the equipment and accessories, Everlast Worldwide Inc. licenses its brand to
providers of men's and women's sportswear and active wear, children's wear,
footwear, watches, cardiovascular exercise equipment and gym/duffel bags. At the
retail level, Everlast's licensed products generate over $600 million in
revenues. The company's Web site can be found at HTTP://WWW.EVERLAST.COM.

ABOUT JACQUES MORET, INC.

     Jacques Moret, Inc. manufactures activewear, bodywear and intimates under
its brand names, Jacques Moret, MoretUltra Activewear and 2(X)ist men's
underwear. In addition Jacques Moret, Inc. is an activewear licensee and is the
leading replenishment supplier of both branded and private label activewear in
department stores, mass merchandisers and sporting goods chains nationwide. The
company's Web sites can be found at www.moret.com or www.2xist.com.

     Statements made in this Press Release that are estimates of past or future
performance are based on a number of factors, some of which are outside of the
Company's control. Statements made in this Press Release that state the
intentions, beliefs, expectations or predictions of Everlast Worldwide, Inc. and
its management for the future are forward-looking statements. It is important to
note that actual results could differ materially from those projected in such
forward-looking statements. Information concerning factors that could cause
actual results to differ materially from those in forward-looking statements is
contained from time to time in filings of Everlast Worldwide with the U.S.
Securities and Exchange Commission. Copies of these filings may be obtained by
contacting Everlast Worldwide or the SEC.

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