EXHIBIT 1.1

EXECUTION COPY

$900,000,000

Washington Mutual, Inc.

$500 million Floating Rate Notes due 2009

$400 million 5.50% Notes due 2011

UNDERWRITING AGREEMENT

August 21, 2006

MORGAN STANLEY & CO. INCORPORATED

GOLDMAN, SACHS & CO.

As Representatives of the several Underwriters

c/o MORGAN STANLEY & CO. INCORPORATED
1585 Broadway
New York, NY 10036

Ladies and Gentlemen:

1. Introductory. Washington Mutual, Inc., a Washington corporation (the “Company”), proposes to issue and sell (i) $500,000,000 principal amount of its Floating Rate Notes due 2009 (the “Floating Rate Notes”) and (ii) $400,000,000 principal amount of its 5.50% Notes due 2011 (the “5.50% Notes” and, together with the Floating Rate Notes, (the “Offered Securities”) to be issued under an indenture, dated as of August 10, 1999 (as supplemented by a first supplemental indenture dated August 1, 2002 and a second supplemental indenture dated as of November 20, 2002, the “Indenture”), between the Company and The Bank of New York, as trustee (the “Trustee”). The Company hereby agrees with the several Underwriters named in Schedule A hereto (the “Underwriters”) as follows:

2. Representations and Warranties of the Company. The Company represents and warrants to, and agrees with, the several Underwriters that:

(a)  The Company has prepared and filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “Commission”) a registration statement (No. 333-130929) on Form S-3 under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Act”), relating, among other things, to the Offered Securities. Such registration statement, including any amendments thereto filed prior to the Execution Time, became effective upon filing and meets the requirements set forth in Rule 415(a)(1)(x) under the Act. Such registration statement, including documents, exhibits and financial statements incorporated by reference therein, as amended as of the date and time that this Agreement is executed and delivered (the “Execution Time”) and, in the event any post-effective amendment thereto becomes effective prior to the Closing Date, at the date and time it became effective, is

hereinafter referred to as the “Registration Statement”. Each date and time on which the Registration Statement and any post-effective amendment or amendments thereto become or becomes effective is herein referred to as an “Effective Date”. The Registration Statement contains a base prospectus in the form in which it has most recently been filed with the Commission on or prior to the date of this Agreement (the “Base Prospectus”), to be used in connection with the public offering and sale of the Offered Securities. Any preliminary prospectus supplement to the Base Prospectus that describes the Offered Securities and the offering thereof and which is used prior to the filing of the Final Prospectus, together with the Base Prospectus, is hereinafter referred to as the “Preliminary Prospectus”. The Base Prospectus together with the prospectus supplement relating to the Offered Securities that was first filed with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b) under the Act after the Execution Time is hereinafter referred to as the “Final Prospectus”. No document has been or will be prepared or distributed in reliance on Rule 434 under the Act. Any reference herein to the Registration Statement, the Base Prospectus, the Preliminary Prospectus or the Final Prospectus shall be deemed to refer to and include the documents incorporated by reference therein pursuant to Item 12 of Form S-3 which were filed under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”) on or before the Effective Date or the issue date of the Base Prospectus, the Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus, as the case may be.

(b)  On each Effective Date, the Registration Statement did, and when the Final Prospectus is first filed in accordance with Rule 424(b) under the Act and on the Closing Date (as defined in Section 3 of this Agreement), the Final Prospectus (and any amendment or supplement thereto) will, comply in all material respects with the requirements of the Act, the Trust Indenture Act of 1939 (the “Trust Indenture Act”) and the rules and regulations of the Commission (the “Rules and Regulations”); on each Effective Date and at the Execution Time, the Registration Statement did not and will not include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading; on each Effective Date and on the Closing Date, the Indenture did or will comply in all material respects with the requirements of the Trust Indenture Act and the Rules and Regulations; the Preliminary Prospectus, as of its date, did not, and, on the date of any filing pursuant to Rule 424(b) under the Act and on the Closing Date, the Final Prospectus (together with any amendment or supplement thereto) will not include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, except that the foregoing does not apply to statements in or omissions from any of such documents based upon written information furnished to the Company by any Underwriter through the Representatives, if any, specifically for use therein, it being understood and agreed that the only such information furnished by any Underwriter consists of the information described as such in Section 7(b) hereof.

(c) The Disclosure Package (as defined below), at the date and time of the first sale of the Offered Securities (the “Initial Sale Time”), when taken together as a whole, does not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. The preceding sentence does not apply to statements in or omissions from the Disclosure Package based upon and in conformity with written information furnished to the Company by any Underwriter through the Representatives, if any, specifically for use therein, it being understood and agreed that the only such information furnished by any Underwriter consists of the information described as such in Section 7(b) hereof. The (i) Base Prospectus, as amended as of the Execution Time, (ii) Preliminary Prospectus used most recently prior to the Execution Time, (iii) issuer free

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writing prospectuses as defined in Rule 433 under the Act (each an “Issuer Free Writing Prospectus”), if any, identified on Schedule B hereto, and (iv) any other free writing prospectus as defined in Rule 405 under the Act (each a “Free Writing Prospectus”) that the parties hereto shall hereafter expressly agree in writing to treat as part of the disclosure information package, are hereinafter referred to as the “Disclosure Package”.

(d)(i) At the time of filing the Registration Statement, (ii) at the time of the most recent amendment thereto for the purposes of complying with Section 10(a)(3) of the Act (whether such amendment was by post-effective amendment, incorporated report filed pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act or form of prospectus), (iii) at the time the Company or any person acting on its behalf (within the meaning, for this clause only, of Rule 163(c) under the Act) made any offer relating to the Offered Securities in reliance on the exemption of Rule 163 under the Act, and (iv) at the Execution Time (with such date being used as the determination date for purposes of this clause (iv)), the Company was and is a “well-known seasoned issuer” as defined in Rule 405 of the Act. The Company agrees to pay the required Commission filing fees relating to the Offered Securities within the time required by Rule 456(b)(1) of the Act without regard to the proviso therein and otherwise in accordance with Rules 456(b) and 457(r) of the Act.

(e)(i) At the earliest time after the filing of the Registration Statement that the Company or another offering participant made a bona fide offer (within the meaning of Rule 164(h)(2) under the Act) of the Offered Securities and (ii) as of the Execution Time (with such date being used as the determination date for purposes of this clause (ii)), the Company was not and is not an “ineligible issuer” (as defined in Rule 405 of the Act), without taking account of any determination by the Commission pursuant to Rule 405 of the Act that it is not necessary that the Company be considered an “ineligible issuer”.

(f) Each Issuer Free Writing Prospectus does not include any information that conflicts with the information contained in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus, including any document incorporated by reference therein and any prospectus supplement deemed to be a part thereof that has not been superseded or modified. Each Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, as supplemented by and taken together with the Disclosure Package as of the Initial Time of Sale, did not include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. The foregoing sentence does not apply to statements in or omissions from any of such documents based upon written information furnished to the Company by any Underwriter through the Representatives, if any, specifically for use therein, it being understood and agreed that the only such information furnished by any Underwriter consists of the information described as such in Section 7(b) hereof.

(g) The Company has been duly incorporated and is an existing corporation under the laws of the State of Washington, with corporate power and authority to own its properties and conduct its business as described in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus; and the Company is duly qualified to do business as a foreign corporation in good standing in all other jurisdictions in which its ownership or lease of property or the conduct of its business requires such qualification, except for such failure to qualify which would not, individually or in the aggregate, have a material adverse effect on the condition (financial or other), business, properties or results of operations of the Company and its subsidiaries taken as a whole (a “Material Adverse Effect”).

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(h) Each of Washington Mutual Bank, Washington Mutual Bank fsb and New American Capital, Inc. (each, a “Significant Subsidiary” and collectively, the “Significant Subsidiaries”) has been duly incorporated and is a validly existing corporation or depository institution in good standing under the laws of the jurisdiction of its incorporation, with power and authority (corporate and other) to own its properties and conduct its business as described in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus; and each Significant Subsidiary is duly qualified to do business as a foreign corporation in good standing in all other jurisdictions in which its ownership or lease of property or the conduct of its business requires such qualification, except for such failure to qualify which would not, individually or in the aggregate, have a Material Adverse Effect; the Company has an authorized capitalization as set forth in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus; all of the issued and outstanding capital stock of each Significant Subsidiary has been duly authorized and validly issued and is fully paid and nonassessable; and the capital stock of each Significant Subsidiary is owned by the Company, directly or through subsidiaries, free from liens, encumbrances and defects.

(i) The Company has been duly registered as a savings and loan holding company under the applicable provisions of the Home Owners’ Loan Act; the Company and each of its subsidiaries are in compliance in all material respects with all laws administered by and regulations of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (“FDIC”), the Office of Thrift Supervision and any other federal or state bank regulatory authority (the “Bank Regulatory Authorities”) with jurisdiction over the Company or any of its subsidiaries, other than where such failures to comply would not, individually or in the aggregate, have a Material Adverse Effect; and neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is a party to any written agreement or memorandum of understanding with, or a party to any commitment letter or similar undertaking to, or is subject to any order or directive by, or is a recipient of any extraordinary supervisory letter from, or has adopted any board resolutions at the request of, any Bank Regulatory Authority which restricts materially the conduct of its business, or in any manner relates to its capital adequacy, its credit policies or its management, nor have any of them been advised by any Bank Regulatory Authority that it is contemplating issuing or requesting (or is considering the appropriateness of issuing or requesting) any such order, decree, agreement, memorandum of understanding, extraordinary supervisory letter, commitment letter or similar submission, or any such board resolutions.

(j) The Indenture has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company and has been duly qualified under the Trust Indenture Act with respect to the Offered Securities registered thereby; the Offered Securities have been duly authorized; and when the Offered Securities are delivered and paid for pursuant to this Agreement on the Closing Date (as defined below), such Offered Securities will have been duly executed, authenticated, issued and delivered and will conform to the description thereof contained in the Disclosure Package, the Final Prospectus and the Indenture and such Offered Securities will constitute valid and legally binding obligations of the Company, enforceable in accordance with their terms, subject to bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws of general applicability relating to or affecting creditors’ rights and to general equity principles.

(k) No consent, approval, authorization, or order of, or filing with, any governmental agency or body or any court is required for the consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement in connection with the issuance and sale of the Offered Securities by the Company, except such as have been obtained and made under the Act and the Trust Indenture Act and such as may be required under state securities laws.

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(l) The execution, delivery and performance of the Indenture and this Agreement, and the issuance and sale of the Offered Securities and compliance with the terms and provisions thereof will not result in a breach or violation of any of the terms and provisions of, or constitute a default under, (i) any statute, any rule, regulation or order of any governmental agency or body or any court, domestic or foreign, having jurisdiction over the Company or any Significant Subsidiary or any of their properties, (ii) any agreement or instrument to which the Company or any Significant Subsidiary is a party or by which the Company or any Significant Subsidiary is bound or to which any of the properties of the Company or any Significant Subsidiary is subject, except for such breach, violation or default which would not individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect, or (iii) the chartering document or by-laws of the Company or any Significant Subsidiary; and the Company has full power and authority to authorize, issue and sell the Offered Securities as contemplated by this Agreement.

(m) This Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company.

(n) Except as disclosed in the Disclosure Package or the Final Prospectus and except for such failure that would not individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect, the Company and its subsidiaries have good and marketable title to all real properties and all other properties and assets owned by them, in each case free from liens, encumbrances and defects that would affect the value thereof or interfere with the use made or to be made thereof by them; and except as disclosed in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus and except for such failure that would not individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect, the Company and its subsidiaries hold all leased real or personal property under valid and enforceable leases with no exceptions that would interfere with the use made or to be made thereof by them.

(o) The conditions for use of Form S-3, as set forth in the General Instructions thereto, have been satisfied.

(p) The Company and its subsidiaries possess adequate certificates, authorities or permits issued by appropriate governmental agencies or bodies necessary to conduct the business now operated by them, except where the failure to so possess would not individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect, and have not received any notice of proceedings relating to the revocation or modification of any such certificate, authority or permit that, if determined adversely to the Company or any of its subsidiaries, would individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect.

(q) No labor dispute with the employees of the Company or any Significant Subsidiary exists or, to the knowledge of the Company, is imminent that might individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect.

(r) Except as disclosed in the Disclosure Package or the Final Prospectus, there are no pending actions, suits or proceedings against or affecting the Company, any of its subsidiaries or any of their respective properties that, if determined adversely to the Company or any of its subsidiaries, would individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect, or would materially and adversely affect the ability of the Company to perform its obligations under the Indenture or this Agreement, or which are otherwise material in the context of the sale of the Offered Securities; and no such actions, suits or proceedings are threatened or, to the Company’s knowledge, contemplated.

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(s) The financial statements (including the related notes and supporting schedules) included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries as of the dates shown and their results of operations and cash flows for the periods shown in such financial statements, and, except as otherwise disclosed in the Disclosure Package or the Final Prospectus, such financial statements have been prepared in conformity with the generally accepted accounting principles in the United States applied on a consistent basis.

(t) Except as disclosed in the Disclosure Package or the Final Prospectus, since the date of the latest financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus there has been no material adverse change, nor any development or event involving a prospective material adverse change, in the condition (financial or other), business, properties or results of operations of the Company and its subsidiaries taken as a whole, and, except as disclosed in or contemplated by the Disclosure Package or the Final Prospectus, there has been no dividend or distribution of any kind declared, paid or made by the Company on any class of its capital stock.

(u) The Company is not and, after giving effect to the offering and sale of the Offered Securities and the application of the proceeds thereof as described in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus, will not be an “investment company” as defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940.

(v) The Company on a consolidated basis has insurance covering it and each of its subsidiaries and their respective properties, operations, personnel and businesses, which insurance is in amounts and insures against such losses and risks as are prudent and customary in the business in which the Company and its subsidiaries are engaged. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has received notice from any insurer or agent of such insurer that capital improvements or other expenditures are required or necessary to be made in order to continue such insurance.

(w) None of the proceeds of the sale of the Offered Securities will be used, directly or indirectly, for the purpose of purchasing or carrying any margin security, for the purpose of reducing or retiring any indebtedness which was originally incurred to purchase or carry any margin security or for any other purpose which might cause any of the Offered Securities to be considered a “purpose credit” within the meanings of Regulation U of the Federal Reserve Board.

(x) The Company maintains (i) effective internal control over financial reporting as defined in Rule 13a-15 under the Exchange Act, and (ii) a system of internal accounting controls sufficient to provide reasonable assurance that (A) transactions are executed in accordance with management’s general or specific authorizations; (B) transactions are recorded as necessary to permit preparation of financial statements in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles and to maintain asset accountability; (C) access to assets is permitted only in accordance with management’s general or specific authorization; and (D) the recorded accountability for assets is compared with the existing assets at reasonable intervals and appropriate action is taken with respect to any differences.

(y) Based on its evaluation of its internal controls over financial reporting, the Company is not aware of (i) any significant deficiency or material weakness in the design or operation of internal control over financial reporting which are reasonably likely to adversely affect the Company’s ability

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to record, process, summarize and report financial information; or (ii) any fraud, whether or not material, that involves management or other employees who have a significant role in the Company’s internal control over financial reporting.

3. Purchase, Sale and Delivery of Offered Securities. On the basis of the representations, warranties and agreements herein contained, but subject to the terms and conditions herein set forth, the Company agrees to sell to the Underwriters, and the Underwriters agree, severally and not jointly, to purchase from the Company, (i) at a purchase price of 99.85% of the principal amount thereof plus accrued interest from August 24, 2006 to the Closing Date (as hereinafter defined) the respective principal amounts of the Floating Rate Notes set forth opposite the names of the Underwriters in Schedule A hereto and (ii) at a purchase price of 99.651% of the principal amount thereof plus accrued interest from August 24, 2006 to the Closing Date (as hereinafter defined) the respective principal amounts of the 5.50% Notes set forth opposite the names of the Underwriters in Schedule A hereto.

The Company will deliver against payment of the purchase price the Offered Securities in the form of one or more permanent global Securities (the “Global Securities”) deposited with the Trustee as custodian for The Depository Trust Company (the “DTC”) and registered in the name of Cede & Co., as nominee for DTC. Interests in any permanent Global Securities will be held only in book-entry form through DTC, except in the limited circumstances described in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus. Payment for the Offered Securities shall be made by the Underwriters in federal (same day) funds, by official bank check or checks or wire transfer to an account at a bank acceptable to the Representatives drawn to the order of Washington Mutual, Inc. at their office at 10 A.M., (New York time), on August 24, 2006, or at such other time not later than seven full business days thereafter as the Representatives and the Company determine, such time being herein referred to as the “Closing Date”, against delivery to the Trustee as custodian for DTC of the Global Securities representing all of the Offered Securities. The Global Securities will be made available for checking at the office of Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, One Liberty Plaza, New York, New York 10006, at least 24 hours prior to the Closing Date.

4. Offering by Underwriters. It is understood that the several Underwriters propose to offer the Offered Securities for sale to the public as set forth in the Final Prospectus.

5. Certain Agreements of the Company. The Company agrees with the several Underwriters that should the Registration Statement be unavailable for free on EDGAR on the SEC website it will furnish to counsel for the Underwriters one signed copy of the Registration Statement, including all exhibits, in the form it became effective and of all amendments thereto and that, in connection with the offering of the Offered Securities:

(a)  The Company will file the Final Prospectus with the Commission pursuant to and in accordance with Rule 424(b) of the Act not later than the second business day following the execution and delivery of this Agreement.

(b)  The Company will advise the Representatives promptly of any proposal to amend or supplement the Registration Statement or the Base Prospectus at any time when a prospectus relating to the Offered Securities is required to be delivered under the Act (including in circumstances where such requirement may be satisfied pursuant to Rule 172) and will afford the Representatives a

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reasonable opportunity to comment on any such proposed amendment or supplement; and the Company will also advise the Representatives promptly of the filing of any such amendment or supplement and of the institution by the Commission of any stop order proceedings in respect of the Registration Statement or of any part thereof and will use its best efforts to prevent the issuance of any such stop order and to obtain as soon as possible its lifting, if issued.

(c)  If, at any time when a prospectus relating to the Offered Securities is required to be delivered under the Act (including in circumstances where such requirement may be satisfied pursuant to Rule 172) in connection with sales by any Underwriter or dealer, any event occurs as a result of which the Final Prospectus as then amended or supplemented would include an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made at such time, not misleading, or if it is necessary at any time to amend the Registration Statement, file a new registration statement or supplement the Final Prospectus to comply with the Act or the Exchange Act or the respective rules thereunder, including in connection with the use or delivery of the Final Prospectus, the Company promptly will notify the Representatives of such event and will promptly prepare and file with the Commission, at its own expense, an amendment or supplement or new registration statement which will correct such statement or omission or effect such compliance, and supply any amended or supplemented Final Prospectus to the Representatives in such quantities as the Representatives may reasonably request. Neither the Representatives’ consent to, nor the Underwriters’ delivery of, any such amendment or supplement shall constitute a waiver of any of the conditions set forth in Section 5 hereof.

(d)  If, at any time prior to the filing of the Final Prospectus pursuant to Rule 424(b), any event occurs as a result of which the Disclosure Package would include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary to make the statements therein in the light of the circumstances under which they were made or the circumstances then prevailing not misleading, the Company will (i) notify promptly the Representatives so that any use of the Disclosure Package may cease until it is amended or supplemented; (ii) amend or supplement the Disclosure Package to correct such statement or omission; and (iii) supply any amendment or supplement to you in such quantities as you may reasonably request.

(e)  As soon as practicable, but not later than 16 months after the date of this Agreement, the Company will make generally available to its security holders an earnings statement covering a period of at least 12 months beginning after the later of (i) the Effective Date of the Registration Statement relating to the Offered Securities, (ii) the date of the most recent post-effective amendment to the Registration Statement prior to the date of this Agreement and (iii) the date of the Company’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the Commission prior to the date of this Agreement, which will satisfy the provisions of Section 11(a) of the Act and Rule 158 under the Act.

(f)  The Company will furnish to the Representatives copies of the Registration Statement, including all exhibits, any related preliminary prospectus, any related preliminary prospectus supplement, the Final Prospectus and each Issuer Free Writing Prospectus and all amendments and supplements to such documents, in each case as soon as available and in such quantities as the Representatives may reasonably request. The Company will pay the expenses of printing and distributing to the Underwriters all such documents.

(g)  The Company will arrange for the qualification of the Offered Securities for sale and the determination of their eligibility for investment under the laws of such jurisdictions as the Representatives shall designate and will continue such qualifications in effect so long as required

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for the distribution, provided that the Company and its subsidiaries shall not be obligated to qualify as foreign corporations in any jurisdiction in which they are not so qualified or to file a general consent to service of process in any jurisdiction.

(h)  The Company will prepare a final term sheet, containing solely a description of the Offered Securities, in a form approved by the Representatives (the “Final Term Sheet”) and will file the Final Term Sheet pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Act within the time required by such rule. The Final Term Sheet shall constitute an Issuer Free Writing Prospectus hereunder.

(i)  The Company represents and agrees that, unless it has obtained or will obtain the prior written consent of the Representatives, and each Underwriter, severally and not jointly, represents and agrees with the Company that, unless it has obtained or will obtain, as the case may be, the prior written consent of the Company, it has not made and will not make any offer relating to the Offered Securities that constitutes or would constitute an Issuer Free Writing Prospectus or that otherwise constitutes or would constitute a Free Writing Prospectus required to be filed by the Company with the Commission, other than the Final Term Sheet; provided, that the prior written consent of the parties hereto shall be deemed to have been given in respect of the Free Writing Prospectuses included in Schedule B hereto (if any). Any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus consented to by the Representatives or the Company is hereinafter referred to as a “Permitted Free Writing Prospectus.” The Company agrees that it (x) has treated and will treat, as the case may be, each Permitted Free Writing Prospectus as an Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, and (y) has complied and will comply, as the case may be, with the requirements of Rules 164 and 433 of the Act applicable to any Permitted Free Writing Prospectus, including in respect of timely filing with the Commission, legending and record keeping. The Company consents to the use by any Underwriter of (i) a free writing prospectus that contains no “issuer information” (as defined in Rule 433(h)(2) under the Act) that was not included (including through incorporation by reference) in the Final Prospectus or a previously filed Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, (ii) any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus listed on Schedule II, or (iii) (x) information describing the preliminary terms of the Offered Securities or their offering or (y) information that describes the final terms of the Offered Securities or their offering and that is included in the Final Term Sheet.

(j)  During the period of five years hereafter, the Company will furnish to the Representatives and, upon request, to each of the other Underwriters, as soon as practicable after the end of each fiscal year, a copy of its annual report to stockholders for such year; and the Company will furnish to the Representatives as soon as available, a copy of each report and any definitive proxy statement of the Company filed with the Commission under the Exchange Act or mailed to stockholders.

(k)  The Company will pay all expenses incident to the performance of its obligations under this Agreement, for any filing fees and other expenses (including fees and disbursements of counsel) incurred in connection with qualification of the Offered Securities for sale under the laws of such jurisdictions as the Representatives may designate and the printing of memoranda relating thereto, for any fees charged by investment rating agencies for the rating of the Offered Securities, for any travel expenses of the Company’s officers and employees and any other expenses of the Company in connection with attending or hosting meetings with prospective purchasers of the Offered Securities and for expenses incurred in distributing the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus, any preliminary prospectus, any preliminary prospectus supplement or any other amendments or supplements to the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus to the Underwriters.

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(l)  The Company will not offer, sell, contract to sell, pledge or otherwise dispose of, directly or indirectly, or file with the Commission a registration statement under the Act relating to debt securities issued or guaranteed by the Company and having a maturity of more than one year from the date of issue, or publicly disclose the intention to make any such offer, sale, pledge, disposition or filing, without the prior written consent of the Representatives for a period beginning at the date of this Agreement and ending at the later of the Closing Date or the lifting of trading restrictions by the Representatives.

6. Conditions of the Obligations of the Underwriters. The obligations of the several Underwriters to purchase and pay for the Offered Securities will be subject to the accuracy of the representations and warranties on the part of the Company herein as of the Execution Time and the Closing Date, to the accuracy of the statements of Company officers made pursuant to the provisions hereof, to the performance by the Company of its obligations hereunder and to the following additional conditions precedent:

(a)  The Representatives shall have received a letter or letters, dated, the date of the Closing Date, of Deloitte & Touche LLP confirming that they are independent public accountants within the meaning of the Act and the applicable published Rules and Regulations thereunder and stating to the effect that:

(i) in their opinion the consolidated financial statements examined by them and included in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus comply as to form in all material respects with the applicable accounting requirements of the Exchange Act and the related published Rules and Regulations;

(ii)  they have performed the procedures specified by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants for a review of interim financial information as described in Statement of Auditing Standards No. 100, Interim Financial Information, as amended, on any unaudited interim consolidated financial statements included in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus;

(iii)  on the basis of the review referred to in clause (ii) above, a reading of the latest available unaudited interim consolidated financial statements of the Company, inquiries of officials of the Company who have responsibility for financial and accounting matters and other specified procedures, nothing came to their attention that caused them to believe that:

(A)  the unaudited interim consolidated financial statements, if any, and any summary financial statements included in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus do not comply as to form in all material respects with the applicable accounting requirements of the Act and the related published Rules and Regulations or any material modifications should be made to such unaudited interim consolidated financial statements and summary financial statements for them to be in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States;

(B)  if any unaudited “capsule” information is contained in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus, the unaudited consolidated net sales, net operating income, net income and net income per share amounts or other amounts constituting such “capsule” information and described in

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such letter do not agree with the corresponding amounts set forth in the unaudited consolidated financial statements or were not determined on a basis substantially consistent with that of the corresponding amounts in the audited statements of income;

(C)  at the date of the latest available balance sheet read by such accountants, or at a subsequent specified date not more than three business days prior to the date of the such letter, there was any change in the number of common shares outstanding or any increase in other borrowings of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries or, at the date of the latest available balance sheet read by such accountants, there was any decrease in stockholders’ equity or the combined balance of cash and cash equivalents, federal funds sold and securities purchased under resale agreements, and available-for-sale securities of the Company, as compared with amounts shown on the latest balance sheet included in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus; or

(D)  for the period from the closing date of the latest income statement included in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus to the closing date of the latest available income statement read by such accountants there were any decreases, as compared with the corresponding period of the previous year and with the period of corresponding length ended the date of the latest income statement included in the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus, in consolidated net interest income, net income, the combined balance of net income before taxes and total interest expense, net income per share, or diluted net income per share;

except in all cases set forth in clauses (C) and (D) above for changes, increases or decreases which the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus disclose have occurred or may occur or which are described in such letter; and

(iv) they have compared specified dollar amounts (or percentages derived from such dollar amounts) and other financial information contained in the Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus (in each case to the extent that such dollar amounts, percentages and other financial information are derived from the general accounting records of the Company and its subsidiaries subject to the internal controls of the Company’s accounting system or are derived directly from such records by analysis or computation) with the results obtained from inquiries, a reading of such general accounting records and other procedures specified in such letter and have found such dollar amounts, percentages and other financial information to be in agreement with such results, except as otherwise specified in such letter.

All financial statements and schedules included in material incorporated by reference into the Registration Statement, the Preliminary Prospectus or the Final Prospectus shall be deemed included in the Preliminary Prospectus or the Final Prospectus for purposes of this subsection.

(b)  The Final Prospectus, and any supplement thereto required to be filed pursuant to Rule 424(b) of the Act, will have been filed in the manner and within the time period required by Rule 424(b) of the Act; the Final Term Sheet and any other material required to be filed by the Company pursuant to Rule 433(d) of the Act shall have been filed with the Commission within the applicable time periods prescribed for such filings by Rule 433. No stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or of any part thereof shall have been issued and no

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proceedings for that purpose shall have been instituted or, to the knowledge of the Company or any Underwriter, shall be contemplated by the Commission, and the Company shall not have received from the Commission any notice pursuant to Rule 401(g)(2) of the Act objecting to use of the automatic shelf registration statement form.

(c)  Subsequent to the Execution Time or, if earlier, the dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement (exclusive of any amendment or supplement thereof), the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any amendment or supplement thereto), there shall not have occurred (i) any change, or any development or event involving a prospective change, in the condition (financial or other), business, properties or results of operations of the Company and its subsidiaries taken as one enterprise which, in the judgment of the Representatives, is material and adverse and makes it impractical or inadvisable to proceed with completion of the public offering or the sale of and payment for the Offered Securities; (ii) any downgrading in the rating of any debt securities of the Company by any “nationally recognized statistical rating organization” (as defined for purposes of Rule 436(g) under the Act), or any public announcement that any such organization has under surveillance or review its rating of any debt securities of the Company (other than an announcement with positive implications of a possible upgrading, and no implication of a possible downgrading, of such rating); (iii)  any change in U.S. or international financial, political or economic conditions or currency exchange rates or exchange controls as would, in the judgment of the Representatives, be likely to prejudice materially the success of the proposed issue, sale or distribution of the Offered Securities, whether in the primary market or in respect of dealings in the secondary market; (iv) any material suspension or material limitation of trading in securities generally on the New York Stock Exchange, or any setting of minimum prices for trading on such exchange, or any suspension of trading of any securities of the Company on any exchange or in the over-the-counter market; (v) any banking moratorium declared by U.S. federal or New York authorities; (vi) any major disruption of settlements of securities or clearance services in the United States or (vii) any attack on, outbreak or escalation of hostilities or act of terrorism involving the United States, any declaration of war by Congress or any other national or international calamity or emergency if, in the judgment of the Representatives, the effect of any such attack, outbreak, escalation, act, declaration, calamity or emergency makes it impractical or inadvisable to proceed with completion of the public offering or the sale of and payment for the Offered Securities.

(d)  The Representatives shall have received an opinion, dated the Closing Date, of Heller Ehrman LLP, counsel for the Company, in the form satisfactory to the Representatives, to the effect that:

(i)  The Company has been duly incorporated and is an existing corporation under the laws of the State of Washington, with corporate power and authority to own its properties and conduct its business as described in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus;

(ii) The Significant Subsidiaries have been duly incorporated and are existing corporations or depository institutions in good standing under the laws of their respective jurisdiction, with corporate power and authority to own their properties and conduct their business as described in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus;

(iii) The Indenture has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company and has been duly qualified under the Trust Indenture Act; the Offered Securities have been duly authorized and issued by the Company, and assuming due authentication thereof by the trustee under the Indenture and upon payment and delivery in accordance with this

12

Agreement, will be duly and validly issued and outstanding; the Indenture and the Offered Securities constitute valid and binding obligations of the Company enforceable in accordance with their terms, subject to bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws of general applicability relating to or affecting creditors’ rights and to general equity principles whether such enforceability is considered in a proceeding in equity or at law; and the Offered Securities conform to the description thereof contained in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus;

(iv) No consent, approval, authorization or order of, or filing with, any governmental agency or body or any court is required for the consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement (including the provisions of this Agreement) in connection with the issuance or sale of the Offered Securities by the Company, except such as have been obtained and made under the Act and the Trust Indenture Act and such as may be required under state securities laws;

(v) The execution, delivery and performance of the Indenture or this Agreement, and the issuance and sale of the Offered Securities and compliance with the terms and provisions thereof will not result in a breach or violation of any of the terms and provisions of, or constitute a default under, (i) any statute, any rule or regulation of any governmental agency or body or, to such counsel’s knowledge, any order or judgment of any court having jurisdiction over the Company or any subsidiary of the Company or any of their properties, (ii) any agreement listed as an exhibit to the Company’s reports filed by the company pursuant to the Exchange Act, or (iii) the charter or by-laws of the Company or any Significant Subsidiary, and the Company has full corporate power and authority to authorize, issue and sell the Offered Securities as contemplated by this Agreement;

(vi) The Registration Statement has become effective under the Act, any required filing of the Base Prospectus, any Preliminary Prospectus and the Final Prospectus, and any supplements thereto, pursuant to Rule 424(b) has been made in the manner and within the time period required by Rule 424(b), and, to the best of the knowledge of such counsel, no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or any part thereof has been issued and no proceedings for that purpose have been instituted or are pending or contemplated under the Act, the Company has not received from the Commission any notice pursuant to Rule 401(g)(2) of the Act objecting to use of the automatic shelf registration statement form and on the Effective Date, the Registration Statement did, and when the Final Prospectus relating to the Offered Securities is first filed in accordance with Rule 424(b) of the Act and on the Closing Date, the Final Prospectus (and any supplement thereto) will, comply as to form in all material respects with the requirements of the Act, the Trust Indenture Act and the Rules and Regulations; such counsel have no reason to believe that the Registration Statement, as of the Effective Date or the Execution Time, as of the date of this Agreement or as of the Closing Date, or any amendment thereto, as of its date or as of the Closing Date, contained or will contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading or that the Final Prospectus as of its date and on the Closing Date included or includes any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted or omits to state a material fact necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; the descriptions in the Registration Statement and Final Prospectus as of its date and on the Closing Date of statutes, legal and governmental proceedings and contracts and other documents are accurate and fairly present

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the information required to be shown; and such counsel do not know of any legal or governmental proceedings required to be described in the Final Prospectus which are not described as required or of any contracts or documents of a character required to be described in the Registration Statement or Final Prospectus or to be filed as exhibits to the Registration Statement which are not described and filed as required; it being understood that such counsel need express no opinion as to the financial statements or other financial data contained in the Registration Statement or the Final Prospectus;

(vii) Such counsel have no reason to believe that the Disclosure Package, as of the Initial Sale Time, contained any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of circumstances under which they were made, not misleading.

(viii) This Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company;

(ix) The Company is duly registered as a savings and loan holding company under the applicable provisions of the Home Owners’ Loan Act. To such counsel’s knowledge, neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is a party to any written agreement or memorandum of understanding with, or a party to any commitment letter or similar undertaking to, or is subject to any order or directive by, or is a recipient of any extraordinary supervisory letter from, or has adopted any board resolutions at the request of, any Bank Regulatory Authority which restricts materially the conduct of its business, or in any manner relates to its capital adequacy, its credit policies or its management, nor have any of them been advised by any Bank Regulatory Authority that it is contemplating issuing or requesting (or is considering the appropriateness of issuing or requesting) any such order, decree, agreement, memorandum of understanding, extraordinary supervisory letter, commitment letter or similar submission, or any such board resolutions.

(e) The Representatives shall have received from Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, counsel for the Underwriters, such opinion or opinions, dated such Closing Date, with respect to the validity of the Offered Securities delivered on such Closing Date, the Registration Statement, the Disclosure Package, the Final Prospectus (together with any supplement thereto) and other related matters as the Representatives may require, and the Company shall have furnished to such counsel such documents as they request for the purpose of enabling them to pass upon such matters. In rendering such opinion, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP may rely as to matters governed by Washington law upon the opinion of Heller Ehrman LLP referred to above.

(f) The Representatives shall have received a certificate, dated the Closing Date, of the President or any Vice President and a principal financial or accounting officer of the Company in which such officers, to the best of their knowledge after reasonable investigation, shall state that the representations and warranties of the Company in this Agreement are true and correct, that the Company has complied with all agreements and satisfied all conditions on its part to be performed or satisfied hereunder at or prior to the Closing Date, that no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or of any part thereof has been issued and no proceedings for that purpose have been instituted or are contemplated by the Commission and the Company has not received from the Commission any notice pursuant to Rule 401(g)(2) of the Act objecting to use of the automatic shelf registration statement form and that, subsequent to the date of the most recent financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement

14

thereto) , there has been no material adverse change, nor any development or event involving a prospective material adverse change, in the condition (financial or other), business, properties or results of operations of the Company and its subsidiaries taken as a whole, except as set forth in or contemplated in the Disclosure Package and the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto) or as described in such certificate.

The Company will furnish the Representatives with such conformed copies of such opinions, certificates, letters and documents as the Representatives reasonably request. The Representatives may in their sole discretion waive on behalf of the Underwriters compliance with any conditions to the obligations of the Underwriters hereunder, whether in respect of the Closing Date or otherwise.

7. Indemnification and Contribution.

(a) The Company will indemnify and hold harmless each Underwriter, its partners, directors and officers and each person, if any, who controls such Underwriter within the meaning of either Section 15 of the Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act, against any losses, claims, damages or liabilities, joint or several, to which such Underwriter may become subject, under the Act or otherwise, insofar as such losses, claims, damages or liabilities (or actions in respect thereof) arise out of or are based upon any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of any material fact contained in the Registration Statement for the registration of the Offered Securities as originally filed or in any amendment thereof, or in the Base Prospectus, any Preliminary Prospectus, the Final Prospectus, any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus or any “issuer information” filed or required to be filed pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Act, or any amendment or supplement thereto, or arise out of or are based upon the omission or alleged omission to state therein a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, and will reimburse each Underwriter for any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such Underwriter in connection with investigating or defending any such loss, claim, damage, liability or action as such expenses are incurred; provided, however, (i) that the Company will not be liable in any such case to the extent that any such loss, claim, damage or liability arises out of or is based upon an untrue statement or alleged untrue statement in or omission or alleged omission from any of such documents in reliance upon and in conformity with written information furnished to the Company by any Underwriter through the Representatives specifically for use therein, it being understood and agreed that the only such information furnished by any Underwriter consists of the information described as such in subsection (b) below.

(b) Each Underwriter will severally and not jointly indemnify and hold harmless the Company, its directors and officers and each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of Section 15 of the Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act against any losses, claims, damages or liabilities, to which the Company may become subject, under the Act or otherwise, insofar as such losses, claims, damages or liabilities (or actions in respect thereof) arise out of or are based upon written information furnished to the Company by such Underwriter through the Representatives specifically for use in the documents referred to in the foregoing indemnity (except any “issuer information” filed or required to be filed pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Act), and will reimburse any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by the Company in connection with investigating or defending any such loss, claim, damage, liability or action as such expenses are incurred, it being understood and agreed that the only such information furnished by any Underwriter consists of the following information in the Final Prospectus furnished on behalf of each Underwriter: the concession figures appearing in the second paragraph under the caption

15

“Underwriting” and the information contained in the fourth paragraph under the caption “Underwriting.”

(c) Promptly after receipt by an indemnified party under this Section of notice of the commencement of any action, such indemnified party will, if a claim in respect thereof is to be made against the indemnifying party under subsection (a) or (b) above, notify the indemnifying party of the commencement thereof; but the omission so to notify the indemnifying party will not relieve it from any liability which it may have to any indemnified party otherwise than under subsection (a) or (b) above. In case any such action is brought against any indemnified party and it notifies the indemnifying party of the commencement thereof, the indemnifying party will be entitled to participate therein and, to the extent that it may wish, jointly with any other indemnifying party similarly notified, to assume the defense thereof, with counsel satisfactory to such indemnified party (who shall not, except with the consent of the indemnified party, be counsel to the indemnifying party), and after notice from the indemnifying party to such indemnified party of its election so to assume the defense thereof, the indemnifying party will not be liable to such indemnified party under this Section for any legal or other expenses subsequently incurred by such indemnified party in connection with the defense thereof other than reasonable costs of investigation. No indemnifying party shall, without the prior written consent of the indemnified party, effect any settlement of any pending or threatened action in respect of which any indemnified party is or could have been a party and indemnity could have been sought hereunder by such indemnified party unless such settlement (i) includes an unconditional release of such indemnified party from all liability on any claims that are the subject matter of such action and (ii) does not include a statement as to, or an admission of, fault, culpability or a failure to act by or on behalf of an indemnified party.

(d) If the indemnification provided for in this Section is unavailable or insufficient to hold harmless an indemnified party under subsection (a) or (b) above, then each indemnifying party shall contribute to the amount paid or payable by such indemnified party as a result of the losses, claims, damages or liabilities referred to in subsection (a) or (b) above (i) in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other from the offering of the Offered Securities or (ii) if the allocation provided by clause (i) above is not permitted by applicable law, in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect not only the relative benefits referred to in clause (i) above but also the relative fault of the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other in connection with the statements or omissions which resulted in such losses, claims, damages or liabilities as well as any other relevant equitable considerations. The relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other shall be deemed to be in the same proportion as the total net proceeds from the offering (before deducting expenses) received by the Company bear to the total underwriting discounts and commissions received by the Underwriters. The relative fault shall be determined by reference to, among other things, whether the untrue or alleged untrue statement of a material fact or the omission or alleged omission to state a material fact relates to information supplied by the Company or the Underwriters and the parties’ relative intent, knowledge, access to information and opportunity to correct or prevent such untrue statement or omission. The amount paid by an indemnified party as a result of the losses, claims, damages or liabilities referred to in the first sentence of this subsection (d) shall be deemed to include any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such indemnified party in connection with investigating or defending any action or claim which is the subject of this subsection (d). Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection (d), no Underwriter shall be required to contribute any amount in excess of the amount by which the total price at which the Offered Securities underwritten by it

16

and distributed to the public were offered to the public exceeds the amount of any damages which such Underwriter has otherwise been required to pay by reason of such untrue or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission. No person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. The Underwriters’ obligations in this subsection (d) to contribute are several in proportion to their respective underwriting obligations and not joint.

(e) The obligations of the Company under this Section shall be in addition to any liability which the Company may otherwise have and shall extend, upon the same terms and conditions, to each person, if any, who controls any Underwriter within the meaning of the Act; and the obligations of the Underwriters under this Section shall be in addition to any liability which the respective Underwriters may otherwise have and shall extend, upon the same terms and conditions, to each director of the Company, to each officer of the Company who has signed the Registration Statement and to each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of the Act.

8. Default of Underwriters. If any Underwriter or Underwriters default in their obligations to purchase the Offered Securities hereunder on the Closing Date and the aggregate principal amount of the Offered Securities that such defaulting Underwriter or Underwriters agreed but failed to purchase does not exceed 10% of the total principal amount of the Offered Securities that the Underwriters are obligated to purchase on such Closing Date, the Representatives may make arrangements satisfactory to the Company for the purchase of such Offered Securities by other persons, including any of the Underwriters, but if no such arrangements are made by such Closing Date, the non-defaulting Underwriters shall be obligated severally, in proportion to their respective commitments hereunder, to purchase the Offered Securities that such defaulting Underwriters agreed but failed to purchase on such Closing Date. If any Underwriter or Underwriters so default and the aggregate principal amount of the Offered Securities with respect to which such default or defaults occur exceeds 10% of the total principal amount of the Offered Securities that the Underwriters are obligated to purchase on such Closing Date and arrangements satisfactory to the Representatives and the Company for the purchase of such Offered Securities by other persons are not made within 36 hours after such default, this Agreement will terminate without liability on the part of any non-defaulting Underwriter, or the Company, except as provided in Section 9. As used in this Agreement, the term “Underwriter” includes any person substituted for an Underwriter under this Section. Nothing herein will relieve a defaulting Underwriter from liability, if any, for its default.

9. Survival of Certain Representations and Obligations. The respective indemnities, agreements, representations, warranties and other statements of the Company or its officers and of the several Underwriters set forth in or made pursuant to this Agreement will remain in full force and effect, regardless of any investigation, or statement as to the results thereof, made by or on behalf of any Underwriter, the Company or any of their respective representatives, officers or directors or any controlling person, and will survive delivery of and payment for the Offered Securities. If this Agreement is terminated pursuant to Section 8 or if for any reason the purchase of the Offered Securities by the Underwriters is not consummated, the Company shall remain responsible for the expenses to be paid or reimbursed by it pursuant to Section 5 and the respective obligations of the Company and the Underwriters pursuant to Section 7 shall remain in effect, and if any Offered Securities have been purchased hereunder the representations and warranties in Section 2 and all obligations under Section 5 shall also remain in effect. If the purchase of the Offered Securities by the Underwriters is not consummated for any reason other than solely because of the termination of this Agreement pursuant to Section 8 or the occurrence of any event

17

specified in clause (iii), (iv), (v), (vi) or (vii) of Section 6(c), the Company will reimburse the Underwriters for all out-of-pocket expenses (including reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel) reasonably incurred by them in connection with the offering of the Offered Securities.

10. Notices. All communications hereunder will be in writing and, if sent to the Underwriters, will be mailed, delivered or faxed and confirmed to the Representatives, c/o Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated, 1585 Broadway, 29th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Attention: Investment Banking Information Center; fax number: 212-507-8999, or, if sent to the Company, will be mailed, delivered or faxed and confirmed to it at Washington Mutual, Inc., 1201 Third Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101, Attention: Charles E. Smith (fax: 206-377-6244) with a copy to David R. Wilson, Heller Ehrman LLP, 701 5th Avenue, Suite 6100, Seattle, WA 98104-7098 (fax: 206-447-0849); provided, however, that any notice to an Underwriter pursuant to Section 7 will be mailed, delivered or telegraphed and confirmed to such Underwriter.

11. Successors. This Agreement will inure to the benefit of and be binding upon the parties hereto and their respective successors and the officers and directors and controlling persons referred to in Section 7, and no other person will have any right or obligation hereunder.

12. Representation of Underwriters. The Representatives will act for the several Underwriters in connection with this financing, and any action under this Agreement taken by the Representatives jointly or severally will be binding upon all the Underwriters.

13. No Fiduciary Duty. The Company acknowledges and agrees that the Underwriters are acting solely in the capacity of an arm’s length contractual counterparty to the Company with respect to the offering of the Offered Securities contemplated hereby (including in connection with determining the terms of the offering) and not as a financial advisor or a fiduciary to, or an agent of, the Company or any other person, notwithstanding any preexisting relationship, advisory or otherwise, between the parties or any oral representations or assurances previously or subsequently made by the Underwriters. Additionally, neither the Representatives nor any other Underwriter is advising the Company or any other person, including, without limitation, as to any legal, tax, investment, accounting or regulatory matters in any jurisdiction. The Company shall consult with its own advisors concerning such matters and shall be responsible for making its own independent investigation and appraisal of the transactions contemplated hereby, and the Underwriters shall have no responsibility or liability to the Company with respect thereto. Any review by the Underwriters of the Company, the transactions contemplated hereby or other matters relating to such transactions will be performed solely for the benefit of the Underwriters and shall not be on behalf of the Company. The Underwriters and their respective affiliates may have interests that differ from those of the Company. The Company hereby waives any claims that the Company may have against the Underwriters with respect to any breach of fiduciary duty in connection with the offering of the Offered Securities.

14. Counterparts. This Agreement may be executed in any number of counterparts, each of which shall be deemed to be an original, but all such counterparts shall together constitute one and the same Agreement.

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15. Applicable Law. This Agreement shall be governed by, and construed in accordance with, the laws of the State of New York without regard to principles of conflicts of laws (other than Sections 5-1401 and 5-1402 of the general obligations laws of the State of New York).

The Company hereby submits to the non-exclusive jurisdiction of the federal and state courts in the Borough of Manhattan in The City of New York in any suit or proceeding arising out of or relating to this Agreement or the transactions contemplated hereby.

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                If the foregoing is in accordance with the Representatives’ understanding of our agreement, kindly sign and return to the Company one of the counterparts hereof, whereupon it will become a binding agreement between the Company and the several Underwriters in accordance with its terms.

Very truly yours,

WASHINGTON MUTUAL, INC.

By..../s/ Thomas W. Casey.............
Thomas W. Casey
Chief Financial Officer

The foregoing Underwriting Agreement is hereby confirmed and accepted as of the date first above written.

MORGAN STANLEY & CO. INCORPORATED

GOLDMAN, SACHS & CO.

Acting on behalf of themselves and as the Representatives of the several Underwriters

By MORGAN STANLEY & CO. INCORPORATED

By....../s/.Michael Fusco...	...
Authorized Representative

Underwriting Agreement dated August 21, 2006

SCHEDULE A

Underwriters	Principal Amount of:
	Floating Rate Notes due August 24, 2009	5.50% Notes due August 24, 2011
Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated	220,000,000	176,000,000
Goldman, Sachs & Co.	220,000,000	176,000,000
Credit Suisse Securities (USA) LLC	20,000,000	16,000,000
Deutsche Bank Securities Inc.	20,000,000	16,000,000
Lehman Brothers Inc.	20,000,000	16,000,000
Total	$500,000,000	$400,000,000

A-1

SCHEDULE B

Schedule of Free Writing Prospectuses included in the Disclosure Package

1. Final term sheet as prepared and filed pursuant to Section 5(h) hereto.

A-2