WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND VIII LP (CIK 929920)
Form 10-Q
period 2010-06-30
filed 2010-08-12

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

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND VIII, L.P.

BALANCE SHEETS

ASSETS

	(Unaudited) June 30, 2010	December 31, 2009
Investment in joint venture	$5,742,169	$5,955,663
Cash and cash equivalents	851,425	827,126
Due from joint venture	154,138	142,376

Total assets	$6,747,732	$6,925,165

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS’ CAPITAL
LIABILITIES:
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$7,666	$14,907
Due to affiliates	10,131	11,553
Partnership distributions payable	81,471	81,471

Total liabilities	99,268	107,931

Commitments and contingencies

PARTNERS’ CAPITAL:
Limited partners:
Class A – 2,955,379 and 2,954,079 units issued and outstanding as of June 30, 2010 and December 31, 2009, respectively	6,648,464	6,814,994
Class B – 247,887 and 249,187 units issued and outstanding as of June 30, 2010 and December 31, 2009, respectively	0	2,240
General partners	0	0

Total partners’ capital	6,648,464	6,817,234

Total liabilities and partners’ capital	$6,747,732	$6,925,165

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND VIII, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

	(Unaudited) Three Months Ended June 30,		(Unaudited) Six Months Ended June 30,
	2010	2009	2010	2009

EQUITY IN INCOME OF JOINT VENTURE	$47,390	$50,424	$105,153	$94,412

INTEREST AND OTHER INCOME	302	437	602	1,426

GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES	48,537	43,631	111,583	100,078

NET INCOME (LOSS)	$(845)	$7,230	$(5,828)	$(4,240)

NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATED TO LIMITED PARTNERS:
CLASS A	$(845)	$92,673	$(3,588)	$166,759

CLASS B	$0	$(85,443)	$(2,240)	$(170,999)

NET INCOME (LOSS) PER WEIGHTED-AVERAGE LIMITED PARTNER UNIT:
CLASS A	$0.00	$ 0.03	$ 0.00	$ 0.06

CLASS B	$0.00	$(0.34)	$(0.01)	$(0.69)

WEIGHTED-AVERAGE LIMITED PARTNER UNITS OUTSTANDING:
CLASS A	2,955,379	2,954,079	2,954,729	2,954,079

CLASS B	247,887	249,187	248,537	249,187

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND VIII, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF PARTNERS’ CAPITAL

FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2009

AND THE SIX MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2010 (UNAUDITED)

	Limited Partners				General Partners	Total Partners’ Capital
	Class A		Class B
	Units	Amount	Units	Amount
BALANCE, December 31, 2008	2,954,079	$6,789,868	249,187	$342,706	$0	$7,132,574

Net income (loss)	0	351,015	0	(340,466)	0	10,549
Distributions of operating cash flow ($0.11 per weighted-average Class A Unit)	0	(325,889)	0	0	0	(325,889)

BALANCE, December 31, 2009	2,954,079	6,814,994	249,187	2,240	0	6,817,234

Class B conversion elections	1,300	0	(1,300)	0	0	0
Net loss	0	(3,588)	0	(2,240)	0	(5,828)
Distributions of operating cash flow ($0.06 per weighted-average Class A Unit)	0	(162,942)	0	0	0	(162,942)

BALANCE, June 30, 2010	2,955,379	$6,648,464	247,887	$0	$0	$6,648,464

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND VIII, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

	(Unaudited) Six Months Ended June 30,
	2010	2009
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
Net loss	$(5,828)	$(4,240)
Operating distributions received from joint venture	306,885	348,524
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash provided by operating activities:
Equity in income of joint venture	(105,153)	(94,412)
Changes in assets and liabilities:
Decrease in other assets	0	930
Decrease in accounts payable and accrued expenses	(7,241)	(18,730)
(Decrease) increase in due to affiliates	(1,422)	1,357

Net cash provided by operating activities	187,241	233,429

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Operating distributions paid to limited partners	(162,942)	(162,942)

NET INCREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS	24,299	70,487

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, beginning of period	827,126	689,378

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, end of period	$851,425	$759,865

SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURES OF NONCASH INVESTING AND FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Partnership distributions payable	$81,471	$81,471

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

While various techniques and assumptions can be used to estimate fair value depending on the nature of the asset or liability, the accounting standard for fair value measurements and disclosures describes three levels of inputs that may be used to measure fair value. Level 1 inputs are quoted prices (unadjusted) in active markets for identical assets or liabilities that the Partnership has the ability to access. Level 2 inputs are inputs other than quoted prices included in Level 1 that are observable for the asset or liability, either directly or indirectly. Level 2 inputs may include quoted prices for similar assets and liabilities in active markets, as well as inputs that are observable for the asset or liability (other than quoted prices), such as interest rates, foreign exchange rates, and yield curves that are observable at commonly quoted intervals. Level 3 inputs are unobservable inputs for the asset or liability, which are typically based on an entity’s own assumptions, as little, if any, related market activity or information is available. Examples of Level 3 inputs include estimated holding periods, discount rates, market capitalization rates, expected lease rental rates, timing of new leases, and sales prices; additionally, the Partnership may assign an estimated probability-weighting to more than one fair value estimate based on the Partnership’s assessment of the likelihood of the respective underlying assumptions occurring as of the evaluation date. In instances where the determination of the fair value measurement is based on inputs from

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

Recent Accounting Pronouncement

In January 2010, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (the “FASB”) clarified previously issued GAAP and issued new requirements related to Accounting Standards Codification Topic Fair Value Measurements and Disclosures (“ASU 2010-6”). The clarification component includes disclosures about inputs and valuation techniques used in determining fair value, and providing fair value measurement information for each class of assets and liabilities. The new requirements relate to disclosures of transfers between the levels in the fair value hierarchy, as well as the individual components in the rollforward of the lowest level (Level 3) in the fair value hierarchy. This change in GAAP became effective for the Partnership beginning January 1, 2010, except for the provision concerning the rollforward of activity of the Level 3 fair value measurement, which will become effective for the Partnership on January 1, 2011. The adoption of ASU 2010-6 did not have a material impact on the Partnership’s financial statements or disclosures.

3.	INVESTMENT IN JOINT VENTURE

Summary of Financial Information

Condensed financial information for the joint venture in which the Partnership held a direct interest for the three months and six months ended June 30, 2010 and 2009, respectively, is presented below:

	Total Revenues		Net Income		Total Revenues		Net Income
	Three Months Ended June 30,		Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2010	2009	2010	2009	2010	2009	2010	2009
Fund VIII-IX Associates	$477,111	$494,649	$86,483	$92,021	$988,613	$1,025,475	$191,897	$172,296

Due from Joint Venture

As presented in the accompanying balance sheets, due from joint venture as of June 30, 2010 and December 31, 2009 represents operating cash flow generated by Fund VIII-IX Associates for the three months ended June 30, 2010 and December 31, 2009, respectively, which is attributable to the Partnership.

4.	RELATED-PARTY TRANSACTIONS

Management and Leasing Fees

The Partnership entered into a property management and leasing agreement with Wells Management Company, Inc. (“Wells Management”), an affiliate of the General Partners. In accordance with the property management and leasing agreement, Wells Management receives compensation for the management and leasing of the Partnership’s properties owned through the Joint Venture, equal to (a) 3% for management services and 3% for leasing services of the gross revenues collected monthly, plus a separate fee for the one-time initial lease-up of newly constructed properties in an amount not to exceed the fee customarily charged in arm’s-length transactions by others rendering similar services in the same geographic area for similar properties, which is assessed periodically based on market studies, or (b) in the case of commercial properties leased on a long-term net basis (ten or more years), 1% of the gross revenues except for initial leasing fees equal to 3% of the gross revenues over the first five years of the lease term. Management and leasing fees are paid by the Joint Venture and, accordingly, are included in equity in income of joint venture in the accompanying statements of operations. The Partnership’s share of management and leasing fees and lease acquisition costs incurred through the Joint Venture and payable to Wells Management is $15,926 and $20,818 for the three months ended June 30, 2010 and 2009, respectively, and $32,990 and $39,619 for the six months ended June 30, 2010 and 2009, respectively.

Administrative Reimbursements

Wells Capital, the corporate general partner of Wells Partners, one of the Partnership’s general partners, and Wells Management perform certain administrative services for the Partnership, relating to accounting and other partnership administration, and incur the related expenses. Such expenses are allocated among other entities affiliated with the General Partners based on estimates of the amount of time dedicated to each fund by individual administrative personnel. In the opinion of the General Partners, this allocation is a reasonable estimation of such expenses. The Partnership incurred administrative expenses of $26,367 and $23,375 payable to Wells Capital and Wells Management for the three months ended June 30, 2010 and 2009, respectively, and $55,076 and $51,071 for the six months ended June 30, 2010 and 2009, respectively. In addition, Wells Capital and Wells Management pay for certain operating expenses of the Partnership (“bill-backs”) directly and invoice the Partnership for the reimbursement thereof on a quarterly basis. As presented in the accompanying balance sheets, due to affiliates as of June 30, 2010 and December 31, 2009 represents administrative reimbursements and bill-backs due to Wells Capital and/or Wells Management.

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

Future net income generated by WREF will be largely dependent upon the amount of fees earned by Wells Capital and Wells Management based on, among other things, the level of investor proceeds raised from the sale of common stock for certain WREF-sponsored programs and the volume of future acquisitions and dispositions of real estate assets by WREF-sponsored programs, as well as distribution income earned from its holdings of common stock of Piedmont Office Realty Trust, Inc. (“Piedmont REIT”), which was acquired in

connection with the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction (see “Assertion of Legal Action Against Related-Parties” below). As of June 30, 2010, the Partnership has no reason to believe that WREF does not have access to adequate liquidity and capital resources, including cash flow from operations, cash on hand and other investments, necessary to meet its current and future obligations as they become due.

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

On December 4, 2009, the parties filed motions for summary judgment. On August 2, 2010, the Court entered an order denying the defendants’ motion for summary judgment and granting, in part, the plaintiff’s motion for partial summary judgment. The Court ruled that the question of whether certain expressions of interest in

acquiring Piedmont REIT constituted “material” information required to be disclosed in the proxy statement to obtain approval for the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction raises questions of fact that must be determined at trial. A trial date has not been set.

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

Property Summary

As we move further into the positioning-for-sale phase, we will continue to focus on re-leasing vacant space and space that may become vacant upon the expiration of our current leases. In doing so, we will seek to maximize returns to our limited partners by attempting to negotiate long-term leases at market rental rates while attempting to minimize down time, re-leasing expenditures, ongoing property level costs, and portfolio costs. As properties are positioned for sale, our attention will shift to locating suitable buyers, negotiating purchase-sale contracts that will attempt to maximize the total return to our limited partners, and minimize contingencies and potential post-closing obligations to buyers. As of July 31, 2010, the Partnership owned interests in two properties.

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

Short-Term Liquidity

During the six months ended June 30, 2010, we generated net operating cash flows, including distributions received from the Joint Venture, of approximately $187,000. Operating distributions from the Joint Venture generally consist of rental revenues and tenant reimbursements, less property operating expenses, management fees, general administrative expenses, and capital expenditures. We used such net operating cash flows to fund operating distributions to Class A limited partners of approximately $163,000. The extent to which any future operating distributions are paid to limited partners will be largely dependent upon the amount of cash generated from the Joint Venture, our expectations of future cash flows, and determination of near-term cash needs to fund our share of tenant re-leasing costs and other capital improvements for properties owned by the Joint Venture. We anticipate future operating distributions from the Joint Venture may decline in the near-term as a result of our intention to fund our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs for our remaining properties.

We believe that the cash on hand and operating distributions due from the Joint Venture are sufficient to cover our working capital needs, including those provided for within our total liabilities of approximately $99,000, as of June 30, 2010.

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

	Net Sale Proceeds		Partnership’s Approximate Ownership %	Net Sale Proceeds Allocated to the Partnership	Use of Net Sale Proceeds		Net Sale Proceeds Distributed to Partners as of June 30, 2010	Undistributed Net Sale Proceeds as of June 30, 2010
Property Sold					Amount	Purpose

Tanglewood Commons Outparcel (sold in 2002)	$524,398		32.4%	$169,643	$0	—	$169,643	$0

Hannover Center (sold in 2004)	$1,703,431		63.4%	1,079,364	0	—	1,079,364	0

305 Interlocken Parkway (early termination in 2004)	$800,000	(1)	54.8%	438,374	0	—	438,374	0

15253 Bake Parkway (sold in 2004)	$11,892,035		46.1%	5,487,476	424,857	•Re-leasing 15253 Bake Parkway (2004) and the CH2M Hill Building (2005)	5,062,619	0

Tanglewood Commons shopping center (sold in 2005)	$11,236,283		32.4%	3,635,454	0	—	3,635,454	0

Tanglewood Commons land condemnation (sold in 2005)	$52,050		32.4%	16,841	0	—	16,841	0

CH2M Hill Building (sold in 2005)	$7,935,259		63.4%	5,028,105	0	—	5,028,105	0

BellSouth Building (sold in 2006)	$12,846,928		32.4%	4,156,572	0	—	4,156,572	0

Tanglewood Commons outparcels (sold in 2007)	$734,184		32.4%	237,542	0	—	237,542	0

14079 Senlac Drive (sold in 2007)	$5,107,237		54.8%	2,798,597	0	—	2,275,484	523,113

Total				$23,047,968	$424,857		$22,099,998	$523,113

(1)	Represents payment received for unamortized tenant improvements in connection with the Cirrus Logic, Inc. lease termination.

Upon evaluating the capital needs of the properties in which we currently own an interest, our General Partners have determined to reserve net sale proceeds of approximately $0.5 million to fund our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs for our remaining properties.

Results of Operations

Equity in Income of Joint Venture

Equity in income of Joint Venture remained relatively stable at $47,390 and $50,424 for the three months ended June 30, 2010 and 2009, respectively.

Equity in income of Joint Venture increased from $94,412 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 to $105,153 for the six months ended June 30, 2010. The increase is primarily attributable to a reduction in maintenance expenses incurred at the US Cellular Building in 2010.

Absent leasing activity at the US Cellular Building, we expect equity in income of Joint Venture to remain at similar levels in the near term.

Interest and Other Income

Interest and other income decreased from $437 for the three months ended June 30, 2009 to $302 for the three months ended June 30, 2010, and from $1,426 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 to $602 for the six months ended June 30, 2010. The decreases for the three and six months ended June 30, 2010 are primarily a result of a decrease in the average daily yield.

Future levels of interest income will be largely dependent on the timing of future property dispositions and net sales proceeds distributions to the limited partners, and fluctuations in the average daily yield.

General and Administrative Expenses

General and administrative expenses increased from $43,631 for the three months ended June 30, 2009 to $48,537 for the three months ended June 30, 2010, and from $100,078 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 to $111,583 for the six months ended June 30, 2010. The increases for the three and six months ended June 30, 2010 are primarily attributable to (i) a temporary difference in accounting fees related to the timing of work performed by our external accountants during the year, partially offset by (ii) a decrease in legal services in 2010.

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

ITEM 1A.	RISK FACTORS

There have been no material changes from the risk factors previously disclosed in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009.

ITEM 2.	UNREGISTERED SALES OF EQUITY SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS

(a)	We did not sell any equity securities that were not registered under the Securities Act of 1933 during the quarter ended June 30, 2010.

(b)	Not applicable.

(c)	We did not redeem any securities during the quarter ended June 30, 2010.

ITEM 3.	DEFAULTS UPON SENIOR SECURITIES

(a)	We were not subject to any indebtedness and, therefore, did not default with respect to any indebtedness during the quarter ended June 30, 2010.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 4.	RESERVED

ITEM 5.	OTHER INFORMATION

(a)	During the quarter ended June 30, 2010, there was no information required to be disclosed in a report on Form 8-K which was not disclosed in a report on Form 8-K.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 6.	EXHIBITS

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