11 October 2016

ISSUED ON BEHALF OF RELX PLC AND RELX NV

Transactions in own shares

RELX PLC announces that today, it purchased through J.P. Morgan Securities plc 137,802 RELX PLC ordinary shares of 14 51/116 pence each on the London Stock Exchange at a price of 1471.8814 pence per share. The purchased shares will be held as treasury shares. Following the above purchase, RELX PLC holds 91,494,349 ordinary shares in treasury, and has 1,086,237,471 ordinary shares in issue (excluding treasury shares). Since 4 January 2016 RELX PLC has purchased 27,614,569 shares.

RELX NV announces that today, it purchased through J.P. Morgan Securities plc 122,702 RELX NV ordinary shares of €0.07 each on the Euronext Amsterdam Stock Exchange at a price of €15.2811 per share. The purchased shares will be held as treasury shares. Following the above purchase, RELX NV holds 81,949,297 ordinary shares in treasury, and has 967,701,358 ordinary shares in issue (excluding treasury shares). Since 4 January 2016 RELX NV has purchased 24,835,903 shares.