Exhibit 99.1

                                  CERTIFICATION
                       PURSUANT TO 18 U.S.C. SECTION 1350,
                       AS ADOPTED PURSUANT TO SECTION 906
                        OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002

     In connection with the Knight Transportation, Inc., an Arizona corporation (the "Company") Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the three month period ended September 30, 2002, as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on the date hereof, I, Kevin P. Knight, Chief Executive Officer of the Company, certify, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

     To the best of the undersigned's knowledge, based upon a review of the Company's Form 10-Q for the three month period ended September 30, 2002:

     1. The Company's Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the three month period ended September 30, 2002, fully complies with the requirements of
          Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934;

     2. The information contained in the Company's Form 10-Q for the three month period ended September 30, 2002, fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of the Company.

                                        /s/ Kevin P. Knight
                                        ----------------------------------------
                                        Kevin P. Knight, Chief Executive Officer




STATE OF ARIZONA         )
                         )
County of Maricopa       )

     The foregoing was acknowledged  before me this 8th day of November,
2002, by Kevin P. Knight, Chief Executive Officer of Knight Transportation, Inc., an Arizona corporation, on behalf of such corporation.


                                        /s/ Peggy A. Poindexter
                                        ----------------------------------------
                                        Notary Public
My Commission Expires:

September 24, 2003
----------------------

     This certification is made solely for purposes of 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, subject to the knowledge standard contained therein, and not for any other purpose.