EXHIBIT 99.1

RISK RELATED TO OUR BUSINESS

We have had losses, and we cannot assure future profitability.

     We have reported operating income for fiscal years 2001, 2003 and 2005 and operating losses for fiscal years 2002 and 2004. We have reported net income for fiscal 2005 and net losses for the fiscal years 2001 through 2004. Our accumulated deficit was $183.2 million at March 31, 2005. We cannot assure you that we will operate profitably, and if we do not, we may not be able to meet our debt service requirements, working capital requirements, capital expenditure plans, anticipated production slate, acquisition and releasing plans or other cash needs. Our inability to meet those needs could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

We face substantial capital requirements and financial risks.

     Our business requires a substantial investment of capital. The production, acquisition and distribution of motion pictures and television programs require a significant amount of capital. A significant amount of time may elapse between our expenditure of funds and the receipt of commercial revenues from or government contributions to our motion pictures or television programs. This time lapse requires us to fund a significant portion of our capital requirements from our revolving credit facility and from other financing sources. Although we intend to continue to reduce the risks of our production exposure through financial contributions from broadcasters and distributors, tax shelters, government and industry programs and other studios, we cannot assure you that we will continue to implement successfully these arrangements or that we will not be subject to substantial financial risks relating to the production, acquisition, completion and release of future motion pictures and television programs. If we increase (through internal growth or acquisition) our production slate or our production budgets, we may be required to increase overhead and/or make larger up-front payments to talent and consequently bear greater financial risks. Any of the foregoing could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Our substantial leverage could adversely affect our financial condition. Historically, we have been highly leveraged and may be highly leveraged in the future. We have access to capital through our $215 million credit facility with J.P. Morgan Chase Bank, National Association. In addition, we have $385 million Convertible Senior Subordinated Notes outstanding, with $60 million maturing December 15, 2010, $150 million maturing October 15, 2024 and $175 million maturing March 15, 2025. At March 31, 2005 we had approximately $113 million in cash on hand. The outstanding balance under our credit facility is currently zero. The amount we have available to borrow under this facility depends upon our borrowing base, which in turn depends on the value of our existing library of films and television programs, as well as accounts receivable and cash held in collateral accounts. If several of our larger motion picture releases are commercial failures or our library declines in value, our borrowing base could decrease. Such a decrease could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition. For example, it could:

•	require us to dedicate a substantial portion of our cash flow to the repayment of our indebtedness, reducing the amount of cash flow available to fund motion picture and television production, distribution and other operating expenses;

•	limit our flexibility in planning for or reacting to downturns in our business, our industry or the economy in general;

•	limit our ability to obtain additional financing, if necessary, for operating expenses, or limit our ability to obtain such financing on terms acceptable to us; and

•	limit our ability to pursue strategic acquisitions and other business opportunities that may be in our best interests.

     Our credit facility contains certain covenants and financial tests that limit the way we conduct business. Our credit facility contains various covenants limiting our ability to incur or guarantee additional indebtedness, pay dividends and make other distributions, pre-pay any subordinated indebtedness, make investments and other restricted payments, make capital expenditures, make acquisitions and sell assets. These covenants may prevent us from raising additional financing, competing effectively or taking advantage of new business opportunities. Under our credit facility, we are also required to maintain specified financial ratios and satisfy certain financial tests. If we cannot comply with these covenants or meet these ratios and other tests, it could result in a default under our credit facility, and unless we are able to negotiate an amendment, forbearance or waiver, we could be required to repay all amounts then outstanding, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition depending upon our outstanding balance at the time.

     Borrowings under our credit facility also are secured by liens on substantially all of our assets and the assets of our subsidiaries. If we are in default under one of these credit facilities, the lenders could foreclose upon all or substantially all of our assets and the assets of our subsidiaries. We cannot assure you that we will generate sufficient cash flow to repay our indebtedness, and we further cannot assure you that, if the need arises, we will be able to obtain additional financing or to refinance our indebtedness on terms acceptable to us, if at all. Any such failure to obtain financing could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Budget overruns may adversely affect our business. Our business model requires that we be efficient in the production of our motion pictures and television programs. Actual motion picture and television production costs often exceed their budgets, sometimes significantly. The production, completion and distribution of motion pictures and television productions are subject to a number of uncertainties, including delays and increased expenditures due to creative differences among key cast members and other key creative personnel or other disruptions or events beyond our control. Risks such as death or disability of star performers, technical complications with special effects or other aspects of production, shortages of necessary equipment, damage to film negatives, master tapes and recordings or adverse weather conditions may cause cost overruns and delay or frustrate completion of a production. If a motion picture or television production incurs substantial budget overruns, we may have to seek additional financing from outside sources to complete production. We cannot make assurances regarding the availability of such financing on terms acceptable to us, and the lack of such financing could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     In addition, if a motion picture or television production incurs substantial budget overruns, we cannot assure you that we will recoup these costs, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition. Increased costs incurred with respect to a particular film may result in any such film not being ready for release at the intended time and the postponement to a potentially less favourable time, all of which could cause a decline in box office performance, and thus the overall financial success of such film. Budget overruns could also prevent a picture from being completed or released. Any of the foregoing could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Production costs and marketing costs are rising at a faster rate than increases in either domestic admissions to movie theatres or admission ticket prices, leaving us more dependent on other media, such as home video, television and foreign markets, and new media. If we cannot successfully exploit these other media, it could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

Failure to achieve and maintain effective disclosure controls or internal controls could have a material adverse effect on our ability to report our financial results timely and accurately.

     Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act requires that our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ending March 31, 2005 include a report containing management’s assessment of our internal controls over financial reporting and a related attestation of management’s assessment and an opinion on the effectiveness of our internal controls by our independent registered public accounting firm. We are incurring, and will continue to incur, substantial additional expense and diversion of management’s time as a result of performing the internal control systems evaluation, testing and remediation required in order to comply with the requirements of Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

     We have completed the initial documentation, evaluation and testing of our internal controls over financial reporting and have discovered material weaknesses. The material weaknesses we have identified relate to calculating our participations expense and the related liability for financial reporting purposes, calculating amortization of investment in film and television programs, monitoring certain charges billed to us by our outsourced home entertainment distribution service provider and our financial statement close process. In light of the material weaknesses related to our internal controls and processes over financial reporting we and our independent registered public accounting firm must conclude that our disclosure controls and procedures and our internal controls and processes over financial reporting are ineffective. There is more than a remote possibility that we could have a misstatement that would be material to our financial statements. Our failure to adequately remediate our material weaknesses could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition. In addition, as a result of our conclusion that our disclosure controls and internal controls are ineffective as of March 31, 2005, current and potential shareholders could lose confidence in the accuracy and completeness of our financial reporting and our share price could be negatively impacted.

     Management is actively working to correct the material weaknesses, however, we cannot assure you that the measures we have taken to date or any future measures will remediate the issues or other issues which we may find.

     If, at any time, we conclude that our disclosure controls and procedures and our internal controls over financial reporting are ineffective, as we have as of March 31, 2005, or if our independent registered public accounting firm concludes that our internal controls over financial reporting are ineffective, or if our independent registered public accounting firm is unable to conclude that our assessment is fairly stated or if our independent registered public accounting firm is unable to express an opinion on the effectiveness of our internal controls, our ability to obtain additional financing on favourable terms and our ease of access to the capital markets could be materially and adversely affected, which, in turn, could materially and adversely affect our business, our financial condition and the market value of our securities.

Our revenues and results of operations may fluctuate significantly.

     Revenues and results of operations are difficult to predict and depend on a variety of factors. Our revenues and results of operations depend significantly upon the commercial success of the motion pictures and television programming that we distribute, which cannot be predicted with certainty. Accordingly, our revenues and results of operations may fluctuate significantly from period to period, and the results of any one period may not be indicative of the results for any future periods. Historically, our revenues and results of operations have been significantly impacted by the success of critically acclaimed and award winning films, including Academy Award winners and nominees. Recently, we have had success with films directed at a wider audience and with greater commercial appeal. We cannot assure you that we will manage the production, acquisition and distribution of future motion pictures as successfully as we have done with these recent critically acclaimed and award winning films or that we will produce or acquire motion pictures that will receive similar critical acclaim or perform as well commercially. Any inability to achieve such commercial success could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     We lack output agreements with cable and broadcast channels. We had an agreement with one cable broadcast channel to exhibit our films, but that agreement does not cover films released theatrically after 2003. We have an output arrangement with another cable broadcast channel that covers some but not all of our films that are theatrically released through December 31, 2008. While similar broadcasters exhibit our films, they license such rights on a film-by-film, rather than an output, basis. We cannot assure you that we will be able to secure other

output agreements on acceptable terms, if at all. Without multiple output agreements that typically contain guaranteed minimum payments, our revenues may be subject to greater volatility, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     We rely on a few major retailers and distributors for a material portion of our business and the loss of any of those or retailers distributors could reduce our revenues and operating results. Wal-Mart represented over 10% of our revenues in fiscal 2005. In addition, a small number of other retailers and distributors account for a significant percentage of our revenues. We do not have long-term agreements with the retailers. We cannot assure you that we will continue to maintain favourable relationships with our retailers and distributors or that they will not be adversely affected by economic conditions. If any of these retailers or distributors reduces or cancels a significant order, it could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Our revenues and results of operations are vulnerable to currency fluctuations. We report our revenues and results of operations in U.S. dollars, but a significant portion of our revenues is earned outside of the United States. Our principal currency exposure is between Canadian and U.S. dollars. Historically, this exposure was partially mitigated by structuring our revolving credit facility as a Canadian dollar facility and a U.S. dollar facility. As of April 2005, we no longer have the Canadian dollar facility and cannot so mitigate. We also enter into forward foreign exchange contracts to hedge future production expenses. We cannot accurately predict the impact of future exchange rate fluctuations between on revenues and operating margins, and fluctuations could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     From time to time we may experience currency exposure on distribution and production revenues and expenses from foreign countries, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Accounting practices used in our industry may accentuate fluctuations in operating results. In addition to the cyclical nature of the entertainment industry, our accounting practices (which are standard for the industry) may accentuate fluctuations in our operating results. In accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles and industry practice, we amortize film and television programming costs using the “individual-film-forecast” method. Under this accounting method, we amortize film and television programming costs for each film or television program based on the following ratio:

Revenue earned by title in the current period
Estimated total revenues by title

     We regularly review, and revise when necessary, our total revenue estimates on a title-by-title basis. This review may result in a change in the rate of amortization and/or a write-down of the film or television asset to its estimated fair value. Results of operations in future years depend upon our amortization of our film and television costs. Periodic adjustments in amortization rates may significantly affect these results. In addition, we are required to expense film advertising costs as incurred, but are also required to recognize the revenue from any motion picture or television program over the entire revenue stream expected to be generated by the individual picture or television program.

Failure to manage future growth may adversely affect our business.

     We are subject to risks associated with possible acquisitions, business combinations, or joint ventures. From time to time we engage in discussions and activities with respect to possible acquisitions, business combinations, or joint ventures intended to complement or expand our business. We may not realize the anticipated benefit from any of the transactions we pursue. Regardless of whether we consummate any such transaction, the negotiation of a potential transaction as well as the integration of the acquired business could require us to incur significant costs and cause diversion of management’s time and resources. Any such transaction could also result in impairment of goodwill and other intangibles, development write-offs and other related expenses. Any of the foregoing could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     We may be unable to integrate any business that we acquire or have acquired or with which we combine or have combined. Integrating any business that we acquire or have acquired or with which we combine or have combined is distracting to our management and disruptive to our business and may result in significant costs to us.

We could face challenges in consolidating functions and integrating procedures, information technology and accounting systems, personnel and operations in a timely and efficient manner. If any such integration is unsuccessful, or if the integration takes longer than anticipated, there could be a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition. We may have difficulty managing the combined entity in the short term if we experience a significant loss of management personnel during the transition period after the significant acquisition.

     Claims against us relating to any acquisition or business combination may necessitate our seeking claims against the seller for which the seller may not indemnify us or that may exceed the seller’s indemnification obligations. There may be liabilities assumed in any acquisition or business combination that we did not discover or that we underestimated in the course of performing our due diligence investigation. Although a seller generally will have indemnification obligations to us under an acquisition or merger agreement, these obligations usually will be subject to financial limitations, such as general deductibles and maximum recovery amounts, as well as time limitations. We cannot assure you that our right to indemnification from any seller will be enforceable, collectible or sufficient in amount, scope or duration to fully offset the amount of any undiscovered or underestimated liabilities that we may incur. Any such liabilities, individually or in the aggregate, could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     We may not be able to obtain additional funding to meet our requirements. Our ability to grow through acquisitions, business combinations and joint ventures, to maintain and expand our development, production and distribution of motion pictures and television programs and to fund our operating expenses depends upon our ability to obtain funds through equity financing, debt financing (including credit facilities) or the sale or syndication of some or all of our interests in certain projects or other assets. If we do not have access to such financing arrangements, and if other funding does not become available on terms acceptable to us, there could be a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

A significant portion of our filmed and television content library revenues comes from a small number of titles.

     We depend on a limited number of titles for the majority of the revenues generated by our filmed and television content library. In addition, many of the titles in our library are not presently distributed and generate substantially no revenue. If we cannot acquire new product and the rights to popular titles through production, distribution agreements, acquisitions, mergers, joint ventures or other strategic alliances, it could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

We are limited in our ability to exploit a portion of our filmed and television content library.

     Our rights to the titles in our filmed and television content library vary; in some cases we have only the right to distribute titles in certain media and territories for a limited term. For instance, in November 2005, our distribution rights to the Republic Library, which includes, among others, It’s a Wonderful Life, High Noon and The Quiet Man, may expire. The Republic Library generated approximately 2% of our revenues in 2005. We cannot assure you that we will be able to renew expiring rights on acceptable terms and that any failure to renew titles generating a significant portion of our revenue would not have a material adverse effect on business, results of operations or financial condition.

Our success depends on external factors in the motion picture and television industry.

     Our success depends on the commercial success of motion pictures and television programs, which is unpredictable. Operating in the motion picture and television industry involves a substantial degree of risk. Each motion picture and television program is an individual artistic work, and inherently unpredictable audience reactions primarily determine commercial success. Generally, the popularity of our motion pictures or programs depends on many factors, including the critical acclaim they receive, the format of their initial release, for example, theatrical or direct-to-video, the actors and other key talent, their genre and their specific subject matter. The commercial success of our motion pictures or television programs also depends upon the quality and acceptance of motion pictures or programs that our competitors release into the marketplace at or near the same time, critical reviews, the availability of alternative forms of entertainment and leisure activities, general economic conditions and other tangible and intangible factors, many of which we do not control and all of which may change. We cannot predict the future effects of these factors with certainty, any of which factors could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     In addition, because a motion picture’s or television program’s performance in ancillary markets, such as home video and pay and free television, is often directly related to its box office performance or television ratings, poor box office results or poor television ratings may negatively affect future revenue streams. Our success will depend on the experience and judgment of our management to select and develop new investment and production opportunities. We cannot make assurances that our motion pictures and television programs will obtain favourable reviews or ratings, that our motion pictures will perform well at the box office or in ancillary markets or that

broadcasters will license the rights to broadcast any of our television programs in development or renew licenses to broadcast programs in our library. The failure to achieve any of the foregoing could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Licensed distributors’ failure to promote our programs may adversely affect our business. Licensed distributors’ decisions regarding the timing of release and promotional support of our motion pictures, television programs and related products are important in determining the success of these pictures, programs and products. We do not control the timing and manner in which our licensed distributors distribute our motion pictures or television programs. Any decision by those distributors not to distribute or promote one of our motion pictures, television programs or related products or to promote our competitors’ motion pictures, television programs or related products to a greater extent than they promote ours could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     We could be adversely affected by strikes or other union job actions. We are directly or indirectly dependent upon highly specialized union members who are essential to the production of motion pictures and television programs. A strike by, or a lockout of, one or more of the unions that provide personnel essential to the production of motion pictures or television programs could delay or halt our ongoing production activities. Such a halt or delay, depending on the length of time, could cause a delay or interruption in our release of new motion pictures and television programs, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

We face substantial competition in all aspects of our business.

     We are smaller and less diversified than many of our competitors. As an independent distributor and producer, we constantly compete with major U.S. and international studios. Most of the major U.S. studios are part of large diversified corporate groups with a variety of other operations, including television networks and cable channels, that can provide both the means of distributing their products and stable sources of earnings that may allow them better to offset fluctuations in the financial performance of their motion picture and television operations. In addition, the major studios have more resources with which to compete for ideas, storylines and scripts created by third parties as well as for actors, directors and other personnel required for production. The resources of the major studios may also give them an advantage in acquiring other businesses or assets, including film libraries, that we might also be interested in acquiring. Our inability to compete successfully could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     The motion picture industry is highly competitive and at times may create an oversupply of motion pictures in the market. The number of motion pictures released by our competitors, particularly the major U.S. studios, may create an oversupply of product in the market, reduce our share of box office receipts and make it more difficult for our films to succeed commercially. Oversupply may become most pronounced during peak release times, such as school holidays and national holidays, when theatre attendance is expected to be highest. For this reason, and because of our more limited production and advertising budgets, we typically do not release our films during peak release times, which may also reduce our potential revenues for a particular release. Moreover, we cannot guarantee that we can release all of our films when they are otherwise scheduled. In addition to production or other delays that might cause us to alter our release schedule, a change in the schedule of a major studio may force us to alter the release date of a film because we cannot always compete with a major studio’s larger promotion campaign. Any such change could adversely impact a film’s financial performance. In addition, if we cannot change our schedule after such a change by a major studio because we are too close to the release date, the major studio’s release and its typically larger promotion budget may adversely impact the financial performance of our film. The foregoing could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     The limited supply of motion picture screens compounds this product oversupply problem. Currently, a substantial majority of the motion picture screens in the U.S. typically are committed at any one time to only 10 to 15 films distributed nationally by major studio distributors. In addition, as a result of changes in the theatrical exhibition industry, including reorganizations and consolidations and the fact that major studio releases occupy more screens, the number of screens available to us when we want to release a picture may decrease. If the number of motion picture screens decreases, box office receipts, and the correlating future revenue streams, such as from home

video and pay and free television, of our motion pictures may also decrease, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Technological advances may reduce our ability to exploit our motion pictures and television programs. The entertainment industry in general and the motion picture industry in particular continue to undergo significant technological developments, including video-on-demand. This rapid growth of technology combined with shifting consumer tastes could change how consumers view our motion pictures and television programs. For example, an increase in video-on-demand could decrease home video rentals. Other larger entertainment distribution companies will have larger budgets to exploit these growing trends. While we have a minority interest in CinemaNow, it is a company in its infancy whose commercial success is impossible to predict. We cannot predict how we will financially participate in the exploitation of our motion pictures and television programs through these emerging technologies or whether we have the right to do so for certain of our library titles. If we cannot successfully exploit these and other emerging technologies, it could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

We face risks from doing business internationally.

     We distribute motion picture and television productions outside the United States and Canada through third party licensees and derive revenues from these sources. As a result, our business is subject to certain risks inherent in international business, many of which are beyond our control. These risks include:

•	changes in local regulatory requirements, including restrictions on content;

•	changes in the laws and policies affecting trade, investment and taxes, including laws and policies relating to the repatriation of funds and to withholding taxes;

•	differing degrees of protection for intellectual property;

•	instability of foreign economies and governments;

•	cultural barriers;

•	wars and acts of terrorism; and

•	the spread of communicable diseases.

     Any of these factors could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

Protecting and defending against intellectual property claims may have a material adverse effect on our business.

     Our ability to compete depends, in part, upon successful protection of our intellectual property. We do not have the financial resources to protect our rights to the same extent as major studios. We attempt to protect proprietary and intellectual property rights to our productions through available copyright and trademark laws and licensing and distribution arrangements with reputable international companies in specific territories and media for limited durations. Despite these precautions, existing copyright and trademark laws afford only limited practical protection in certain countries. We also distribute our products in other countries in which there is no copyright or trademark protection. As a result, it may be possible for unauthorized third parties to copy and distribute our productions or certain portions or applications of our intended productions, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     Litigation may also be necessary in the future to enforce our intellectual property rights, to protect our trade secrets, or to determine the validity and scope of the proprietary rights of others or to defend against claims of infringement or invalidity. Any such litigation could result in substantial costs and the diversion of resources and could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition. We cannot assure

you that infringement or invalidity claims will not materially adversely affect our business, results of operations and financial condition. Regardless of the validity or the success of the assertion of these claims, we could incur significant costs and diversion of resources in enforcing our intellectual property rights or in defending against such claims, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

Piracy of motion pictures, including digital and internet piracy, may reduce the gross receipts from the exploitation of our films.

     Motion picture piracy is extensive in many parts of the world, including South America, Asia, the countries of the former Soviet Union and other former Eastern bloc countries. Additionally, as motion pictures begin to be digitally distributed using emerging technologies such as the internet and online services, piracy could become more prevalent, including in the U.S., because digital formats are easier to copy. As a result, users can download and distribute unauthorized copies of copyrighted motion pictures over the internet. In addition, there could be increased use of devices capable of making unauthorized copies of motion pictures. As long as pirated content is available to download digitally, many consumers may choose to download such pirated motion pictures rather than pay to view motion pictures. Piracy of our films may adversely impact the gross receipts received from the exploitation of these films, which could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

Our business involves risks of liability claims for media content, which could adversely affect our business, results of operations and financial condition.

     As a distributor of media content, we may face potential liability for:

•	defamation;

•	invasion of privacy;

•	negligence;

•	copyright or trademark infringement; and

•	other claims based on the nature and content of the materials distributed.

     These types of claims have been brought, sometimes successfully, against producers and distributors of media content. Any imposition of liability that is not covered by insurance or is in excess of insurance coverage could have a material adverse effect on our business, results of operations and financial condition.

We may lose access to certain Canadian and international benefits if we cease to be a Canadian controlled entity.

     We may lose access to certain Canadian and international investment funds, tax credits and other benefits if we cease to be a Canadian controlled entity. For our motion picture and television productions to continue to qualify for certain Canadian refundable tax credit programs or government incentive programs from such entities as Telefilm Canada, we must remain a Canadian-controlled entity pursuant to the Investment Canada Act (Canada),or ICA, among other statutory requirements. Historically, we financed a portion of the production budgets for some of our productions from Canadian incentive programs from such agencies as Telefilm Canada, as well as international sources in the case of our international treaty co-productions. There can be no assurance that local cultural incentive programs that we may access in Canada and internationally, as a result of our Canadian-controlled status, will not be reduced, amended or eliminated if we cease to be a Canadian controlled entity.

     The ICA is administered by the Minister of Industry and, in the case of investments in a Canadian cultural business, by the Minister of Canadian Heritage (both referred to herein as the “Minister”). A “Canadian cultural business” is defined in the ICA as a business activity relating to Canada’s cultural heritage or national identity, and includes a business engaged in the production, distribution, sale or exhibition of film or video products. We may or may not be operating a Canadian cultural business for the purposes of the ICA.

     The ICA contains rules, the application of which determines whether an entity (as the term is defined in the ICA) is Canadian-controlled. Under these rules, an entity is presumed to be a non-Canadian in certain circumstances, including where Canadians own less than a majority of voting interests of an entity. This presumption may be rebutted, for example, if a corporation establishes that it is not controlled in fact through the ownership of its voting interests and that two-thirds of the members of its board of directors are Canadians.

     Although we believe we are presently a Canadian-controlled entity under the ICA, there can be no assurance that the Minister will not conclude that we are not in compliance with the ICA, or that we will continue to be a Canadian-controlled entity under the ICA as a result in changes of our ownership or board or directors. The ICA provides the Minister with discretion to make a determination that an entity engaged in a cultural business is not a Canadian-controlled entity, if the Minister is satisfied, after considering any information or evidence submitted by the entity or otherwise made available to the Minister or the Director of Investments, that the entity is controlled in fact by one or more non-Canadians. Additionally, there are currently no restrictions on our common shares, as a class, and we accordingly may not be able to prevent an acquisition of control by non-Canadians.

     An investment by non-Canadians in our business is potentially reviewable under the ICA. Under the ICA, the Minister has discretion to determine, after considering any information or evidence submitted by the entity or otherwise made available to the Minister or the Director of Investments, that an investment by a non-Canadian in a cultural business may constitute an acquisition of control by that non-Canadian, notwithstanding the provisions in the ICA that state that certain investments do not or may not constitute an acquisition of control that would require notification or review under the ICA. As stated above, we may or may not be a Canadian cultural business for the purposes of the ICA. In the event that the Minister exercises such discretion and deems an investment by a non-Canadian in a cultural business to be an acquisition of control, the investment is potentially subject to notification and/or review. If the investment is subject to review, the Minister must be satisfied that the investment is likely to be of net benefit to Canada. Such a determination is often accompanied by requests that the non-Canadian provide undertakings supportive of Canadian cultural policy. These undertakings may, in some circumstances, include a request for financial support of certain initiatives. The determination by the Minister of whether a proposed investment is of net benefit to Canada also includes consideration of sector specific policies of the Canadian federal government, some of which restrict or prohibit investments by non-Canadians in certain types of Canadian cultural businesses.

     A failure to meet Canadian programming restrictions may decrease the time slots or amount of license fees and incentive programs available to us in Canada. Canadian broadcasters, including all conventional, specialty and pay television services, are typically required, as a condition of their license, to broadcast significant minimum amounts of Canadian content programming on their overall schedule and in the evening broadcast period. The CRTC enforces compliance with these requirements, and failure to comply can result in fines or in the revocation of a broadcaster’s license, or more restrictive terms on license renewal. The CRTC has issued detailed criteria under its regulations that must be met for a television production to qualify as a “Canadian program.” The criteria require, among other things, that Canadians perform a minimum level of key creative functions and that specified minimum production costs be paid to Canadians or Canadian companies. If our productions cease to qualify as Canadian programs under existing CRTC regulations, or if these regulations should change on further review by the CRTC, we may find it more difficult to secure time slots in Canada for our productions, or the amount of the license fees we may generate in Canada may decrease if our programs do not qualify as Canadian programs. Additionally, in certain circumstances, we may be in default of contractual commitments to Canadian broadcasters if a program does not qualify under the applicable requirements. In addition, if our productions cease to meet minimum Canadian content requirements, we may be unable to access various federal and provincial motion picture and television incentive programs, including refundable tax credits, as discussed above.