Exhibit 99.1

News

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Bank of Montreal to Redeem $900,000,000 6.17% Series F Medium-Term Notes First Tranche

TORONTO, February 8, 2018 – Bank of Montreal (TSX:BMO)(NYSE:BMO) today announced its intention to redeem all of its $900,000,000 Series F Medium-Term Notes First Tranche (the “Notes”) on March 28, 2018. The Notes are redeemable at par together with accrued and unpaid interest to, but excluding, the redemption date.

Notice will be delivered to holders of the Notes in accordance with the terms outlined in the Notes prospectus.

About BMO Financial Group

Serving customers for 200 years and counting, BMO is a highly diversified financial services provider – the 8th largest bank, by assets, in North America. With total assets of $710 billion as of October 31, 2017, and more than 45,000 employees, BMO provides a broad range of personal and commercial banking, wealth management and investment banking products and services to more than 12 million customers and conducts business through three operating groups: Personal and Commercial Banking, Wealth Management and BMO Capital Markets.

For News Media Inquiries:

Paul Gammal, Toronto, paul.gammal@bmo.com, (416) 867-3996

For Investor Relations Inquiries:

Jill Homenuk, Toronto, jill.homenuk@bmo.com, (416) 867-4770

Christine Viau, Toronto, christine.viau@bmo.com, (416) 867-6956

Internet: www.bmo.com	Twitter: @BMOMedia