Exhibit 99.1

For Immediate Release
Contact:

David Bulger (Company)	Jerry Daly or Carol McCune
EVP, CFO and Treasurer	Daly Gray (Media)
(561) 227-1302	(703) 435-6293

Innkeepers USA Trust Doubles Common Stock Dividend

PALM BEACH, Fla., September 16, 2004—Innkeepers USA Trust (NYSE: KPA), a hotel real estate investment trust (REIT) and a leading owner of upscale, extended-stay hotel properties throughout the United States, today announced that its Board of Trustees has declared a regular common share dividend of $0.06 per share for the third quarter of 2004, an increase from the previous quarterly dividend of $0.03. The board also declared a regular dividend of $0.50 per Series C Cumulative Preferred share for the period of July 28, 2004, to October 26, 2004.

The common and Series C preferred dividends are payable October 26, 2004, to shareholders of record on September 24, 2004.

Innkeepers USA Trust is a hotel real estate investment trust (REIT) and a leading owner of upscale, extended-stay hotel properties throughout the United States. The company owns 68 hotels with a total of 8,579 suites or rooms in 21 states and focuses on acquiring and/or developing upscale and upscale extended-stay hotels with premium brands and the rebranding and repositioning of other hotel properties. For more information about Innkeepers USA Trust, visit the company’s web site at www.innkeepersusa.com.

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Innkeepers

Cautionary statements set forth in reports filed by the company from time to time with the SEC discuss important factors impacting, or that could impact, the company and its results or forecasted results. These factors include, without limitation, (i) more direct exposure to the operational risks of the hotel business (including falling hotel revenues and increasing hotel expenses) under the company’s new taxable REIT subsidiary structure, (ii) risks that war, terrorism or similar activities, widespread health alerts, disruption in oil imports or higher oil prices or changes in domestic or international political environments, have affected and may continue to negatively affect the travel industry and the company, and the negative effects of such events that may occur in the future cannot be fully anticipated, (iii) the relative strength and performance of businesses and industries that are important demand generators in the company’s key markets (e.g., technology, automotive, aerospace), (iv) international, national, regional and local economic conditions that will, among other things, affect demand for the company’s hotel rooms and the availability and terms of financing, (v) the company’s ability to maintain its properties in competitive condition, (vi) the company’s ability to acquire or develop additional properties and risks that potential acquisitions or developments may not perform in accordance with expectations, (vii) changes in travel patterns or the prevailing means of commerce (i.e., e-commerce), (viii) the complex tax rules that the company must satisfy to qualify as a REIT, and other governmental regulation, and (ix) governmental regulation that may increase the company’s cost of doing business or otherwise negatively effect its business or its attractiveness as an investment (e.g., changes in laws affecting taxes or dividends or other taxes, compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, workers compensation law changes, the Sarbanes-Oxley law, etc.).