MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL LP (CIK 925306)
Form 10-Q
period 1999-09-30
filed 1999-11-12

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

     Statements of Operations for the Quarters Ended
     September 30, 1999 and 1998 (Unaudited)....................3

     Statements of Operations for the Nine Months Ended
     September 30, 1999 and 1998 (Unaudited)....................4

     Statements of Changes in Partners' Capital for the
     Nine Months Ended September 30, 1999 and 1998
     (Unaudited)............................................... 5

     Statements of Cash Flows for the Nine Months Ended
     September 30, 1999 and 1998 (Unaudited)................... 6

        Notes to Financial Statements (Unaudited).............. 7-
     11

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of

Financial Condition and Results of Operations...... 12-22

Item 3. Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about
        Market Risk ....................................... 22-34

Part II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1. Legal Proceedings..................................... 35

Item 2. Changes in Securities and Use of Proceeds.......... 35-37

Item 6. Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K...................... 37




                 PART I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.  Financial Statements

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
               STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION
                                   September 30,   December 31,
                                        1999           1998
                                         $              $
                                    (Unaudited)

ASSETS
Equity in futures interests trading accounts:
 Cash                            267,595,299     235,044,325
 Net unrealized gain on open contracts12,647,582       18,909,268
 Net option premiums               (1,483,429)             -

      Total Trading Equity       278,759,452     253,953,593

Subscriptions receivable           3,927,284       4,002,633
Interest receivable (DWR)            902,182           717,685

      Total Assets               283,588,918     258,673,911


LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Liabilities

 Accrued brokerage fees (DWR)      1,699,097         1,439,151
 Redemptions payable               1,570,058       1,339,311
 Accrued management fees            937,433          794,015

      Total Liabilities           4,206,588         3,572,477


Partners' Capital

 Limited Partners (17,651,240.742 and
          15,660,041.764  Units, respectively)  276,499,328    25
2,455,045
 General Partner (184,045.888 and
      164,158.204  Units, respectively)      2,883,002          2
,646,389

 Total Partners' Capital        279,382,330       255,101,434

  Total  Liabilities and Partners' Capital   283,588,918      258
,673,911


NET      ASSET     VALUE     PER     UNIT                   15.66
16.12

          The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
                    STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                           (Unaudited)





                              For the Quarters Ended September 30,

                                       1999            1998
                                        $            $
REVENUES
 Trading profit (loss):
    Realized                       864,430   (4,813,089)
    Net change in unrealized     (8,011,531)   40,764,560

      Total Trading Results      (7,147,101) 35,951,471

 Interest Income (DWR)           2,574,538       2,165,631

      Total Revenues             (4,572,563)    38,117,102

EXPENSES

 Brokerage fees (DWR)            5,041,583    3,910,830
 Management fees                 2,781,562      2,157,699
 Incentive fees                  -               2,443,972

    Total Expenses               7,823,145       8,512,501

NET INCOME (LOSS)               (12,395,708)   29,604,601


NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATION

                         Limited                         Partners
(12,268,803)                29,303,559
                          General                         Partner
(126,905)                     301,042

NET INCOME (LOSS) PER UNIT

                         Limited                         Partners
(0.73)                           2.00
                          General                         Partner
(0.73)                           2.00






          The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
                    STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                           (Unaudited)





                             For the Nine Months Ended September 30,

                                       1999            1998
                                        $            $
REVENUES
 Trading profit (loss):
    Realized                    14,704,626   13,007,107
    Net change in unrealized     (6,261,686)   26,421,207

      Total Trading Results      8,442,940      39,428,314

 Interest Income (DWR)           6,954,549       6,008,143

      Total Revenues            15,397,489      45,436,457

EXPENSES

 Brokerage fees (DWR)           14,393,049   11,107,075
 Management fees                 7,940,992   5,955,922
 Incentive fees                    430,097       2,653,466

    Total Expenses              22,764,138      19,716,463

NET INCOME (LOSS)              (7,366,649)      25,719,994

NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATION

         Limited         Partners                     (7,293,262)
25,458,926
                          General                         Partner
(73,387)
261,068

NET INCOME (LOSS) PER UNIT

                         Limited                         Partners
(0.46)                                     1.70
                          General                         Partner
(0.46)                           1.70


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

Partners' Capital,
 December 31, 1997 12,434,700.738          $180,099,271          $1,851,236
$181,950,507

Continuous Offering 3,755,829.080          54,600,215            385,000
54,985,215
Net Income           -                     25,458,926            261,068
25,719,994
Redemptions      (1,094,116.386)             (16,157,325)                    -
(16,157,325)

Partners' Capital,
 September 30, 1998  15,096,413.432        $244,001,087          $2,497,304
$246,498,391




Partners' Capital,
 December 31, 1998 15,824,199.968          $252,455,045          $2,646,389
$255,101,434

Continuous Offering3,096,204.722           48,485,453            310,000
48,795,453

Net Loss              -                    (7,293,262)           (73,387)
(7,366,649)

Redemptions       (1,085,118.060)            (17,147,908)                  -
(17,147,908)

Partners' Capital,
 September 30, 1999  17,835,286.630        $276,499,328          $2,883,002
$279,382,330








           The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
                    STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                           (Unaudited)





                             For the Nine Months Ended September 30,

                                       1999            1998
                                        $            $
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net   income   (loss)                (7,366,649)                2
5,719,994
Noncash item included in net income (loss):
         Net      change     in     unrealized          6,261,686
(26,421,207)

(Increase) decrease in operating assets:
 Net option premiums              1,483,429              -
 Interest receivable (DWR)         (184,497)             (74,352)

Increase in operating liabilities:
    Accrued brokerage fees (DWR)    259,946              309,743
    Accrued management fees         143,418              202,545
           Incentive       fees        payable                  -
607,032

Net   cash   provided   by   operating   activities       597,333
343,755


CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES

   Continuous   offering              48,795,453                5
4,985,215
   (Increase)   decrease  in  subscriptions   receivable   75,349
(2,233,770)
      Increase     in     redemptions     payable         230,747
606,274
      Redemptions      of      units                 (17,147,908)
(16,157,325)

Net   cash   provided  by  financing  activities       31,953,641
37,200,394


Net   increase  in  cash              32,550,974                3
7,544,149

Balance      at      beginning     of     period      235,044,325
168,849,922

Balance      at      end     of     period            267,595,299
206,394,071

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

the Statements of Financial Condition and totaled $12,647,582 and

$18,909,268  at  September  30,  1999  and  December  31,   1998,

respectively.



Of  the  $12,647,582  net unrealized gain on  open  contracts  at

September   30,  1999,  $10,872,297  related  to  exchange-traded

futures  and  futures-styled  options  contracts  and  $1,775,285

related to off-exchange-traded forward currency contracts.



Of the $18,909,268 net unrealized gain on open contracts at

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
            NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)


December 31, 1998, $19,606,697 related to exchange-traded futures

contracts  and $(697,429) related to off-exchange-traded  forward

currency contracts.



Exchange-traded futures and futures-styled option contracts  held

by  the  Partnership at September 30, 1999 and December 31,  1998

mature  through  September 2000 and December 1999,  respectively.

Off-exchange-traded  forward  currency  contracts  held  by   the

Partnership  at September 30, 1999 and December 31,  1998  mature

through December 1999 and March 1999, respectively.



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

contracts,  which  funds, in the aggregate, totaled  $278,467,596

and  $254,651,022  at September 30, 1999 and December  31,  1998,

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



Results of Operations

For the Quarter and Nine Months Ended September 30, 1999

For  the  quarter  ended  September  30,  1999,  the  Partnership

recorded   total  trading  losses  net  of  interest  income   of

$4,572,563  and  posted a decrease in Net Asset Value  per  Unit.

The  most  significant losses were recorded in the  global  stock

index  futures markets from long positions in ASE All  Ordinaries

Index futures as Australian stock prices moved lower during  July

on  inflationary concerns in the U.S.  During August, losses were

experienced from short positions in this market index as prices
increased  due  to a surge on Wall Street and on  Australian  job

figures  that  showed  the lowest rate of  unemployment  in  that

country  in  nine  years.  In the global  interest  rate  futures

markets,  losses  were  recorded  during  September  from   short

positions  in Japanese government bond futures as prices  rallied

on  the  strength  of  the  Japanese yen  and  expectations  that

additional monetary easing in that country will come.  Additional

losses  were  experienced during August from short U.S.  interest

rate  futures positions as U.S. Treasury prices moved  higher  on

benign  inflation data, a successful corporate bond offering  and

the Federal Reserve anticipated decision to raise interest rates.

Offsetting  gains  in  this market complex were  recorded  during

September  from  short  German bond  futures  positions  as  most

European bond prices decreased on signs of a resurgence  in  that

region's economy.  In the metals markets, losses were experienced

from  short gold futures positions as prices skyrocketed  due  to

the  results  of  the Bank of England's second  gold  auction  on

September  21 and the announcement of a plan by several  European

central  banks to restrict sales of their gold reserves for  five

years.  In the currency markets, losses were recorded during July

from short positions in the Swiss franc and the euro as the value

of these currencies strengthened versus the U.S. dollar due to  a

better-than-expected  German  business  sentiment  survey  and  a

record U.S. trade deficit.  Additional losses were recorded  from

long  positions  in  these currencies as the value  of  the  U.S.

dollar  rallied  higher versus most major currencies  on  Monday,

August  23 amid a rally in U.S. stock prices and on September  10

as  an intervention by the Bank of Japan temporarily strengthened

the
dollar.  As a result, new short positions were established in the

European  common currency and the Swiss franc only to  result  in

additional  losses  as these currencies strengthened  versus  the

U.S.  dollar during the latter half of September after  the  July

U.S.  trade  figures  reflected  a  record  deficit.   Offsetting

currency  gains  were recorded during August and  September  from

long  Japanese  yen positions as the value of the  yen  increased

versus the U.S. dollar due to positive economic data out of  that

country  and optimism over Japan's economic recovery.  A  portion

of the Partnership's overall losses for the quarter was offset by

gains recorded in energy markets from long positions in crude oil

futures  and its refined products, unleaded gas, heating oil  and

gas oil, as oil prices climbed higher during August and September

due  to  a  perceived  tightness in the gasoline  market  and  an

announcement  by OPEC ministers stating that they would  continue

to adhere to agreed-upon output cuts through the first quarter of

2000.  Total  expenses for the three months ended  September  30,

1999 were $7,823,145 resulting in a net loss of $12,395,708.  The

value  of a Unit decreased from $16.39 at June 30, 1999 to $15.66

at September 30, 1999.



For  the  nine  month ended September 30, 1999,  the  Partnership

recorded  total  trading revenues including  interest  income  of

$15,397,489 and, after expenses, posted a decrease in  Net  Asset

Value per Unit. The most significant losses were recorded in  the

global  stock index futures markets from long positions in German

stock  index  futures  as  European  equity  prices  moved  lower

throughout the first quarter amid rising global bond yields and
skepticism  regarding the stability of emerging market economies.

Losses were also incurred during late-July from long German stock

index  futures positions as prices declined as investors  reacted

to  the  strengthening  euro by selling auto  maker  and  export-

dependent  stocks.  In the metals markets, losses  were  recorded

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

amid abundant supplies and warmer temperatures in Brazil.  In the

global interest rate futures markets, losses were recorded  early

in  the first quarter from short Japanese government bond futures

positions  as  prices surged higher in response to  the  Bank  of

Japan's aggressive easing of monetary policy.  Additional  losses

were   experienced  later  in  the  first  quarter   from   newly

established long positions as prices retreated following comments

by Bank of Japan Governor Masaru Hayami that he expected interest

rates in Japan to rise over time.  During September, losses  were

recorded from short positions in Japanese government bond futures

as  prices  rallied  on  the strength of  the  Japanese  yen  and

expectations that additional monetary easing in that country will

come.   These  losses were partially offset by gains recorded  in

the energy markets from long positions in crude oil futures and
its  refined products, unleaded gas, heating oil and gas oil,  as

prices climbed higher during March following an agreement reached

by both OPEC and non-OPEC countries to cut total output beginning

April  1st.   Oil prices continued to move higher throughout  the

third  quarter  due to declining supplies and increasing  demand.

In the currency markets, gains were recorded from short positions

in  the Swiss franc and the European common currency as the value

of  these  currencies declined versus the U.S. dollar throughtout

the  first  half  of  the year.  The weakness in  these  European

currencies relative to the U.S. dollar was largely attributed  to

concerns  regarding  European  economic  growth  and  potentially

widening interest rate differentials between Europe and the  U.S.

Additional  currency  gains  were  recorded  during  August   and

September  from long Japanese yen positions as the value  of  the

yen  increased  versus the U.S. dollar due to  positive  economic

data  out  of  that  country and optimism over  Japan's  economic

recovery.  Total expenses for the nine months ended September 30,

1999  were  $22,764,138, resulting in a net loss  of  $7,366,649.

The value of a Unit decreased from $16.12 at December 31, 1998 to

$15.66 at September 30, 1999.



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

a  Unit  increased  from $14.33 at June 30,  1998  to  $16.33  at

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

speculative  trading of futures interests.  The  market-sensitive

instruments  held  by  the Partnership are  acquired  solely  for

speculative   trading  purposes  and,  as  a   result,   all   or

substantially all of the Partnership's assets are subject to  the

risk  of trading loss.  Unlike an operating company, the risk  of

market-sensitive instruments is integral, not incidental, to  the

Partnership's primary business activities.

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

upon historical changes in the fair value of its market-sensitive

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

by market category as of September 30, 1999.  As of September 30,

1999,  the  Partnership's total capitalization was  approximately

$279 million.

     Primary Market            September 30, 1999
     Risk Category              Value at Risk

     Interest Rate                 (1.31)%

     Currency                      (1.84)

     Equity                        (0.39)

      Commodity                         (1.07)

      Aggregate Value at Risk      (2.57)%



Aggregate  value  at  risk represents the aggregate  VaR  of  the

Partnership's open positions and not the sum of the  VaR  of  the

individual categories listed above.  Aggregate VaR will be  lower

as  it  takes into account correlation among different  positions

and categories.


The  table  above  represents the VaR of the  Partnership's  open

positions  at  September  30, 1999 only and  is  not  necessarily

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

Net

Assets  for  the four quarterly reporting periods from  October  1,

1998 through September 30, 1999.



Primary Market Risk Category        High      Low      Average

Interest Rate                      (2.11)%   (1.25)%    (1.48)%

Currency                           (2.58)    (0.68)     (1.87)

Equity                             (1.15)    (0.39)     (0.75)

Commodity                          (1.07)    (0.60)     (0.84)

Aggregate Value at Risk            (3.80)%   (1.60)%    (2.78)%

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

aggregate basis at September 30, 1999 and for the end of  the  four

quarterly  reporting periods from October 1, 1998 through September

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

82%)  of its available assets in cash at DWR.  A decline in  short-

term  interest  rates will result in a decline in the Partnership's

cash  management  income. This cash flow  risk  is  not  considered

material.

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

The  following  were the primary trading risk  exposures  of  the

Partnership as of September 30, 1999, by market sector.   It  may

be  anticipated  however, that these market exposures  will  vary

materially over time.

     Interest Rate.  The primary market exposure at September 30,

1999  in  the  Partnership  was  in  the  interest  rate  sector.

Exposure  was primarily spread across the U.S., German, Japanese,

British  and  Australian  interest rate sectors.   Interest  rate

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

steady.

      Currency.  The second largest market exposure this  quarter

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

currencies other than the U.S. dollar.  For the third quarter  of

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

dollars.

      Equity.  The primary equity exposure at September 30,  1999

was  to equity price risk in the G-7 countries.  The stock  index

futures  traded by the Partnership are by law limited to  futures

on  broadly-based  indices.  The Partnership's primary  exposures

were  in  the S&P 500 (U.S.), FT-SE (Britain) and ASE (Australia)

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

certain  Trading  Advisors will, from time to  time,  trade  base

metals  such as aluminum, copper, nickel and zinc, the  principal

market  exposures  of the Partnership have consistently  been  in

precious  metals, gold and silver (and, to a much lesser  extent,

platinum).  A significant amount of exposure was evident  in  the

gold market as the price of gold increased dramatically following

bullish  comments  by the European Central Bank.   Silver  prices

have  also  been  volatile  over this  period,  and  the  Trading

Advisors have, from time to time, taken substantial positions  as

perceived  market  opportunities developed.  Demeter  anticipates

that  gold  and  silver  will remain the  primary  metals  market

exposure for the Partnership.

     Energy.  On  September  30, 1999, the  Partnership's  energy

exposure  was shared by futures contracts in the oil and  natural

gas  markets.   Price  movements in  these  markets  result  from

political developments in the Middle East, weather patterns,  and

other  economic fundamentals.  As oil prices have increased about

100%  this  year, and, given that the agreement by  OPEC  to  cut

production  is  approaching  expiration  in  March  2000,  it  is

possible   that   volatility  will  remain  on  the   high   end.

Significant  profits  and losses have been and  are  expected  to

continue to be experienced in this market.  Natural gas,  also  a

primary  energy  market exposure, has exhibited  more  volatility

than  the  oil  markets on an intra-day and daily  basis  and  is

expected to continue in this choppy pattern.

     Soft  Commodities and Agriculturals.  On September 30, 1999,

the  Partnership  had  a reasonable amount  of  exposure  in  the

markets  that  comprise  these sectors.  Most  of  the  exposure,

however,  was  in  the  sugar,  soybeans,  coffee  and  livestock

markets.    Supply  and  demand  inequalities,   severe   weather

disruption  and  market expectations affect  price  movements  in

these markets.



Qualitative Disclosures Regarding Non-Trading Risk Exposure

The  following  was  the only non-trading risk  exposure  of  the

Partnership as of September 30, 1999:

Foreign  Currency  Balances.  The Partnership's  primary  foreign

currency  balances  are  in Japanese yen, British  pounds,  Swiss

francs,  euros and Australian dollars.  The Partnership  controls

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

any  one market sector or market-sensitive instrument.  One  should

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

in the Partnership's 1998 Form 10-K:



In  the  New  York  action, the motion  to  dismiss  the  amended

complaint  with prejudice has been fully briefed and  argued  and

the Dean Witter Parties are awaiting the New York Supreme Court's

decision.



In  the  California action, on September 24, 1999,  the  Superior

Court in the State of California entered an order dismissing  the

consolidated amended complaint without prejudice on consent.



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

of the date of such monthly closing.

Through September 30, 1999, 21,688,340.422 Units were sold, leaving

11,311,659.578  Units  unsold  as  of  September  30,  1999.    The

aggregate  price of the Units sold through September  30,  1999  is

$288,137,213.



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