MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL LP (CIK 925306)
Form 10-Q
period 1999-03-31
filed 1999-05-17

UNITED STATES
               SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                     Washington, D.C. 20549

                           FORM 10-Q



[X]   Quarterly  report pursuant to Section 13 or  15(d)  of  the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934
For the period ended March 31, 1999 or

[  ]   Transition report pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)  of  the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934
For the transition period from               to

Commission File No. 0-26338

        MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
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

Dean Witter Spectrum Technical L.P.
(Former  name, former address, and former fiscal year, if changed
since last report)

Indicate by check-mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days.

Yes     X           No


       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.

             INDEX TO QUARTERLY REPORT ON FORM 10-Q

                       March 31, 1999

PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION
Item 1. Financial Statements

       Statements   of   Financial  Condition  March   31,   1999
(Unaudited) and December 31, 1998.....................2

     Statements of Operations for the Quarters Ended
     March 31, 1999 and 1998 (Unaudited)...................3

     Statements of Changes in Partners' Capital for the
     Quarters Ended March 31, 1999 and 1998 (Unaudited)....4

     Statements of Cash Flows for the Quarters Ended
     March 31, 1999 and 1998 (Unaudited)...................5

        Notes to Financial Statements (Unaudited)..........6-10

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of

Financial Condition and Results of Operations..11-17

Item 3. Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about
        Market Risk . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .17-29

Part II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1. Legal Proceedings..............................   30

Item 2. Changes in Securities and Use of Proceeds......30-32

Item 6. Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K..................32









                 PART I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.  Financial Statements

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
               STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION

                                     March 31,     December 31,
                                        1999           1998
                                         $              $
                                    (Unaudited)
ASSETS
Equity in futures interests trading accounts:
 Cash                             240,550,643     235,044,325
 Net unrealized gain on open contracts   11,178,151   18,909,268

      Total Trading Equity        251,728,794     253,953,593

Subscriptions receivable            5,191,582       4,002,633
Interest receivable (DWR)             721,074         717,685

      Total Assets                257,641,450     258,673,911

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Liabilities

 Redemptions payable                 2,492,877    1,339,311
 Accrued brokerage fees (DWR)        1,549,645    1,439,151
 Accrued management fees              854,976        794,015

      Total Liabilities              4,897,498    3,572,477


Partners' Capital

 Limited Partners (16,335,152.699 and
  15,660,041.764 Units, respectively) 250,072,155252,455,045
 General Partner (174,526.485 and
  164,158.204 Units, respectively)    2,671,797    2,646,389

 Total Partners' Capital           252,743,952  255,101,434

 Total Liabilities and Partners' Capital  257,641,450 258,673,911


NET ASSET VALUE PER UNIT                 15.31            16.12

          The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
                    STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                           (Unaudited)





                                For the Quarters Ended March 31,

                                       1999            1998
                                        $            $
REVENUES
 Trading profit (loss):
        Realized                          (176,028)     9,789,927
Net change in unrealized         (7,731,117)   (5,006,684)
      Total Trading Results      (7,907,145)  4,783,243
 Interest Income (DWR)           2,094,771      1,860,527
      Total Revenues             (5,812,374)   6,643,770

EXPENSES

   Brokerage   fees   (DWR)              4,585,319      3,507,551
Management    fees                     2,529,832        1,834,013
Incentive fees                    -             209,494
    Total Expenses               7,115,151    5,551,058

NET INCOME (LOSS)               (12,927,525)  1,092,712


NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATION

 Limited     Partners                 (12,792,933)      1,081,679
 General Partner                  (134,592)     11,033

NET INCOME (LOSS) PER UNIT

                         Limited                         Partners
(.81)                                                         .08
General                                                   Partner
(.81)                                       .08


          The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
           STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS' CAPITAL
         For the Quarters Ended March 31, 1999 and 1998
                          (Unaudited)




                          Units of
                        Partnership Limited   General
                          Interest   Partners Partner    Total


Partners' Capital,
   December 31, 199712,434,700.738         $180,099,271          $1,851,236
$181,950,507

Offering of Units 1,063,073.439            15,407,012            100,000
15,507,012

Net Income          -                      1,081,679             11,033
1,092,712

Redemptions         (358,719.768)              (5,226,704)                 -
(5,226,704)

Partners' Capital,
   March 31, 199813,139,054.409            $191,361,258          $1,962,269
$193,323,527




Partners' Capital,
   December 31, 199815,824,199.968         $252,455,045          $2,646,389
$255,101,434

Offering of Units 1,064,065.488            16,256,999            160,000
16,416,999
Net Loss             -                     (12,792,933)          (134,592)
(12,927,525)

Redemptions        (378,586.272)              (5,846,956)                  -
(5,846,956)

Partners' Capital,
   March 31, 1999  16,509,679.184            250,072,155            2,671,797
252,743,952






           The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.


       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
                    STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                           (Unaudited)





                                For the Quarters Ended March 31,

                                       1999            1998
                                        $            $
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net    income   (loss)                (12,927,525)              1
,092,712                                                  Noncash
item included in net income (loss):
      Net  change  in  unrealized       7,731,117               5
,006,684
(Increase) decrease in operating assets:
    Interest receivable (DWR)         (3,389)            38,584
Increase (decrease) in operating liabilities:
     Accrued brokerage fees (DWR)    110,494               87,651
Accrued management fees              60,961              45,830
           Incentive       fees        payable                  -
(63,791)

Net cash provided by (used for) operating activities  (5,028,342)
6,207,670

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES

   Offering  of  Units                16,416,999                1
5,507,012
   Increase  in  subscriptions  receivable(1,188,949)           (
3,774,587)
Increase in redemptions payable   1,153,566              798,951
      Redemptions      of      units                  (5,846,956)
(5,226,704)

Net   cash   provided   by   financing   activities    10,534,660
7,304,672

Net   increase  in  cash               5,506,318                1
3,512,342
Balance      at      beginning     of     period      235,044,325
168,849,922
Balance      at      end     of     period            240,550,643
182,362,264


          The accompanying notes are an integral part
                 of these financial statements.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.

                  NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                           (UNAUDITED)

The  financial statements include, in the opinion of  management,

all  adjustments necessary for a fair presentation of the results

of  operations  and  financial condition of Morgan  Stanley  Dean

Witter  Spectrum  Technical L.P. (formerly, Dean Witter  Spectrum

Technical  L.P.)  (the "Partnership").  The financial  statements

and condensed notes herein should be read in conjunction with the

Partnership's December 31, 1998 Annual Report on Form 10-K.


1. Organization

Morgan  Stanley Dean Witter Spectrum Technical L.P. is a  limited

partnership  organized  to engage in the speculative  trading  of

futures,  forward  and options contracts on physical  commodities

and  other  commodities interests, including foreign  currencies,

financial  instruments,  precious and industrial  metals,  energy

products  and  agriculturals (collectively, "futures interests").

The Partnership is one of the Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Spectrum

Series  of  funds, comprised of the Partnership,  Morgan  Stanley

Dean  Witter  Spectrum  Global Balanced  L.P.  ("Spectrum  Global

Balanced"),  Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Spectrum  Strategic  L.P.

("Spectrum  Strategic") and Morgan Stanley Dean  Witter  Spectrum

Select   L.P.    The   general  partner  is  Demeter   Management

Corporation  ("Demeter").  The non-clearing commodity  broker  is

Dean  Witter Reynolds Inc. ("DWR"), and an unaffiliated  clearing

commodity  broker, Carr Futures Inc. ("Carr"), provides  clearing

and execution services.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
            NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)




Both  Demeter  and  DWR are wholly-owned subsidiaries  of  Morgan

Stanley Dean Witter & Co. ("MSDW").



The  trading advisors to the Partnership are Campbell &  Company,

Inc.,  Chesapeake  Capital  Corporation,  and  John  W.  Henry  &

Company, Inc., (collectively, the "Trading Advisors").



2.  Related Party Transactions

The Partnership's cash is on deposit with DWR and Carr in futures

interests trading accounts to meet margin requirements as needed.

DWR  pays interest on these funds based on a prevailing  rate  on

U.S. Treasury bills. The Partnership pays brokerage fees to DWR.



3.  Financial Instruments

The Partnership trades futures, forward and options contracts  on

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

rate volatility.

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
            NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)


In  June  1998, the Financial Accounting Standards  Board  issued

Statement  of  Financial Accounting Standard  ("SFAS")  No.  133,

"Accounting  for  Derivative Instruments and Hedging  Activities"

effective  for fiscal years beginning after June 15,  1999.   The

Partnership has elected to adopt the provisions of SFAS  No.  133

beginning with the fiscal year ended December 31, 1998.  SFAS No.

133  supersedes  SFAS  No. 119 and No. 105,  which  required  the

disclosure of average aggregate fair values and contract/notional

values, respectively, of derivative financial instruments for  an

entity  which carries its assets at fair value.  The  application

of  SFAS  No.  133  does  not have a significant  effect  on  the

Partnership's financial statements.



The  net  unrealized  gain on open contracts  is  reported  as  a

component  of  "Equity in futures interests trading accounts"  on

the Statements of Financial Condition and totaled $11,178,151 and

$18,909,268   at   March  31,  1999  and   December   31,   1998,

respectively.

Of the $11,178,151 net unrealized gain on open contracts at March

31, 1999, $9,566,810 related to exchange-traded futures contracts

and  $1,611,341  related to off-exchange-traded forward  currency

contracts.



Of  the  $18,909,268  net unrealized gain on  open  contracts  at

December 31, 1998, $19,606,697 related to exchange-traded futures

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
            NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)




contracts  and $(697,429) related to off-exchange-traded  forward

currency contracts.



Exchange-traded  futures contracts held  by  the  Partnership  at

March  31,  1999 and December 31, 1998 mature through March  2000

and  December  1999,  respectively.  Off-exchange-traded  forward

currency contracts held by the Partnership at March 31, 1999  and

December  31,  1998  mature through June  1999  and  March  1999,

respectively.



The  Partnership  is subject to the credit risk  associated  with

counterparty  non-performance.  The credit risk  associated  with

the  instruments in which the Partnership is involved is  limited

to  the  amounts  reflected  in the Partnership's  Statements  of

Financial  Condition.  DWR and Carr act as the futures commission

merchants  or  the counterparties with respect  to  most  of  the

Partnership's  assets. Exchange-traded futures and futures-styled

options  contracts  are marked to market on a daily  basis,  with

variations  in value settled on a daily basis. Each  of  DWR  and

Carr,   as  a  futures  commission  merchant  for  all   of   the

Partnership's exchange-traded futures and futures-styled  options

contracts, are required, pursuant to regulations of the Commodity

Futures  Trading Commission ("CFTC") to segregate from their  own

assets,  and  for the sole benefit of their commodity  customers,

all  funds  held by them with respect to exchange-traded  futures

and futures-styled

       MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER SPECTRUM TECHNICAL L.P.
            NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONCLUDED)




options   contracts,  including  an  amount  equal  to  the   net

unrealized  gain  on all open futures and futures-styled  options

contracts,  which  funds, in the aggregate, totaled  $250,117,453

and  $254,651,022  at  March  31, 1999  and  December  31,  1998,

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

Interest  ("Unit(s)") will affect the amount of  funds  available

for investment in futures interests in subsequent periods.  Since

they  are  at  the  discretion of Limited  Partners,  it  is  not

possible  to  estimate the amount and therefore,  the  impact  of

future redemptions, exchanges or sales of additional Units.



Results of Operations

For the Quarter Ended March 31, 1999

For  the  quarter ended March 31, 1999, the Partnership  recorded

total  trading  losses net of interest income of  $5,812,374  and

posted  a  decrease  in  Net  Asset Value  per  Unit.   The  most

significant  losses  were recorded in the  global  interest  rate

futures   markets  early  in  the  quarter  from  short  Japanese

government  bond  futures positions as prices  surged  higher  in

response  to  the Bank of Japan's aggressive easing  of  monetary

policy  which brought short-term interest rates down to virtually

zero.  Additional losses were experienced later in the quarter
from   newly  established  long  positions  as  prices  retreated

following  comments by Bank of Japan Governor Masaru Hayami  that

he  expected interest rates in Japan to rise over time.   In  the

metals  markets, losses were experienced from long silver futures

positions  as  prices declined during mid-March  after  Berkshire

Hathaway's annual report failed to provide any new information on

the company's silver positions.  In the livestock markets, losses

were  recorded during January from short cattle and  hog  futures

positions  as  prices  in both markets moved  sharply  higher  on

concerns that winter storms would hurt supplies, on reports of an

increase in demand and plans for government aid programs to  help

aid   struggling  farmers.   In  soft  commodities,  losses  were

experienced during January from long coffee futures positions  as

prices  dropped on fears spurred by the collapse of the Brazilian

real.   In  the global stock index futures markets,  losses  were

recorded  from  long positions in German stock index  futures  as

European equity prices moved lower amid rising global bond yields

and   skepticism  regarding  the  stability  of  emerging  market

economies.  These losses were partially offset by gains  recorded

in the energy markets during March from long futures positions in

crude oil and its refined products, unleaded gas and heating oil,

as  oil  prices  moved  significantly  higher.   The  substantial

recovery in oil prices during March was largely attributed to the

news  that  both  OPEC  and  non-OPEC countries  had  reached  an

agreement  to  cut  total  output by  approximately  two  million

barrels  a  day  beginning April 1st.  In the  currency  markets,

gains  were  recorded during February and March from short  Swiss

franc positions as its value weakened versus the U.S. dollar as
investors reasoned that the United States is the safest place  to

invest  during the crisis in Kosovo due to the fact  that  it  is

geographically removed from the actual conflict and  possesses  a

powerful military force and on lack of economic growth in Europe.

Gains  were also recorded during January and February from  short

positions  in  the  euro  as the value  of  the  common  European

currency  fell  versus  the  U.S. dollar.   The  euro's  weakness

against  the  dollar was attributed to fears  that  the  European

Central  Bank  may  cut  interest rates amid  a  recent  economic

slowdown in that region.  In the agricultural markets, gains were

recorded during January and February from short futures positions

in soybeans and soybean oil as prices trended steadily lower amid

a  healthy South American crop, weak world demand and fears  that

Brazil  will  flood the market in an effort to aid  their  ailing

economy.   Total  expenses for the three months ended  March  31,

1999  were  $7,115,151, resulting in a net loss  of  $12,927,525.

The value of a Unit decreased from $16.12 at December 31, 1998 to

$15.31 at March 31, 1999.



For the Quarter Ended March 31, 1998

For  the  quarter ended March 31, 1998, the Partnership  recorded

total  trading  revenues including interest income of  $6,643,770

and  posted  an increase in Net Asset Value per Unit.   The  most

significant gains were recorded from long European interest  rate

futures  positions, particularly German and French interest  rate

futures,  as prices in these markets trended higher throughout  a

majority  of the quarter.  Additional profits were recorded  from

long positions in European and U.S. stock index futures as prices
in these markets climbed higher for the first three months of the

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

expenses  for  the  three  months  ended  March  31,  1998   were

$5,551,058, resulting in net income of $1,092,712.  The value  of

a  Unit  increased from $14.63 at December 31, 1997 to $14.71  at

March 31, 1998.



Year  2000 Problem.  Commodity pools, like financial and business

organizations  and individuals around the world,  depend  on  the

smooth functioning of computer systems.  Many computer systems in

use  today cannot recognize the computer code for the year  2000,

but revert to 1900 or some other date.  This is commonly known as

the  "Year  2000  Problem". The Partnership  could  be  adversely

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


Item  3.  QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURES  ABOUT  MARKET
RISK

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

deemed to be forward-

looking  statements for purposes of the safe harbor,  except  for

statements of historical fact.



The Partnership accounts for open positions on the basis of mark-

to-market accounting principles.  As such, any loss in the fair

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

The Partnership's Value at Risk in Different Market Sectors


The  following  table  indicates  the  VaR  associated  with  the

Partnership's open positions as a percentage of total net  assets

by  market category as of March 31, 1999.  As of March 31,  1999,

the  Partnership's  total capitalization was  approximately  $253

million.

     Primary Market             March 31, 1999
     Risk Category              Value at Risk

     Interest Rate                 (1.25)%

     Currency                      (2.58)

     Equity                        (1.15)

      Commodity                         (0.83)

      Aggregate Value at Risk           (3.17)%



Aggregate  value  at  risk represents the aggregate  VaR  of  the

Partnership's open positions and not the sum of the  VaR  of  the

individual categories listed above.  Aggregate VaR will be  lower

as  it  takes into account correlation among different  positions

and categories.


The  table  above  represents the VaR  of  the  Partnership's  open

positions   at   March  31,  1999  only  and  is  not   necessarily

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

impact
market risk as measured by VaR either positively or negatively.



The  table below supplements the quarter-end VaR by presenting  the

Partnership's  high, low and average VaR as a percentage  of  total

net  assets for the four quarterly reporting periods from April  1,

1998 through March 31, 1999.



Primary Market Risk Category        High      Low      Average

Interest Rate                      (2.08)%   (1.25)%   (1.65)%

Currency                           (2.58)    (0.68)    (1.68)

Equity                             (1.15)    (0.43)    (0.65)

Commodity                          (0.83)    (0.54)    (0.67)

Aggregate Value at Risk            (3.17)%   (1.60)%   (2.62)%
%             %

Limitations on Value at Risk as an Assessment of Market Risk


The  face  value  of  the  market sector instruments  held  by  the

Partnership is typically many times the applicable margin  require-

ments,  as such margin requirements generally range between 2%  and

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

exposures and on an aggregate basis at March 31, 1999 and  for  the

end  of  the  four quarterly reporting periods from April  1,  1998

through March 31, 1999.  Since VaR is based on historical data, VaR

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

81%) of its
available assets in cash at DWR.  A decline in short-term  interest

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

Partnership as of March 31, 1999, by market sector.   It  may  be

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

speculative futures positions held by the Partnership are in medium-

to-long term instruments.  Consequently, even a material change  in

short-term  rates would have little effect on the Partnership  were

the medium-to-long term rates to remain steady.

      Currency. The Partnership's currency exposure is to  exchange

rate   fluctuations,  primarily  fluctuations  which  disrupt   the

historical  pricing relationships between different currencies  and

currency pairs.  These fluctuations are influenced by interest rate

changes as well as political and general economic conditions.   The

Partnership trades in a large number of currencies, including cross-

rates - i.e., positions between two currencies other than the  U.S.

dollar.   However, the Partnership's major exposures have typically

been  in  the  dollar/yen,  dollar/mark, dollar/euro,  dollar/Swiss

franc and dollar/pound positions.  Demeter does not anticipate that

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

based  indices.   As  of March 31, 1999, the Partnership's  primary

exposures  were  in  the Nikkei (Japan), S&P  500,  All  Ordinaries

(Australia)  and Financial Times (England) stock indices.   Demeter

anticipates little, if any, trading in non-G-7 stock indices.   The

Partnership  is  primarily exposed to the  risk  of  adverse  price

trends  or static markets in the major U.S., European and  Japanese

indices.  (Static markets would not cause major market changes  but

would  make  it  difficult  for  the  Partnership  to  avoid  being

"whipsawed" into numerous small losses).

        Commodity.

     Metals.   The Partnership's primary metals market exposure  is

to  fluctuations in the price of gold and silver.  Although certain

Trading  Advisors will from time to time trade base metals such  as

copper, aluminum, nickel, zinc, lead, and tin, the principal market

exposures of the Partnership have consistently been in the precious

metals,  gold  and silver (and, to a lesser extent, platinum).  The

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

the Partnership.

      Soft Commodities and Agriculturals. The Partnership's primary

commodities  exposure  is to fluctuations  in  the  price  of  soft

commodities and agriculturals which are often directly affected  by

severe or unexpected weather conditions.  Soybeans, corn, and sugar

accounted for the substantial bulk of the Partnership's commodities

exposure at March 31, 1999.  The Partnership has market exposure to

live  cattle and lean hogs.  However, Demeter anticipates that  the

Trading  Advisors will maintain an emphasis on soybeans, corn,  and

sugar, in which the Partnership has historically taken it's largest

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

Partnership at March 31, 1999:



Foreign  Currency  Balances.   The  Partnership's  primary  foreign

currency  balances  are  in Swiss francs,  euros,  British  pounds,

Japanese  yen, and Canadian dollars.  The Partnership controls  the

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

guidelines.



Demeter  monitors  and controls the risk of the Partnership's  non-

trading  instrument, cash, which is the only Partnership investment

directed by Demeter, rather than the Trading Advisors.

                   PART II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.   LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

The  following supplements Legal Proceedings previously disclosed

in Item 3. of the Partnership's  1998 Form 10-K:



On  April  12,  1999,  the  defendants  filed  a  motion  in  the

California  action to oppose certification by the  court  of  the

class in the California litigation.



With  respect  to  JWH, the New York Supreme  Court  complaint  was

dismissed  with  prejudice when the plaintiffs  failed  to  replead

against JWH in December, 1998.  Further, JWH has been dismissed  as

a defendant in the California actions without prejudice pursuant to

a tolling agreement with plaintiffs executed in January, 1999.



Item 2.  CHANGES IN SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS

The  Partnership, Spectrum Strategic and Spectrum  Global  Balanced

L.P.,   collectively  registered  10,000,000   Units   of   Limited

Partnership Interest pursuant to a Registration Statement on Form S-

1, which became effective on September 15, 1994 (SEC File Number 33-

80146).   While  such Units were not allocated to the  Partnership,

Spectrum Strategic and Spectrum Global Balanced at that time,  they

were  subsequently allocated for convenience purposes  as  follows:

the   Partnership  4,000,000,  Spectrum  Strategic  4,000,000   and

Spectrum  Global  Balanced  2,000,000.  The  Partnership,  Spectrum

Strategic  and Spectrum Global Balanced collectively registered  an

additional   20,000,000  Units  pursuant  to  a  new   Registration

Statement on Form

S-1,  which  became effective on January 31, 1996 (SEC File  Number

333-00494); such units were allocated among the Spectrum Series  as

follows:   the Partnership 9,000,000, Spectrum Strategic  6,000,000

and  Spectrum Global Balanced 5,000,000. The Partnership,  Spectrum

Strategic  and Spectrum Global Balanced collectively registered  an

additional   8,500,000  Units  pursuant  to  another   Registration

Statement  on  Form S-1, which became effective on April  30,  1996

(SEC  File  Number  333-3222); such Units  were  allocated  to  the

Partnership,  Spectrum Strategic and Spectrum  Global  Balanced  as

follows:  the  Partnership 5,000,000, Spectrum Strategic  2,500,000

and Spectrum Global Balanced 1,000,000.  The Partnership registered

an  additional  5,000,000  Units pursuant to  another  Registration

Statement on Form S-1, which became effective on May 11, 1998  (SEC

File Number 333-47831).



Effective  January  21,  1999,  10,000,000  additional  Units  were

registered pursuant to a Registration Statement on Form  S-1  (File

No.  333-68779).  The managing underwriter for the  Morgan  Stanley

Dean Witter Spectrum series is DWR.



Units are being sold at monthly closings as of the last day of each

month at a price equal to 100% of the Net Asset Value of a Unit  as

of the date of such monthly closing.



Through  March  31, 1999, 19,665,720.591 Units were  sold,  leaving

13,334,279.409  Units unsold as of March 31, 1999.   The  aggregate

price of the Units sold through March 31, 1999 is $255,908,749.

Since DWR has paid all offering expenses and no other expenses  are

chargeable  against proceeds, 100% of the proceeds of the  offering

have been applied to the working capital of the Partnership for use

in  accordance with the "Investment Programs, Use of  Proceeds  and

Trading  Policies" section of the Prospectus included  as  part  of

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




                          Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Spectrum
                          Technical L.P. (Registrant)

                          By: Demeter Management Corporation
                             (General Partner)

May 14, 1999              By:  /s/ Lewis A. Raibley, III
                                   Lewis A. Raibley, III
                                   Director and Chief Financial
                                   Officer




The General Partner which signed the above is the only party authorized to act for the Registrant. The Registrant has no principal executive officer, principal financial officer, controller, or principal accounting officer and has no Board of Directors.