QuickLinks -- Click here to rapidly navigate through this document

EXHIBIT 99.1

Mack-Cali Realty Corporation
11 Commerce Drive
Cranford, New Jersey 07016

                          February 25, 2003

Via EDGAR

Securities and Exchange Commission
450 Fifth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20549

Re:	Mack-Cali Realty Corporation Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2002

Ladies and Gentlemen:

        Transmitted herewith are written statements pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, to accompany the above-referenced periodic report.

Very truly yours,

MACK-CALI REALTY CORPORATION
By:	/s/ ROGER W. THOMAS Roger W. Thomas Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary

QuickLinks

  EXHIBIT 99.1
Mack-Cali Realty Corporation 11 Commerce Drive Cranford, New Jersey 07016