Exhibit 99.1

5835 Peachtree Corners East, Suite D
Norcross, GA 30092

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Guided Therapeutics Files PMA Amendment with FDA for LuViva® Advanced

Cervical Scan

NORCROSS, GA (July 25, 2014) – Guided Therapeutics, Inc. (OTCBB: GTHP) (OTCQB: GTHP) today announced that it has filed an amendment to its premarket approval (PMA) application with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan.

The filing follows the face-to-face meeting the company had with the FDA in May 2014 and addresses questions raised in a September 6, 2013 not-approvable letter that the company received from the agency.

“We believe that our PMA amendment addresses the remaining questions the agency had about our application,” said Gene Cartwright, Chief Executive Officer of Guided Therapeutics. “While we await a decision on the U.S. market, we continue to see momentum building in the larger international market where we are working to increase pilot studies with LuViva, drive sales and build market share.”

The FDA has 180 days to respond to the amendment.

The company has regulatory approval to sell LuViva in Europe with the Edition 3 CE mark, and has marketing approvals from COFEPRIS in Mexico, Health Canada and Singapore Health Sciences Authority, among others. Additionally, expansion efforts are ongoing in the Middle East, Asia and Latin America.

About LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan

LuViva is a technologically advanced diagnostic device that scans the cervix with light and uses spectroscopy to measure how light interacts with the cervical tissue. Spectroscopy identifies chemical and structural indicators of precancer that may be below the surface of the cervix or misdiagnosed as benign. This technique is called biophotonics. Unlike Pap, HPV tests or biopsies, LuViva does not require laboratory analysis or a tissue sample, and is designed to provide results immediately, which may result in eliminating costly, painful and unnecessary additional testing. LuViva is intended for use with women who have undergone initial screening and are called back for follow up with a colposcopy examination, which in many cases, involves taking a biopsy of the cervix. The device is used in conjunction with the LuViva® Cervical Guide single-use patient interface and calibration disposable.

About Guided Therapeutics

Guided Therapeutics, Inc. (OTCBB: GTHP) (OTCQB: GTHP) is the maker of a rapid and painless testing platform based on its patented biophotonic technology that utilizes light for the early detection of disease at the cellular level. The Company’s first product is the LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan, a non-invasive device used to detect cervical disease instantly and at the point of care. In a multi-center clinical trial, with women at risk for cervical disease, the technology was able to detect cervical cancer up to two years earlier than conventional modalities, according to published reports. Guided Therapeutics is also

developing a non-invasive test for the early detection of esophageal cancer using the technology platform. For more information, visit: www.guidedinc.com.

The Guided Therapeutics LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan is an investigational device and is limited by federal law to investigational use. LuViva, the wave logo and "Early detection, better outcomes" are registered trademarks owned by Guided Therapeutics, Inc.

Forward-Looking Statements Disclaimer: A number of the matters and subject areas discussed in this news release that are not historical or current facts deal with potential future circumstances and developments. The discussion of such matters and subject areas is qualified by the inherent risks and uncertainties surrounding future expectations generally and also may materially differ from Guided Therapeutics’ actual future experience involving any of or more of such matters and subject areas. Such risks and uncertainties include those related to the early stage of products in development, the uncertainty of market acceptance of products, the uncertainty of development or effectiveness of distribution channels, the intense competition in the medical device industry, the uncertainty of capital to develop products, the uncertainty of regulatory approval of products, dependence on licensed intellectual property, as well as those that are more fully described from time to time under the heading “Risk Factors” in Guided Therapeutics’ reports filed with the SEC, including Guided Therapeutics’ Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, and subsequent quarterly reports.

# # #

Contacts

Bill Wells, Guided Therapeutics – 770-242-8723

Investors: Alison Ziegler, Cameron Associates – 212-554-5469