Exhibit 99.1

5835 Peachtree Corners East, Suite D
Norcross, GA 30092

Contacts

Bill Wells, Guided Therapeutics – 770-242-8723

Investors: Alison Ziegler, Cameron Associates – 212-554-5469

Guided Therapeutics Appoints Linda Rosenstock, M.D., M.P.H

to its Board of Directors

Norcross, GA (April 17, 2012) -- Guided Therapeutics, Inc. (OTCBB: GTHP) (OTCQB: GTHP) today announced the appointment of Linda Rosenstock, M.D., M.P.H. to it Board of Directors. The addition of Dr. Rosenstock increases the size of the company’s board to seven. She will stand for election at the company’s Annual Stockholder’s Meeting scheduled for June 15, 2012.

“Dr. Rosenstock is recognized both nationally and internationally as an expert in the field of occupational and environmental health and has a particular interest in women’s healthcare,” said Ron Allen, Chairman of the Guided Therapeutics Board of Directors. “We are delighted she has accepted an invitation to serve on our Board and look forward to her future contributions, as we seek to introduce our patented biophotonic technology around the world and ultimately improve the early detection of diseases like cervical and esophageal cancer.”

Dr. Linda Rosenstock, 61, is Dean of the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) Fielding School of Public Health. She holds appointments as Professor of Medicine and Environmental Health Sciences and is a recognized authority in broad areas of public health and science policy

Before coming to UCLA in 2000, Dr. Rosenstock served as Director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) for nearly seven years. As Director of NIOSH, Dr. Rosenstock led the only federal agency with a mandate to undertake research and prevention activities in occupational safety and health. During her tenure, she was instrumental in creating the National Occupational Research Agenda, a framework for guiding occupational safety and health research and in expanding the agency's responsibilities. In recognition of her efforts, Dr. Rosenstock received the Presidential Distinguished Executive Rank Award, the highest executive service award in the government and was also the James P. Keogh Award Winner for 2011, in appreciation of a lifetime of extraordinary leadership in occupational health and safety.

Dr. Rosenstock received her M.D. and M.P.H. from The Johns Hopkins University. She conducted her advanced training at the University of Washington, where she was Chief Resident in Primary Care Internal Medicine and a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar.

Internationally, Dr. Rosenstock has been active in teaching and research in many developing countries and has served as an advisor to the World Health Organization. Dr. Rosenstock also chaired the United Auto Workers/General Motors Occupational Health Advisory Board. She is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine, where she has served as a member of their Board on Health Sciences Policy and Chair pf the Committee for Preventive Services for Women. In January, 2011, she was appointed by President Barrack Obama to the Advisory Group on Prevention, Health Promotion and Integrative and Public Health.

About Guided Therapeutics

Guided Therapeutics, Inc. (OTCBB: GTHP) (OTCQB: GTHP) is developing a rapid and painless testing platform for the early detection of disease based on its patented biophotonic technology that utilizes light to detect disease at the cellular level. The company’s first planned product is the LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan, a non-invasive device used to detect cervical disease instantly and at the point of care. In a multi-center clinical trial, with women at risk for cervical disease, the technology was able to detect cervical cancer up to two years earlier than conventional modalities, according to published reports. Guided Therapeutics has also entered into a partnership with Konica Minolta Opto to develop a non-invasive test for Barrett’s Esophagus using the technology platform. For more information, visit: www.guidedinc.com.

The Guided Therapeutics LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan is an investigational device and is limited by federal law to investigational use. LuViva, the wave logo and "Early detection, better outcomes" are registered trademarks owned by Guided Therapeutics, Inc.

Forward-Looking Statements Disclaimer: A number of the matters and subject areas discussed in this news release that are not historical or current facts deal with potential future circumstances and developments. The discussion of such matters and subject areas is qualified by the inherent risks and uncertainties surrounding future expectations generally and also may materially differ from Guided Therapeutics’ actual future experience involving any of or more of such matters and subject areas. Such risks and uncertainties include: the early stage of products in development, the uncertainty of market acceptance of products, the uncertainty of development or effectiveness of distribution channels, the intense competition in the medical device industry, the uncertainty of capital to develop products, the uncertainty of regulatory approval of products, dependence on licensed intellectual property, as well as those that are more fully described from time to time under the heading “Risk Factors” in Guided Therapeutics’ reports filed with the SEC, including Guided Therapeutics’ Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, and subsequent quarterly reports.

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