Exhibit 99.1

5835 Peachtree Corners East, Suite D
Norcross, GA 30092

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Guided Therapeutics Passes ISO Quality Audit; Key Requirement for CE Mark

NORCROSS, GA (February 23, 2012) – Guided Therapeutics, Inc. (OTCBB: GTHP) (OTCQB: GTHP) today announced that it has successfully completed an annual surveillance of its quality system necessary to maintain ISO 13485 certification, a requirement to secure the CE Mark for sale of the LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan in the European Union (EU).

“Successfully completing these rigorous yearly audits shows that our processes and quality system are of the highest order,” said Mark L. Faupel, Ph.D., CEO and president of Guided Therapeutics, Inc. “We are pleased with the results of the audit and proud of our employees who created and maintain our quality system.”

Guided Therapeutics submitted the CE Mark application for LuViva on January 20, 2012. The CE Mark is required to market LuViva in the 27 nations that comprise the EU. Current expectations call for a 90 day review process.

About LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan

LuViva is a technologically advanced diagnostic device that scans the cervix with light and uses spectroscopy to measure how light interacts with the cervical tissue. Spectroscopy identifies chemical and structural indicators of precancer that may be below the surface of the cervix or misdiagnosed as benign. This technique is called biophotonics. Unlike Pap, HPV tests or biopsies, LuViva does not require laboratory analysis or a tissue sample, and is designed to provide results immediately, which eliminates costly, painful and unnecessary testing. LuViva is designed for use with women who have undergone initial screening and are called back for follow up with a colposcopy examination, which in many cases, involves taking a biopsy of the cervix. The device is used in conjunction with the LuViva® Cervical Guide single-use patient interface and calibration disposable.

About Guided Therapeutics

Guided Therapeutics, Inc. (OTCBB & OTCQB: GTHP) is developing a rapid and painless testing platform for the early detection of disease based on its patented biophotonic technology that utilizes light to detect disease at the cellular level. The company’s first planned product is the LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan, a non-invasive device used to detect cervical disease instantly and at the point of care. In a multi-center clinical trial, with women at risk for cervical disease, the technology was able to detect cervical cancer up to two years earlier than conventional modalities, according to published reports. Guided Therapeutics has also entered into a partnership with Konica Minolta Opto to develop a non-invasive test for Barrett’s Esophagus using the technology platform. For more information, visit: www.guidedinc.com.

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Guided Therapeutics – ISO Audit

February 23, 2012

The Guided Therapeutics LuViva® Advanced Cervical Scan is an investigational device and is limited by federal law to investigational use.

LuViva and wave logo are registered trademarks of Guided Therapeutics, Inc. "Early detection, better outcomes" is a trademark owned by Guided Therapeutics, Inc.

Forward-Looking Statements Disclaimer: A number of the matters and subject areas discussed in this news release that are not historical or current facts deal with potential future circumstances and developments. The discussion of such matters and subject areas is qualified by the inherent risks and uncertainties surrounding future expectations generally and also may materially differ from Guided Therapeutics’ actual future experience involving any of or more of such matters and subject areas. Such risks and uncertainties include: the early stage of products in development, the uncertainty of market acceptance of products, the uncertainty of development or effectiveness of distribution channels, the intense competition in the medical device industry, the uncertainty of capital to develop products, the uncertainty of regulatory approval of products, dependence on licensed intellectual property, as well as those that are more fully described from time to time under the heading “Risk Factors” in Guided Therapeutics’ reports filed with the SEC, including Guided Therapeutics’ Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2010, and subsequent quarterly reports.

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Contacts:

Investors: Alison Ziegler, Cameron Associates, 212-554-5469

Bill Wells, Guided Therapeutics, 770-242-8723 Ext. 241