Colonial BancGroup The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE * * * Exhibit 99.1

1 Table of Contents 1) Franchise 3 2) Retail and Business Banking 9 3) Credit 13 4) Financial Highlights 21 5) Supplemental Information 37 Page The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

Forward Looking Statements
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
This presentation includes “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the federal securities laws. Words such as “believes,”
“estimates,” “plans,” “expects,” “should,” “may,” “might,” “outlook,” and “anticipates,” and similar expressions, as they relate to BancGroup
(including its subsidiaries or its management), are intended to identify forward-looking statements. The forward-looking statements in
these reports are subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed in or implied
by the statements. In addition to factors mentioned elsewhere in this report or previously disclosed in BancGroup’s SEC reports
(accessible on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov or on BancGroup’s website at www.colonialbank.com), the following factors, among
others, could cause actual results to differ materially from forward-looking statements and future results could differ materially from
historical performance. These factors are not exclusive:
• deposit attrition, customer loss, or revenue loss in the ordinary course of business;
• increases in competitive pressure in the banking industry;
• costs or difficulties related to the integration of the businesses of BancGroup and institutions it acquires are greater than
expected;
• the inability of BancGroup to realize elements of its strategic plans for 2006 and beyond;
• changes in the interest rate environment which expand or reduce margins or adversely affect critical estimates as applied and
projected returns on investments;
• economic conditions affecting real estate values and transactions in BancGroup’s market and/or general economic conditions,
either nationally or regionally, that are less favorable then expected;
• natural disasters in BancGroup’s primary market areas result in prolonged business disruption or materially impair the value of
collateral securing loans;
• management’ s assumptions and estimates underlying critical accounting policies prove to be inadequate or materially
incorrect or are not borne out by subsequent events;
• strategies to manage interest rate risk may yield results other than those anticipated;
• changes which may occur in the regulatory environment;
• a significant rate of inflation (deflation);
• acts of terrorism or war; and
• changes in the securities markets.
Many of these factors are beyond BancGroup’s control. The reader is cautioned not to place undue reliance on any forward looking
statements made by or on behalf of BancGroup. Any such statement speaks only as of the date the statement was made or as of such
date that may be referenced within the statement. BancGroup does not undertake any obligation to update or revise any forward-looking
statements.

3 The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE SECTION Franchise

Franchise
Attractive Franchise in High Growth Markets
• 72% of Total Deposits are in Florida, Georgia, Texas and Nevada
• 6th Largest Commercial Bank in Florida with $9 Billion in Deposits
• Projected population growth from 2005-2010 is expected to be 10.95% in
Colonial’s markets vs. the national average of 6.26%
A Proven Community Bank Philosophy
• Involves local expertise in lending decisions
• Creates an atmosphere that nurtures and personalizes customer relationships
High Growth Markets = Above Average Shareholder Returns
• Total Shareholder Return in 2005 was 15% vs. (4%) for the S&P Bank Index and 26%
vs. 11% for the S&P Bank Index in 2004
• Above Average Net Income and EPS Growth of 32% and 16%, respectively for 2005
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
The Best Things Come Out of the Blue
As of 12/31/05

In the Right Places
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
NV
14
TX
13
FL
160
GA
21
AL
93
Colonial is in four of the fastest growing states in the country
Branches, Assets and Deposits at 12/31/05 are as follows:
301 Branches
$21 Billion in Assets $15.5 Billion in Deposits
AL
22%
FL
58%
TX
4%
GA
5%
NV
5%
Corp
6%
FL
56%
AL
16%
GA
6%
Corp
12%
TX
6%
NV
4%

Superior Projected Population Growth
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
2005 - 2010 Population Growth
Colonial BancGroup, Inc. 10.95%
Compass Bancshares, Inc. 9.97
Wachovia Corporation 8.85
SunTrust Banks, Inc. 8.72
South Financial Group, Inc. 8.68
Synovus Financial Corp. 7.17
Bank of America Corporation 6.95
BB&T Corporation 6.80
AmSouth Bancorporation 6.46
Regions Financial Corporation 5.86
First Horizon National Corporation 5.27
Fifth Third Bancorp 4.51
Trustmark Corporation 4.15
Whitney Holding Corporation 3.80
BancorpSouth, Inc. 3.46
Median 6.80%
Low 3.46
High 10.95
National Average 6.26
Source :  Keefe, Bruyette & Woods
Deposit data as of 6/30/05.
Population growth deposit weighted by county.

Florida at 12/31/05:
• 58% of Deposits in Florida – Total Deposits of $9 Billion
• 56% of Assets in Florida – Total Assets of $12 Billion
• 53% of Branches in Florida – Total Branches – 160
Strong loan and deposit growth
• Loan growth, excluding acquisitions and mortgage warehouse
lending, was 15% for 2005
• Deposit growth, excluding acquisitions, was 23% for 2005
Florida Franchise
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

Florida Franchise and Current Population
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
16 Planned Branches through 12/31/06
Current Branches at 12/31/05
Current Population
2,500,000
500,000
100,000
Current Population
2,500,000
500,000
100,000
PANHANDLE
Assets = $411 Million
Deposits = $52 Million
1 Branch
CENTRAL FLORIDA
Assets = $3.2 Billion
Deposits = $2.9 Billion
60 Branches
MORTGAGE WHSE.
Assets = $2.2 Billion
Deposits = $524 Million
SOUTH FLORIDA
Assets = $3.2 Billion
Deposits = $2.8 Billion
46 Branches
FLORIDA WEST COAST
Assets = $3.0 Billion
Deposits = $2.7 Billion
53 Branches

9 The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE SECTION Retail & Business Banking

Retail Banking - 2006 Initiatives
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
Key Initiatives:
Enhanced Consumer Services
Streamlined Product Offering
Strategic Marketing Plan Targeting Core
Deposit Growth
2006 Objective
Tactics:
Images via on-line banking
Check images on statements
Free bill pay
Segment product offering into free checking, interest
checking and active adults demographics
Streamline personal checking product offering from 9
to 5 products
Direct mail and radio focus on core checking
relationship of consumers
Consistent media coverage in print to support
measured balance sheet growth of time and interest
bearing products
50% increase in consumer checking account
production – 25% increase realized in Q4, 2005
Continued double digit deposit growth in core
deposits
Personal Deposit Growth

Business Banking
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
Key Initiatives:
Enhanced Business Banking Services –
Deposits and Loans
Focused Business Banking
Sales Effort
Strategic Marketing Plan
2006 Objective
Tactics:
Enhances Advantage Business Checking    – 350 free
items processed
Business Advantage with free bill pay
Streamlined Business Lines of Credit (<$75,000) with
24 hour approval time
Promotional rates on lines of credit and owner
occupied real-estate
Alignment of business banking production under
Retail line of business
Increase the number of business bankers within retail
distribution system
Weekly checking and business loans objectives
defined by region and branch
Internal and external lead generations provided for
business solicitation
New creative that facilitates local blitz efforts
35% increase in Business Banking checking (20%
realized in Q4, 2005)
30% increase in Business Banking loan production
(75% realized in Q4, 2005)
Business Deposit Growth

Retail Banking
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
2006 Marketing
Key Initiatives:
Branding Strategy
Diversified, Multi-Channel Advertising
2006 Objective
Tactics:
Agency selection of Howard Merrell & Partners
The agency will provide;
– Media planning and savings
– Research assistance – tracking
– Campaign management
– Creative and graphic support business
• Branding Strategy and Development
– Roll-out second quarter 2006
– Unite Colonial Bank in all markets under one
brand identity.  Focus on establishing a
strong presence in substantially diverse and
fast-growing markets.
Improved mix and frequency of direct mail, sales
leads, newspaper, radio and branch collateral
Acquire new relationships while expanding and
retaining profitable customers through knowledge
based applications across all available channels
utilizing an integrated marketing plan

13 The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE SECTION Credit

Solid Credit Metrics
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
Nonperforming Assets ratio was 0.21% at 12/31/05
Net Charge-Off Ratio was 0.09%* for 4Q05 and 0.14% for 2005
Provision exceeded net charge-offs in 4Q05 and for 2005
Past dues > 30 days were 0.48% of net loans, down from 0.58% at 9/30/05
Allowance for loan losses was 1.15%, or 536% of nonperforming assets
* Annualized

Florida
55%
Alabama
20%
Georgia
8%
Texas
8%
Nevada
5%
MWL
4%
Consumer
/Other, 3%
Commercial
7%
MWL
3%
Residential
RE
20%
RE
Construction
37%
CRE Owner
Occ. 7%
CRE
23%
Loan Portfolio Distribution
Outstanding loans of $14.9 Billion at 12/31/05
Mix by State of Origination at 12/31/05
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

• 23.2% Owner Occupied
• Average loan size = $608,000
• 75 largest loans characteristics:
• Total $742 million and represent 17%
of CRE Portfolio
• Average loan to value ratio is 68.1%
• Average debt coverage ratio = 1.45x
Retail
26.5%
Office
19.3%
Multi-Family
10.2%
All Other
Types
11.1%
Healthcare
6.8%
Church/
School 4.0%
Recreation
2.0%
Lodging
6.3%
Industrial
1.6%
Warehouse
12.2%
Commercial Real Estate Portfolio
As of 12/31/05
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

Multi-family
3.0%
Office
3.2%
Com'l Dev.
6.3%
All Other
6.5%
Retail
6.2%
Condo.
9.1%
Res. Home
17.2%
Land
22.5%
Res. Dev. &
Lots
26.0%
• Average loan size = $652,000
• 75 largest loans characteristics:
• Total $1.2 billion and represent
22.5% of portfolio
• Average loan to value ratio is
68.1%
Construction Portfolio
As of 12/31/05
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

NPAs Consistently Below Industry
As originally reported
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
0.65%
0.78%
0.64%
0.54%
0.55%
0.60%
0.71%
0.84%
0.85%
0.29%
0.21%
0.78%
1.17%
1.25%
0.00%
0.50%
1.00%
1.50%
2.00%
2.50%
3.00%
3.50%
4.00%
4.50%
'92 '93 '94 '95 '96 '97 '98 '99 '00 '01 '02 '03 '04 '05
All FDIC Insured Commercial Banks (as of 9/30/05)
Colonial BancGroup

Net Charge-Offs/Average Loans
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
0.47%
0.51%
0.09%
0.19%
0.14%
0.33%
0.13%
0.18%
0.23%
0.23%
0.21%
0.21%
0.28% 0.29%
0.31%
0.00%
0.20%
0.40%
0.60%
0.80%
1.00%
1.20%
1.40%
1.60%
'91 '92 '93 '94 '95 '96 '97 '98 '99 '00 '01 '02 '03 '04 '05
All FDIC Insured Commercial Banks (as of 9/30/05)
Southern Regionals* (as of 6/30/05)
Colonial BancGroup
*Source: Sandler O’Neill & Partners

Why are our Credit Metrics this Good?
Strong Underwriting
Rigorous Appraisal Review Process
Effective CRE Limits
Market Data Intelligence
Aggressive Workout Strategies
Active Credit Risk Management
Local Market Knowledge
Real Estate Expertise
Credit Culture
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

21 The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE SECTION Financial Highlights

1 Excluding nonrecurring items
2 Excluding Mortgage Warehouse Lending
*Annualized
Overview
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
Record Earnings in 4Q05
• Net Income of $61.5 million; up 33% over 4Q04
• EPS of $0.40; up 18% over 4Q04
Strong increase in revenues up 22% over 4Q04
•
9 th
consecutive quarter of expanded Net Interest Margin
• Net Interest Income increased 21% over 4Q04
• Noninterest Income increased 24% over 4Q04
Solid Internal Loan Growth of 10% over prior year, 8% annualized from the
end of 3Q05
Outstanding Deposit Growth
• Average Deposits grew internally 16% from the 4Q04; 11%
annualized over 3Q05
• Florida Franchise had 23% internal growth in period-end deposits
from 12/31/04
Excellent Credit Quality
• Nonperforming Assets Ratio at a very low level of 0.21%
• Excellent net charge off history; 0.09%* for 4Q05 and 0.14% for
2005
1
2
1
1

Earnings Per Share
Diluted
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
$1.55
$1.33
$1.20
$1.16
$1.06
$1.00
2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005
$0.40
$0.34
$1.52
$1.31
$1.16
$1.26
$1.06
$1.00
2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 4Q04 4Q05
Originally Reported
As Restated
11%
3% 9%
6%
17%
6%
19%
(8)%
13%
16%
18%
* As if restatement had not occurred
*

Net Income
$ In Millions
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
$175
$150
$140
$122
$115
$233
2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005
$62
$46
$229
$173
$146
$151
$122
$115
2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 4Q04 4Q05
Originally Reported
As Restated
15%
7%
6%
17%
33%
33%
6%
18%
32%
24%
(3)%
* As if restatement had not occurred
*

25 Net Interest Income as restated $ In Millions yThe Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE $187 $709 $400 $422 $455 $495 $567 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 4Q04 4Q05 $154 6% 8% 9% 15% 25% 21%

Net Interest Income
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
Net Interest Income increased 21% over 4Q04 and 3% annualized over 3Q05
• Average earning assets decreased $261 million from the 3Q05 as the Company
replaced investment securities and mortgage warehouse assets with higher
yielding loan growth
• Net interest margin expanded 7 bps from 3Q05
Yield on average earning assets up 35 bps over 3Q05
• Loans comprised 76% of Average Earning Assets in 4Q05
76% of loans are adjustable or variable rate
• Securities comprised 15% of average earning assets in the quarter
Strong Average Deposit Growth replaced Costly Wholesale Borrowings
• Average Deposits increased $458 million or 3% linked quarter; internal
growth in average deposits
1
was $390 million or 11% annualized for the
quarter
• Deposits comprised 72% of average total assets in 4Q05 compared to 69%
in 3Q05 and 63% in 4Q04
• Cost of interest bearing deposits was 160 bps less than the rate on average
wholesale borrowings in 4Q05
Subordinated Debt Exchange
• Exchanged $137 million in subordinated debt and issued $144 million in new
debt; lowered interest cost by 49 basis points and increased Tier II Capital
1 Excluding acquisitions, sale of branches, and brokered deposits

Average Deposits
$ In Millions
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
$10,862
$9,419
$8,734
$8,435
$8,252
$13,988
$14,786
$15,244
2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 3Q05 4Q05
2%
4%
8%
15%
11% 1*
12%*
16% ¹
29%
1 Excluding acquisitions, sale of branches, and brokered deposits
*Annualized

Net Interest Margin Improvement
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
3.85%
3.83%
3.78%
3.72%
3.68%
3.64%
3.60%
3.58%
3.53%
3.43%
3.78%
3.72%
3.64%
3.58%
3.53%
3.49%
3.45%
3.41%
3.36%
3.10%
3.20%
3.30%
3.40%
3.50%
3.60%
3.70%
3.80%
3.90%
3Q03 4Q03 1Q04 2Q04 3Q04 4Q04 1Q05 2Q05 3Q05 4Q05
Originally Reported As Restated
• NIM up 7 bps to 3.85% in 4Q05
from 3.78% in 3Q05
•
9th
Consecutive Quarter of NIM
Expansion
• NIM expansion  primarily driven
by the mortgage warehouse
securitization of $500 million at
the end of the 3Q which
contributed 5 bps

Balance Sheet Growth & Mix
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
76% of loan portfolio is variable or adjustable rate
Loans, excluding mortgage warehouse, grew 10%
1
from 12/31/04
Loan yields, excluding mortgage warehouse, up 34 bps over 3Q
Securities represented 15% of earning assets at 12/31/05
Average deposits grew 11%
2
annualized from 3Q05; 16%
2
year-over-year
Total Deposit Mix: 58% - Non-time; 20% - Noninterest Bearing DDA
Average deposits comprised 72% of total average assets in 4Q05
compared to 69% in 3Q05 and 63% in 4Q04
Contribute Favorably to Interest Rate Risk Management
1 Excluding acquisitions and branch sales
2 Excluding acquisitions, branch sales and brokered deposits
As of 12/31/05

Noninterest Income
1
$ In Millions
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
$165
$77
$85
$101
$129
$129
$0
$20
$40
$60
$80
$100
$120
$140
$160
$180
2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005
10%
19%
0.2%
28%
28%
1 Excludes gains/losses on securities, branches, derivatives, net
cash settlement of derivatives and other nonrecurring items.
Noninterest Income
1
to Average Assets
0.67% 0.68% 0.73% 0.82%              0.74% 0.80%

Noninterest Income
$ in millions
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
*Annualized
4Q05 3Q05 $ Change % Change
Service charges on deposit accounts 14.5 $     15.3 $    (0.8) $      -5%
Financial planning services 2.6 3.6 (1.0) -28%
Electronic banking 4.0 3.9 0.1 3%
Mortgage banking 2.8 4.5 (1.7) -38%
Mortgage warehouse fees 6.8 4.5 2.3 51%
Bank-owned life insurance 3.5 3.6 (0.1) -3%
Other income (2) 7.9 8.5 (0.6) -7%
42.1 43.9 (1.8) -4%
Securities (losses) gains, net (20.0) 0.0 (20.0) 0%
Gain on sale of branches 27.4 0.0 27.4 0%
Net cash settlement of swaps 1.5 2.5 (1.0) -40%
Change in fair value of swaps (6.7) (7.1) 0.4 -6%
Total Noninterest Income 44.3 $     39.3 $    5.0 $       13%
Noninterest Income* to Average Assets (1) 0.79% 0.81%
Noninterest Income to Total Revenue (1) 18.4% 19.2%
(1)   Excluding gains (losses) on securities, branches, derivatives, net cash settlement
of deriviatives and other nonrecurring items.
(2)   Includes nonrecurring gains of $84,000 in 3Q05

Noninterest Income
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
Completed the sale of 13 branches in northwest Alabama; sold $375 million of
deposits; $65 million of loans and recognized a gain of $27 million
In December, the Company sold approximately $332 million in securities yielding
4.35% at a loss of $9.4 million. These securities were replaced with securities
yielding 5.43% with a similar duration of 3.4 years.  The  Company also declared
its intent to sell approximately $481 million in securities yielding 4.86% with an
average life of 4.1 years and recognized a loss of $10.6 million.  The Company
expects to sell and replace these with higher yielding securities with a longer
duration.
The Company recognized a $6.7 million loss on the change in fair value in interest
rate swaps on its trust preferreds and brokered certificates of deposit.
Significant Transactions – 4Q05

Noninterest Income Initiatives
Deposit Service Charges
• Strategic Marketing plan targeting both personal and business noninterest bearing
DDA growth
Financial Planning Services
• Offer brokerage products and services, fixed annuities, life, disability and long-term
care insurance and trust services
• Currently have 42 financial consultants – planning to increase consultants by 29%
to 54 by the end of 2006
• 310 Licensed Fixed Annuity Reps;
• Launched a Series 6 program with 50 professionals focused on mutual fund sales
and variable annuities
• Renewed emphasis on selling Trust Services
Mortgage Banking
• Increased emphasis on generating fixed rate product for the secondary market
• 2006 is the first full year of increased staffing
• Hired 50 mortgage bankers mid-year 2005
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

Noninterest Expense
$ in millions
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
4Q05 3Q05 $ Change % Change
Salaries and employee benefits 66.6 $      70.2 $      (3.6) $       -5%
Occupancy expense of bank premises, net 17.4         16.0         1.4           9%
Furniture and equipment expense 11.7         11.4         0.3           3%
Professional services 6.9           5.5           1.4           25%
Amortization of intangibles 3.1           3.0           0.1           3%
Advertising 3.7           3.6           0.1           3%
Merger related expenses 0.4           0.6           (0.2)          -33%
Other expense 22.7         22.0         0.7           3%
132.5       132.3       0.2           0%
Net losses related to the early extinguishment of debt 0.0 1.7 (1.7)          -100%
        Total Noninterest Expense 132.5 $    134.0 $    (1.5) $       -1%
Efficiency Ratio (1) 57.48% 57.02%
Noninterest Expense* to Average Assets (2) 2.51% 2.47%
(1)   Noninterest income* excludes gains (losses) on securities, derivatives and branches.
        Noninterest expense* excludes net losses related to the early extinguishment of debt.
(2)   Excludes net losses related to the early extinguishment of debt
*Annualized

Outlook for 2006
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
Low double digit deposit growth and high single digit loan
growth are expected
Diluted earnings per share are expected to be in line with street
mean estimates ranging from $1.67 - $1.75
There are a number of uncertainties that would impact the expectations noted above,
including the overall strength of the economy and changes in market rates.

Solid Dividend Growth
$0.68
$.61
$.58
$.56
$.52
$.48
$.44
$.38
$.34
$.30
$.27
$.22
$.15
$.16
$.17
$.18
$.20
$0
$0
$0
$0
$0
$1
$1
$1
'90 '91 '92 '93 '94 '95 '96 '97 '98 '99 '00 '01 '02 '03 '04 '05 '06
*Estimated
*
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE
15 YEARS OF INCREASED DIVIDENDS
11%

37 The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE SECTION Supplemental

Committee Lending Authority Meeting
Senior Loan Comm. Over $20 million Bi-weekly
State Loan Comm. $2 - $20 million Bi-weekly
Regional Officers/
Directors Loan Comm. Up to $2 million Weekly/bi-weekly
Lending Authority
The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE

39 Alabama The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE Planned Branches through 12/31/06 Current Branches at 12/31/05

40 Atlanta The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE Current Branches at 12/31/05

41 Dallas The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE Planned Branches through 12/31/06 Current Branches at 12/31/05

42 Nevada The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE Planned Branches through 12/31/06 Current Branches at 12/31/05

43 Central Florida The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE Planned Branches through 12/31/06 Current Branches at 12/31/05

44 South Florida The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE Planned Branches through 12/31/06 Current Branches at 12/31/05

45 Florida West Coast The Best Things Come OUT OF THE BLUE Planned Branches through 12/31/06 Current Branches at 12/31/05