Exhibit 99.1

$15.8 Billion in Assets

Located in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Nevada, Texas

41% of Assets, $6.5 Billion, in Florida

9th Largest Institution in Florida in Deposits

Expansion into High-Growth Markets

274 Branches – 106 Currently in Florida

39 Branches Planned – 22 in Florida

Proven Community Banking Philosophy

Local Expertise in Lending Decisions

Creates an Atmosphere that Promotes Sales and Personalizes Customer Relationships

Outstanding Track Record in Credit Quality

Growing Retail Banking Franchise

28% Growth in Noninterest Income 3Q02 to 3Q03

Improving retail deposit mix

Experienced Management Team

7.4% Insider Ownership Aligns Interests of Shareholders, Bondholders and Management

Financial Strength in Local Hands

Colonial Bank Florida

Colonial Bank Georgia

Colonial Bank Nevada

Colonial Bank Texas

Colonial Bank Alabama

9/30/03

Alabama

Florida
    6%

Georgia

Corporate

65%

8%

21%

Florida
    41%

Alabama

Georgia

Texas

Nevada

Corporate

29%

8%

   5%

4%

13%

Asset Concentration

12/31/96*

*Began strategy to expand into growth markets
outside of Alabama.

Retail Deposit Concentration

9/30/03

12/31/96*

*Began strategy to expand into growth markets
outside of Alabama.

Alabama

Florida
     9%

Other

80%

8%

3%

Florida
    50%

Alabama

Georgia

Texas

Nevada

32%

6%

7%

5%

Georgia

Note:  Colonial ranks 6th in number of branches in Florida.

Florida

Alabama
    124

Georgia

Texas

Nevada

106

22

11

11

274 Retail Branches

9

Planned Branch Additions
through 2005:

Alabama

2

Georgia

3

Nevada

6

Texas

6

Florida:

South FL

4

Bay Area

4

Southwest FL

7

Central FL

7

TOTAL

39

Colonial in Population Growth Markets of Florida

*Counties in Top 20 Most Attractive
Southern MSAs –provided by UBS

-Growth data source: Florida Trend Magazine

County

Existing

Planned

Locations

Locations

Projected 6-10% Growth:

Hillsborough*

11

3

Pasco*

2

1

Sarasota*

1

2

Volusia*

7

1

Polk*

4

1

Miami-Dade

12

Palm Beach*

9

2

Broward*

3

2

Projected 11-15% Growth:

Lake*

5

Seminole*

5

1

Orange*

10

1

Lee*

12

6

Manatee*

1

Walton*

1-LPO

Projected 16-20% Growth:

St. Johns*

2

Flagler

1

2

Osceola*

3

1

Collier*

4

1

Top 10 Florida Institutions by Market Share

Source: Branch Deposit Report from
the Florida Bankers Association

11

-10.71%

2.00

2.24

Amtrust Bank*

-6.49%

11.67

12.48

Suntrust

-2.87%

15.56

16.02

Wachovia Corp.

-2.70%

19.48

20.02

Bank of America

-1.82%

3.77

3.84

Southtrust

2.19%

2.33

2.28

AmSouth

6.98%

4.14

3.87

Washington Mutual*

9.17%

1.31

1.20

Northern Trust

19.57%

1.65

1.38

Colonial BancGroup

21.62%

2.25

1.85

World Savings Bank*

% Change

3/31/2003

3/31/2002

Market Share

Market Share

*Thrift

Population Growth

Percent growth of areas with Colonial branch
locations. Source:  US Census Bureau

Population Growth (2003–2008E)

SOURCE:      UBS

NOTE:   1   Deposit weighted

Population Growth (2003–2008E)

Demographic Profile

Deposits at 9/30/03

LTM Stock Price Performance

YTD Stock Price Performance

SOURCE:      UBS

NOTE:   1   Deposit weighted

Stock Performance

14

Absolute Return

Total Return

3

-

Year

1

-

Year

YTD

3

-

Year

1

-

Year

CNB

84.8

26.2

31.7

108.0

31.8

NCF

34.5

8.1

12.1

45.0

11.3

CBSS

118.4

12.6

17.4

141.9

16.3

CFR

32.9

10.6

19.1

43.7

13.7

HIB

93.1

16.3

14.7

112.6

20.1

BXS

84.4

19.1

18.7

103.9

22.9

SWBT

1

3.1

34.8

28.1

13.3

34.9

TRMK

58.6

18.1

17.9

71.3

21.2

WTNY

5

.7

7.1

9.6

76.3

11.0

TSFG

161.2

26.0

27.2

182.3

29.1

Peer

Median

66.9

17.0

18.3

87.8

20.1

Loan Portfolio Review
and Asset Quality Trends

10%

13%

Total Loans

(in millions)

Loan Portfolio Distribution

As of Sept. 30, 2003

Commercial
Real Estate

RE Const.
      27%

Residential
Real Estate

Commercial

Mortgage
Warehouse
Lending

27%

17%

11%

8%

Consumer

Other

1%

2%

CRE Owner Occ.
            7%

Commercial RE and Construction Lending
A Proven Approach

Solid and Proven Policies and Underwriting

Lend to individuals we know

Avoid “speculative” projects

Make deals that have strong guarantor support to back them up

Focus on cash flow and strong equity

Strong Committee Process

Low individual lending authorities

Multi-tiered Committees

Regional Director involvement

Experienced Credit Group

Active involvement by CEO and CCO

Credit Review Area

Credit Risk Management Area

Nonperforming Assets/Loans and ORE

Net Charge-offs/Average Loans

Net Charge-offs/Total Loans

0.146%

0.034%

9/30/2003

0.081%

0.060%

2002

0.262%

0.012%

2001

0.083%

0.027%

2000

0.107%

0.079%

1999

0.083%

0.133%

1998

CRE

Construction

Year

Retail Banking
and Financial Planning

Sales, Service and Relationships

More products available to more customers

Acquired small community banks and expanded product offerings to include:

            Financial Planning Services, Cash Management, Electronic Banking, Mortgage Origination

Focused on adding quality products and services to enhance revenue opportunities

Improving front-end efficiency through enhancements in technology

Implemented new call center and internet banking product – doubled internet banking

users in 2002 - 16% penetration rate through 9/30/03

In process of implementing new platform and loan origination software

Sales and Service Training

Sales and Sales Management training program

Combined Sales & Operational Training

Sales and Service Measurements

Branch Incentive Plan and Service Quality Shopping Program

Cross-Sell Ratio of 2.89 at 9/30/03 – Goal for 2003 is 3.00

Targeted average deposit size per branch of $50 million

Fill in branch coverage

19%

(in millions)

Core Deposits

(non-time)

*Annualized

25

16%

20%

13%*

11%

10%

Core Deposits/Total Deposits

9%

10%

27%

Noninterest Income

(excludes securities gains)

14%

*Annualized - YTD 9/30/03

(in thousands)

28%

*Annualized

(in 000s)

Noninterest Income Growth

2002

2003*

Growth

Service Charges

$44,941

$52,500

17%

Mortgage Origination

$14,004

$20,000

43%

Financial Planning

$10,993

$15,300

39%

Electronic Banking

$  8,257

$10,000

22%

Noninterest Income to Average Assets

1.30%

1.24%

0.93%

1.00%

0.81%

0.70%

NV

AL

TX

FL

Cons.

GA

Summary

In Summary…

Great franchise in high growth markets

Loan growth with excellent asset quality

Expand in market areas through acquisitions and new
branches

More products to more people

Over a decade of increased dividends!

Solid Dividend Growth

This Presentation contains “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the federal securities
laws.  The forward-looking statements in the presentation are subject to risks and uncertainties that
could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed in or implied by the statements.
Factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from those contemplated by such forward-
looking statements include, among other things, the following possibilities: (i) an inability of the
company to realize elements of its strategic plan for 2003 and beyond, including, but not limited to,
an inability to maintain asset quality, meet targeted non-performing asset levels, and meet targeted
returns on assets; (ii) increases in competitive pressure in the banking industry; (iii) general
economic conditions, either nationally or regionally, that are less favorable than expected; (iv)
changes which may occur in the regulatory environment and (v) other factors which are more fully
described in our periodic filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission.  When used in this
presentation, the words “believes,” “estimates,” “plans,” “expects,” “should,” “may,” “might,” “outlook,”
and “anticipates,” and similar expressions as they relate to BancGroup (including its subsidiaries) or
its management are intended to identify forward-looking statements.  Forward-looking statements
speak only as to the date they are made.  BancGroup does not undertake to update forward-looking
statements to reflect circumstances or events that occur after the date the forward-looking
statements are made.

Forward Looking Statements

33