HOME PROPERTIES INC (CIK 923118)
Form 10-Q
period 2005-03-31
filed 2005-05-10

                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                              WASHINGTON, DC 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

         (Mark One)

               (X)  QUARTERLY  REPORT  PURSUANT  TO  SECTION 13 OR 15 (d) OF THE
                    SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                  For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2005

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
requirements for the past 90 days.

                                  YES   X     NO
                                      -----      -----

Indicate  by check mark  whether  the  registrant  is an  accelerated  filer (as
defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Act).

                                  YES   X     NO
                                      -----      -----

Indicate the number of shares  outstanding  of each of the  issuer's  classes of
common stock, as of the latest practicable date:

Class of Common Stock                              Outstanding at April 30, 2005
    $.01 par value                                          31,504,438

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

                                                                          PAGE
                                                                          ----

PART I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.  Financial Statements

         Consolidated Balance Sheets -
             March 31, 2005 (Unaudited) and December 31, 2004                3

         Consolidated Statements of Operations (Unaudited) -
             Three months ended March 31, 2005 and 2004                      4

         Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income (Unaudited) -
             Three months ended March 31, 2005 and 2004                      5

         Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows (Unaudited) -
             Three months ended March 31, 2005 and 2004                      6

         Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements (Unaudited)           7-18

Item 2.  Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
         and Results of Operations                                       19-32

Item 3.  Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk         33

Item 4.  Controls and Procedures                                            34

ART II.  OTHER INFORMATION

Item 2.  Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities and Use of Proceeds        35

         Signatures                                                         36

Item 6.  Exhibits

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                          ITEM 1. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.
                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                      MARCH 31, 2005 AND DECEMBER 31, 2004
                 (IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AND PER SHARE DATA)

                                                                                                       2005               2004
                                                                                                       ----               ----
                                                                                                (Unaudited)           (Note 1)
ASSETS
Real estate:
  Land                                                                                            $ 408,186           $402,620
  Buildings, improvements and equipment                                                           2,695,288          2,642,570
  Real estate held for sale or disposal, net                                                         40,636             78,711
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------
                                                                                                  3,144,110          3,123,901
  Less:  accumulated depreciation                                                               (429,886)       (405,919)
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------
         Real estate, net                                                                         2,714,224          2,717,982

Cash and cash equivalents                                                                             9,895              7,925
Cash in escrows                                                                                      39,735             43,883
Accounts receivable                                                                                   4,872              6,664
Prepaid expenses                                                                                     18,292             18,224
Deferred charges                                                                                     12,512             13,778
Other assets                                                                                          9,301              8,340
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------
         Total assets                                                                            $2,808,831         $2,816,796
                                                                                                 ==========         ==========

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Mortgage notes payable                                                                           $1,688,986         $1,644,722
Line of credit                                                                                       92,000             58,000
Accounts payable                                                                                     18,140             24,600
Accrued interest payable                                                                              8,493              8,876
Accrued expenses and other liabilities                                                               21,256             26,750
Security deposits                                                                                    22,838             22,651
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------
         Total liabilities                                                                        1,851,713          1,785,599
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------

Commitments and contingencies
Minority interest                                                                                   294,886            310,775
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------
Stockholders' equity:
   Cumulative redeemable preferred stock, $.01 par value; 2,400,000 shares issued
     and outstanding at March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004                                         60,000             60,000
   Convertible cumulative preferred stock, $.01 par value; 10,000,000 shares
     authorized; 250,000 shares issued and outstanding at March 31, 2005 and
     December  31, 2004                                                                              25,000             25,000
   Common stock, $.01 par value; 80,000,000 shares authorized; 31,442,679 and
     32,625,413 shares issued and outstanding at March 31, 2005 and
     December 31, 2004, respectively                                                                    314                326
   Excess stock, $.01 par value; 10,000,000 shares authorized; no shares issued or outstanding            -                  -
   Additional paid-in capital                                                                       770,014            807,212
   Accumulated other comprehensive income                                                      (9)       (362)
   Distributions in excess of accumulated earnings                                             (193,087)       (171,754)
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------
         Total stockholders' equity                                                                 662,232            720,422
                                                                                                 ----------         ----------
         Total liabilities and stockholders' equity                                              $2,808,831         $2,816,796
                                                                                                 ==========         ==========

The  accompanying  notes are an integral  part of these  consolidated  financial
statements.

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2005 AND 2004
           (UNAUDITED, IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AND PER SHARE DATA)

                                                                                                         2005                2004
                                                                                                         ----                ----
Revenues:
   Rental income                                                                                     $112,958            $105,061
   Property other income                                                                                5,173               4,593
   Interest and dividend income                                                                            68                 152
   Other income                                                                                           588                 465
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
         Total revenues                                                                               118,787             110,271
                                                                                                   ----------            --------

Expenses:
   Operating and maintenance                                                                           57,511              53,110
   General and administrative                                                                           5,405               4,725
   Interest                                                                                            24,943              20,925
   Depreciation and amortization                                                                       24,196              21,050
   Impairment of assets held as General Partner                                                             -               1,116
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
         Total expenses                                                                               112,055             100,926
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Income from operations                                                                                  6,732               9,345
Equity in earnings (losses) of unconsolidated affiliates                                                    -         (538)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Income before minority interest and discontinued operations                                             6,732               8,807
Minority interest in operating partnership                                                       (1,598)         (2,289)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Income from continuing operations                                                                       5,134               6,518
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Discontinued operations
   Income (loss) from operations, net of ($2,521) in 2005 and $179 in 2004
     allocated to minority interest                                                              (5,106)                 361
   Gain (loss) on disposition of property, net of ($6) in 2004 allocated to minority interest               -         (13)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Discontinued operations                                                                          (5,106)                 348
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Income before loss on disposition of property and business and cumulative effect of
   change in accounting principle                                                                          28               6,866
Loss on disposition of property and business, net of $33 in 2004 allocated to minority
   interest                                                                                                 -         (67)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Income before cumulative effect of change in accounting principle                                          28               6,799
Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle, net of $159 in 2004 allocated to
   minority interest                                                                                        -         (321)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Net income                                                                                                 28               6,478
Preferred dividends                                                                                (1,898)        (1,898)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Net income (loss) available to common shareholders                                                 ($   1,870)           $  4,580

Basic earnings per share data:
   Income from continuing operations                                                                     $.10                $.14
   Discontinued operations                                                                            (  .16)                 .01
   Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle                                                      -             (  .01)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Net income (loss) available to common shareholders                                                   ($  .06)                $.14

Diluted earnings per share data:
   Income from continuing operations                                                                     $.10                $.14
   Discontinued operations                                                                             (  .16)                .01
   Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle                                                      -               ( .01)
                                                                                                   ----------            --------
Net income (loss) available to common shareholders                                                     ($ .06)               $.14

Weighted average number of shares outstanding:
   - Basic                                                                                         31,785,440          32,321,929
                                                                                                   ==========          ==========
   - Diluted                                                                                       32,227,972          32,874,561
                                                                                                   ==========          ==========

The  accompanying  notes are an integral  part of these  consolidated  financial
statements.

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                 CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF COMPREHENSIVE INCOME
               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2005 AND 2004
                            (UNAUDITED, IN THOUSANDS)

                                                             2005           2004
                                                             ----           ----
Net income                                                 $   28        $ 6,478
Other comprehensive income (net of minority interest):
     Change in fair value of hedge instruments                353             72
                                                           ------        -------

Comprehensive income                                       $  381        $ 6,550
                                                           ======        =======

The  accompanying  notes are an integral  part of these  consolidated  financial
statements.

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2005 AND 2004
                            (UNAUDITED, IN THOUSANDS)
                                                                                          2005         2004
                                                                                          ----         ----
Cash flows from operating activities:
  Net income                                                                         $      28     $  6,478
                                                                                        ------      -------
  Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:

     Equity in losses of unconsolidated affiliates                                           -          538
     Income (loss) allocated to minority interest                                     (923)       2,270
     Depreciation and amortization                                                      24,756       22,090
     Impairment of assets held as General Partner                                        7,725        1,116
     Gain  on disposition of property and business                                           -          119
     Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle                                     -          480
     Changes in assets and liabilities:
        Other assets                                                                       165        1,491
        Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                       (10,661)       2,777
                                                                                        ------      -------
         Total adjustments                                                              21,062       30,881
                                                                                        ------      -------
         Net cash provided by operating activities                                      21,090       37,359
                                                                                        ------      -------

Cash flows used in investing activities:
   Purchase of properties and other assets, net of mortgage
    notes assumed and UPREIT Units issued                                              (19,553)   (64,376)
   Additions to properties                                                             (18,215)   (19,996)
   Proceeds from sale of affordable properties, net                                          -          137
   Advances to affiliates                                                                    -    (795)
   Payments on advances to affiliates                                                        -           89
                                                                                        ------      -------
         Net cash used in investing activities                                         (37,768)   (84,941)
                                                                                        ------      -------

Cash flows from financing activities:
   Proceeds from sale of common stock, net                                               3,271       14,509
   Repurchase of common stock                                                          (54,265)           -
   Proceeds from mortgage notes payable                                                 82,040       15,717
   Payments of mortgage notes payable                                                  (12,626)   (19,939)
   Proceeds from line of credit                                                         99,200       96,000
   Payments on line of credit                                                          (65,200)   (25,000)
   Payments of deferred loan costs                                                        (506)   (129)
   Additions to cash escrows, net                                                       (1,761)   (990)
   Repayment of officer loans                                                                -          235
   Dividends and distributions paid                                                    (31,505)   (31,670)
                                                                                        ------      -------
         Net cash provided by financing activities                                      18,648       48,733
                                                                                        ------      -------

Net increase in cash and cash equivalents                                                1,970        1,151
Cash and cash equivalents:
   Beginning of year                                                                     7,925        5,103
   Cash assumed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                                     -          850
                                                                                        ------      -------
   End of period                                                                        $9,895      $ 7,104
                                                                                        ======      =======
Supplemental disclosure of non-cash operating, investing and financing activities:
Mortgage loans assumed associated with property acquisitions                            $7,916   $   69,782
Exchange of UPREIT Units/partnership interest for common shares                            156        5,267
Fair value of hedge instruments                                                            131          849
Issuance of UPREIT Units associated with property and other acquisitions                12,611       12,105
Compensation cost of stock options issued                                                  171          248
Net real estate disposed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                      (30,651)           -
Other assets disposed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                          (4,403)           -
Mortgage debt disposed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                        (30,021)           -
Other liabilities disposed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                       (827)           -
Increase in real estate associated with the purchase of UPREIT Units                         -        4,940
Net real estate assumed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                             -      152,319
Other assets assumed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                                -       11,916
Mortgage debt assumed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                               -      129,149
Other liabilities assumed in connection with FIN 46R consolidation                           -        5,363

The  accompanying  notes are an integral  part of these  consolidated  financial
statements.

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                 NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
             (DOLLARS IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AND PER SHARE DATA)

1.   Unaudited Interim Financial Statements
--   --------------------------------------

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
     in conjunction with the consolidated financial statements and notes thereto
     included in the Company's Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2004.

2.   Organization and Basis of Presentation
--   --------------------------------------

     Organization
     ------------

     The Company is engaged primarily in the ownership, management, acquisition,
     and   rehabilitation   of   residential   apartment   communities   in  the
     Northeastern, Mid-Atlantic, Midwestern and Southeast Florida regions of the
     United  States.  As of March 31, 2005,  the Company  operated 163 apartment
     communities  with 47,186  apartment units. Of this total, the Company owned
     153   communities,   consisting   of   42,326   apartment   units   ("Owned
     Communities"),  managed as general  partner 2,051  apartment  units and fee
     managed 2,809 apartments for affiliates and third parties.

     Basis of Presentation
     ---------------------

     The accompanying  consolidated financial statements include the accounts of
     the Company and its 66.5% (67.1% at March 31, 2004) partnership interest in
     Home Properties, L.P. (the "Operating Partnership"). Such interest has been
     calculated as the  percentage of  outstanding  common shares divided by the
     total  outstanding  common shares and Operating  Partnership Units ("UPREIT
     Units")  outstanding.  The  remaining  33.5%  (32.9% at March 31,  2004) is
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
     of the VIEs. During 2004, the Company sold most of these  consolidated VIEs
     such that three  partnerships (two properties) remain as of March 31, 2005.
     The  results of  operations  for 5 VIEs for the three month  period  ending
     March 31, 2005, are included in discontinued operations (two VIEs were sold
     in March 2005). These properties are classified as held for sale because as
     of March 31,  2005,  the Company is under a letter of intent to sell one of
     the  partnerships  for which due  diligence is in process and the remaining
     two   partnerships   are  being  disposed  of  through  a  default  on  the
     non-recourse financing.  During March 2005, the mortgage notes were sold by
     HUD. The Company is currently discussing transferring title to the property
     to either the new mortgage holder or other interested buyers.

     As of  March  31,  2004,  Home  Properties  determined  that it was not the
     primary beneficiary in seven partnerships  syndicated under U.S. Department
     of Housing and Urban Development subsidy programs, two of which remained as
     of March 31, 2005.  These two investments will continue to be accounted for
     under the equity method.  The Company will continue to record its allocable
     share of the respective  partnership's income or loss based on the terms of
     the  agreements.  To the extent it is determined that the LPs cannot absorb
     their share of the losses, if any, the GP will record the LPs share of such
     losses.  The Company will absorb  such losses to the extent the Company has
     outstanding  loans or  advances  and the limited  partner has no  remaining
     capital account.

     Reclassifications
     -----------------

     Certain reclassifications have been made to the 2004 consolidated financial
     statements to conform to the 2005 presentation.

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
     first fiscal periods beginning after June 15, 2005. On January 1, 2003, the
     Company  adopted the provisions of SFAS No. 148 Accounting for  Stock-Based
     Compensation  - Transition  and  Disclosure,  an Amendment to SFAS No. 123.
     Effective on that date,  the Company began  recognizing  compensation  cost
     related to stock option grants.  Based upon the Company's  adoption of SFAS
     No. 148,  the Company does not expect the issuance of SFAS No. 123R to have
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
     three-months ended March 31, 2005 and 2004 is as follows:
                                                                           Three Months
                                                                       2005          2004
                                                                       ----          ----

     Income from continuing operations                               $5,134       $ 6,518
     Add: Gain (loss) on disposal of property                             -    (67)
     Less: Preferred dividends                                   (1,898)   (1,898)
                                                                 ----------    ----------
     Basic and Diluted - Income from continuing operations
       applicable to common shareholders                              3,236         4,553
     Less: Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle            -    (321)
     Discontinued operations                                     (5,106)          348
                                                                 ----------    ----------
     Net income available to common shareholders                 ($   1,870)       $4,580
                                                                 ==========    ==========

     Basic weighted average number of shares outstanding         31,785,440    32,321,929
     Effect of dilutive stock options                               357,856       448,698
     Effect of phantom and restricted shares                         84,676       103,934
                                                                 ----------    ----------
     Diluted weighted average number of shares outstanding       32,227,972    32,874,561
                                                                 ==========    ==========

     Basic earnings per share
       Income from continuing operations                               $.10          $.14
       Discontinued operations                                         (.16)          .01
       Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle                -          (.01)
                                                                 ----------    ----------
     Net Income available to common shareholders                      ($.06)         $.14
                                                                 ==========    ==========

     Basic earnings per share
       Income from continuing operations                               $.10          $.14
       Discontinued operations                                         (.16)          .01
       Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle                -          (.01)
                                                                 ----------    ----------
     Net Income available to common shareholders                      ($.06)         $.14
                                                                 ==========    ==========

     For the  three-month  periods ended March 31, 2005 and 2004, no unexercised
     stock  options  to  purchase  shares of the  Company's  common  stock  were
     excluded in the computations of diluted EPS as the options' exercise prices
     were less than the average market price of the Company's  stock during each
     period.  For the  three-month  periods  ended March 31, 2005 and 2004,  the
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

5.   Other income
     ------------

     Other income for the  three-month  periods ended March 31, 2005 and 2004 is
     management and other real-estate service fees.

6.   Variable interest entities
     --------------------------

     Effective March 31, 2004, the Company adopted FASB Interpretation No. 46R -
     Consolidation of Variable Interest  Entities,  an interpretation of ARB No.
     51  -  Consolidated  Financial  Statements.  The  interpretation  addresses
     consolidation by businesses of special purpose entities  (variable interest
     entities,  "VIE").  The Company had made a determination that all 41 of the
     remaining  limited  partnerships  as of that  date were  Variable  Interest
     Entities.

     The Company  determined  that it was not the primary  beneficiary  in seven
     partnerships   syndicated  under  U.S.  Department  of  Housing  and  Urban
     Development  subsidy  programs of which five have been sold as of March 31,
     2005.  The two remaining  partnerships  are under contract to be sold as of
     March 31, 2005.  These two  investments  will  continue to be accounted for
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
     partnerships.  No management  fees were  recognized  on these  partnerships
     during  the three  month  period  ended  March 31,  2005.  The  assets  and
     liabilities of the two  partnerships  totaled $2.9 million and $4.9 million
     at  March  31,  2005,   respectively.   Unconsolidated   non-recourse  debt
     associated with the two  partnerships  continuing to be accounted for under
     the  equity  method  amounted  to $4.6  million,  of  which  the  Company's
     proportionate share, based on its legal ownership, was $179.

     The Company had further  determined that it was the primary  beneficiary in
     34 of the VIEs and therefore  consolidated  these entities  effective March
     31,  2004.   Beginning  with  the  second  quarter  of  2004,  the  Company
     consolidated  the  results  of  operations  of the  VIEs.  The  results  of
     operations  of the  remaining  five of the  original  34 VIEs for the three
     month period ending March 31, 2005 are included in discontinued  operations
     as all of the VIEs are held for sale as described below.

     The Company was the general partner in these 34 VIEs  syndicated  using low
     income  housing tax credits under Section 42 of the Internal  Revenue Code.
     As general partner, the Company managed the day-to-day  operations of these
     partnerships  for a management  fee. In  addition,  the Company has certain
     operating  deficit  guarantees  and tax credit  guarantees  to its  limited
     partners  (as  discussed in Note 11).  The Company is  responsible  to fund
     operating  deficits to the extent  there are any and can receive  operating
     incentive  awards when cash flow reach  certain  levels.  The effect on the
     consolidated  balance  sheet as of March 31,  2005 is an  increase in Total
     assets of $44 million,  an increase in Total liabilities of $48 million, an
     increase   in  Minority   interest  of  $1  million,   and  a  decrease  in
     Stockholders'  equity of $4.9 million.  In connection  with the adoption of
     FIN 46R, the Company recorded a $321 charge, net of minority interest,  for
     a cumulative  effect of a change in accounting  principle  during the first
     quarter of 2004. This charge was a result of the negative  capital accounts
     of minority interest partners that were absorbed by the Company. Of the $48
     million   increase  in  total   liabilities,   $46.5  million   represented
     non-recourse mortgage debt.

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                 NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
             (DOLLARS IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AND PER SHARE DATA)

6.   Variable interest entities (continued)
     --------------------------------------

     Effective  March 31,  2005,  the  Company has closed on the sale of all but
     five of the 41 VIEs. In addition,  the Company is under  contract or letter
     of intent for the sale of three of the  remaining  five VIEs.  Based on the
     offer received in the first quarter on one of these three VIEs, the Company
     has recorded an impairment  charge of $400 for the three month period ended
     March 31, 2005.  The remaining  two VIEs (not under  contract for sale) are
     being  disposed  of through a default on the  non-recourse  financing.  The
     Company  repurchased the limited partner's interests in satisfaction of any
     tax credit guarantees or other obligations to that partner in January, 2005
     for $5.7  million.  The  Company  performed  a  valuation  analysis  on the
     underlying real estate, and as a result, recorded a $7.3 million impairment
     of real  estate  to  adjust  the net  book  value  of the  property  to the
     Company's  estimate of fair market  value.  The  mortgage  note was sold in
     March, 2005. The Company is currently discussing  transferring title of the
     property to either the new mortgage holder or other  interested  buyers.  A
     transfer is expected to occur later in the year. At that time,  the Company
     would be relieved of its obligation on the non-recourse financing and would
     record an offsetting  $7.3 million gain from debt  forgiveness in excess of
     the new reduced basis on the real estate that would in essence zero out the
     $7.3 million impairment charge recorded.

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
     the first  quarter  of 2004 to fund  operating  shortfalls,  which were not
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
     communities  owned as of January 1, 2004.  Non-core  properties  consist of
     apartment  communities  acquired  during 2004 and 2005, such that full year
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
     are summarized as of and for the three-month  periods ended March 31, 2005,
     and 2004 as follows.

                                                                                     Three Months
                                                                                     ------------
                                                                                  2005           2004
                                                                                  ----           ----
     Revenues
     Apartments owned
       Core properties                                                      $  109,704     $  107,964
       Non-core properties                                                       8,427          1,690
     Reconciling items                                                             656            617
                                                                            ----------     ----------
     Total Revenue                                                          $  118,787     $  110,271
                                                                            ==========     ==========
     Profit (loss)
     Funds from operations:
     Apartments owned
       Core properties                                                      $   56,049     $   55,518
       Non-core properties                                                       4,571          1,026
     Reconciling items                                                             656            617
                                                                            ----------     ----------
     Segment contribution to FFO                                                61,276         57,161
     General and administrative expenses                                     (5,405)     (4,725)
     Interest expense                                                        (24,943)     (20,925)
     Prepayment penalty on sale included in interest                                 -              -
     Depreciation of unconsolidated affiliates                                       -            543
     Non-real estate depreciation/amortization                               (813)     (742)
     FAS 141 acquisition rent / intangibles                                        219            182
     Equity in earnings (losses) of unconsolidated affiliates                        -      (538)
     Impairment of assets held as General Partner                                    -      (1,116)
     Impairment of affordable assets not in FFO                                      -            945
     Loss on sale of business                                                        -      (17)
     Income from discontinued operations before minority interest and
        depreciation                                                         (7,627)          1,201
     Redeemable preferred dividend (Series F)                                (1,350)     (1,350)
                                                                            ----------     ----------
     Funds from Operations                                                      21,357         30,619
     Depreciation - apartments owned                                         (23,383)     (20,969)
     Depreciation of unconsolidated affiliates                                       -      (543)
     FAS 141 acquisition rent/intangibles                                    (219)     (182)
     Redeemable preferred dividend                                               1,350          1,350
     Impairment of affordable assets not in FFO                                      -      (945)
     (Income) loss from discontinued operations before minority
       interest and loss on disposition of property                              7,627      (523)
     Minority interest - in operating partnership                            (1,598)     (2,289)
                                                                            ----------     ----------
     Income from continuing operations                                      $    5,134     $    6,518
                                                                            ==========     ==========

     Assets - As of March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004
     Apartments owned:
       - Core                                                               $2,362,479     $2,368,949
       - Non-core                                                              351,745        349,033
     Reconciling items                                                          94,607         98,814
                                                                            ----------     ----------
     Total Assets                                                           $2,808,831     $2,816,796
                                                                            ==========     ==========

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                 NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
             (DOLLARS IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AND PER SHARE DATA)

8.   Pro Forma Condensed Financial Information
     -----------------------------------------

     The  Company   acquired  three   apartment   communities   ("2005  Acquired
     Communities")  with a  combined  550  apartment  units in  three  unrelated
     transactions  during the three-month period ended March 31, 2005. The total
     combined purchase price (including  closing costs) of $40.2 million equates
     to approximately $73 per unit. Consideration for the communities was funded
     through  the   assumption  or  placement  of  new  debt  of  $7.9  million,
     $19.7 million from the Company's line of credit and $12.6 million of UPREIT
     Units.

     The following proforma information was prepared as if the 2005 transactions
     related to the acquisition of the 2005 Acquired Communities had occurred on
     January 1,  2004.  The  proforma  financial  information  is based upon the
     historical   consolidated  financial  statements  and  is  not  necessarily
     indicative of the  consolidated  results which actually would have occurred
     if the  transactions  had been  consummated on January 1, 2004, nor does it
     purport  to  represent  the  results  of  operations  for  future  periods.
     Adjustments to the proforma  condensed combined statement of operations for
     the three-month  periods ended March 31, 2005 and 2004, consist principally
     of providing net operating  activity and recording  interest,  depreciation
     and  amortization   from  January  1,  2004  to  the  acquisition  date  as
     appropriate.

                                                                 For the Three-months Ended
                                                                           March 31,
                                                                           ---------
                                                                     2005             2004
                                                                     ----             ----

     Total revenues                                              $119,363         $111,542
     Net income available to common shareholders before
         cumulative effect of change in accounting principle        3,269            4,713
     Net income available to common shareholders                    3,269            4,392

     Per common share data:

     Net income available to common shareholders before
         cumulative effect of change in accounting principle
         Basic                                                     $0.10            $0.15
         Diluted                                                   $0.10            $0.14

     Net income available to common shareholders
         Basic                                                     $0.10            $0.14
         Diluted                                                   $0.10            $0.13

     Weighted average numbers of shares outstanding:
         Basic                                                 31,785,440       32,321,929
         Diluted                                               32,227,972       32,874,561

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                 NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
             (DOLLARS IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AND PER SHARE DATA)

9.   Derivative Financial Instruments
     --------------------------------

     The Company has four interest rate swaps that effectively  convert variable
     rate debt to fixed rate debt.  As of March 31,  2005,  the  aggregate  fair
     value of the Company's interest rate swaps was $131 prior to the allocation
     of  minority  interest  and is  included  in  accrued  expenses  and  other
     liabilities in the consolidated balance sheets. For the three-months ending
     March 31, 2005,  as the critical  terms of the interest  rate swaps and the
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
     minority interest,  of five VIEs for the three months ended March 31, 2005.
     Three of the VIEs are held  for  sale as of  March  31,  2005.  Assets  and
     liabilities for these three VIEs of  approximately  $44.5 million and $48.2
     million,  respectively,  are included in the Consolidated Balance Sheet and
     relate primarily to real estate and mortgage notes, respectively.  Included
     in mortgage notes payable is  approximately  $46.5 million related to these
     three VIEs. For purposes of the discontinued operations  presentation,  the
     Company only includes  interest expense  associated with specific  mortgage
     indebtedness  of the  properties  that are sold or  classified  as held for
     sale.

     The operating  results of the  components of  discontinued  operations  are
     summarized  for the  three-month  periods  ended March 31, 2005 and 2004 as
     follows:

                                                           Three months
                                                           ------------
                                                          2005       2004
                                                          ----       ----
     Revenues
        Rental Income                                  $ 2,201      $3,465
        Property other income                               74         176
        Interest and dividend income                         -           -
        Other income                                  (59)
                                                       -------     -------
                                                                         -
     Total Revenues                                      2,216       3,641
                                                       -------     -------
     Expenses
       Operating and Maintenance                         2,074       1,837
        Interest expense                                    21         603
        Depreciation and amortization                        -         661
        Impairment of real property                      7,725
                                                       -------     -------
                                                                         -
     Total Expenses                                      9,820       3,101
                                                       -------     -------
     Income (loss) from discontinued operations
        before minority interest and gain (loss)
        on disposition of property                     (7,604)        540
     Minority interest in limited partnership          (23)          -
     Minority interest in operating partnership          2,521    (179)
                                                       -------     -------

     Income (loss) from discontinued operations        ($5,106)    $   361
                                                       =======     =======

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                 NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
             (DOLLARS IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AND PER SHARE DATA)

11.  Commitments and Contingencies
     -----------------------------

     Contingencies
     -------------

     The Company is not a party to any legal  proceedings  which are expected to
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
     the Company settled the 1998 year under audit for a total of $39, including
     interest.  During  the first  quarter  of 2005,  the 1999 tax year has been
     filed with the Pennsylvania State  Commonwealth  Court. No settlement offer
     has been made or discussed  related to the 1999 tax year. The 1999-2001 tax
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
     amounted to $861.  This was included in the first  quarter 2004 results and
     allocated  $448 to expense and $413  capitalized  to real estate assets for
     improvements.

     As a result of this audit,  during the second  quarter of 2004, the Company
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
     December 31, 2004. The Company has filed  Voluntary  Disclosure  Agreements
     (VDAs) with the four states  where it has  financial  exposure.  During the
     first  quarter of 2005,  the Company has signed VDAs with two of the states
     which both have  agreed to limit the VDA filing  period  back to January 1,
     2001.  For the three month  period  ended March 31,  2005,  the Company has
     recorded  adjustments  to the liability for both the effects of signing the
     two VDA's as well as for the results of the  Company's  additional  testing
     for the first quarter.  The net impact of these adjustments  resulted in an
     increase  in real  estate  assets  of $42,  interest  expense  of $28 and a
     decrease in  operating  expenses  of $43 for a net  increase to the accrued
     liability of $27. The Company  recognizes that the liability recorded is an
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

     Guarantees
     ----------

     As of  March  31,  2005,  the  Company,  through  its  general  partnership
     interests  in  certain  affordable  property  limited   partnerships,   had
     guaranteed  the Low Income  Housing  Tax  Credits to limited  partners in 8
     partnerships  totaling  approximately  $17  million.  As of March 31, 2005,
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
     total additional  deferred purchase price of $165.6. No additional deferred
     purchase price was recognized during the three months ended March 31, 2005.
     The  cumulative  gain  recognized on the sale of these assets through March
     31, 2005 amounted to $24.4.  If the management of this property is retained
     for the entire  three  years the Company  expects to receive an  additional
     $110.4 for the period  April 1, 2005 through  January 1, 2007.  The gain on
     sale would then be approximately $134.8.

13.  Subsequent Events
     -----------------

     On May 6, 2005,  the Board of  Directors  approved  a dividend  of $.63 per
     share for the quarter  ended March 31, 2005.  This is the  equivalent of an
     annual  distribution  of $2.52 per share.  The  dividend is payable May 27,
     2005 to shareholders of record on May 17, 2005.

     On May 6, 2005, the Company also declared a regular  dividend of $.5625 per
     share on its  Series  F  Cumulative  Redeemable  Preferred  Stock,  for the
     quarter  ending May 31,  2005.  The  dividend  on the  preferred  shares is
     payable on May 31, 2005 to  shareholders  of record on May 17,  2005.  This
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
REITs.

As of March 31, 2005,  the Company had an unsecured  line of credit from M and T
Bank of $115 million.  The Company's  outstanding  balance as of March 31, 2005,
was $92 million. Borrowings under the line of credit bear interest at 1.05% over
the one-month LIBOR rate. Accordingly, increases in interest rates will increase
the Company's interest expense and as a result will affect the Company's results
of operations and financial condition. The Company is evaluating alternatives to
replace  or extend  the line of  credit as the  existing  agreement  expires  on
September 1, 2005.

On November 23, 2004, the Company signed a supplemental demand note with M and T
Bank. The note has a maximum principal amount of $42 million.  Borrowings on the
note bear interest at 1.25% over the one-month  LIBOR rate.  The demand note was
entered  into to fund the  Company's  stock  repurchase  program.  There  was no
balance outstanding as of March 31, 2005 on the supplemental demand note.

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
("DRIP"), or the issuance of additional equity securities. As of March 31, 2005,
the  Company  owned  20  properties  with  3,732  apartment  units,  which  were
unencumbered by debt.

In May  1998,  the  Company's  Form  S-3  Registration  Statement  was  declared
effective  relating  to the  issuance  of up to $400  million  of common  stock,
preferred  stock  or  other  securities.  The  available  balance  on the  shelf
registration statement at March 31, 2005 was $144.4 million.

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
of capital  for the  Company.  During the first  quarter  of 2005,  the  Company
acquired  three  communities  with 550 units for a total purchase price of $40.2
million.  The Company issued UPREIT Units valued at approximately  $12.6 million
as part of the consideration for two of the properties,  with the balance funded
by the  assumption  of debt and cash.  During  2004,  the Company  acquired  ten
communities  with 2,486 units for a total purchase price of $247.5 million.  The
Company issued UPREIT Units valued at approximately $12.1 million as part of the
consideration  for  two  of the  properties,  with  the  balance  funded  by the
assumption of debt and cash.

During 2004, $17.6 million of common stock (net of $6 million share  repurchase)
was issued  under the  Company's  DRIP.  During the first  quarter of 2005,  the
Company's additional capital raised under the DRIP netted to zero.

The  DRIP  was  amended,  effective  December  10,  2004,  in  order  to  reduce
management's  perceived  dilution  from  issuing  new  shares  at or  below  the
underlying  net asset value.  The discount on reinvested  dividends and optional
cash  purchases  was  reduced  from 2% to 0%.  The  maximum  monthly  investment
(without  receiving  approval  from the Company) is  currently  $1 thousand.  As
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
economic and efficient manner.

On February  16, 2005 the Board of  Directors  increased  its  authorization  by
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
March 31, 2005,  1,300,700 shares were repurchased by the Company.  At March 31,
2005 the Company had  authorization  to  repurchase  2,699,300  shares of common
stock and UPREIT Units under the stock  repurchase  program.  During  2005,  the
Company  will  monitor  stock  prices,   the  published  net  asset  value,  and
acquisition  alternatives  to determine the current best use of capital  between
the two major uses of capital - stock buyback and acquisitions.

As of March 31, 2005, the weighted  average rate of interest on mortgage debt is
5.72%  and  the  weighted  average   maturity  is  approximately   eight  years.
Approximately 87% of the debt is fixed rate. This limits the exposure to changes
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
Company  had  made  a  determination  that  all  41  of  the  remaining  limited
partnerships as of that date were Variable Interest Entities.

The  Company  determined  that it was  not  the  primary  beneficiary  in  seven
partnerships  syndicated under U.S.  Department of Housing and Urban Development
subsidy  programs  of which  five have been sold as of March 31,  2005.  The two
remaining  partnership are under contract to be sold as of March 31, 2005. These
two  investments  will  continue to be accounted for under the equity method and
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
partnerships.  No management fees were recognized on these  partnerships  during
the three month period ended March 31, 2005.  The assets and  liabilities of the
two  partnerships  totaled  $2.9  million  and $4.9  million at March 31,  2005,
respectively.   Unconsolidated   non-recourse   debt  associated  with  the  two
partnerships  continuing to be accounted for under the equity method amounted to
$4.6 million,  of which the Company's  proportionate  share,  based on its legal
ownership, was $179.

The Company had further determined that it was the primary  beneficiary in 34 of
the VIEs and therefore  consolidated  these entities  effective  March 31, 2004.
Beginning with the second quarter of 2004, the Company  consolidated the results
of  operations of the VIEs.  The results of operations of the remaining  five of
the  original  34 VIEs for the three  month  period  ending  March 31,  2005 are
included  in  discontinued  operations  as all of the  VIEs are held for sale as
described below.

The Company was the general partner in these 34 VIEs syndicated using low income
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
receive  operating  incentive  awards when cash flow reach certain  levels.  The
effect on the consolidated  balance sheet as of March 31, 2005 is an increase in
Total assets of $44 million, an increase in Total liabilities of $48 million, an
increase in Minority  interest  of $1 million,  and a decrease in  Stockholders'
equity of $4.9 million.  In connection with the adoption of FIN 46R, the Company
recorded a $321 charge, net of minority  interest,  for a cumulative effect of a
change in accounting principle during the first quarter of 2004. This charge was
a result of the negative  capital  accounts of minority  interest  partners that
were absorbed by the Company. Of the $48 million  increase in total liabilities,
$46.5 million represented non-recourse mortgage debt.

Effective  March 31, 2005, the Company has closed on the sale of all but five of
the 41 VIEs. In addition,  the Company is under contract or letter of intent for
the sale of three of the remaining five VIEs. Based on the offer received on one
of these three VIEs,  the Company has recorded an impairment  charge of $400 for
the three month period ended March 31, 2005.  The  remaining  two VIEs are being
disposed  of  through a  default  on the  non-recourse  financing.  The  Company
repurchased  the limited  partner's  interests in satisfaction of any tax credit
guarantees  or other  obligations  to that  partner  in  January,  2005 for $5.7
million.  The  Company  performed a valuation  analysis on the  underlying  real
estate,  and as a result,  recorded a $7.3 million  impairment of real estate to
adjust the net book value of the  property  to the  Company's  estimate  of fair
market  value.  The  mortgage  note was sold in  March,  2005.  The  Company  is
currently  discussing  transferring  title of the  property  to  either  the new
mortgage  holder or other  interested  buyers.  A transfer  is expected to occur
later in the year. At that time, the Company would be relieved of its obligation
on the  non-recourse  financing and would record an offsetting $7.3 million gain
from debt forgiveness in excess of the new reduced basis on the real estate that
would in essence zero out the $7.3 million impairment charge recorded.

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
shortfalls,  which were not  anticipated  to be recovered  from  projected  sale
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
to  the  limited  partners  for a  period  of  either  five  or ten  years  in 8
partnerships  totaling  approximately $17 million.  Such guarantee  requires the
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
balance sheet as of March 31, 2005.

Consolidation Summary of the Balance Sheet as of March 31, 2005
(in thousands)

                                                          March 31, 2005      Effect of FIN 46R     March 31, 2005
                                                         (before FIN 46R)       Consolidation        (as reported)
ASSETS
Real estate:
  Land                                                       $  408,186            $       -          $   408,186
  Buildings, improvements and equipment                       2,695,288                    -            2,695,288
  Real estate held for sale or disposal, net                          -               40,636               40,636
                                                             ----------            ---------           ----------
                                                              3,103,474               40,636            3,144,110
  Less:  accumulated depreciation                            (429,886)                   -          (429,886)
                                                             ----------            ---------           ----------
         Real estate, net                                     2,673,588               40,636            2,714,224

Cash and cash equivalents                                         9,499                  396                9,895
Cash in escrows                                                  38,875                  860               39,735
Accounts receivable                                               4,752                  120                4,872
Prepaid expenses                                                 18,327           (35)              18,292
Investment in and advances to affiliates                            161           (161)                   -
Deferred charges                                                 10,046                2,466               12,512
Other assets                                                      9,094                  207                9,301
                                                             ----------            ---------           ----------
         Total assets                                        $2,764,342            $  44,489           $2,808,831
                                                             ==========            =========           ==========

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Mortgage notes payable                                       $1,642,519            $  46,467           $1,688,986
Line of credit                                                   92,000                    -               92,000
Accounts payable                                                 17,731                  409               18,140
Accrued interest payable                                          7,891                  602                8,493
Accrued expenses and other liabilities                           20,797                  459               21,256
Security deposits                                                22,568                  270               22,838
                                                             ----------            ---------           ----------
         Total liabilities                                    1,803,506               48,207            1,851,713
                                                             ----------            ---------           ----------

Minority interest                                               293,700                1,186              294,886
                                                             ----------            ---------           ----------

Stockholders' equity                                            667,136           (4,904)             662,232
                                                             ----------            ---------           ----------
         Total liabilities and stockholders' equity          $2,764,342            $  44,489           $2,808,831
                                                             ==========            =========           ==========

Acquisitions and Dispositions
-----------------------------

During the first three  months of 2005,  the Company  acquired  three  apartment
communities in three unrelated  transactions.  The acquisitions consisted of one
apartment  community in Maryland  with a total of 204 units,  and two  apartment
communities in New Jersey with a combined 346 units. The total purchase price of
$40.2  million,  including  closing  costs,  equated  to an average of $73.2 per
apartment.   Consideration  included  $7.9  million  of  assumed  or  new  debt,
$19.7 million in cash or line of credit, and $12.4 million of UPREIT Units (fair
market value of $12.6 million).  The UPREIT Units are exchangeable for shares of
the Company's  common stock on a  one-for-one  basis.  For the two  acquisitions
involving  the  issuance of OP units,  values of $41.25 and $39.25 per unit were
used for the  purpose  of  determining  the  number  of OP Units  issued in each
acquisition.  Both values were set when the transactions  were  negotiated.  The
combined  weighted  average  expected  first year  capitalization  rate on these
acquisitions is 6.5%. Capitalization rate ("cap rate") is defined as the rate of
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
September  2005,  and had $92 million  outstanding at March 31, 2005. No balance
was outstanding at March 31, 2005 on the Company's supplemental demand note. The
$1.7 billion in mortgage notes payable have varying maturities ranging from 1 to
37 years.  The weighted  average interest rate of the Company's fixed rate notes
was 6.03% and 6.23% at March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004,  respectively.  The
weighted average  interest rate of the Company's  variable rate notes and credit
facility  was  3.5%  and  2.98%  at  March 31,   2005  and  December 31,   2004,
respectively.

The  Company  has a  non-cancelable  operating  ground  lease  for  one  of  its
properties.  The lease expires May 1,  2020,  with options to extend the term of
the lease for two successive terms of twenty-five years each. The lease provides
for contingent rental payments based on certain variable  factors.  At March 31,
2005,  future minimum rental payments  required under the lease are $70 per year
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
commencement  of the  lease.  The  estimated  future  acquisition  cost  is $140
million.

As discussed in the section entitled "Variable Interest  Entities," the Company,
through its general partnership interests in certain affordable property limited
partnerships,  has  guaranteed  the Low Income  Housing  Tax  Credits to limited
partners in 8 partnerships  totaling  approximately $17 million. With respect to
the guarantee of the low income  housing tax credits,  the Company  believes the
properties operations conform to the applicable requirements (as set forth above
in the seventh paragraph of the "Variable  Interest  Entities" section) and does
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
recurring capital  expenditures.  During the three-month periods ended March 31,
2005  and  2004,  approximately  $131  per  unit  was  estimated  to be spent on
recurring  capital  expenditures.  The table below  summarizes  the actual total
capital  improvements,  (before  the  effects  of FIN  46R)  incurred  by  major
categories  for the three  -month  periods  ended March 31, 2005 and 2004 and an
estimate of the  breakdown of total  capital  improvements  by major  categories
between recurring and non-recurring, revenue generating capital improvements for
the three-month period ended March 31, 2005 as follows:

                                       For the three-month period ended March 31,
                                          (in thousands, except per unit data)
                                                          2005                                          2004
                              --------------------------------------------------------------   -----------------------
                                                       Non-
                              Recurring      Per  Recurring     Per    Total Capital     Per    Total Capital      Per
                                 Cap Ex  Unit(a)     Cap Ex Unit(a)     Improvements  Unit(a)    Improvements  Unit(a)
                                 ------  -------     ------ -------     ------------  -------   -------------  -------

New Buildings                   $     -   $    -    $ 1,329  $   32        $ 1,329   $   32       $     553      $14
Major building improvements         957       23      1,317      31          2,274       54           3,395       85
Roof replacements                   366        9        605      14            971       23             431       11
Site improvements                   351        8        339       8            690       16           1,104       28
Apartment upgrades                  691       16      4,034      96          4,725      112           6,334      159
Appliances                          574       14        314       7            888       21             936       24
Carpeting/Flooring                1,801       42        404      10          2,205       52           2,233       56
HVAC/Mechanicals                    531       13      2,048      49          2,579       62           2,794       70

Miscellaneous                       234        6        687      16            921       22             994       25
                                -------     ----   --------   -----       --------    -----        --------    -----
Totals                          $ 5,505     $131   $ 11,077   $ 263       $ 16,582    $ 394        $ 18,774    $ 472
                                =======     ====   ========   =====       ========    =====        ========    =====

(a)  Calculated  using  the  weighted  average  number  of  units   outstanding,
     including  39,290  core  units,  2004  acquisition  units of 2,486 and 2005
     weighted average  acquisition units of 293 for the three-month period ended
     March 31, 2005 and 39,290 core units and 2004 weighted average  acquisition
     units of 519 for the three-month period ended March 31, 2004.

The  schedule  below  summarizes  the  breakdown of total  capital  improvements
(before the effects of FIN 46R) between core and non-core as follows:

                                     For the three-month period ended March 31,
                                        (in thousands, except per unit data)
                                                        2005                                          2004
                              --------------------------------------------------------------   -----------------------
                                                       Non-
                             Recurring      Per   Recurring       Per  Total Capital      Per   Total Capital      Per
                                Cap Ex     Unit      Cap Ex      Unit   Improvements     Unit    Improvements     Unit
                                ------     ----      ------      ----   ------------     ----    ------------     ----
Core Communities               $ 5,141     $131    $ 10,255     $ 261       $ 15,396    $ 392        $ 18,654    $ 475
2005 Acquisition
Communities                         38      131           3        10             41      141               -        -
2004 Acquisition
Communities                        326      131         819       330          1,145      461             120       231
                                ------     ----    --------     -----       --------    -----        --------     -----
Sub-total                        5,505      131      11,077       263         16,582      394          18,774       472
2005 Disposed Communities            -      131           -         -              -        -               -         -
2004 Disposed Communities            -        -           -         -              -        -             492       299
Corporate office                              -                                1,633                      580
expenditures (1)                     -                    -         -                     -                           -
                                ------     ----    --------     -----       --------    -----        --------     -----
                                $5,505     $131    $ 11,077     $ 263       $ 18,215    $ 394        $ 19,846     $ 465
                                ======     ====    ========     =====       ========    =====        ========     =====

Results of Operations
---------------------

Summary of Core Properties
--------------------------

The Company had 139  apartment  communities  with 39,290  units which were owned
throughout the three-month period being presented (the "Core  Properties").  The
Company has acquired an additional  thirteen  apartment  communities  with 3,036
units  during  2005 and 2004 (the  "Acquired  Communities").  The  Company  also
disposed  of five  properties  with a total  of 1,646  units  during  2004  (the
"Disposition Communities").  The Disposition Communities have been classified as
discontinued  operations.  The inclusion of the Acquired  Communities  generally
accounted for the significant  changes in operating  results for the three month
period ended March 31, 2005.

A summary of the net  operating  income from Core  Properties  is as follows (in
thousands):

                                                Three Months
                                                ------------
                                   2005         2004    $ Change      % Chg
                                   ----         ----    --------      -----
Rental income                  $104,758     $103,441      $1,317       1.3%
Property other income             4,946        4,523         423       9.4%
                               --------     --------      ------       ---
Total income                    109,704      107,964       1,740       1.6%
Operating and Maintenance      (53,655)    (52,446)     (1,209)     (2.3%)
                               --------     --------      ------       ---
Net operating income           $ 56,049     $ 55,518      $  531       1.0%
                               ========    =========      ======       ===

A summary of the net operating  income from continuing  operations is as follows
(in thousands):
                                                Three Months
                                                ------------

                                   2005         2004    $ Change      % Chg
                                   ----         ----    --------      -----
Rental income                  $112,958     $105,061      $7,897       7.5%
Property other income             5,173        4,593         580      12.6%
                               --------     --------      ------       ---
Total income                    118,131      109,654       8,477       7.7%
Operating and Maintenance      (57,511)    (53,110)     (4,401)     (8.3%)
                               --------     --------      ------       ---
Net operating income           $ 60,620    $  56,544      $4,076       7.2%
                               ========    =========      ======       ===

Comparison of three-months ended March 31, 2005 to the same period in 2004

Of the $7,897 increase in rental income,  $6,580 is attributable to the Acquired
Communities.  The  balance of this  increase,  or $1,317  which is from the Core
Properties,  was the result of an increase of 2.7% in  weighted  average  rental
rates,  offset by a decrease  in  occupancy  from 93.6% to 92.3%.  Occupancy  is
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
charges,   corporate  apartment  revenue,   cable  revenue,   pet  charges,  and
miscellaneous charges to residents increased by $580. Of this increase,  $157 is
attributable to the Acquired Communities, with $423 representing a 9.4% increase
from the Core Properties.

Other income, which reflects management fee income, increased $123 due primarily
to an  increase  in the level of  management  activity  as  compared to the same
period one year ago.

Of the  $4,401  increase  in  operating  and  maintenance  expenses,  $3,192  is
attributable to the Acquired  Communities.  The balance,  a $1,209 increase,  is
attributable to the Core Properties and is primarily due to increases in natural
gas heating costs,  personnel costs and real estate taxes.  These increases were
offset in part by savings in repairs and  maintenance  and  property  insurance.
Natural gas heating costs were up $610 or 7% over 2004. We have seen significant
increases in the cost of natural gas per  decatherm.  Last year we had contracts
at $4.52 per decatherm,  this year the cost is $6.08. Personnel expenses were up
$859, or 7.9%.  Contributing to this is $95 for health  insurance (up 14%), $181
or 56% for workers comp from  increased  incident  reports,  increase in accrued
payroll  from a year  ago of  $105,  and a  vacation  accrual  of $375 of  which
approximately $200k represents a catch-up from previous years as we now have the
ability to track this in our HR system. Real estate taxes were up $893, or 8.2%.
Of this,  $258,  or 2.4% is from a prepaid  tax  adjustment  needed to bring our
balance  sheet to the proper  amount.  The balance is a 5.8%  increase in normal
increases in assessed values and tax rates.  Repairs and  maintenance  were down
$387 from a year ago, or 6.1%.  Most of this came  through the  contract  repair
line item.  The quarter one year ago included $312 from the NYS sales tax audit.
Property insurance  decreased for the quarter primarily due to a decrease in our
property and general  liability  losses to date which have been projected  using
actuarial assumptions.

General and administrative  expense increased in 2005 by $680, or 14.4%. General
and administrative expenses as a percentage of total revenues were 4.5% for 2005
as compared to 4.1% for 2004.  The results are  primarily  due to the  increased
expenses  relating  to the  completion  of the 404  compliance  and  audit  work
completed in the first quarter.

Interest  expense  increased  in 2005 by  $4,018  as a result  of the  increased
borrowings in connection with acquisition of the 2005 Acquisition Communities, a
full  quarter of  interest  expense  for the 2004  Acquisition  Communities  and
additional  mortgage debt and refinanced  mortgage debt incurred during 2004 and
2005. Interest expense in the first quarter of 2004 was reduced by $996 when two
mortgage  loans were paid off early at amounts less than the amounts  carried on
the  Company's  balance  sheet.  During 2004,  the Company  closed on additional
mortgage  debt of $76,853  and  refinanced  $14,338 in  existing  mortgage  debt
resulting in new borrowings of approximately  $53,000.  During the first quarter
of  2005,  the  Company  closed  on  additional  mortgage  debt of  $72,880  and
refinanced  $5,400 in existing  mortgage  debt  resulting in new  borrowings  of
approximately $67,480.

Depreciation and amortization  expense  increased $3,146 due to the depreciation
on the Acquisition Communities and the capital additions to the Core Properties.

The Company has sold  virtually  all of the assets  associated  with its general
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

The equity in earnings  (losses) of  unconsolidated  affiliates  of $538 for the
three-months ended March 31, 2004 is primarily the result of the general partner
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
be repaid upon sale.

Minority  interest  decreased  $691 due to a general  decrease  in  income  from
operations.

Included in discontinued  operations for the three-month  period ended March 31,
2005,  are the results of operations of the five  remaining  affordable  limited
partnerships  that in connection  with FIN 46R were required to be  consolidated
beginning April 1, 2004.  (See further detail supplied under "Variable  Interest
Entities" section).

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
Please refer to the Capital Improvement section above in MD and A. Cash provided
by operating activities was $21,090 and $37,359 for the three-month period ended
March 31, 2005 and 2004,  respectively.  Cash used in investing  activities  was
$37,768 and $84,941 for the  three-month  period  ended March 31, 2005 and 2004,
respectively.  Cash provided by financing activities was $18,648 and $48,733 for
the three-month period ended March 31, 2005 and 2004,  respectively.  FFO should
not be  considered  as an  alternative  to net  income as an  indication  of the
Company's performance or to cash flow as a measure of liquidity.

The calculation of FFO and reconciliation to GAAP net income available to common
Shareholders  for the three months  ended March 31, 2005 and 2004 are  presented
below (in thousands):

                                                                                      Three Months
                                                                                      ------------
                                                                                   2005          2004
                                                                                   ----          ----

Net income available to common shareholders                                      ($ 1,870)    $  4,580
Convertible preferred dividends                                                       548          548
Minority interest                                                                   1,598        2,289
Minority interest - income (loss) from discontinued operations                   (2,521)         179
Depreciation and amortization from real property                                   23,602       21,151
Depreciation from real property from unconsolidated entities                            -          543
Impairment on General Partner real estate investment                                    -          945
Loss on disposition of property                                                         -           50
(Gain) loss on disposition of discontinued operations, net of minority interest         -           13

Cumulative effect of change in accounting principle, net of minority interest           -          321
                                                                                 --------     --------
FFO as defined above                                                             $ 21,357     $ 30,619
                                                                                 ========     ========

Weighted average common shares/units outstanding(1):
         - Basic                                                                 47,477.1     48,340.8
                                                                                 ========     ========
         - Diluted                                                               47,919.7     48,893.5
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
                               Three-months ended
                               ------------------
                                                               Mar. 31,      Dec. 31,      Sept. 30,      June 30,
                                                                   2005          2004          2004           2004
                                                                   ----          ----          ----           ----
EBITDA
     Total revenues                                            $118,787      $118,357      $118,942       $118,017
     Net operating income from discontinued operations              142         2,143         1,364          1,069
     Operating and maintenance                                 (57,511)      (52,227)      (50,372)       (51,081)
     General and administrative                                (5,405)     (9,482)     (4,879)      (4,892)
     Equity in earnings (losses) of unconsolidated
     affiliates                                                       -             -            25       (25)
                                                               --------       -------      --------       --------
                                                               $ 56,013       $58,791      $ 65,080       $ 63,088
Fixed Charges
     Interest expense                                          $ 24,943       $23,891      $ 23,496       $ 23,783
     Interest expense on discontinued operations                     21           442            40            476
     Preferred dividends                                          1,898         1,898         1,898          1,899
     Capitalized interest                                           191           191           230            171
                                                               --------       -------      --------       --------
                                                               $ 27,053       $26,422      $ 25,664       $ 26,329

Times Coverage ratio:                                              2.07          2.23          2.54           2.40

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
Company's  status as a REIT.  During the first  quarter of 2005,  the funds from
operations  payout ratio was 90.3% when measured for the current quarter and the
three  immediate  preceding  fiscal  quarters.  Due to the  non-recurring  legal
settlement  of $3.8 million in the fourth  quarter of 2004,  the Company did not
meet  the  required  ratio..  Appropriate  waivers  have  been  granted  by  the
participating  banks.  The  line of  credit  has not  been  used  for  long-term
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
differing  intensities and at different  times.  During the past three years and
continuing into 2005 many regions of the United States have experienced  varying
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
performance.

Declaration of Dividend
-----------------------

On May 6, 2005, the Board of Directors approved a dividend of $.63 per share for
the  quarter  ended  March,  31  2005.  This  is  the  equivalent  of an  annual
distribution  of $2.52 per  share.  The  dividend  is  payable  May 27,  2005 to
shareholders of record on May 17, 2005.

On May 6, 2006 the Company also declared a regular dividend of $0.5625 per share
on its Series F Cumulative  Redeemable  Preferred  Stock, for the quarter ending
May 31, 2005.  The dividend on the preferred  shares is payable on May 31, 2005,
to  shareholders  of record on May 17, 2005.  This  dividend is equivalent to an
annualized rate of $2.25 per share.

Contingency
-----------

The Company is not a party to any legal proceedings which are expected to have a
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
$39,000, including interest. During the first quarter of 2005, the 1999 tax year
has been filed with the  Pennsylvania  State  Commonwealth  Court. No settlement
offer has been made or discussed related to the 1999 tax year. The 1999-2001 tax
years will take time to resolve;  however,  the Company's  outside counsel still
maintains that the Company should not have any additional liability.

During  April,  2004,  the Company  finalized  negotiations  with New York State
settling a sales and use tax audit  covering the period June 1, 1999 through May
31,  2002.  The total cost to the  Company as a result of the audit  amounted to
$861,000.  This was included in the first  quarter  2004  results and  allocated
$448,000  to  expense  and  $413,000  capitalized  to  real  estate  assets  for
improvements.

As a result  of this  audit,  during  the  second  quarter  of 2004 the  Company
examined  its sales  and use tax  compliance  in the  other  states in which the
Company operates.  Based upon its internal  analysis,  the Company estimated its
liability as of December 31, 2004 in those states where it found  non-compliance
and recorded at December 31, 2004 a liability of  $1,780,000.  This was included
in the  year  end  results  and  allocated  $805,000  to  expense  and  $975,000
capitalized  to real estate  assets for  improvements.  The  liability  recorded
relates to the period  beginning on the later of: (i) the date the Company first
purchased  property in the applicable  state; or (ii) January 1, 1997 and ending
on December  31, 2004.  The Company has filed  Voluntary  Disclosure  Agreements
(VDAs) with the four states where it has  financial  exposure.  During the first
quarter of 2005,  the Company has signed VDAs with two of the states  which both
have  agreed to limit the VDA filing  period  back to  January 1, 2001.  For the
three month period ended March 31, 2005, the Company has recorded adjustments to
the  liability  for both the effects of signing the two VDA's as well as for the
results of the  Company's  additional  testing  for the first  quarter.  The net
impact of these  adjustments  resulted in an  increase in real estate  assets of
$42,000,  interest  expense of $28,000 and a decrease in  operating  expenses of
$43,000  for a net  increase to the accrued  liability  of $27,000.  The Company
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

New Accounting Standards
------------------------

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
148,  the  Company  does not  expect  the  issuance  of SFAS No.  123R to have a
material impact on the Company's  results of operations,  financial  position or
liquidity.

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                      ITEM 3. QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE
                          DISCLOSURES ABOUT MARKET RISK

The Company's  primary  market risk exposure is interest rate risk. At March 31,
2005 and December 31,  2004,  approximately  87% and 89%,  respectively,  of the
Company's debt bore interest at fixed rates with a weighted  average maturity of
approximately  8 years and a weighted  average  interest  rate of  approximately
6.03% and  6.23%,  respectively,  including  the $34.0  million of debt for both
years which has been swapped to a fixed rate.  The  remainder  of the  Company's
debt bears  interest  at  variable  rates with a weighted  average  maturity  of
approximately 7 and 8 years, respectively,  and a weighted average interest rate
of 3.52% and 2.98%,  respectively,  at March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004. The
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

At March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004,  the interest  rate risk on $34 million
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
aggregate  of $34 million in variable  rate  mortgages  to fixed rates of 5.35%,
5.39%, 8.22% and 8.40%.

At March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004,  the fair value of the Company's  fixed
rate debt, including the $34 million which was swapped to a fixed rate, amounted
to a  liability  of  $1.72 billion  compared  to its  carrying  amount  of $1.69
billion.  The  Company  estimates  that a 100  basis  point  increase  in market
interest  rates at March 31,  2005  would  have  changed  the fair  value of the
Company's fixed rate debt to a liability of $1.65 billion.

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
March 31, 2005, the Company had no other material exposure to market risk.

                              HOME PROPERTIES, INC.

                         ITEM 4. CONTROLS AND PROCEDURES

Evaluation of Disclosure Controls and Procedures
------------------------------------------------

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
March 31, 2005, the effectiveness of the disclosure  controls and procedures (as
defined in Rules 13a-15(e) and 15-d-15(e)  under the Securities  Exchange Act of
1934, as amended (the "Exchange  Act") and have  determined that such disclosure
controls and procedures are effective.

There have been no changes in the internal  controls  over  financial  reporting
identified in connection with that evaluation, or that occurred during the first
quarter of the year ended December 31, 2005 that has materially affected,  or is
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
ability  to  repurchase   shares.   At  December  31,  2004,   the  Company  had
authorization  to repurchase  2,000,000  shares of common stock and UPREIT Units
under the stock repurchase program. On February 16, 2005, the Board of Directors
approved  a  2,000,000  share  increase  in the  stock  repurchase  program.  In
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
repurchased by the Company during the three month period ending March 31, 2005.

                                                                                                       Maximum shares
                                          Total shares        Average    Total shares (units)       (units) available
                                               (units)      price per         purchased under               under the
Period                                   purchased (1)   share (unit)         Company Program         Company Program
------                                   -------------   ------------         ---------------         ---------------

Balance December 31, 2004:                                                                                  2,000,000

January 1, 2005 to
January 31, 2005                               717,792         $40.85                 716,000               1,284,000

February 1, 2005 to
February 28, 2005                              599,975         $41.06                 584,700                 699,300

Board approved increase
February 16, 2005                                                                                           2,000,000

March 1, 2005 to
March 31, 2005                                   1,796         $40.38                       -                       -
                                             ---------         ------               ---------               ---------

Balance March 31, 2005:                      1,319,563         $40.95               1,300,700               2,699,300

(1)  During the three  months  ended March 31,  2005,  the  Company  repurchased
     18,863  shares of common stock  through  share  repurchase  by the transfer
     agent  in the  open  market  in  connection  with  the  Company's  Dividend
     Reinvestment Plan (DRIP).

Item 6. Exhibits

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

                                Date:    May 10, 2005

                                By:      /s/ Edward J. Pettinella
                                         -------------------------------------
                                         Edward J. Pettinella
                                         President and Chief Executive Officer

                                Date:    May 10, 2005

                                By:      /s/ David P. Gardner
                                         -------------------------------------
                                         David P. Gardner
                                         Executive Vice President and
                                         Chief Financial Officer